In 1880, Gilkey Station was established to serve the local farm community. It was named to honor Allen and William Gilkey. The bridge was built in 1936 next to a covered railroad bridge. The railroad bridge was rebuilt removing its covering in 1960. Now Gilkey Bridge stands as the only covered bridge at the site.
It is 120 ft. long with open sides and spans Thomas Creek. The superstructure is a Howe truss. This site is included in the National Register of Historic Places, but it may be bypassed due to the increased traffic burden.
Take the Jefferson-Scio Road to Robinson Drive, continue southeast to Goar Road and head south to the bridge.