The Hugo Awards are named for Hugo Gernsback  the "Father of Magazine Science Fiction." The Awards, also known as the Science Fiction Achievement Awards, are given annually by the World Science Fiction Society. The novels winning the Hugo Award are listed for 1953-2002.


2003 Robert J. Sawyer Hominids
2002 Neil Gaiman American Gods
2001 J.K. Rowling Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
2000 Vernor Vinge A Deepness in the Sky
1999 Connie Willis To Say Nothing of the Dog
1998 Joe Haldeman Forever Peace
1997 Kin Stanley Robinson Blue Mars
1996 Neal Stephenson The Diamond Age
1995 Lois McMaster Bujold Mirror Dance
1994 Kim Stanley Robinson Green Mars
1993 Vernor Vinge A Fire Upon the Deep
1992 Lois McMaster Bujold Barryar
1991 Lios McMaster Bujold The Vor Game
1990 Dan Simmons Hyperion
1989 C.J. Cherryh Cyteen
1988 David Brin The Uplift War
1987 Orson Scott Card Speaker for the Dead
1986 Orson Scott Card Ender's Game
1985 William Gibson Neuromancer
1984 David Brin Startide Rising
1983 Isaac Asimov Foundation's Edge
1982 C.J. Cherryh Downbelow Station
1981 Joan D. Vinge Snow Queen
1980 Arthur C. Clarke The Foundations of Paradise
1979 Vonda McIntyre Dreamsnake
1978 Frederik Pohl Gateway
1977 Kate Wilhelm Where Late the Sweet Birds Sang
1976 Joe Haldeman The Forever War
1975 Ursula K. Le Guin The Dispossessed
1974 Arthur C. Clarke Rendezvous With Rama
1973 Isaac Asimov The Gods Themselves
1972 Philip Jose farmer To Your Scattered Bodies Go
1971 Larry Niven Ringworld
1970 Ursula K. Le Guin The Left Hand of Darkness
1969 John Brunner Stand on Zanzibar
1968 Roger Zelazny Lord of Light
1967 Robert A. Heinlein The Moon is a Harsh Mistress
1966 Roger Zelazny ... And Call Me Conrad or This Immortal
1966 Frank Herbert Dune
1965 Fritz Leiber The Wanderer
1964 Clifford D. Simak Way Station
1963 Philip K. Dick The Man in the High Castle
1962 Robert A. Heinlein Stranger in a Strange Land
1961 Walter M. Miller, Jr. A Canticle for Leibowitz
1960 Robert A. Heinlein Starship Troopers
1959 James Blish A Case of Conscience
1958 Fritz Leiber The Big Time
1957 No Award  
1956 Robert A. Heinlein Double Star
1955 Mark Clifton & Frank Riley They'd Rather Be Right
1954 No Award  
1953 Alfred Bester The Demolished Man