The Tony Awards are named for Antoinette Perry, a founder of the American Theatre Wing and are given only for Broadway theatrical productions that play in designated theatres in New York City's Manhattan area. Approximately 700 people are eligible to vote for the awards. These include, in part, the board of directors of the American Theatre Wing; members of the governing boards of Actors' Equity Association, the Dramatists Guild, the Society of Stage Directors and Choreographers, and United Scenic Artists. The playwrite and play are shown for each annual award. .


2003 Richard Greenberg Take Me Out
2002 Edward Albee The Goat or Who is Sylvia?
2001 David Auburn Proof
2000 Michael Frayn Copenhagen
1999 Warren Leight Side Man
1998 Yasmina Reza Art
1997 Alfred Uhry The Last Night of Ballyhoo
1996 Terrence McNally Master Class
1995 Terrence McNally LOve! Valour! Compassion!
1994 Tony Kushner Angels in America: Perestroika
1993 Tony Kushner Angels in America: Millenium Approaches
1992 Brian Friel Dancing at Lughnasa
1991 Neil Simon Lost in Yonkers
1990 Frank Galati The Grapes of Wrath
1989 Wendy Wasserstein The Heidi Chronicles
1988 David Henry Hwang M. Butterfly
1987 August Wilson Fences
1986 Herb Garner I'm Not Rappaport
1985 Neil Simon Biloxi Blues
1984 Tom Stoppard The Real Thing
1983 Harvey Fierstein Torch Song Trilogy
1982 David Edagar The Life and Adventures of Nicholas Nickleby
1981 Peter Shaffer Amadeus
1980 Mark Medoff Children of a Lesser God
1979 Bernard Pomerance The Elephent Man
1978 Hugh Leonard Da
1977 Michael Cristofer The Shadow Box
1976 Tom Stoppard Travesties
1975 Peter Shaffer Equus
1974 Joseph A. Walker The River Niger
1973 Jason Miller That Championship Season
1972 David Rabe Sticks and Bones
1971 Helen Bonfils, Morton Gottlieb, Michael White Sleuth
1970 Frank McMahon Borstal Boy
1969 Howard Sackler The Great White Hope
1968 Tom Stoppard Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead
1967 Harold Pinter The Homecoming
1966 Peter Weiss Marat/Sade
1965 Frank Gilroy The Subject Was Roses
1964 John Osborne Luther
1963 Edward Albee Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?
1962 Robert Bolt A Man for All Seasons
1961 Jean Anouilh Beckett
1960 William Gibson The Miracle Worker
1959 Archibald MacLeish J. B.
1958 Dore Schary Sunrise at Campobello
1957 Eugene O'Neill Long Day's Journey Into Night
1956 Frances Goodrich & Albert Hackett The Diary of Anne Frank
1955 Joseph Hayes The Desperate Hours
1954 John Patrick The Teahouse of the August Moon
1953 Arthur Miller The Crucible
1952 Jan de Hartog The Fourposter
1951 Tennessee Williams The Rose Tatoo
1950 T. S. Eliot The Cocktail Party
1949 Arthur Miller Death of a Salesman
1948 Thomas Heggen & Joshua Logan Mister Roberts
1947 Arthur Miller All My Sons