Franz Wright

The Pulitzer Prize in Poetry was first awarded in 1922. The award is currently made "for a distinguished volume of original verse by an American author."


2004 Franz Wright  Walking to Martha's Vineyard
2003 Paul Muldoon Moy Sand and Gravel
2002  Carl Dennis  Practical Gods
2001  Stephen Dunn  Different Hours
2000  C. K. Williams  Repair
1999  Mark Strand  Blizzard of One
1998  Charles Wright  Black Zodiac
1997  Lisel Mueller  Alive Together: New and Selected Poems
1996  Jorie Graham  The Dream of the Unified Field
1995  Philip Levine  Simple Truth
1994  Yusef Komunyakaa  Neon Vernacular
1993  Louise Gluck  The Wild Iris
1992  James Tate  Selected Poems
1991  Mona Van Duyn  Near Changes
1990  Charles Simac  The World Doesn't End
1989  Richard Wilbur  New and Collected Poems
1988  William Meredith  Partial Accounts: New and Selected Poems
1987  Rita Dove Thomas  Beulah
1986  Henry Taylor  The Flying Change
1985  Carolyn Kizer  Yin
1984  Mary Oliver  American Primitive
1983  Galway Kinnell  Selected Poems
1982  Sylvia Plath The  Collected Poems
1981  James Schuyler  The Morning of the Poem
1980  Donald Justice  Selected Poems
1979  Robert Penn Warren  Now and Then
1978  Howard Nemerov  Collected Poems
1977 James Merrill Divine Comedies
1976  John Ashberry  Self Portrait in a Convex Mirror
1975  Gary Snyder  Turtle Island
1974  Robert Lowell  The Dolphins
1973  Maxine Kumin  Up Country
1972  James Wright  Collected Poems
1971  William S. Merwin  The Carrier of Ladders
1970  Richard Howard  Untitled Subjects
1969  George Oppen  Of Being Numerous
1968  Anthony Hecht  The Hard Hours
1967  Anne Sexton  Live or Die
1966  Richard Eberhart  Selected Poems
1965  John Berryman  77 Dream Songs
1964  Louis Simpson  At the End of the Open Road
1963  William Carlos Williams  Pictures from Breughel
1962  Alan Dugan  Poems
1961  Phyllis McGinley  Times Three: Selected Verse from Three Decades
1960  W. D. Snodgrass  Heart's Needle
1959  Stanley Kunitz  Selected Poems, 198-1958
1958  Robert Penn Warren  Promises: Poems, 1954-1956
1957  Richard Wilbur  Things of This World
1956  Elizabeth Bishop  Poems - North and South
1955  Wallace Stevens  Collected Poems
1954  Theodore Roethke  The Waking
1953  Archibald MacLeish  Collected Poems, 1917-1952
1952  Marianne Moore  Collected Poems
1951  Carl Sandburg  Complete Poems
1950  Gwendolyn Brooks  Annie Allen
1949  Peter Viereck  Terror and Decorum
1948  W. H. Auden  The Age of Anxiety
1947  Robert Lowell  Lord Weary's Castle
1946  No award
1945  Karl Shapiro  V-Letter and Other Poems
1944  Stephen Vincent Benet  Western Star
1943  Robert Frost  A Witness Tree
1942  William Rose Benet  The Dust Which Is God
1941  Leonard Bacon  Sunderland Capture
1940  Mark Van Doren  Collected Poems 
1939  Jack Gould Fletcher  Selected Poems
1938  Marya Zaturenska  Cold Morning Sky
1937  Robert Frost  A Further Range
1936  Robert P. Tristam Coffin  Strange Holiness
1935  Audrey Wurdemann  Bright Ambush
1934  Robert Hillyer  Collected Verse
1933  Archibald MacLeish  Conquistador
1932  George Dillon  The Flowering Stone
1931  Robert Frost  Collected Poems
1930  Conrad Aiken  Selected Poems
1929  Stephen Vincent Benet  John Brown's Body
1928  Edward Arlington Robinson  Tristam
1927  Leonora Speyer  Fiddler's Farewell
1926  Amy Lowell  What's O'Clock
1925  Edward Arligton Robinson  The Man Who Died Twice
1924  Robert Frost  New Hampshire: A Poem with Notes and Grace Notes
1923  Edna St. Vincent Millay  The Ballad of the Harp-Weaver; A Few Figs from Thistles; 
Eight Sonnets in American Poetry; 1922, A Miscellany
1922  Edward Arlington Robinson  Collected Poems