DR. RALPH J. BUNCHE            

 Ralph Johnson Bunche (1904-1971) was an American scholar and diplomat known for his work in the United Nations and the first black to win a Nobel Peace Prize. The Bunche Award is given each year by the American Political Science Association for the best scholarly work in political science published in the previous year which explores the phenomenon of ethnic and cultural pluralism.


2002 Michael Dawson Black Visions: The Roots of Contemporary African-American Political Ideologies
2001 Claire Jean Kim Bitter Fruit: The Politics of Black-Korean Conflict in New York City 
2000 J. Morgan Kousser Colorblind Injustice: Minority Voting Rights and the Undoing of the Second Reconstruction
2000 Steven L. Burg & Paul S. Shoup The War in Bosnioa-Herzegovnia: Ethnic Conflict and International Intervention 
1999 Anthony W. Marx Making Race and Nation: A comparison of the United States, South Africa and Brazil
1999 Matthew F. Jacobson Whiteness of a Different Color: European Immigrants and the Alchemy of Race
1998 Rogers M. Smith Civic Ideals: Conflicting Visions of Citizenship in U. S. History
1997 Amy Gutmann & K. Anthony Appiah Color Conscious: The Political Morality of Race
1996 Will Kymlicka Multicultural Citizenship: A Liberal Theory of Minority Rights
1995 William H. Tucker The Science and Politics of Racial Research
1994 Raphael J. Sonenshein Politics in Black and White: Race and Power in Los Angeles
1993 Rodney E. Hero Latinos and the U. S. Political System: Two-Tiered Pluralism
1992 Donald L. Horowitz A Democratic South Africa? Constitutional Engineering in a Divided Society
1991 Frank R. Parker Black Votes Count
1990 Clarence N. Stone Regime Politics: Governing Atlanta, 1946-1988
1989 Ronald Walters Black Presidential Politics
1988 Earl & Merel Black Politics and Society in the South
1987 Rasma Karklins Ethnic Relations in the USSR: The Perspective from Below
1987 D. Garth Taylor Public Opinion and Collective Action: The Boston School Desegregation Conflict
1986 Paul R. Dimond Beyond Bussing: Inside the Challenge to Urban Segregation
1985 Rufus P. Browning, Dale Rogers Marshall & David H. Tabb Protest Is Not Enough: The Struggle of Blacks and Hispanics for Equality in Urban Politics
1984 Mark Naison Communists in Harlem During the Depression
1983 John A. Armstrong Nations Before Nationalism
1983 Orlando Patterson Slavery and Social Death: A Comparative Study
1982 No award
1981 Marguerite Ross Barnett The Politics of Cultural Nationalism in South India
1980 Mario Barrera Race and Class in the Southwest: A Theory of Racial Inequality
1979 M. Crawford Young The Politics of Cultural Pluralism
1979 Arend Lijphart Democracy in Plural Societies: A Comparative Approach
1978 Irving Howe World of Our Fathers