Recent News

St. Louis honors Mike Carmen with the Unit 143 Meritorious Service Award.

2014 Senior Olympics: Leah Newell and Larry Wilcox take the gold medal.

Session winners in the Fall Sectional-at-Clubs (Oct.  25 - 31).

Holiday gifts for bridge players

Regional winners:

  Champaign IL - 2014

  Crystal Lake IL - 2014

  St. Louis MO - 2014

  Fort Wayne IN - 2014

District 8 Advocate

Bimonthly newsletter & Solvers Forum

Upcoming Events

Winter Silver Point Sectional (STAC)
   Feb. 2-8, 2015
   Local clubs in District 8

Spring North American Championships
  March 12-22, 2015
  New Orleans LA

District 8 Grand National Teams
   May 2-3, 2015
   Eagles Club, Springfield IL

Illini Regional - May 19-25, 2015
   Hawthorn Suites, Champaign IL

 ACBL Links

ACBL Home Page

Your masterpoints

Tournament calendars

Dist. 8 Masterpoint Races

Ace of Clubs (YTD)

Mini-McKenney (YTD)

 Welcome to District 8 Online

District 8 is home to 3800 members of the American Contract Bridge League (ACBL). Our District includes five ACBL Units and covers parts of four Midwest states:

   Illinois  (all counties outside the Chicago metro area)

   Indiana  (northern third)

   Missouri  (eastern half)

   Kentucky  (western tip)

  District 8 North American Pairs  

November 1, 2014 -- Eagles Club, Springfield IL

Congratulations to the winners and runners-up in District 8's annual North American Pairs (NAP) finals. The event, conducted in three separate flights, was open to all District 8 members who qualified in club-level NAP games this summer.

Overall winners are listed below. The top two pairs in each flight won travel awards to New Orleans LA in March 2015 to represent District 8 in the national finals of their respective flights. The third-place pair in Flight A and the third- and fourth-place pairs in Flights B and C also qualified for the national finals, but receive no travel awards.

    Printable hand records:   Afternoon     Evening

    Board-by-board results, matchpoint scores & hand records for all flights:   Afternoon     Evening

FLIGHT A (Open) -- 9.5 tables     

1 - (left) Mark Kessler, Springfield IL - Colby Vernay, Lacon IL  

2 - (right) Sheldon Margulis, St. Louis - Gary Kessler, Springfield IL

3 - Debbie Avery - Ned Horton, Champaign IL

4 - Nate Ward - Karen Walker, Champaign IL

5 - Bob Fashingbauer, Belvidere IL - Will Engel, Freeport IL  


FLIGHT B (0-2500) -- 15 tables     

1 - (left) Kenneth Koh - Peter Yeh, Champaign IL   

2 - (right) Bob Sievers - Martha Leary, Champaign IL 

3 - Cindy Moore - Lori Moore, Bloomington IL

4 - Zack Freehill - Dave Freehill, Bloomington IL  

5 - Mike Arnheim, St. Louis - Daniel Spangler, St. Peters MO

6 - Mark Daily - Grant Sterling, Charleston IL

7 - Jay Shah - Phyllis Siegel, St. Louis

8 - Dan Bunde - Aaron Hanford, Champaign IL

9 - Norman Goldman, Chesterfield MO - Clay Cuthbertson, Quincy IL

10 - Jerry Oswald, Bloomington IL - Steve Wulfers, Normal IL


FLIGHT C (0-500 non-LM) -- 9.5 tables   

 1 -  (left) Jane Grieser - Jane Crawford, Springfield IL

 2 -  (right) Geoffrey Hadlock, Winona Lake IN - Michael Heimann, North Webster IN 

 3 -  Josh Rich, Alton IL - Carol Phillips, Godfrey IL

 4 -  Hope Wood, Clarkson Valley MO - Jill Padua, St. Louis

 5 -  Patrick & Nancy Chesley, Springfield IL

 6 - Joyce Kirby, Glen Carbon IL - Donna Murphy, Worden IL

 7 - Ned Furst, Freeport IL - Jim Gentz, Belvidere IL