FICTION and Poetry

Since 1967, The Boston Globe and The Horn Book, Inc. have co-sponsored the Boston Globe-Horn Book Awards for excellence in literature for children and young adults. The awards are considered among the most prestigious in the United States. A committee comprised of three professionals involved in the field of children's literature evaluates thousands of submissions from US publishers to select winners in three categories: Picture Book, Fiction and Poetry, and Nonfiction. The following listing is for winners in the Fiction and Poetry category.


2002 Graham Salisbury Lord of the Deep
2001 Marilyn Nelson Carver: A Life in Poems
2000 Franny Billingsley The Folk Keeper
1999 Louis Sachar Holes
1998 Francisco Jimenez The Circuit
1997 Kazumi Yumoto The Friends
1996 Avi Poppy
1995 Tim Wynne-Jones Some of the Kinder Plants
1994 Vera B. Williams Scooter
1993 James Berry Ajeemah and His Son
1992 Cynthia Rylant Missing May
1991 Avi The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle
1990 Jerry Spinelli Maniac Magee
1989 Paula Fox The Village by the Sea
1988 Mildred Taylor The Friendship
1987 Lois Lowry Rabble Starkey
1986 Zibby Oneal In Summer Night
1985 Bruce Brooks The Move Makes the Man
1984 Patricia Wrightson A Little Fear
1983 Virginia Hamilton Sweet Whispers, Brother Rush
1982 Ruth Park Playing Beatie Bow
1981 Lynn Hall The Leaving
1980 Andrew Davies Conrad's War
1979 Sid Fleischman Humbug Mountain
1978 Ellen Raskin The Westing Game
1977 Laurence Yep Child of the Owl
1976 Jill Paton Walsh Unleaving
1975 T. Degens Transport 7-41-R
1974 Virginia Hamilton M.C. Higgins, the Great
1973 Susan Cooper The Dark is Rising
1972 Rosemary Sutcliff Tristan and Iseult
1971 Eleanor Cameron A Room Made of Windows
1970 John Rowe Townsend The Intruder
1969 Ursula K. Le Guin A Wizard of Earthsea
1968 John Lawson The Spring Rider
1967 Erik Christian Haugaard The Little Fishes