The Kiriyama Pacific Rim Book Prize
Fiction and Nonfiction

The Kiriyama Pacific Rim Book Prize has been awarded every year since 1996. It promotes books that will contribute to greater understanding and cooperation among the peoples and nations of the Pacific Rim. The Prize is worth US$30,000. Half of the cash award is given to the author of the winning fiction title, and half is given to the author of the winning nonfiction title.

Two panels of five judges award the prize to books that, in their opinion, are outstanding works that fulfil the goal of the award. The judges choose the winners from shortlists of five finalists in each category from the over 300 books submitted for the prize each year. In addition, lists of notable books in the fiction and nonfiction categories are also drawn from the judging process. Thus, each year, the prize recognizes, celebrates and promotes a huge variety of worthwhile books, together with their authors and publishers.

Prior to 1999 only one annual award was made. From 1999 to the present awards have been  made for both Fiction and Nonfiction.


The Pacific Rim


Award Winners

2002 Rohinton Mistry Family Matters (Fiction)
2002 Padaung-Burmese Pascal Khoo Thwe From the Land of Green Ghosts: A Burmese Odyssey
2001 Patricia Grace Dogside Story (Fiction)
2001 Peter Hessler River Town: Two Years on the Yangtze (Nonfiction) 
2000 Michael Ondaatje Anil's Ghost (Fiction)
2000 David Michael Kwan Things Must Not be Forgotten: A Childhood in Wartime China (Nonfiction)
1999 Cheng Ch'ing-Wen Three-Legged Horse (Fiction)
1999 Andrew X. Pham Catfish and Mandala: A Two-Wheeled Journey Through the Landscape and Memory of Vietnam (Nonfiction)
1998 Ruth L. Ozeki My Year of Meats
1997 Patrick Smith Japan: A Reinterpretation
1996 Alan Brown Audrey Hepburn's Neck