The Sidewise Awards for Alternate History were conceived in late 1995 to honor the best "genre" publications of the year, and the first awards were announced in summer 1996. The award takes its name from Murray Leinster's 1934 short story "Sidewise In Time", in which a strange storm causes portions of Earth to swap places with their analogs from other timelines.
   Two awards are given each year. To be considered, a work must have either first English-language publication or first American publication* in the calendar year prior to the year in which the award is to be presented. In other words, awards announced in 2002 honored works published in 2001 and were called the "2001 Sidewise Awards".
   The Short-Form Award is presented for the best work of less than 60,000 words. This includes short stories, novelettes and novellas, and poems.
   The Long-Form Award is presented for the best work longer than 60,000 words. This category includes individual novels and longer works. If a book is part of a series, it must be able to stand on its own to be considered. If it is part of a serial novel -- a series in which the storyline is continuous and no volume can stand on its own -- the complete serial novel will be considered at such time as the final volume is published. In 2003 there was a tie for the Long Form Award.


2003 Long Martin J. Gidron The Severed Wing
Long Harry Turtledove Ruled Britannia
Short William Sanders Empire
2002 Long J.N. Stroyar The Children's War
Short Ken MacLeod The Human Front
2001 Long Mary Gentle Ash: A Secret History
Short Ted Chiang "Seventy-Two Letters"
2000 Long Brendan DuBois Resurrection Day
Short Alain Bergeron "The Eighth Register"
1999 Long Stephen Fry Making History
Short Ian R. MacLeod "The Summer Isles"
1998 Long Harry Turtledove How Few Remain
Short William Sanders "The Undiscovered"
1997 Long Stephen Baxter Voyage
Short Walter Jon Williams "Foreign Devils"
1996 Long Paul J. McAuley Pasquale's Angel
Short Stephen Baxter "Brigantia's Angels"