The Pulitzer Prizes are named for the nineteenth-centory American publisher Joseph Pulitzer. His will established the prizes which today are awarded in 21 categories. The prize for history is "for a distinguished book upon the history of the United States." The Pulitzer Prize for History has been awarded since 1917.


2004 Steven Hahn A Nation Under Our Feet
2003 Rick Rick Atkinson  An Army at Dawn: The War in North Africa, 1942-43
2002  Louis Menand  The Metaphysical Club: A Story of Ideas in America
2001  Joseph J. Ellis  Founding Brothers: The Revolutionary Generation 
2000  David M. Kennedy  Freedom From Fear: The American People in Depression and War, 1929-1945
1999  Edwin G. Burrows, Mike Wallace  Gotham: A History of New York City to 1898
1998  Edward J. Larson  Summer for the Gods: The Scopes Trial  and America's Continuing Debate Over
1997  Jack N. Racove  Original Meanings: Politics and Ideas in the Making of the Constitution
1996  Alan Taylor  William Cooper's Town
1995  Doris Kearns Goodwin  No Ordinary Time: Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt
1994 No Award  
1993  Gordon S. Wood  The Radicalism of the American Revolution
1992  Mark E. Neely Jr.  The Fate of Liberty
1991  Laura Thatcher Ulrich  A Midwife's Tale
1990  Stanley Karnow  In Our Image
1989  Taylor Branch  Parting the Waters
1989  James M. McPherson  Battle Cry of Freedom: The Civil War Era
1988  Robert V. Bruce  The Launching of Modern American Science, 1846-1876
1987  Bernard Bailyn  Voyagers to the West
1986  Walter A. McDougall  ... the Heavens and the Earth
1985  Thomas A. McCraw  Prophets of Regulation
1984  No Award   
1983  Rhys L. Isaac  The Transformation of Virginia, 1740-1790
1982  C. Van Woodward (ed.)  Mary Chesnut's Civil War
1981  Lawrence A. Cremin  American Education
1980  Leon F. Litwak  Been in the Storm So Long
1979  Don E. Fehrenbacher  The Dred Scott Case
1978  Alfred D. Chandler Jr.  The Visible Hand: The Managerial Revolution in American Business
1977  David M. Potter  The Impending Crisis
1976  Paul Horgan  Lamy of Santa Fe
1975  Dumas Malone  Jefferson and His Time, Vols I-V
1974  Daniel J. Boorstin  The Americans: The Democratic Experience
1973  Michael Kammen  People of Paradox
1972  Carl N. Degler  Neither Black Nor White
1971  James MacGregor Burns  Roosevelt, The Soldier of Freedom
1970  Dean Acheson  Present at the Creation
1969  Leonard W. Levy  Origins of the Fifth Amendment
1968  Bernard Bailyn  The Ideological Origins of the American Revolution
1967  William H. Goetzmann  Exploration and Empire
1966  Perry Miller  Life of the Mind in America
1965  Irwin Unger  The Greenback Era
1964  Sumner Chilton Powell  Puritan Village
1963  Constance McLaughlin Green  Washington, Village and Capital, 1800-1878
1962  Lawrence H. Gipson  The Triumphant Empire: Thunder Clouds in the West 
1961  Herbert Feis  Between War and Peace: The Potsdam Conference
1960  Margaret Leech  In the Days of McKinley
1959  Leonard D. White, Jean Schneider  The Republican Era: 1869-1901
1958  Bray Hammond  Banks and Politics in America
1957  George F. Kennan  Russia Leaves the War: Soviet American Relations, 1917-1920
1956  Richard Hofstadter  The Age of Reform
1955  Paul Horgan:  Great River: The Rio Grande in North American History
1954  Bruce Catton  A Stillness at Appomattox
1953  George Dangerfield  The Era of Good feelings
1952  Oscar Handlin  The Uprooted
1951  R. Carlyle Buley  The Old Northwest 
1950  Oliver W. Larkin  Art and Life in America 
1949  Roy Franklin Nichols  The Disruption of American Democracy 
1948  Bernard DeVoto  Across the Wide Missouri 
1947  James Phinney Baxter III  Scientists Against Time 
1946  Arthur Meier Schlesinger Jr.  The Age of Jackson 
1945  Stephen Bonsal  Unfinished Business 
1944  Merle Curti  The Growth of American Thought 
1943  Esther Forbes  Paul Revere and the World He Lived In 
1942  Margaret Leech  Reveille in Washington 
1941  Marcus Lee Hansen  The Atlantic Migration, 1607-1860 
1940  Carl Sandburg  Abraham Lincoln: The War Years 
1939  Frank Luther Mott  A History of American Magazines 
1938  Paul Herman Buck  The Road to Reunion, 1856-1900
1937  Van Wyck Brooks  The Flowering of New England 
1936  Andrew C. McLaughlin  The Constitutional History of the United States 
1935  Charles McLean Andrews  The Colonial Period of American History 
1934  Herbert Agar  The People's Choice 
1933  Frederick J. Turner  The Significance of Sections in American History 
1932  John J. Pershing  My Experiences in the World War 
1931  Bernadotte E. Schmitt  The Coming of the War: 1914
1930  Claude H. Van Tyne  The War of Independence 
1929  Fred Albert Shannon  The Organization and Administration of the Union Army, 1861-1865 
1928  Vernon Louis Parrington  Main Currents in American Thought 
1927  Samuel Flagg Bemis  Pinckney's Treaty 
1926  Edward Channing  The History of the United States 
1925  Frederic L. Paxson  A History of the American Frontier 
1924  Charles Howard McIlwain  The American Revolution 
1923  Charles Warren  The Supreme Court in United States History 
1922  James Truslow Adams  The Founding of New England 
1921  William Sowden Sims, Burton J. Hendrick  The Victory at Sea 
1920  Justin H. Smith  The War with Mexico 
1919  No award   
1918  James Ford Rhodes  A History of the Civil War 
1917  J. J. Jusserand  With Americans of Past and Present Days