The Pulitzer Prizes are named for Joseph Pulitzer the nineteenth century publisher of the New York World and the St. Louis Post Dispatch. His 1904 will made provision for the establishment of the Pulitzer Prizes as an incentive to excellence. He specified four awards in journalism, four in letters and drama, one in education, and four travelling scholarships. Today 21 prizes are made. The award for drama is made by a jury of five critics who attend plays both in New York and the regional theaters. The award goes to a playwright but production of the play as well as script are taken into consideration.


2004 Doug Wright I Am My Own Wife
2003 Nilo Cruz Anna in the Tropics
2002 Suzan-Lori Parks Topdog/Underdog
2001 David Auburn Proof
2000 Donald Margulies Dinner with Friends
1999 Margaret Edson Wit
1998 Paula Vogel I Learned to Drive
1997 No Award  
1996 Jonathan Larson Reny
1995 Horton Foote The Ypung Man from Atlanta
1994 Edward Albee Three Tall Women
1993 Tony Kushner Angels in America: Millenium Approaches
1992 Robert Schenkkan The Kentucky Cycle
1991 Neil Simon Lost in Yonkers
1990 August Wilson The Piano Lesson
1989 Wendy Wasserstein The Heidi Chronicles
1988 Alfred Uhry Driving Miss Daisey
1987 August Wilson  Fences
1986 No Award  
1985 Stephen Sondheim 7 James Lapine Sunday in the Park witrh George
1984 David mamet Glengarry Glen Ross
1983 Marsha Norman 'night Mother
1982 Charles Fuller A Soldier's Pay
1981 Beth Henley Crimes of the Heart
1980 Lanford Wilson Talley's Folly
1979 Sam Shephard Buried Child
1978 Donald L. Coburn The Gin Game
1977 Michael Cristofer The Shadow Box
1976 Michael Bennett, Nicholas Dante, James Kirkwood, Marvin Hamlisch & Edward Kleban A Chorus Line
1975 Edward Albee Seascape
1974 No Award  
1973 Jason Miller The Championship Season
1972 No Award  
1971 Paul Zindel The Effect of Gamma Rays on Man-in-the-Moon Marigolds
1970 Charles Gordone No Place to Be Somebody
1969 Howard Sackler The Great White Hope
1968 No Award  
1967 Edward Albee A Delicate Balance
1966 No Award  
1965 Frank D. Gilroy The Subject Was Roses
1964 No Award  
1963 No Award  
1962 Frank Loesser & Abe Burrows How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying
1961 Ted Mosel All the Way Home
1960 Jerome Weidman, George Abbott, Jerry Block & Sheldon Harnick Fiorello!
1959 Archibald MacLeish J.B.
1958 Ketti Frings Look Homeward Angel
1957 Eugene O'Neill Long Day's Journey Into Night
1956 Albert Hacker & James Goodrich The Diary of Anne Frank
1955 Tennessee Williams Cat On a Hot Tin Roof
1954 John Patrick The Teahouse of the August Moon
1953 William Inge Picnic
1952 Joseph Kramm  The Shrike
1951 No Award  
1950 Richard Rogers, Oscar Hammerstein II & Joshua Logan South Pacific
1949 Arthur Miller Death of a Salesman
1948 Tennessee Williams Streetcar Named Desire
1947 No Award   
1946 Russel Crouse & Howard Lindsay State of the Union
1945 Mary Chase Harvey
1944 No Award  
1943 Thornton Wilder The Skin of Our Teeth
1942 No Award  
1941 Robert E. Sherwood There Shall Be No Night
1940 William Saroyan The Time of Your Life
1939 Robert E. Sherwood Abe Lincoln in Illinois
1938 Thornton Wilder Our Town
1937 Moss Hart & George S. Kaufman You Can't Take It with You
1936 Robert E. Sherwood Idiot's Delight
1935 Zoe Akins The Old Maid
1934 Sidney Kingsley Men in White
1933 Maxwell Anderson Both Your Houses
1932 George S. Kaufman, Morrie Ryskind & Ira Gershwin Of Thee I Sing
1931 Susan Glaspell Alison's House
1930 Marc Connelly The Green Pastures
1929 Elmer S. Rice Street Scene
1928 Eugene O'Neill Strange Interlude
1927 Paul Green In Abraham's Bosom
1926 George Kelly Craig's Wife
1925 Sidney Howard They Knew What They Wanted
1924 Hatcher Hughes Hell-Bent for Heaven
1923 Owen Davis  Ice Bound
1922 Eugene O'Neill Anna Christie
1921 Zona Gale Miss Lulu Bett
1920 Eugene O'Neill Beyond the Horizon
1919 No Award  
1918 Jesse Lynch Williams Why Marry?