Home

Here I Stand

Wars of the Reformation 1517-1555

Replay

Jump to ERRATA

Last Update: May 3, 2009 (new text in blue)

PRINTING TIP: I suggest copying the text below and pasting it into Microsoft Word. Then in Word you can reformat it as desired before printing.

 

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

Rulebook FAQ

9.3 Suing for Peace

 

In Step 4, a power suing for peace must remove 2 units from the map. Can these units be lent fleets? Can they be allied minor power units?

 

No and no. The units removed must be units of his major power.

 

Once two powers go to war, is the only way the war can end when one power sues for peace?

 

No.  Remember that in Section 9.1: "two powers may agree to end a war they are fighting." Such a "white peace" is actually the most common way wars end in Here I Stand. When a war ends this way, War Winner VP are never awarded.

 

12.2 Unfortified Space

 

Can a friendly land unit coexist in an unfortified space with an enemy naval unit (that is in port)?

 

Yes. They will remain together in that space unless the power with the land unit spends 1 CP on the Control Unfortified Space action. Then, as specified in 12.4, the naval unit must retreat to sea.

 

12.4 Unrest

 

Unrest markers can't be placed in spaces containing land or naval units of any power. What about a space containing only an army or naval leader?

 

A leader alone in a space (whether an army or naval leader) does count as "occupying" a space for determining placement of unrest. A reformer, Jesuit university or control marker does not count as "occupying" a space.

 

This section specifies that unrest can not be added to a space that contains land or naval units. The only listed exception is the play of Book of Common Prayer.  But what about the placement of unrest when the Protestant debater Carlstadt fails in a Reformation attempt? Does that occur if the attempt is against an occupied space?

 

Yes. Carlstadt's effect, like the Book of Common Prayer, is an exception to this general rule.

 

13.3 Avoid Battle

 

If a leader (or cavalry) is stacked with units that are attempting to avoid battle, but that leader (or cavalry) is remaining in the space, does the leader (or cavalry's) die roll modifier apply?

 

No.

 

Can a leader alone in a space avoid battle?

 

No.  If caught in an unfortified space the leader would be captured as per 13.1. If the space is fortified he would have to withdraw inside.

 

May a player try to avoid battle and designate that the leader is moving out of the space but all land units are remaining?

 

Yes.

 

14. Field Battle

 

If I have 6 land units in a space, but no leader, do I defend with all 6, or only 4?

 

With all 6 units. Note that the defender's dice are always computed from the number of land units in the space, while the attacker's dice are the number of land units in the moving formation. 

 

If an army leader and his formation are completely eliminated in a field battle fought against minor power units not allied with a major power, is he captured?  If so, where does he go?

 

This rare situation can only happen at Buda (or Edinburgh if the Scots have been reinforced beyond their starting setup).  Treat it as if the army leader has been eliminated in an assault on an independent key.  According to Step 11 of the Assault procedure, the leader is placed in the nearest fortified space or his capital. Independents and inactive minor powers may never capture a leader.

 

15. Siege

 

If the defending units in a fortified space consist only of Ottoman cavalry, does the attacker roll one die for every attacking unit, or are his rolls halved?

 

The attacker's rolls are halved; the cavalry is a "defending unit" for the purposes of Step 3 of the Assault Procedure.   However you should note that Step 4 of the Assault Procedure specifically mentions that these cavalry units do not provide additional dice for the defender.

 

If the defending units in a fortified space consist only of one of more leaders (but no land units), does the attacker roll one die for every attacking unit, or are his rolls halved?

 

One die for each attacking unit.

 

16.4 Piracy

 

If the Ottoman is at war with a minor power (Venice or Genoa) that is not allied with a major power, does that minor power's fortresses and squadrons get to roll dice against Ottoman piracy?  

 

Yes.

 

17.2 Unit Construction: Naval Units

 

Can naval units lost due to suing for peace or piracy be rebuilt in the same turn they are lost?  

 

No.  Naval units lost for any reason can not be rebuilt on the turn in which they are eliminated. They also can not return to play through an event such as Pirate Haven. Place them on the Turn Track in the box provided for the next game turn whenever they are eliminated.

 

18.1 95 Theses

 

Are the German debaters available for their debater bonuses during the 95 Theses event to start the game?

 

Yes. They are included in the setup, so they are in play at that point.  Bucer's bonus is the only one that can apply to the Reformation attempts, so you are free to use that if you attempt a space within 2 of Strasburg.

 

18.1 Diet of Worms Procedure

 

The rules state "If the number of Protestant hits exceeds the number of Catholic hits, the Protestant power flips that many spaces to Protestant influence." What number is used for "that many spaces"?

