John Creasey
Susanna Jones       

The CWA John Creasey Memorial Dagger was founded by the Crime Writers' Association in 1973 to commemorate its co-founder John Creasey. The Dagger is presented annually for the best crime novel by a prevously unpublished author. The Dagger is sponsored by Chivers Press in association with the CWA.

2001 Susanna Jones The Earthquake Bird
2000 Boston Teran God is a Bullett
1999 Dan Fesperman Lie in the Dark
1998 Denise Mina Garnethill
1997 Paul Johnston Body Politic
1996 No Award      
1995 Janet Evavovich One for the Money
1994 Doug D. Swanson Big Town
1993 No Award      
1992 Minette Walters The Ice House
1991 Walter Mosley Devil in the Blue Dress
1990 Patricia D. Cornwell Postmortem
1989 Annette Roome A Real Shot in the Arm
1988 Janet Neel Death's Bright Angel
1987 Dennis Kilcommons Dark Apostle
1986 Neville Stead Tinplate
1985 Robert Richardson The Latimer Mercy
1984 Elizabeth Ironside A Very Private Enterprise 
1983 Carol Clemeau The Ariadne Clue
1983 Eric Wright The Night the Gods Smiled
1982 Andrew Taylor Caroline Miniscule
1981 Janes Leigh The Ludi Victor
1980 Liza Cody                                     Dupe
1979 David Serafin Saturday of Glory
1978 Paula Gosling A Running Duck
1977 Jonathan Gash The Judas Pair
1976 Patrick Alexander Death of a Thin-Skinned Animal
1975 Sara George Acid Drop
1974 Roger Simon The Big Fix
1973 Kyril Bonfiglioli Don't Point That Thing at Me