Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Current Interest

The Los Angeles Times awards several prizes to honor achievement on literature by recognizing writers who have demonstrated outstanding craftsmanship and vision. A writer need not be an American citizen and need not have written originally in English, but the winning book must have been published in English in the United States during the eligible year. Awards are made for works published in the preceding year. The most recent prize for Current Interest was made on
April 24, 2004..


2004 Ross Terrill The New Chinese Empire - And What It Means for the United States
2003 Judith Levine Harmful to Minors: The Perils of Protecting Children from Sex
2002 Barbara Ehrenreich Nickel and Dimed: On (Not) Getting By in America
2001 Frances Fitzgerald Way Out There in the Blue: Reagan, Star Wars and the End of the Cold War
2000 Mitchell Duneier Sidewalk (with Photographs by Ovie Carter)
1999 Philip Gourevitch We Wish to Inform You That Tomorrow We Will Be Killed With Our Families: Stories from Rwanda
1998 Anne Fadiman The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down: A Hmong Child, Her American Doctors, and the Collision of Two Cultures
1997 Peter Maas Love Thy Neighbor: A Story of War
1996 Gregory Howard Williams Life on the Color Line: The True Story of a White Boy Who Discovered He Was Black
1995 Henry Kissinger Diplomacy
1994 Peter Skerry Mexican Americans: The Ambivalent Minority
1993 Francis Fukuyama The End of History and the Last Man
1992 E. J. Dionne, Jr. Why Americans Hate Politics: The Death of the Democratic Process
1991 O. B. Hardison, Jr. Disappearing Through the Skylight: Culture and Technology in the Twentieth Century
1990 Taylor Branch Parting the Waters: America in the King Years, 1954-1963
1989 William Greider Secrets of the Temple: How the Federal Reserve Runs the Country
1988 Richard Dawkins The Blind Watchmaker
1987 Joseph Lelyveld Move Your Shadow: South Africa, Black and White
1986 Robert N. Bellah, Richard Madsen, William M. Sullivan, Ann Swidler, and Steven M. Tipton Habits of the Heart: Individualism and Commitment in American Life
1985 Jane Jacobs Cities and the Wealth of Nations
1984 Walker Percy Lost in the Cosmos
1983 Jonathan Schell The Fate of the Earth
1982 Jacobo Timerman Prisoner Without a Name, Cell Without a Number
1981 Harrison Salisbury Without Fear or Favor (Winner of the General Award - no Current Interest Award this year)