Scotland's oldest book award is given annually for the best work of fiction published in the 12 month period prior to the submission date (September 30).  Works must be written in English and originate with a British publisher.  The nationality of the writer is irrelevant.  In some years joint awards have been made. These are indicated by two listings for those years. The first award was made in 1919. The Award for 2002 was announced on September 9, 2003.

{To Buy Something Like a House or Other Books Cited  Below, Click Here}

2002     Jonathan Franzen The Corrections
2001     Sid Smith Something Like a House
2000     Zadie Smith  White Teeth 
1999     Timothy Mo  Renegade or Halo2
1998     Beryl Bainbridge  Master Georgie
1997     Andrew Miller  Ingenious Pain 1914
1996     Graham Swift  Last Orders
1996     Alice Thompson  Justine
1995     Christopher Priest  The Prestige
1994     Alan Hollinghurst  The Folding Star
1993     Caryl Phillips  Crossing the River
1992     Rose Tremain  Sacred Country
1991     Ian Sinclair  Downriver
1990     William Boyd  Brazzaville Beach
1989     James Kelman  A Disaffection
1988     Piers Paul Reid  A Season in the West
1987     George Mackay Brown  The Golden Bird: Two Orkney Stories
1986     Jenny Joseph  Persephone
1985     Robert Edric  Winter Garden
1984     J. G. Ballard  Empire of the Sun
1984     Angela Carter  Nights at the Circus
1983     Jonathan Keates  Allegro Postillions
1982     Bruce Chapman  On the Black Hill
1981     Salmon Rushdie  Midnight's Children
1981     Paul Theroux  The Mosquito Coast
1980     J. M. Coetzee  Waiting for the Barbarians
1979     William Golding  Darkness Visible
1978     Maurice Gee  Plumb
1977     John Le Carre  The Honourable Schoolboy
1976     John Banville  Doctor Copernicus
1975     Brian Moore  The Great Victorian Collection
1974     Lawrence Durrell  Monsieur, or The Prince of Darkness
1973     Iris Murdoch  The Black Prince
1972     John Berger  G
1971     Nadine Gordimer A Guest of Honour
1970     Lily Powell  The Bird of Paradise
1969     Elizabeth Bowen  Eva Trout
1968     Maggie Ross  The Gasteropod
1967     Margaret Drabble  Jerusalem the Golden
1966     Christine Brooke-Rose  Such
1966     Aidan Higgins  Langrishe, Go Down
1965     Muriel Spark  The Mandelbaum Gate
1964     Frank Tuohy  The Ice Saints
1963     Gerda Charles  A Slanting Light
1962     Ronald Hardy  Act of Destruction
1961     Jennifer Dawson  The Ha-Ha
1960     Rex Warner  Imperial Caesar
1959     Morris West  The Devil's Advocate
1958     Angus Wilson  The Middle Age of Mrs. Eliot
1957     Anthony Powell  At Lady Molly’s
1956     Rose Macauley  The Towers of Trebizond
1955     Ivy Compton-Burnett  Mother and Son
1954     C. P. Snow  The New Men and The Masters
1953     Margaret Kennedy  Troy Chimneys
1952     Evelyn Waugh  Men at War
1951     W. C. Chapman-Mortimer  Father Goose
1950     Robert Henriquez  Along the Valley
1949     Emma Smith  The Far Cry
1948     Graham Greene  The Heart of the Matter
1947     L. P. Hartley  Eustace and Hilda
1946     G. Oliver Onions  Poor Man's Tapestry
1945     L. A. G. Strong  Travellers
1944     Forrest Reid  Young Tom
1943     Mary Lavin  Tales from Bectine Bridge
1942     Arthur Whaley  Monkey
1941     Joyce Cary  A House of Children
1940     Charles Morgan  The Voyage
1939     Aldous Huxley  After Many a Summer Dies the Swan
1938     C. S. Forester  A Ship of the Line and Flying Colours
1937     Neil M. Gunn  Highland River
1936     Winifred Holtby  South Riding
1935     L. H. Myers  The Root and the Flower
1934     Robert Graves  I Claudius and Claudius the God
1933     A. G. Macdonell  England, Their England
1932     Helen Simpson  Boomerang
1931     Kate O'Brien  Without My Cloak
1930     E. H. Young  Miss Mole
1929     J. B. Priestley  The Good Companions
1928     Sigfried Sassoon  Memoirs of a Fox-Hunting Man
1927     Francis Brett Young  Portrait of Clair
1926     Radclyffe Hall  Adam's Breed
1925     Liam O’Flaherty  The Informer
1924     E. M. Forster  A Passage to India
1923     Arnold Bennett  Riceyman Steps
1922     David Garnett  Lady into Fox
1921     Walter de la Mare  Memoirs of a Midget
1920     D. H. Lawrence  The Lost Girl
1919     Hugh Walpole  The Secret City