The Guardian First Book Award, which was launched in 1999 and replaces the Guardian Fiction Prize which ran for 33 years, aims to recognize and reward new writing across fiction and nonfiction. The Award, for first time authors, is open to books from genres including fiction, poetry, biography, memoirs, history, politics, science and current affairs.


2002 Jonathan Safran Foer Everything Is Illuminated
2001 Chris Ware Jimmy Corrigan: The Smartest Kid on Earth
2000 Zadie Smith White Teeth
1999 Philip Gourevitch  We Wish to Inform You that We Will Be Killed with Our Families
1998  Jackie Kay  Trumpet 
1997  Ann Michaels  Fugitive Pieces 
1996  Seamus Deane  Reading in the Dark 
1995  James Buchan  Heart's Journey in Winter 
1994  Candia McWilliam  Debatable Land 
1993  Pat Barker  The Eye in the Door 
1992  Alasdair Gray  Poor Things
1991  Alan Judd  The Devil's Own Work 
1990  Pauline Melville  Shape-Shifter 
1989  Carole Lake  Rosehill: Portrait for a Midland City 
1988  Lucy Ellman  Sweet Desserts 
1987  Peter Benson  The Levels 
1986  Jim Crace Continent
1985  Peter Ackroyd  Hawksmoor 
1984  J.G. Ballard  Empire of the Sun 
1983  No Award   
1982  Glyn Hughes  Where I Used to Play on the Green 
1981  John Banville  Kepler: A Novel 
1980  J.L. Carr  A Month in the Country 
1979  Dambudzo Merechera  The House of Hunger 
1978  Neil Jordan  Night in Tunisia 
1977 Michael Moorcock The Condition of Muzak
1976 Robert Nye Hamish Falstaff
1975 Sylvia Clayton Friends and Romans
1974 Beryl Bainbridge The Bottle Factory Outing
1973 Peter redgrover In the Country of the Skin
1972 John Berger G
1971 Thomas Kilroy The Big Chapel
1970 Margaret Blount Where Did I Last See Your Father?
1969 Maurice Leitch Porr Lazarus
1968 P.J. Kavanagh A Song and a Dance
1967 Eva Figes Winter Journey
1966 Archie Hind The Dear Green Place
1965 Clive Barry Crumb Borne