Man Booker Prize 
for Fiction



Now correctly known as the Man Booker Prize, but referred to colloquially as the "Booker", this literary prize is sponsored by Man Group and administered by the National Book League in the United Kingdom. It is awarded to the best full-length novel written in English by a citizen of the UK, the Commonwealth, Eire, Pakistan or South Africa. Publishers are invited to submit entries with scheduled publication dates (in the United Kingdom) between 1 October of the previous year and 31 September of the award year.

The number of books to be submitted by each publisher is limited to two, although others can be included for previous winners and shortlisted novelists. In addition the judges can call for books to be submitted for the prize that have not been forthcoming from the publishers. This is usually from small presses but has been known to include some novels from larger publishers as well. The prize itself (currently valued at 50,000 pounds Sterling) is awarded in late October. Shortlisted novelists also receive 2,500 pounds Sterling.


2003 DBC Pierre Vernon God Little
2002 Yann Martel Life of Pi
2001 Peter Carey True History of the Kelly Gang
2000 Margaret Atwood The Blind Assassin
1999 J.M. Coetzee Disgrace
1998 Ian McEwan Amsterdam
1997 Arundhati Roy The God of Small Things
1996 Graham Swift Last Orders
1995 Pat Barker The Ghost Road
1994 James Lelman How Late It Was, How Latet
1993 Roddy Doyle Paddy Clarke, Ha Ha Ha
1992 Michael Ondaatje The English Patient
1991 Barry Unsworth Sacred Hunger
1990 A.S. Byatt Possession
1989 Kazuo Ishiguro The Remains of the Day
1988 Peter Carey Oscar and Lucinda
1987 Penelope Lively Moon Tiger
1986 Kingsley Amis The Old Devils
1985 Keri Hulme The Bone People
1984 Anita Brookner Hotel du Lac
1983 J.M. Coetzee The Life and Times of Michael K
1982 Thomas Kennealy Schindler's List
1981 Salmon Rushdie Midnight's Children
1980 William Golding Rites of Passage
1979 Penelope Fitzgerald Offshore
1978 Iris Murdoch The Sea, The Sea
1977 Paul Scott Staying On
1976 David Storey Saville
1975 Ruth Prawer Jhabvala Heat and Dust
1974 Nadine Gordimer The Conservationist
1973 Stanley Middleton The Holiday
1972 J.F. Farrell The Siege of Krishnapur
1971 V.S. Naipaul In a Free State
1970 Bernice Rubens The Elected Member
1969 P.H. Newby Something to Answer For