 

It is the difference between the number of hits from both sides. Thus if the Protestant scored 3 hits and the Catholic scored 2 hits, then 1 space would be flipped to the Protestant side.

 

18.2 Debater Bonuses

May a debater who provides a "Bonus CP" for translation do so on an Impulse where no CPs are being spent on translation?

No. A debater's bonus CP can only be utilized if at least 1 CP is spent on translation in that debater's language.

 

During a single impulse, the Protestant plays a 3 CP card to publish a treatise and advance a biblical translation by one space.  Can he use one debater to give bonuses to the Reformation attempts and another to boost the translation by another space?

 

No. The third restriction on Debater Bonuses (right-column, p. 28 of the rules) reads "Each power may only use one debater's bonus in a given impulse to affect Reformation or Counter Reformation attempts or biblical translations". He'll have to pick one bonus or the other; he can't use both.

 

Do debater bonuses that affect debates (those of Eck, Aleander, and Campeggio's bonuses) apply if that debater was committed prior to that round of the debate?

 

No.

 

Can a debater bonus be added in the middle of resolving an action?  Say after 1 of 2 Reformation or Counter Reformation attempts have been resolved?

 

Yes, however please note these two restrictions:

  • The debater must be flipped before the dice are rolled for the actual attempt for which bonus dice are to be provided.

  • Debaters who provide extra Reformation or Counter Reformation attempts during a publish treatise or burn books action (e.g. Carlstadt, Cajetan, Caraffa, and Calvin) must be flipped before any of the attempts for that action are made.

18.3 Reformation Attempts

 

If a Reformation attempt targets "all language zones," does this include spaces that aren't in any of the five named language zones (e.g. Antwerp, Prague)? In other words, when you're targeting all language zones, do you win ties in these spaces, or only in spaces that fall within one of the five named language zones?

 

Only in spaces that fall in one of the five named language zones. The Protestant can never win ties in Reformation attempts against spaces in the Netherlands, Bohemia, or Hungary (i.e. against those spaces outside all language zones).

 

Several debaters can be flipped to give bonuses to Reformation or Counter Reformation attempts within a certain number of spaces of a location. Do passes count when determining the distance between two spaces for this purpose? For example, Zwingli gives a bonus within two spaces of Zurich. Is Augsburg within two of Zurich?

 

The connections for "Within 2 spaces" for debater bonuses could include a pass. If you're hell bent on getting the Reformation into Italy, using a debater bonus is probably the best way.

 

18.5 Theological Debates

 

When an event card (Leipzig Debate, Papal Bull, Papal Inquisition or Spanish Inquisition) specifies that a debate is called, what happens if the Papacy has no uncommitted debaters?

 

In this case, no debate is held.

 

If there is only one debater in a language zone, what happens if a debate goes to a second round?  How can "the debate enter a second round using new debaters" in this case?

 

When a tie debate occurs in Round 1, you always look at the uncommitted debaters for this zone and pick one at random.  If no uncommitted debaters remain, then you randomly pick one of these committed ones. In this case there will just be this one debater in the committed debater pool, so he will be selected again. He'll appear for both Rounds 1 and 2. 

 

19.3 Land Unit Return Home Procedure

 

May the Hapsburg move land units or army leaders directly from one capital to another during the Winter Phase?

 

No, they may not move if they are already in a capital.  However, they don't have to move to the closest capital, so even putting them one space out from the capital may allow them to relocate to the other capital in the Winter Phase.

 

Exception 3 to this procedure discusses Protestant units returning home.  Can the Protestant end this procedure with more than 4 units in a space (perhaps to avoid undergoing attrition)?

 

No.  There is a strict limit of no more than 4 Protestant units per fortified space at the end of the Land Unit Return Home Procedure.  The Protestant player must shuffle units to other electorates until this limit is satisfied.  If still overstacked, excess units are eliminated. 

 

21.5 Papacy

 

When an excommunicated ruler dies, does the excommunication go away?

 

No. It only goes away by a confirmed agreement with the Papacy or by giving up a card in the Excommunication Segment.

 

During the Sack of Rome, do formation limits apply to the stack of attacking units moved to Rome? Do allied regulars from either a major or minor power help the Papacy defend Rome? What about mercenaries that are bribed from the attacking power at the last minute, do they help defend?

 

No,  no, and no.

 

21.6 Protestant

 

Can the Protestant player receive mercenaries prior to the Mandatory Event Schmalkaldic League through negotiations or play of the cards Landsknechts, Swiss Mercenaries, Cloth Prices Fluctuate, or Charles Bourbon?

