![]() |
|
page 3 |
| One thing we could do is open up our browser and and type in the friendly Internet address of: http://211.115.141.66/ and see what pops up, but that could be dangerous! The website could be infected with a virus which could execute malicious code on my machine when I connect to it. I think we better do a reverse IP lookup and see who owns this IP address. So I head on over to: http://www.arin.net/whois/index.html and enter the IP address and it tells me: |
![]() |
| Hmmmm... this IP address is from out of the country! Asia... we'll need to go do a lookup on the Asia Pacific Network Information Centre and see who has our specific IP address. So, off we go to: http://www.apnic.net/search/. I enter the IP address in their WhoIs search and it tells me: |
|
|
| We find ourselves in Korea, at a middle school for girls no less. Well, its time to check out their website. I check my virus scanner and make sure the definition files are up to date, make sure the Ethernet cable is close at hand so I can quickly disconnect my Internet connection in the event my machine becomes compromised. I open up my Internet Explorer and enter the address: http://211.115.141.66/. I decline to have the Korean character set downloaded to my machine and up pops their web page. |
|
|
| Well, that was uneventful. No virus warnings, no excessive hard drive activity, no unauthorized outbound Internet traffic. So, lets look into the subdirectories of the suspicious eBay contest links. I add "ebay/" to the end of the address and hit enter. |
|
|
| Now we are looking at the /ebay/ directory of the suspect site... hey! look! it's our "big long line of babble" directory (its cutoff by the next column on the screenshot). |
| So, now we'll investigate the BLLOB (that's our big long line of babble) directory... |