The Kate Greenaway Medal is presented by the Youth Libraries Group of The Library Association. The Medal was established in 1956 and is presented annually for the most distinguished work in the illustration of children's books published in the United Kingdom. The illustrator's name is shown in the column next to the date. When the text is written by a person other than the illustrator that person's name appears in parentheses.


2001 Chris Riddell Pirate Diary
2000 Lauren Child I Will Not Ever Never Eat a Tomato
1999 Helen Oxenbury (Lewis Carroll) Alice's Adventures in Wonderland
1998 Helen Cooper Pumpkin Soup
1997 P. J. Lynch (Amy West) When Jessie Came Across the Sea
1996 Helen Cooper The Baby Who Wouldn't Go to Bed
1995 P. J. Lynch (Susan Wojciechowski) The Christmas Miracle of Jonathan Toomey
1994 Gregory Rogers (Libby Hathorn) The Way Home
1993 Alan Lee (Rosemary Sutcliff) Black Ships Before Troy
1992 Anthony Browne Zoo
1991 Janet Ahlberg (Allan Ahlberg) The Jolly Christmas Postman
1990 Gary Blythe (Dyan Sheldon) The Whales' Song
1989 Michael Foreman War Boy: A Country Childhood
1988 Barbara Firth (Martin Waddell) Can't You Sleep, Little Bear
1987 Adrienne Kennaway (Mwenye Hadithi) Crafty Chameleon
1986 Fiona French Snow White in New York
1985 Juan Wijngaard (Selina Hastings) Sir Gawain and the Loathly Lady
1984 Errol LeCain Hiawatha's Childhood
1983 Anthony Browne Gorilla
1982 Michael Foreman (Helen Piers) Long Neck and Thunder Foot
1982 Michael Foreman (Selected by Angela Carter) Sleeping Beauty and Other Favorite Fairy Tales
1981 Charles Keeping (Alfred Noyes) The Highwayman
1980 Quentin Blake Mr. Magnolia
1979 Jan Pienkowski The Haunted House
1978 Janet Ahlberg Each Peach Pear Plum
1977 Shirley Hughes Dogger
1976 Gail E. Haley The Post Office Cat
1975 Victor Ambrus Horses in Battle & Mishka
1974 Pat Hutchins The Wind Blew
1973 Raymond Briggs Father Christmas
1972 Krystyna Turska The Woodcutter's Duck
1971 Jan Pienkowski The Kingdom Under the Sea
1970 John Burningham Mr. Gumpy's Outing
1969 Helen Oxenbury (Edward Lear) The Quangle-Wangle's Hat
1968 Pauline Baynes (Grant Uden) A Dictionary of Chivalry
1967 Charles Keeping Charley, Charlotte and the Golden Canary
1966 Raymond Briggs Mother Goose Treasury
1965 Victor Ambrus Three Poor Tailors
1964 C. Walter Hodges Shakespeare's Theatre
1963 John Burningham Borka: The Adventures of a Goose With No Feather
1962 Brian Wildsmith Brian Wildsmith's ABC
1961 Anthony Maitland (Philippa Pearce) Mrs. Cockle's Cat
1960 Gerald Rose (Elizabeth Rose) Old Winkle and the Seagulls
1959 William Stobbs (Anton Chekhov) Kashtanka
1959 William Stobbs Compiled by Ruth Manning-Sanders) A Bundle of Ballads
1958 No award
1957 V. H. Drummond Mrs. Easter and the Storks
1956 Edward Ardizzone Tim All Alone