The Crime Writers’ Association of Great Britain was founded in 1953 and is open to published writers of crime fiction and non-fiction. The Macallan Daggers are sponsored by The Macallan, distillers of the single Highland malt whiskey, in association with the Crime Writers' Association. The CWA Gold Dagger is awarded for the best crime novel of the year.


2003 Minette Walters Fox Evil
2002 Jose Carlos Somoza The Athenian Murders
2001 Henning Menkell Sidetracked
2000 Jonathan Lethem Motherless Brooklyn
1999 Robert Wilson A Small Death in Lisbon
1998 James Lee Burke Sunset Limited
1997 Ian Rankin Black & Blue
1996 Ben Elton Popcorn
1995 Val McDermid The Mermaids Singing
1994 Minette Walters The Scold's Bride
1993 Patricia D. Cornwell Cruel and Unusual
1992 Colin Dexter The Way Through the Woods
1991 Barbara Vine King Solomon's Carpet
1990 Reginald Hill Bones and Silence
1989 Colin Dexter The Wench Is Dead
1988 Michael Dibdin Ratking
1987 Barbara Vine A Fatal Inversion
1986 Ruth Rendell Live Flesh
1985 Paula Gosling Monkey Puzzle
1984 B.M. Gill The Twelfth Juror
1983 John Hutton Accidental Crimes
1982 Peter Lovesey The False Inspector Dew
1981 Martin Cruz Smith Gorky Park
1980 H.R.F. Keating  The Murder of the Maharajah
1979 Dick Francis Whip Hand
1978 Lionel Davidson The Chelsea Murders
1977 John Le Carre The Honourable Schoolboy
1976 Ruth Rendell A Demon in My View
1975 Nicholas Meyer The Seven Percent Solution
1974 Anthony Price Other Paths to Glory
1973 Robert Littell The Defection of A.J. Lewinter
1972 Eric Ambler The Levanter
1971 James McClure The Steam Pig
1970 Joan Fleming Young Man, I Think You're Dying
1969 Peter Dickinson A Pride of Heroes
1968 Peter Dickinson Skin Deep
1967 Emma Lathen Murder Against the Grain
1966 Lionel Davidson A Long Way to Shiloh
1965 Ross Macdonald The Far Side of the Dollar
1964 H.R.F. Keating The Perfect Murder
1963 John Le Carre The Spy Who Came In From the Cold
1962 Joan Fleming When I Grow Rich
1961 Mary Kelly The Spoilt Kill
1960 Lionel Davidson The Night of Wenceslas
1959 Eric Ambler Passage of Arms
1958 Margot Bennett Someone From the Past
1957 Julian Symons The Colour of Murder
1956 Edward Grierson The Second Man
1955 Winston Graham The Little Walls