The Jane Addams Children's Book Award has been presented annually since 1953 by the Women's International League for Peace and Freedom and the Jane Addams Peace Association to the children's book that most effectively promotes the cause of peace, social justice and world community. The Jane Addams Peace Association was founded in 1948 "to foster a better understanding between the people of the world toward the end that wars may be avoided and a more lasting peace enjoyed." It is the educational affiliate of the Women's International League for Peace and Freedom, founded in 1915 with Jane Addams as its first president. Jane Addams was the first woman to win the Nobel Peace Prize, which she received in 1931. Beginning in 1993, an annual award has been made for a children's picture book. The following list is for the "Longer Book," the term used to distinguish this award from the one for the picture book.


2003 Deborah Ellis Parvana's Journey
2002 Beverley Nadoo The Other Side of truth
2001 Pam Munoz Ryan Esperanza Rising
2000 Ruby Bridges Through My Eyes
1999 Virginia Euwer Wolff Bat 6
1998 Naomi Shihab Nye Habibi
1997 Susan Campbell Bartoletti Growing Up in Coal Country
1996 Mildred D. Taylor The Well
1995 Russell Freedman Kids at Work: Lewis Hine and the Crusade Against Child Labor
1994 Ellen Levine Freedom's Children: Young Civil Rights Activists Tell Their Stories
1993 Frances Temple Orchard A Taste of Salt: A story of Modern Haiti
1992 Fran Leeper Buss & Daisy Cubias Journey of the Sparrows
1991 Ann Durell & Marilyn Sachs, eds. The Big Book for Peace
1990 Patricia & Fredrick McKissack A Long Hard Journey: the Story of the Pullman Porter
1989 Virginia Hamilton Anthony Burns: The Defeat and Triumph of a Fugitive Slave
1989 Victoria Boutis Looking Out
1988 Sheila Gordon Waiting for the Rain: A Novel of South Africa
1987 Judith Vigna Nobody Wants a Nuclear War
1986 Milton Meltzer Ain't Gonna Study War No More: The Story of America's Peace Seekers
1985 Hermann Vinke The Short Life of Sophie Scholl
1984 Marion Dane Bauer Rain of Fire
1983 Toshi Maruki Hiroshima No Pika
1982 Athena V. Lord A Spirit to Ride the Whirlwind
1981 Florence Meiman White First Woman in Congress: Jeannette Rankin
1980 David Kherdian Greenwillow The Road from Home: The Story of an American Girl
1979 Jamake Highwater Many Smokes, Many Moons: A Chronology of American Indian History through Indian Art
1978 Laurence Yep Child of the Owl
1977 Milton Meltzer Never to Forget: The Jews of the Holocaust
1976 Eloise Greenfield Paul Robeson
1975 Charlotte Pomerantz The Princess and the Admiral
1974 Nicholasa Mohr Nilda
1973 S. Carl Hirsch The Riddle of Racism
1972 Betty Underwood The Tamarack Tree
1971 Cornelia Meigs Jane Addams: Pioneer of Social Justice
1970 Theodore Taylor The Cay
1969 Esther Hautzig The Endless Steppe: Growing Up in Siberia
1968 Erick Haugaard The Little Fishes
1967 Robert Burch Queenie Peavy
1966 Emily Cheney Neville Berries Goodman
1965 Duane Bradley Meeting with a Stranger
1964 John F. Kennedy Profiles in Courage: Young Readers Memorial Edition
1963 Ryerson Johnson The Monkey and the Wild, Wild Wind
1962 Aimee Sommerfelt The Road to Agra
1961 Shirley L. Arora What Then, Raman?
1960 Edith Patterson Meyer Champions of Peace
1959 No award
1958 William O. Steele The Perilous Road
1957 Margot Benary-Isbert Blue Mystery
1956 Arna Bontemps Story of the Negro
1955 Elizabeth Yates Rainbow Round the World
1954 Jean Ketchum Stick-in-the-Mud
1953 Eva Knox Evans People Are Important