Richard B. Alley 

The Phi Beta Kappa Award in Science of $2,500 is offered for outstanding contributions by scientists to the literature of science. It was first offered in 1959. The intent of the award is to encourage literate and scholarly interpretations of the physical and biological sciences and mathematics. Books that are exclusively histories of science are not eligible, nor are biographies of scientists in which a narrative emphasis predominates.


2001 Richard B. Alley The Two-Mile Machine: Ice Cores, Abrupt Climate Change, and Our Future
2000 J. William Schopf Cradle of Life: The Discovery of the Earth's Earliest Fossils
1999 Brian Greene The Elegant Universe: Superstrings, Hidden Dimensions, and the Quest for the Ultimate Theory
1998 Pat Shipman Taking Wing: Archaeopteryx and the Evolution of Bird Flight
1997 Jared Diamond Guns, Germs, and Steel
1996 David Lindley Where Does the Weirdness Go? Why Quantum Mechanics Is Strange, But Not as Strange as You Think
1995 Edward O. Wilson & Bert Holldobler Journey to the Ants: A Story of Scientific Exploration
1994 Kip S. Thorne Black Holes & Time Warps: Einstein's Outrageous Legacy
1993 Garrett Hardin Living Within Limits: Ecology, Economics, and Population Taboos
1992 Ernst Mayr One Long Argument: Charles Darwin and the Genesis of Modern Evolutionary Thought
1991 Edward R. Tufte Envisioning Information
1990 Stephen Jay Gould Wonderful Life: The Burgess Shale and the Nature of History
1989 David Park The How and the Why: An Essay on the Origins and Development of Physical Theory
1988 Freeman Dyson Infinite in all Directions
1987 Hugh D. Crone Chemicals and Society: A Guide to the New Chemical Age
1986 FRed L. Whipple The Mystery of Comets
1985 Norma E. Emerton The Scientific Interpretation of Form
1984 George Greenstein FRozen Star: Of Pulsars, Black Holes and the Fate of Stars
1983 Stephen Jay Gould Hen's Teeth and Horses Toes: Further Reflections in Natural History
1982 Sir Bernard Lovell Emerging Cosmology
1981 Eric Chaisson Cosmic Dawn: The Origins of Matter and Life
1980 David A. Park The Image of Eternity: Roots of Time in the Physical World
1979 John Imbrie & Katherine Imbrie Ice Ages: Solving the Mystery
1978 Colin Blakemore Mechanics of the Mind
1977 Gerard K. O'Neill The High Frontier: Human Colonies in Space
1976 William W. Warner Beautiful Swimmers: Watermen, Crabs and the Chesapeake Bay
1975 Guido Majno The Healing Hand: Man and Wound in the Ancient World
1974 Howard E. Gruber & Paul H. Barrett Darwin on Man
1973 Herman H. Goldstine The Computer from Pascal to von Neumann
1972 Barry Commoner The Closing Circle: Nature, Man and Technology
1971 Linus Pauling Vitamin C and the Common Cold
1970 John & Mildred Teal The Life and Death of a Salt Marsh
1969 G. J. V. Nossal Antibodies and Immunity
1968 Sir Alistir Hardy Great Waters
1967 Haig P. Papazian Modern Genetics
1966 Rene Dubos Man Adapting
1965 Donald R. Griffin Bird Migration
1964 Verne Grant The Origin of Adaptations
1963 Rene Dubos The Unseen World
1962 James L. Dyson The World of Ice
1961 Martin Lindauer Communication Among Social Bees
1960 Marston Bates The Forest and the Sea
1959 Loren Eisley Darwin's Century: Evolution and the Men Who Discovered It