The Hawthornden Prize, the oldest of the famous British literary prizes, was founded in 1919 by Alice Warrender. It is awarded annually to an English writer for the best work of imaginative literature. It is especially designed to encourage young authors an the word 'imaginative' is given a broad interpretation. A panel of judges decides the winner. No award was given in 1984-87, 1971-73, 1966, 1959, 1945-57.


2002 Eamon Duffy The Voices of Morebath: Reformation and Rebellion in an English Village
2001 Helen Simpson Hey Yeah Right Get a Life
2000 Michael Longley The Weather in Japan
1999 Antony Beevor Stalingrad
1998 Charles Nicholl Somebody Else
1997 John Lanchester The Debt to Pleasure
1996 Hilary Mantel An Experiment in Love
1995 James Michie The Collected Poems
1994 Tim Pears In the Place of Fallen Leaves
1993 Andrew Barrow The Top Dancer
1992 Ferdinand Mount Of Love and Asthma
1991 Claire Tomalin The Invisible Woman
1990 Kit Wright Short Afternoons
1989 Alan Bennett Talking Heads
1988 Colin Thubron Behind the Wall
1983 Jonathan Keates Allegro Postillions
1982 Timothy Mo Sour Sweet
1981 Douglas Dunn St. Kilda's Parliament
1980 Christopher Reid Arcadia
1979 P. S. Rushforth Kindergarten
1978 David Cook Walter
1977 Bruce Chatwin In Patagonia
1976 Robert Nye Falstaff
1975 David Lodge Changing Places
1974 Oliver Sacks Awakenings
1970 Piers Paul Read Monk Dawson
1969 Geoffrey Hill King Log
1968 Michael Levey Early Renaissance
1967 Michael Frayn The Russian Interpreter
1965 William Trevor The Old Boys
1964 V. S. Naipaul Mr. Stone and the Knight's Companion
1963 Alistair Horne The Price of Glory: Verdun 1916
1962 Robert Shaw The Sun Doctor
1961 Ted Hughes Lupercal
1960 Alan Sillitoe The Loneliness of the Long Distance Runner
1958 Dom Moraes A Beginning
1944 Martyn Skinner Letters to Malaya
1943 Sidney Keyes The Cruel Solstice and the Iron Laurel 
1942 John Llewellyn Rhys England is My Village
1941 Graham Greene The Power and the Glory
1940 James Pope-Hennessy London Fabric
1939 Christopher Hassall Penthesperon
1938 David Jones In Parenthesis
1937 Ruth Pitter A Trophy of Arms
1936 Evelyn Waugh Edmund Campion
1935 Robert Claudius I, Claudius
1934 James Hilton Lost Horizon
1933 Victoria Sackville-West Collected Poems
1932 Charles Morgan The Fountain
1931 Kate O'Brien Without My Cloak
1930 Geoffrey Dennis The End of the World
1929 Lord David Cecil The Stricken Deer
1928 Sigfried Sassoon Memoirs of a Fox-Hunting Man
1927 Henry Williamson Tarka the Otter
1926 Victoria Sackville-West The Land
1925 Sean O'Casey Juno and the Paycock
1924 Ralph Hale Mottram The Spanish Farm
1923 David Garnett Lady into Fox
1922 Edmund Blunden The Shepherd
1921 Romer Wilson  The Death of Society
1920 John Freeman Poems New and Old
1919 Edward Shanks The Queen of China