 

No. The restriction that the Protestant can not build military units applies in all of these cases. There can be no Protestant mercenaries on the map prior to the formation of the Schmalkaldic League.

 

Can the Protestant player receive control of a space through negotiations prior to the Mandatory Event Schmalkaldic League?

 

No. 

 

Can the Mandatory Event Schmalkaldic League be triggered on Turn 1? If not, what happens when that card is played on Turn 1?

 

No, that event may not occur until Turn 2.  See the first sentence of rule section 21.6 "Schmalkaldic League." If a player receives this card on the first turn, it can still be played, but the event will not be triggered. The card is placed in the discard pile and the power playing the card receives 2 CP. The card is shuffled into the deck during the Card Draw Phase of the next turn. The same procedure is followed if the Master of Italy card is ever played and no power controls 3 of the keys in Italy listed on that card. 

 

21.7 Foreign Wars

 

Do you have to resolve a foreign war?

 

No, you can just leave the troops allocated to the war there as long as you like. Just remember that if you lose units in the foreign war, new builds must be placed there first (until the required number of units is met).

 

22.6 Independent Keys

 

Are the Knights of St. John on Rhodes treated the same as independent regulars in an independent key?

 

Yes.  They defend just like the independent regulars in a key. The only difference is that City State Rebels must target a key; it can't be used against Rhodes. To return to play, the knights must wait for the card Knights of St. John to be played to give them a new home in a Hapsburg home space.

 

23.1 Automatic Victories

 

Can a Military Victory occur instantly in the Diplomacy Phase if a player gains keys through negotiation or suing for peace?

 

No, you must wait and see if the player still has enough keys for the Military Victory at the start of the Action Phase.  His total of keys controlled may be reduced later in the Diplomacy Phase as other powers conclude agreements or sue for peace.

 

Scenario Book FAQ

 

Games with 3 to 5 Players

 

In a 3-player game, can one of your powers give the other a card with the event Diplomatic Overture

Yes. The prohibition against awarding card draws and mercenaries is related to exchanging these items due to negotiations during the Diplomacy Phase.

 

 

Card FAQ

Akinji Raiders, Cloth Prices Fluctuare, Halley's Comet, Indulgence Vendor, Knights of St. John, Michael Servetus, Sack of Rome, and Scots Raid: Can these cards force you to discard a Home Card if that is the last card in your hand?  Can a Mandatory Event be selected as the random discard if one of these cards is played?

Home Cards can never be drawn from a player's hand, even if it is the last card in your hand.  A Mandatory Event can be selected as the random discard for one of these cards; in this case, the Mandatory Event is not triggered.

 

Auld Alliance: If England DOWs Scotland, and the French hold and play Auld Alliance, do they still have to pay the 2 cp to intervene?

 

No.

 

Book of Common Prayer: Who gets to choose which spaces go into unrest with this event?

 

The power playing the card as an event.

 

Barbary Pirates, Pirate Haven: If the Ottoman player does not have enough naval units available for construction when these events are played, what happens?

 

These events can still be played in such a case, but the missing naval units are forfeited. Naval units on the Turn Track that were lost earlier in the turn can not be brought into play with these events.

 

Charles Bourbon: Can Charles and the mercenaries be placed in a space you control that is under siege?

 

No. The one space where the units enter must be controlled by your power and that space can not be under siege, in unrest, or occupied by enemy units.

 

City State Rebels: If this card is played against an independent key, what happens if the rebels defeat the troops in that space?

 

The key returns to its independent state. One independent regular is placed in the space.

 

City State Rebels: Can this card be played against a key currently under siege?

 

No.

(This restriction isn't listed on the card but is an important clarification. Without it some ambiguous situations could result.)

 

City State Rebels: Can Landsknechts or Swiss Mercenaries be played to help defend a key targeted by this event?

 

Yes, but the new mercenaries would have to be added to the space just prior to rolling the 5 dice.  You can never play these cards in the middle of a combat to add extra troops (that can serve as cheap losses).  And they can't be used to save a key from rebellion if the garrison is eliminated either (because they have to be played on a space that already contains friendly units).  So playing the event prior to the rolling of the 5 dice for the rebels is the only permissible play.

 

Cloth Prices Fluctuate: What if this card is played by the Ottoman? They can't receive two mercenaries. Can they receive two cavalry instead?

 

Yes, the Ottoman should receive two cavalry.

 

Diplomatic Marriage: Does the "Not playable by Ottomans or Protestant" apply to both the top and bottom portions of this card?

