In 2002 over twenty publishers submitted about 200 books for consideration for the Romantic Novelists' Association's major award, the Parker Romantic Novel of the Year. These are read by preliminary judges, and the best are judged by a team of final judges drawn from the literary and media world. The book may be a modern or historical novel, and entry is open to members and non-members who are UK citizens. There has been a money prize for the Romantic Novel of the Year since 1986 and in 2002 the award was £10,000. In addition the winning author receives a set of Parker Duofold pens worth over £400.


2003 Sarah Mason Playing James
2002 Philippa Gregory The Other Boleyn Girl
2001 Cathy Kelly Someone Like You
2000 Maureen Lee Dancing in the Dark
1999 Clare Chambers Learning to Swim
1998 Angela Lambert Kiss and Kin
1997 Sue Gee The Hours of the Night
1996 Rosamunde Pilcher Coming Home
1995 Charlotte Bingham Change of Heart
1994 Elizabeth Buchan Consider the Lily
1993 Cynthia Harrod-Eagles Emily
1992 June Knox-Mawer Sandstorm
1991 Susan Kay Phantom
1990 Reay Tannahill Passing Glory
1989 Sarah Woodhouse The Peacock's Feather
1988 Audrey Howard The Juniper Bush
1987 Marie Joseph A Better World Than This
1986 Brenda Jagger A Song Twice Over
1985 Rosie Thomas Sunrise
1984 Sheila Walsh A Highly Respectable Marriage
1983 Eva Ibbotson Magic Flutes
1982 Valerie Fitzgerald Zemindar
1981 Gwendoline Butler The Red Staircase
1980 Joanna Trollope Parson Harding's Daughter
1979 Josephine Edgar Countess
1978 Madeleine Brent Merlin's Keep
1977 Anne Warboys Every Man a King
1976 Anna Gilbert The Look of Innocence
1975 Jay Allerton Vote for a Silk Gown
1974 Frances Murray The Burning Lamp
1973 Constance Heaven The House of Kuragin
1972 Maynah Lewis The Pride of Innocence
1971 Joanne Marshall Flower of Silence
1970 Margaret Maddocks Thea
1969 Doris E. Smith Comfort and Keep
1968 Maynah Lewis The Future is Forever
1967 Anne Betteridge The Truth Game
1966 No Award  
1965 Margaret Maddocks The Silver Answer
1964 Suzanne Ebel Journey from Yesterday
1963 Dorothy M. Gray House Divided
1962 Margaret Maddocks Larksbrook
1961 Paula Allardyce The Witches Sabbath
1960 Mary Howard More Than Friendship