Albert J. Beveridge Award
for the Best Book in English on the History of the
United States, Latin America, or Canada
MARY A. RENDA          

The Beveridge Award is given annually for the best book in English on the history of the United States, Latin America, or Canada from 1492 to the present. Books that employ new methodological or conceptual tools or that constitute a significant reinterpretation of an important historical problem are given preference in the awarding of this prize. Biographies, monographs, and works of synthesis or interpretation are eligible; translations, anthologies, and collections of documents are not.

The award was established on a biennial basis in 1939 and has been awarded annually since 1945. It honors U.S. Senator Albert J. Beveridge (Indiana, 1899–1911), a longtime member of the Association and an active supporter of history as both a lawyer and a senator.

The Beveridge Fund was created by a gift of $50,000 from Mrs. Catherine Beveridge in honor of her husband in 1927. Mrs. Beveridge wrote to the AHA of her desire for “a separate fund bearing my husband’s name and devoted to research in American history.” The fund was augmented by donations from friends of Senator Beveridge and the scope of the award was enlarged to encompass Latin America and Canada as well as the United States.


2002 Mary A. Renda Taking Haiti: Military Occupation and the Culture of U.S. Imperialism, 1915-1940
2001 Alexander Keyssar The Right to Vote: The Contested History of Democracy in the United States
2000 Linda Gordon The Great Arizona Orphan Abduction
1999 Friedrich Katz The Life and Times of Pancho Villa
1998 Philip D. Morgan Slave Counterpoint: Black Culture in the Eighteenth-Century Chesapeake and Lowcountry
1997 William B. Taylor Magistrates of the Sacred: Priests and Parishioners in Eighteenth-Century Mexico
1996 Alan Taylor William Cooper's Town: Power and Persuasion on the Frontier of the Early American Republic
1995 Ann Douglas Terrible Honesty: Mongrel Manhattan in the 1920s
1995 Stephen Innes Creating the Commonwealth: The Economic Culture of Puritan New England
1994 Karen Ordahl Kupperman Providence Island, 1630-1641: The Other Puritan Colony
1993 James Lockhart The Nahuas after the Conquest: A Social and Cultural History of the Indians of Central America, Sixteenth through Eighteenth Centuries
1992 Richard White The Middle Ground: Indians, Empires, and Republics in the Great Lakes Region, 1615-1815
1991 Richard Price Alabi's World
1990 Jon Butler Awash in a Sea of Faith: Christianizing the American People
1989 Peter Novick The Noble Dream: The "Objectivity Question" and the American Historical Profession
1988 Jacquelyn Dowd Hall, et al. Like a Family: The Making of a Southern Cotton Mill World
1987 Mary C. Karasch Slave Life in Rio de Janeiro, 1808-1850
1986 Alan S. Knight The Mexican Revolution, Two Volumes
1985 Nancy M. Farriss Maya Society Under Colonial Rule: The Collective Enterprise of Survival
1984 Sean Wilentz Chants Democratic: New York City and the Rise of the American Working Class, 1788-1850
1983 Louis R. Harlan Booker T. Washington: The Wizard of Tuskegee, 1901-1915
1982 Walter Rodney History of the Guyanese Working People, 1881-1905
1981 Paul G.E. Clemens The Atlantic Economy and Colonial Maryland's Eastern Shore: From Tobacco to Grain
1980 John W. Reps Cities of the American West: A History of Frontier Urban Planning
1979 Calvin Martin Keepers of the Game: Indian-Animal Relationships and the Fur Trade
1978 John Leddy Phelan The People and the King: The Comunero Revolution in Columbia, 1781
1977 Henry F. May The Enlightenment in America
1976 Edmund S. Morgan American Slavery - American Freedom: The Ordeal of Colonial Virginia
1975 David Brion Davis The Problem of Slavery in the Age of Revolution, 1700-1823
1974 Peter H. Wood Black Majority
1973 Richard L. Slotkin Regeneration Through Violence: The Mythology of the American Frontier, 1600-1850
1972 James T. Lemon The Best Poor Man's Country
1971 Carl M. Degler Neither Black Nor White: Slavery and Race Relations in Brazil and the United States
1971 James J. Rothman The Discovery of the Asylum: Social Order and Disorder in the New Republic
1970 Sheldon Hackney Populism to Progressivism in Alabama
1970 Leonard L. Richards "Gentlemen of Property and Standing": Anti-Abolition Mobs in Jacksonian America
1969 Sam Bass Warner, Jr. The Private City: Philadelphia in Three Periods of Its Growth
1968 Michael Paul Rogin The Intellectuals and McCarthy: The Radical Specter
1967 No Award  
1966 Herman Belz Reconstructing the Union: Conflict of Theory and Policy During the Civil War
1965 Daniel M. Fox The Discovery of Abundance
1964 Linda Grant DePauw The Eleventh Pillar: New York State and the Federal Constitution
1963 No Award  
1962 Walter LaFeber The New Empire: An Interpretation of American Expansion, 1860-1898
1961 Calvin DeArmond Davis The United States and the First Hague Peace Conference
1960 C. Clarence Clendenen The United States and Pancho Villa
1960 Nathan Miller The Enterprise of a Free People: Canals and the Canal Fund in the New York Economy, 1792-1838
1959 Arnold M.Paul Free Conservative Crisis and the Rule of Law: Attitudes of Bar and Bench, 1887-1895
1958 Paul Conkin Tomorrow a New World: The New Deal Community Program
1957 David Fletcher Rails, Mines, and Progress: Seven American Promoters in Mexico
1956 Paul Schroeder The Axis Alliance and Japanese-American Relations, 1941 
1955 Ian C.C. Graham Colonists from Scotland: Emigration to North America, 1707-1783
1954 Arthur M. Johnson The Development of American Petroleum Pipelines: A Study in Enterprise and Public Policy
1953 George R. Bentley A History of the Freedman's Bureau
1952 Clarence Versteeg Robert Morris, Revolutionary Financier
1951 Robert Twymann History of Marshall Field and Co., 1852-1906
1950 Glyndon G. Van Deusen Horace Greeley: Nineteenth Century Crusader
1949 Reynold M. Wik Steam Power on the American Farm: A Chapter in Agricultural History, 1850-1920
1948 Donald Fleming John William Draper and the Religion of Science
1947 Lewis Hanke The Struggle for Justice in the Spanish Conquest of America
1946 Arthur E. Bestor Backwoods Utopias: The Sectarian and Owenite Phases of Communitarian Socialism in America, 1663-1829
1945 John Richard Alden John Stuart and the Southern Colonial Frontier
1944 No Award  
1943 Harold Whitman Bradley The American Frontier in Hawaii: The Pioneers, 1789-1843
1942 No Award  
1941 Charles A. Barker The Background of the Revolution in Maryland
1940 No Award  
1939 John T. Horton James Kent: A Study in Conservatism