In his Science Fiction: The Illustrated Encyclopedia (1995), John Clute devotes a chapter to "Classic Titles" and remarks that "these titles have gained the status of classics through awards, critical acclaim, or sheer long-term popularity." The titles were published from 1818 (Mary Shelley's Frankenstein) to 1994 (the work of Octavia Butler, Brian Aldiss, Iain Banks and Michael Bishop.) Each of the books listed below are briefly discussed by Clute in his book. By the way, Clute's book won the 1996 Hugo Award for Best Non-Fiction Book.


Brian Aldiss The Helliconia Trilogy. 1982-85
Brian Aldiss Somewhere East of Life. 1994
Poul Anderson Brain Wave. 1954
Isaac Asimov Foundation's Edge. 1982
Isaac Asimov The God's Themselves. 1972
Isaac Asimov I, Robot. 1950
J.G. Ballard The Burning World. 1964
Iain M. Banks Feersum Endjinn. 1994
Neal Barrett Jr. Through Darkest America. 1987
Greg Bear Blood Music. 1985
Greg Bear Queen of Angels. 1990
Gregory Benford Timescape. 1980
Alfred Bestor The Demolished Man. 1953
Alfred Bestor Tiger, Tiger or The Stars My Destination.1956
Michael Bishop Brittle Innings. 1994
James Blish A Case of Conscience. 1958
Ray Bradbury Dark Carnival. 1947
Ray Bradbury Fahrenheit 451. 1953
David Brin The Uplift War. 1987
John Brunner Stand on Zanzibar. 1968
Anthony Burgess A Clockwork Orange. 1962
Edgar Rice Burroughs A Princess of Mars. 1917
Octavia Butler Parable of the Sower. 1994
Karel Capek R.U.R., Rossum's Universal Robots. 1923
Orson Scott Card Ender's Game. 1985
C.J. Cherryh Cyteen. 1988
C.J. Cherryh Downbelow Station. 1981
Arthur C. Clarke Childhood's End. 1953
Arthur C. Clarke The Fountains of Paradise. 1979
Arthur C. Clarke Rendezvous With Rama. 1973
Hal Clement Mission of Gravity. !954
Murray Constantine Swastika Night. 1937
John Crowley Engine Summer. 1979
Samuel R. Delaney The Einstein Intersection. 1966
Philip K. Dick The Man in the High Castle. 1962
Philip K. Dick Martian Time-Slip. 1964
Philip K. Dick A Maze of Death. 1971
Philip K. Dick The Three Stigmata of Palmer Eldritch. 1965
Thomas M. Disch Camp Concentration. 1968
Thomas M. Disch 334. 1972
Philip Jose Farmer The Green Odyssey. 1957
Philip Jose Farmer To Your Scattered Bodies Go. 1971
Karen Joy Fowler Sarah Canary. 1991
Hugo Gernsback Ralph 124C 41+. 1925
William Gibson Neuromancer. 1984
William Gibson and Bruce Sterling  The Difference Engine. 1990
William Golding Lord of the Flies. 1954
Alasdair Gray Lanark. 1981
Colin Greenland Take Back Plenty. 1990
Frederick Grove Consider Her Ways. 1947
Joe Haldeman The Forever War. 1974
Robert A. Heinlein Beyond This Horizon. 1948
Robert A. Heinlein Double Star. !956
Robert A. Heinlein Sixth Column. 1949
Robert A. Heinlein Starship Troopers. 1959
Robert A. Heinlein Strangers in a Strange Land. 1961
Frank Herbert Dune. 1965
Russell Hoban Riddley Walker. 1980
Aldous Huxley Brave New World. 1932
Richard Jeffries After London. 1885
Gwyneth Jones White Queen. 1991
Daniel Keyes Flowers for Algernon. 1966
Nancy Kress Beggars in Spain. 1993
Kurd Lasswitz Two Planets. 1897
Ursula K. Le Guin The Dispossessed. 1974
Ursula K. Le Guin The Left Hand of Darkness. 1969
C.S. Lewis Out of the Silent Planet. 1938
Walter M. Miller A Canticle for Leibowitz. 1960
Michael Moorcock The Condition of Muzak. 1977
Larry Niven Ringworld. 1970
Larry Niven & Jerry Pournelle The Mote in God's Eye. 1974
George Orwell Animal Farm. 1945
George Orwell Nineteen Eighty-Four. 1949
Alexei Panshin Rite of Passage. 1968
Paul Parker Coelestis. 1993
Frederick Pohl Gateway. 1977
Frederick Pohl Man Plus. 1976
Frederick Pohl & C.M. Kornbluth The Space Merchants. 1953
Kim Stanley Robinson Red Mars. 1992
Joanna Russ The Female Man. 1975
Mary Shelley Frankenstein. 1818
Robert Silverberg Dying Inside. 1972
Robert Silverberg A Time for Changes. 1971
Cifford D. Simak City. 1952
Dan Simmons Hyperion. 1989
Edward E. Smith The Skylark of Space. 1946
Lem Stanislaw Solaris. 1961
Olaf Stapledon Star Maker. 1937
Bruce Sterling Islands in the Net. 1988
George R. Stewart Earth Abides. 1949
Theodore Sturgeon More Than Human. 1953
Theodore Sturgeon The Ultimate Egoist. 1994
Michael Swanwick Stations of the Tide. 1991
Mark Twain A Yankee in King Arthur's Court. 1889
A.E. Van Vogt Slan. 1946
A.E. Van Vogt The World of Null A. 1948
John Varley Steel Beach. 1992
Jules Verne From the Earth to the Moon. 1865
John D. Vinge The Snow Queen. 1980
Vernor Vinge A Fire Upon the Deep. 1992
Kurt Vonnegut, Jr. The Sirens of Titan. 1959
Kurt Vonnegut, Jr. Slaughterhouse-Five. 1969
Ian Watson The Embedding. 1973
Stanley Weinbaum Dawn of Flame and Other Stories. 1936
Connie Willis Doomsday Book. 1992
H.G. Wells The Time Machine. 1895
H.G. Wells The War of the Worlds. 1898
Gene Wolfe The Book of the New Sun. 1980-83
John Wyndham The Day of the Triffids. 1951
Ivan Yefremov Andromeda. 1959
Yevgeny Zamiatin We. 1924
Roger Zelazny This Immortal. 1966
Roger Zelazny Lord of Light, 1967
David Zindell The Broken God. 1993