The Carnegie Medal, established in 1937 is offered by the Youth Libraries Group of the British Library Association. It is presented annually to an outstanding book for children published in the United Kingdom. Initially limited to English writers whose books were published in England, but since 1969 any book written in English and published first, or concurrently in the United Kingdom has been eligible. The Date below reflects the date the book was published. The award is presented in the following year.


2001 Terry Pratchett Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents
2000 Beverley Naidoo The Other Side of Truth
1999 Aidan Chambers Postcards from No Man's Land
1998 David Almond Skellig
1997 Tim Bowler Riverboy
1996 Melvin Burgess Junk
1995 Philip Pullman Northern Lights (US title: The Golden Compass)
1994 Theresa Breslin Whispers in the Graveyard
1993 Robert Swindells Stone Cold
1992 Anne Fine Flour Babies
1991 Berlie Doherty Dear Nobody
1990 Gillian Cross Wolf
1989 Anne Fine My War with Goggle Eyes
1988 Geraldine McCaughrean Pack of Lies
1987 Susan Price The Ghost Drum
1986 Berlie Doherty Granny Was a Buffer Girl
1985 Kevin Crossley-Holland Storm
1984 Margaret Mahy The Changeover
1983 Jan Mark Handles
1982 Margaret Mahy The Haunting
1981 Robert Westall The Scarecrows
1980 Peter Dickinson City of Gold
1979 Peter Dickinson Tulku
1978 David Rees The Exeter Blitz
1977 Gene Kemp The Turbulent Term of Tyke Tyler
1976 Jan Mark Thunder and Lightnings
1975 Robert Westall The Machine-Gunners
1974 Mollie Hunter The Stronghold
1973 Penelope Lively The Ghost of Thomas Kempe
1972 Richard Adams Watership Down
1971 Ivan Southall Josh
1970 Leon Garfield & Edward Blishen The God Beneath the Sea
1969 K. M. Peyton The Edge of the Cloud
1968 Rosemary Harris The Moon in the Cloud
1967 Alan Garner The Owl Service
1966 No award  
1965 Philip Turner The Change at High Force
1964 Sheena Porter Nordy Bank
1963 Hester Burton Time of Trial
1962 Pauline Clarke The Twelve and the Genii (US title: The Return of the Twelve)
1961 Lucy Boston A Stranger at Green Knowe
1960 I. W. Cornwall The Making of Man
1959 Rosemary Sutcliff The Lantern Bearers
1958 Philippa Pearce Tom's Midnight Garden
1957 William Mayne A Grass Rope
1956 C. S. Lewis The Last Battle
1955 Eleanor Farjeon The Little Bookroom
1954 Ronald Welch Knight Crusader
1953 Edward Osmond A Valley Grows Up
1952 Mary Norton The Borrowers
1951 Cynthia Harnett Nicholas and the Wool-Pack
1950 Elfrida Vipont Foulds The Lark on the Wing
1949 Agnes Allen The Story of Your Home 
1948 Richard Armstrong Sea Change
1947 Walter de la Mare Collected Stories for Children
1946 Elizabeth Goudge The Little White Horse
1945 No award  
1944 Eric Linklater The Wind on the Moon
1943 No award  
1942 BB (Denys Watkins-Pitchford) The Little Grey Men
1941 Mary Treadgold We Couldn't Leave Dinah
1940 Kitty Barne Visitors from London
1939 Eleanor Doorly Radium Woman
1938 Noel Streatfeild The Circus is Coming
1937 Eve Garnett The Family from One End Street
1936 Arthur Ransome Pigeon Post