To merit consideration for the Canadian Library Association's Book of the Year Children Award, a book must have been published in Canada during the past year and its author must be a Canadian citizen or a permanent resident of Canada. Any work that is an act of creative writing (i.e., fiction, poetry, retelling of traditional literature) is deemed eligible regardless of published format, including anthologies and collections. The award has been given annually since 1947.


2002 Jean Little Orphan at My Door: The Home Child Diary of Victoria Cope
2001 Nan Gregory Wild Girl & Gran
2000 Kenneth Oppel Sunwing
1999 Tim Wynne-Jones Stephen Fair
1998 Kenneth Oppel Silverwing
1997 Brian Doyle Uncle Ronald
1996 Maxine Trottier The Tiny Kite of Eddie Wing
1995 Cora Taylor Summer of the Mad Monk
1994 Tim Wynne-Jones Some of the Kinder Planets
1993 Celia Barker Lottridge Ticket to Curlew
1992 Kevin Major Eating Between the Lines
1991 Michael Bedard Redwork
1990 Kit Pearson The Sky is Falling
1989 Brian Doyle Easy Avenue
1988 Kit Pearson A Handful of Time
1987 Janet  Lunn Shadow in Hawthorn Bay
1986 Cora Taylor Julie
1985 Jean Little Mama's Going to Buy You a Mockingbird
1984 Jan Hudson Sweetgrass
1983 Brian Doyle Up to Low
1982 Janet Lunn The Root Cellar
1981 Donn Kushner The Violin-Maker's Gift
1980 James Houston River Runners
1979 Kevin Major Hold Fast
1978 Dennis Lee Garbage Delight
1977 Christie Harris Mouse Woman and the Vanished Princesses
1976 Mordecai Richler Jacob Two-Two Meets the Hooded Fang
1975 Dennis Lee Alligator Pie
1974 Elizabeth Cleaver The Miraculous Hind
1973 Ruth Nichols The Marrow of the World
1972 Ann Blades Mary of Mile 18
1971 William Toye Cartier Discovers the St. Lawrence
1970 Edith Fowke Sally Go Round the Sun
1969 Kay Hill And Tomorrow the Stars
1968 James Houston The White Archer
1967 Christie Harris The Raven's Cry
1966 James Houston Tikta' Liktak
1966 James McNeill The Double Knights
1965 Dorothy Reid Tales of Nanabozho
1964 Roderick Haig-Brown  The Whale People
1963 Sheila Burnford The Incredible Journey
1962 No Award  
1961 William Toye The St. Lawrence
1960 M. Barbeau & M. Hornyansky Thhe Golden Phoenix
1959 John F. Hayes The Dangerous Cove
1958 Farley Mowat Lost in the Barrens
1957 Cyrus Macmillan Glooskap's Country
1956 Louise Riley Train for Tiger Lily
1955 No Award  
1954 No Award  
1953 No Award  
1952 Caatherine A. Clark The Sun Horse
1951 No Award  
1950 Richard Lambert Franklin of the Arctic
1949 Mabel Dunham Kristli's Trees
1948 No Award  
1947 Roderick Haig-Brown Starbuck Valley Winter