American Library Association's
Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, & Transgendered Book Awards

Originally a grassroots acknowledgment honoring hallmark works in lesbigay publishing, the Gay Book Award (as it was originally known) became an official American Library Association award in 1986. The next year, its name was changed to the Gay and Lesbian Book Award. Beginning in 1990, the Book Award expanded into two categories: nonfiction and literature. In 1994, the name changed once more to the Gay, Lesbian, and Bisexual Book Award. In 1999, when the Gay, Lesbian, and Bisexual Task Force became the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgendered Round Table, the name changed yet again to the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgendered Book Award.

The committee that surveys the lesbian, gay, and bisexual publications is made up of equal numbers of women and men from various types of libraries across the United States. Ultimately, the committee must review the nominees and select five finalists each in the categories of nonfiction and literature. The winners are chosen from among these five finalists.

The Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgendered Book Award is presented to English language works published the year prior to the announcement date. The award, which consists of a commemorative plaque and a cash stipend, is announced in March and presented to the winning authors or editors at the American Library Association Annual Conference in June.

From 1990 to the present we have indicated the winning non-fiction work by (NF) after the title and the winning literature work by (LIT) after the title.


2002 Barry Werth The Scarlet Professor: Newton Arvin, A Literary Life Shattered by Scandal (NF)
2002 Moises Kaufman & Tectonic Theatre The Laramie Project : A Play (LIT)
2001 William N. Eskridge Gaylaw: Challenging the Apartheid of the Closet (NF)
2001 Sarah Waters Affinity (LIT)
2000 Jean Barrie Borich My Lesbian Husband: Landscape of a Marriage (NF)
2000 Marci Blackman Po Man's Child (LIT)
1999 Sarah Schulman Stage Struck: Theater, AIDS, and the Marketing of Gay America (NF)
1999 Michael Cunningham The Hours (LIT)
1998 Adam Mastoon The Shared Heart: Portraits and Stories Celebrating Lesbian, Gay, and Bisexual Young People (NF)
1998 Lucy Jane Bledsoe Working Parts: A Novel (LIT)
1997 Fenton Johnson Geography of the Heart : A Memoir (NF)
1997 Emma Donoghue Hood (LIT)
1996 Urvashi Vaid  Virtual Equality: The Mainstreaming of Gay and Lesbian (NF)
1996 Jim Grimsley Dream Boy (LIT)
1995 Dorothy Allison Skin: Talking About Sex, Class and Literature (NF)
1995 Phillip Sherman & Samuel Bernstein Uncommon Heroes: A Celebration of Heroes and Role Models for Gay and Lesbian Americans (NF)
1995 Marion Dane Bauer Am I Blue?: Coming Out from the Silence
1994 Phyllis Burke Family Values: Two Moms and Their Son (NF)
1994 Leslie Feinberg Staone Butch Blues (LIT)
1993 Eric Marcus Making History: The Struggle for Gay and Lesbian Equal Rights, 1945-1990 (NF)
1993 Essex Hemphill Ceremonies: Prose and Poetry (LIT)
1992 Lilian Faderman Odd Girls and Twilight Lovers: A History of Lesbian Life in Twentieth Century America (NF)
1992 Paul Monette Halfway Home (LIT)
1991 Wayne Dynes Encyclopedia of Homosexuality (NF)
1991 Minnie Bruce Pratt Crime Against Nature (LIT)
1990 Neil Miller In Search of Gay America: Women and Men in a Time of Change (NF)
1990 David B. Feinberg Eighty-Sixed (LIT)
1989 Andrew Hollinghurst The Swimming-Pool Library
1989 Sarah Schulman After Delores
1988 Joan Nestle A Restricted Country
1988 Randy Schilts And the Band Played On: Politics, People, and the AIDS Epidemic
1987 Walter Williams The Spirit and the Flesh: Sexual Diversity in American Indian Culture
1986 Candy Patton Sex and Germs
1985 Judy Grahn Another Mother Tongue: Gay Words, Gay Worlds
1984 John D'Emilio Sexual Politics, Sexual Communities: The Making of a Homosexual Minority in the United States, 1940-1970
1983 No Award  
1982 Lilian Faderman Surpassing the Love of Men: Romantic Friendship and Love Between Women from the Renaissance to the Present
1982 J.R. Roberts Black Lesbians
1982 Vito Russo The Celluloid Closet: Homosexuality in the Movies
1981 John Boswell Christianity, Social Tolerance, and Homosexuality: Gay People in Western Europe from the Beginning of the Christian Era to the Fourteenth Century
1980 Winston Leyland Now the Volcano
1979 Betty Fairchild & Nancy Hayward Now That You Know
1978 Ginny Vida, ed. Our Right to Love: A Lesbian Resource Book
1977 Howard Brown Familiar Faces, Hidden Lives: The Story of Homosexual Men in America Today
1976 No Award  
1975 Jonathan Katz, ed. Homosexuality: Lesbians and Gay Men in Society, History, and Literature
1974 Jeanette Foster Sex Variant Women in Literature
1973 No Award  
1972 Isabel Miller Patience and Sarah