The Pulitzer Prizes are named for Joseph Pulitzer the nineteenth century publisher of the New York World and the St. Louis Post Dispatch. His 1904 will made provision for the establishment of the Pulitzer Prizes as an incentive to excellence. He specified four awards in journalism, four in letters and drama, one in education, and four travelling scholarships. Today 21 prizes are made.  The following awards for Biography/Autobiography began in 1917.


2004 William Taubman Khrushchev: The Man and His Era
2003 Robert Caro Master of the Senate
2002 David McCullough John Adams
2001 David Levering Lewis W.E.B. DuBois: The Fight for Equality and the American Century, 1919-1963
2000 Stacy Schiff  Vera (Mrs. Vladimir Nabokov)
1999 A. Scott Berg Lindberg
1998 Katherine Graham Personal History
1997 Frank McCourt Angela's Ashes
1996 Jack Miles God: A Biography
1995 Joan D. Hedrick Harriet Beacher Stowe
1994 David Levering Lewis W.E.B. DuBois
1993  David McCullough Truman
1992 Lewis B. Puller Jr. Fortunate Son
1991 Steven Naifeh and
Gregory White Smith
Jackson Pollock
1990 Sebastien de Grazia Machiavelli in Hell
1989 Richard Ellman Oscar Wilde
1988 David Herbert Donald Look Homeward: A Life of Thomas Wolfe
1987 David J. Garrow Bearing the Cross: Martin Luther king Jr. and the Southern Christian Leadership Conference
1986 Elizabeth Frank Louise Bogan: A Portrait
1985 Kenneth Silverman The Life and Times of Cotton Mather
1984 Louis R. Harlan Booker T. Washington
1983 Russell Baker Growing Up
1982 William S. McFeely Grant: A Biography
1981 Robert K. Massie Peter the Great
1980 Edmund Morris The Rise of Theodore Roosevelt
1979 Leonard Baker Days of Sorrow and Pain: Leo Baeck and the Berlin Jews
1978 Walter Jackson Bate Samuel Johnson
1977 John E. Mack A Prince of Our Disorder: The Life of T.E. Lawrence
1976 R.W.B. Lewis Edith Wharton: A Biography
1975 Robert A. Caro The Power Broker: Robert Moses and the Fall of New York
1974 Louis Scheaffer O'Neill, Son and Artist
1973 W.A. Swanberg Luce and his Empire
1972 Joseph P. Lash Eleanor and Franklin
1971 Lawrence Thompson Robert Frost
1970 T. Harry Williams Huey Long
1969 Benjamin Lawrence Reid The Man From New York: John Quinn and His Friends
1968 George F. Kennan Memoirs
1967 Justin Kaplan Mr. Clemmens and Mark Twain
1966  Arthur M. Schlesinger A Thousand Days
1965 Ernest Samuels Henry Adams
1964 Walter Jackson Bate John Keats
1963 Leon Edel Henry Adams
1962 No Award  
1961 David Donald Charles Sumner and the Coming of the Civil War
1960 Samuel Eliot Morison John Paul Jones
1959 Arthur Walworth Woodrow Wilson, American Prophet
1958 Douglas Southall Freeman
John Alexander Carroll
Mary Wells Ashworth
George Washington, vols. 1-4; and vol 7
1957 John F. Kennedy Profiles in Courage
1956 Talbot Faulkner Hamlin Benjamin Henry Latrobe
1955 William S. White The Taft Story
1954 Charles A. Lindberg The Spirit of St. Louis
1953 David J. Mays Edmund Pendelton, 1721-1803
1952 Merlo J. Pusey Charles Evans Hughes
1951 Margaret Louise Coit John C. Calhoun
1950 Samuel Flagg Bemis John Quincy Adams and the Foundations of American Foreign Policy
1949 Robert E. Sherwood Roosevelt and Hopkins
1948 Margaret Clapp Forgotten First Citizen: John Bigelow
1947 William Allen White The Autobiography of William Allen White
1946 Linnie Marsh Wolfe Son of the Wilderness
1945 Russell Blaine Nye George Bancroft
1944 Carleton Mabee The American Leonardo: The Life of Samuel F.B. Morse
1943 Samuel Eliot Morison Admiral of the Ocean Sea
1942 Forrest Wilson Crusader in Crinoline
1941 Ola Elizabeth Winslow Jonathan Edwards
1940 Ray Stannard Baker Woodrow Wilson, Life and Letters, vols. 7 & 8
1939 Carl Van Doren Benjamin Franklin
1938 Odell Shepard Pedlar's Progress
1938 Marquis James Andrew Jackson
1937  Allen Nevins Hamilton Fish
1936 Ralph Barton Perry The Thought and Character of William James
1935 Douglas S. Freeman R.E. Lee
1934 Tyler Dennett John Hay
1933 Allan Nevins Grover Cleveland
1932 Henry F. Pringle Theodore Roosevelt
1931 Henry James Charles W. Eliot
1930 Marquis James The Raven
1929 Burton J. Hendrick The Training of an American: The Earlier Life and Letters of Walter H. Page
1928 Charles Edward Russell The American Orchestra and Theodore Thomas
1927 Emory Holloway Whitman
1926 Harvey Cushing The Life of Sir William Osler
1925 M.A. DeWolfe Howe Barrett Wendell and His Letter
1924 Michael Idvorsky Pupin From Immigrant to Inventor
1923 Burton J. Hendrick The Life and Letters of Walter H. Page
1922 Hamlin Garland A Daughter of the Middle Border
1921 Edward Bok The Americanization of Edward Bok
1920 Albert J. Beveridge The Life of John Marshall
1919 Henry Adams The Education of Henry Adams
1918 Willaim Cabell Bruce Benjamin Franklin, Self-Revealed
1917 Laura E. Richards
Maude Howe Elliott
Florence Howe Hall
Julia Ward Howe