Located at the northern tip of the Philippines, it is composed of five provinces: Batanes, Cagayan, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya and Quirino. It also includes the ten volcanic islands of Batanes and the five coral atolls of the Babuyan Island group.

Its boundaries are Bashi Channel on the north, the Pacific Ocean on the east, the Cordillera Administrative Region on the west and the provinces of Aurora and Nueva Ecija on the south.

Cagayan River Basin, the longest and the largest river in the country, is the main waterway, flowing towards the north from the southern end of the valley and emptying into the Babuyan Channel in Aparri. It has a drainage area of about 27,300 sq. kms. and a groundwater reserve of 47,895 mcm. Its main tributaries are the Chico, Magat and Ilagan Rivers. The regionís groundwater storage capacity is estimated at 11,850 mcm. The mountain ranges make access to

the region difficult.
Its  land area is approximately 26,838 sq. kms.


  • Cagayan Valley, located at the northern part of the country, is surrounded by mountain ranges (Caraballo Mountain Range in the south; Cordillera Mountain Range in the west; Sierra Madre Range in the east).
  • Its proximity to East Asia and the southern growth corridors of the country makes it the natural "Gateway to East Asia" for trade and investments.
  • The region is composed of five provinces (Cagayan, Isabela, Batanes, Quirino, and Nueva Vizcaya).
  • The region is 483 kilometers from Metro Manila.
  • Travel time from Metro Manila to Cagayan Valley Region is 1 hour by air and 10 hours by land.

The original inhabitants of Region II are the ethnic tribes of Ibanags, Gaddangs, ltawis, Yogads and Isnegs.

The provinces of the region have two seasons: dry from December to May and wet the rest of the year. Average annual rainfall is 2,500 millimeters. Due to the regionís high altitude and the interior position of its valleys, it has greater seasonal changes compared with other regions of the country .