The best teen journalism in the world.

Making a permanent impression since 1994

Home Page

Read The Tattoo's blog

All issues
As published

The Tattoo is always looking for talented teens with an interest in journalism!

X Trials | Katrina journals | Teen suicideTeen pregnancy |  School violence | Travel | Journals | Daily Sketch | Awards | Contact us

May 25, 2006

Three dozen Tattoo winners in yearly contest

NORTH HAVEN – Thirty six Tattoo writers, photographers and cartoonists won awards today in the annual journalism contest sponsored by the Connecticut Society of Professional Journalists.

Five teens shared top honors in the “In-Depth Series” category for an entry called “Fleeing Katrina.”

The entry featured the extensive work of Louisiana 17-year-old Samantha Perez as well as photographs, cartoons and art by Josh Gales of Florida, Michel Lee of California, Perez, Brent Altemus of Lousiana and Justin Skaradosky of Connecticut.

A piece by Jesus Diaz, a New Orleans 14-year-old who described riding out the massive hurricane in a hotel, was also honored as part of the winning entry.

The Tattoo nabbed second place awards in the arts and entertainment, feature series and columns categories, along with an honorable mention for one of Lee’s cartoons.

Nebraska teen Zach Brokenrope emerged with three second place honors, including one in the general columns category for a piece he wrote about coming out.

In the arts and entertainment category, The Tattoo got a second place award for its “Fun and Games” package last fall that includes game reviews, news pieces, photographs and cartoons by a number of teens.

The annual Insider’s Guide to High School issues got a second-place finish in the feature series category. It also contained the work of numerous young writers, photographers and cartoonists.

Six Tattoo staff members worked on both the Insider’s Guide and the games pages: Brokenrope, Molly Horan, Joe Keo, Stefan Koski, Michel Lee and Skaradosky. They each got two second place awards.

In addition, on the Insider’s Guide, the following teens shared in the award: Oscar Ramirez, Nicole Teixeira, Edrees Kakar, Stacey Garrett, Amy Gordon, Liane Harder, Maressa Zahra, Courtney Coughlin, Sarah Schoonmaker, Liza Carey, Catie Moulton, Charlotte Day, Kassandra Ricci, John Elfed Hughes, Smadar Sapir, Ashley Curriston, Marese Heffernan, Monty Nelson and Justine Newquist.

The other second place winners for the “Fun and Games” package were Wesley David Fane, Josh Blacker, Katie Jordan, Kate Haire, Teague Neal, Minha Lee and Heather Moher.

There were nearly 1,000 entries in all categories of the yearly contest, for work done in 2005. The judging was done by journalists in Arkansas, Michigan, New Jersey, Ohio and Tennessee.

Links to the winning entries will be available below soon.

"Fleeing Katrina" - In-Depth Series

Hurricane Journals

Zach Brokenrope, General Column

The gut-wrenching choice to come out

May 16, 2005

Arts and Entertainment

Fun and Games

Feature series

Insider's Guide to High School - 2005

September 26, 2005

September 19, 2005

September 12, 2005

September 5, 2005

August 29, 2005

Michel Lee - Editorial Cartoons

My children...

September 10, 2005

Help The Tattoo thrive! Your donation can help us continue to provide the world's premier teen journalism.


© 2006 by The Tattoo. All rights reserved.

Who we are  |  Join us  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy

WebSTAT - Free Web Statistics