 

No. In the handful of cards with a "OR" clause that separate the card into two parts, each part is entirely separate. If both parts have a condition of play, the condition will be listed with each half of the card (for instance see Here I Stand; that card lists "If Luther is alive" as the condition for play on both halves of the card).

 

Similar logic applies to the Andrea Doria card. Only France, Papacy or the Hapsburgs can play that card to activate Genoa as an ally. Anyone can play it to have Andrea Doria strike back at the Ottoman.

 

Diplomatic Overture: Can this card be played as an event if I have no cards to give another power (i.e. I have no other cards in my hand, or just my Home card in my hand)?

 

Yes.  In this case, no card is granted to another power.  In all other cases, play of Diplomatic Overture does require you to give a card to another power.  The card given is not shown to the other players in the game.

Edward VI and Mary I: These cards say to place Dudley either in Henry's space or London. Who decides where he goes, the person playing the card or the English player?

The English player always places Dudley on the map (just like the Protestant always chooses the location for Maurice of Saxony when he comes in on Turn 6).

Foul Weather, Gout: One of these cards is played after a Move action is declared.  1 CP is lost.  Does the active player still have to go through with the same Move action that was announced?

No. The active player is now free to spend the remaining CP in any way that they choose.

Foreign Recruits: Can you use this card to build troops in a space under siege?

No. This card does allow you to construct units in a non-home space under friendly control but that is the only exception to the normal unit construction rules that it provides.

Frederick the Wise: Can the Protestant use this card to pick up Wartburg from the discard pile if he played that card as a response earlier this turn?

No. The same restriction listed for Here I Stand and Papal Inquisition on Page 9 of the rulebook applies here (see second bullet under "Discard Pile").

Here I Stand, Papal Inquisition: If one of these cards is used to pick up a card from the discard pile, is that card shown to the other players?

Yes.  The contents of the discard pile are public knowledge at all times.  So a player retrieving a card from the discard pile should announce which one it is (so players don't have to obsessively track the contents of the discard pile).

Janissaries: Can this card be used to add troops to Algiers?

No. The only way for the Ottoman can place new land units in Algiers is with the cards Foreign Recruits or Charles Bourbon. Otherwise he would have to use naval transport to get troops there.

Knights of St. John: If St. Peter's is fully constructed, may Knights of St. John still be played to force the Ottoman to discard a card?

Yes.

Landsknechts and Swiss Mercenaries: Can these cards be played to add mercenaries for another power? 

In general, no.  The only exception is the Ottoman who can play Swiss Mercenaries to add French mercenaries. Otherwise the mercenaries added must be from the power playing the card.

Landsknechts and Swiss Mercenaries: The cards say "Mercenaries are placed in any combination of spaces already containing friendly land units". Can they be placed in a space with no units from the major power playing the card, but instead containing their major power ally's land units?

No. There must already be units controlled by the major power playing the card in the space. Mercenaries could be added to a space containing units of a minor power that is an active ally of the major power playing the card, since those units are indeed controlled by the power playing the card.

Leipzig Debate: If this card is used to block a Protestant debater from use, does this apply to one or both rounds of the debate?

It applies to any one round.

Mercenaries Demand Pay: May a power use his Home Card to retain mercenaries? What about a Mandatory Event?

Yes to the Home Card; no for the Mandatory Event.

Papal Inquisition: If the Papacy chooses to draw a card from the English or Protestant hand, does he get to select a specific card, or is the draw done at random?

It is a random draw from the cards in that player's hand (with the Home Card, if present, excluded as in all random draws).

Sack of Rome: Can this card be played against the Papacy when it does not control Rome?

Yes.  If there are no Papal regulars in Rome, the Papacy rolls a single die in defense. The winner of the battle is still the side scoring the most hits.

Siege Artillery: Does an allied major power fortified space meet the condition for play of this card? 

No.

Shipbuilding: May this card be used to build naval squadrons in Algiers or an Ottoman pirate haven? 

No. The restriction on only constructing corsairs in these spaces applies at all times. This card could however be used to build corsairs in those locations.

Spring Preparations: Can a spring move ever cross more than one sea zone?

No. The card would have been better worded as "... cross a sea zone where other powers..."

Spanish Inquisition: When this event is played, the Hapsburg selects a card to be discarded. Can this be a Home card?

No. Home cards can never be taken from a player's hand by either a random draw or event card play.

Threat to Power: Can I play this event on a captured leader?

No. The leader targeted must currently be in play on the map.

Wartburg: If an event is played that is removed from the deck, and that event is cancelled by Wartburg, is the event card removed from play?

No. The event was never really triggered. That card should be placed in the discard pile.

Tips/Strategy

Order

Play-by-email

Errata/FAQ

Downloads