The Caldecott Medal, presented by the American Library Association, is awarded annually to the illustrator of the most distinguished picture book for children published in the United States during the preceding year. The award is named in honor of the illustrator Randolph Caldecott (1846-1886). When two names are given, the first name is that of the medalist and the second name is that of the author. In cases where only one name is given, the book was written and illustrated by the same person.


2003 Eric Rohmann My Friend Rabbit
2002 David Wiesner The Three Pigs
2001 David Small So You Want to be President?
2000 Simms Taback Joseph Had a Little Coat
1999 Mary Azarian & Jacqueline Briggs Martin Snowflake Bentley
1998 Paul O. Zelinsky Rapunzel
1997 David Wisniewski Golem
1996 Paggy Ratham Officer Buckle and Gloria
1995 David Diaz Eve Bunting, Smoky Night
1994 Allen Say Grandfather's Journey
1993 Emily Arnold McCully Mirette on the High Wire
1992 David Wiesner Tuesday
1991 David Macauley Black and White
1990 Paul Fleischman Lon Po Po: A Red-Riding Hood Story from China
1989 Stephen Gammell & Karen Ackerman  Song and Dance Man
1988 John Schoenherr Owl Moon
1987 Richard Egielski & Arhur Yorinks Hey, Al
1986 Chris Van Allsburg The Polar Express
1985 Trina Schart Hyman Saint George and the Dragon
1984 Martin & Alice Pronensen The Glorious Flight
1983 Marcia Brown Shadow
1982 Chris Van Allsburg Jumanji
1981 Arnold Lobel Fables
1980 Barbara Cooney & Donald Hall Ox-Cart Man
1979 Paul Goble The Girl Who Loved Wild Horses
1978 Peter Spier Noah's Ark
1977 Leo & Diane Dillon & Margaret Musgrove Ashanti to Zulu: African Traditions
1976 Leo & Diane Dillon, retold by Verna Aardema Why Mosquitoes Buzz in People's Ears
1975 Gerald McDermott Arrow to the Sun
1974 Margot Zemach & Harve Zemach Duffy and the Devil
1973 Blair Lent, retold by Arlene Mosel The Funny Little Woman
1972 Nonny Hogrogian One Fine Day
1971 Gail E. Haley A Story - A story
1970 Willima Steig Sylvester and the Magic Pebble
1969 Uri Shulevitz & Arthur Ransome The Fool of the World and the Flying Ship
1968 Ed Emberley & Barbara Emberley Drummer Hoff
1967 Evaline Ness Sam, Bangs & Moonshine
1966 Nonny Hogrogian & Sorche Nic Leodhas Always Room for One More
1965 Beni Montresor & Beatrice Schenk de Regniers May I Bring a Friend?
1964 Maurice Sendak Where the Wild Things Are
1963 Exra Jack Keats The Snowy day
1962 Marcia Brown Once a Mouse ...
1961 Nicolas Sidjakov & Ruth Robbins  Baboushka and the Three Kings
1960 Marie Hall Ets & Aurora Labastida Nine Days to Christmas
1959 Barbara (adapted from Geoffrey Chaucer) Chanticleer and the Fox
1958 Robert McCloskey Time of Wonder
1957 Marc Simont & Janice May Udry A Tree Is Nice
1956 Feodor Rojjankovsky & John Langstaff Frog Went A-Courtin'
1955 Marcia Brown & Charles Perault Cinderella, Or the Little Glass Slipper
1954 Ludwig Bemelmans Madeline's Rescue
1953 Lynd Ward The Biggest Bear
1952 Nicolas Mordvinoff & Will Mordvinoff Finders Keepers
1951 Katherine Milhous The Egg Tree
1950 Leo Politi Song of the Swallows
1949 Bert & Elmer Hader The Big Snow
1948 Roger Duvoisin & Alvin Tresselt White Snow, Bright Snow
1947 Leonard Weisgard & Golden MacDonald The Little Island
1946 Maude & Miska Petersham The Rooster Crows (traditional Mother Goose)
1945 Elizabeth Orton Jones & Rachel Jones Prayer for a Child
1944 Louis Slobodkin & James Thurber Many Moons
1943 Virginia Lee Burton The Little House
1942 Robert McCloskey Make Wat for Ducklings
1941 Robert Lawson They Were Strong and Good
1940 Ingri & Edgar Parin d'Aulaire Abraham Lincoln
1939 Thomas Handforth Mei Li
1938 Dorothy Lathrop & Helen Dean Fish Animals of the Bible