The Pulitzer Prize for General Non-fiction was established in 1962. The Prize is "for a distinguished book of non-fiction by an American Author that is not eligible for consideration in any other category.


2004 Anne Applebaum Gulag: A History
2003 Samantha Power A Problem from Hell: America and the Age of Genocide
2002 Diane McWhorter Carry Me Home: Birmingham Alabama, the Climatic Battle of the Civil Rights Revolution
2001 Herbert P. Bix Hirohito and the Making of Modern Japan
2000 John W. Dower Embracing Deteat: Japan in the Wake of World WarII
1999 John McPhee Annals of the Former World
1998 Jared Diamond Guns, Germs, and Steel: The Fates of Human Society
1997 Richard Kluger Ashes to Ashes
1996 Tina Rosenberg The Haunted Land
1995 Jonathan Weiner The Beak of the Finch
1994 David Remnick Lenin's Tomb: The Last Days of the Soviet Empire
1993 Gary Wills Lincoln at Gettysburg
1992 Daniel Yergin The Prize: The Epic Quest for Oil, Money and Power
1991 Bert Holldobler
Edward O. Wilson
The Ants
1990 Dale Maharidge
Michael Williamson
And Their Children After Them
1989 Neil Sheehan A Bright and Shining Lie
1988 Richard Rhodes The Making of the Atomic Bomb
1987 David K. Shipler Arab and Jew
1986 Joseph Lelyveld Move Your Shadow
1986 J. Anthony Lucas Common Ground
1985 Studs Terkel The Good War
1984 Paul Starr The Social Transformation of American Medicine
1983 Susan Sheehan Is There No Place on Earth for Me?
1982 Tracy Kidder The Soul of a New Machine
1981 Carl E. Schorske Fin-de Siecle Vienna: Politics and Culture
1980 Douglas R. Hofstadter Godel, Escher, Bach: An Eternal Golden Braid
1979 Edward O. Wilson On Human Nature
1978 Carl Sagan The Dragons of Eden
1977 William N. Warner Beautiful Swimmers
1976 Robert N. Butler Why Survive?  Being Old in America
1975 Annie Dillard Pilgrim at Tinker Creek
1974  Ernest Becker The Denial of Death
1973 Robert Coles Children of Crisis, Vols. 2 & 3
1973 Frances Fitzgerald Fire in the Lake
1972 Barbara W. Tuchman Stilwell and the American Experience in China, 1911-1945
1971 John Toland The Rising Sun
1970 Erik H. Erikson Gandhi's Truth
1969 Rene Jules Dubos So Human an Animal
1969 Norman Mailer The Armies of the Night
1968 Will and Ariel Durant Rousseau and Revolution
1967 David Brion Davis The Problem of Slavery in Western Culture
1966 Edwin Way Teal Wandering Through Winter
1965 Howard Mumford Jones O Strange New World
1964 Richard Hofstadter Anti-Intellectualism in American Life
1963 Barbara W. Tuchman The Guns of August
1962 Theodore H. White The Making of the President, 1960