In Horror: The 100 Best Books (1988), editors Stephen Jones and Kim Newman, working with a team of author/reviewers, describe and critique 100 horror books they consider to be the best written. Two to three pages are devoted to each of the 100 works. These titles are listed below in chronological order.


Christopher Marlowe Doctor Faustus (c. 1592)
William Shakespeare The Tragedy of Macbeth (1606)
John Webster The White Devil (1612)
William Godwin Caleb Williams (1794)
Matthew Gregory Lewis The Monk (1796)
Ernst Theodor Amadeus Hoffmann The Best Tales of Hoffmann (1814-16)
Jane Austen Northanger Abbey (1817)
Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley Frankenstein (1818)
Charles Maturin Melmoth the Wanderer (1820)
James Hogg The Confessions of a Justified Sinner (1824)
Nathaniel Hawthorne Twice-Told Tales (1837)
Edgar Allan Poe Tales of Mystery and Imagination (1838)
Jeremias Gotthelf The Black Spider (1842)
Eugene Sue The Wandering Jew (1844-45)
Herman Melville The Confidence Man (1857)
Sheridan Le Fanu Uncle Silas (1864)
Robert Louis Stevenson Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde (1886)
H. Rider Haggard She (1887)
Robert W. Chambers The King in Yellow (1895)
H. G. Wells The Island of Dr. Moreau (1896)
Bram Stoker Dracula (1897)
Henry James The Turn of the Screw (1898)
Joseph Conrad Heart of Darkness (1902)
Bram Stoker The Jewel of Seven Stars (1903)
M. R. James Ghost Stories of an Antiquary (1904)
Arthur Machen The House of Souls (1906)
Algernon Blackwood John Silence (1908)
G. K. Chesterton The Man Who Was Thursday (1908)
William Hope Hodgson The House on the Borderland (1908)
Ambrose Bierce Collected  Works of Ambrose Bierce (1909)
Oliver Onions Widdershins (1911)
E. F. Benson The Horror Horn (1912-34)
David Lindsay A Voyage to Arcturus (1920)
Franz Kafka The Trial (1925)
James Branch Cabell Something About Eve (1929)
E. H. Visiak Medusa (1929)
Guy Endore The Werewolf of Paris (1933)
Marjorie Bowen The Last Bouquet (1933)
Alexander Laing The Cadaver of Gideon Wyck (1934)
Hugh Walpole, ed. A Second Century of Creepy Stories (1937)
C. S. Lewis The Dark Tower (c. 1938)
Dalton Trumbo Johnny Got His Gun (1939)
H. P. Lovecraft The Outsider and Others (1939)
Clark Ashton Smith Out of Space and Time (1942)
Fritz Leiber Conjure Wife (1943)
Cornell Woolrich Night Has a Thousand Eyes (1945)
H. P. Lovecraft & August Derleth The Lurker at the Threshold (1945)
Paul Bailey Deliver Me from Eva (1946)
Boris Karloff, ed. And the Darkness Falls (1946)
August Derleth, ed. The Sleeping and the Dead (1947)
Walter Van Tilburg Clark Track of the Cat (1949)
Sarban The Sound of His Horn (1952)
William Golding Lord of the Flies (1954)
Richard Matheson I Am Legend (1954)
Ray Bradbury The October Country (1955)
Joseph Payne Brennan Nine Horrors and a Dream (1958)
Robert Bloch Psycho (1959)
Nigel Kneale Quatermass and the Pit (1959)
H. P. Lovecraft Cry Horror! (1959)
Shirley Jackson The Haunting of Hill House (1959)
Philip K. Dick The Three Stigmata of Palmer Eldritch (1964)
Jerzy Kosinski The Painted Bird (1965)
J. G. Ballard The Crystal World (1966)
Robert Aickman Sub Rosa (1968)
Kingsley Amis The Green Man (1969)
Anthony Boucher The Complete Werewolf (1969)
John Gardner Grendel (1971)
William Peter Blatty The Exorcist (1971)
John Brunner The Sheep Look Up (1972)
Manly Wade Wellman Worse Things Waiting (1973)
Robert Marasco Burnt Offerings (1973)
Stephen King Salem's Lot (1975)
Harlan Ellison Deathbird Stories (1975)
Hugh B. Cave Murgunstrumm and Others (1977)
Bernard Taylor Sweetheart, Sweetheart (1977)
John Farris All Heads Turn When the Hunt Goes By (1977)
Stephen King The Shining (1977)
William Hjortsberg Falling Angel (1977)
Whitley Streiber The Wolfen (1978)
David Morrell The Totem (1979)
Peter Straub Ghost Story (1979)
Jonathan Carroll The Land of Laughs (1980)
Richard Laymon The Cellar (1980)
Thomas Harris Red Dragon (1981)
F. Paul Wilson The Keep (1981)
Dennis Etchison The Dark Country (1982)
Karl Edward Wagner In a Lonely Place (1983)
Tim Powers The Anubis Gates (1983)
Robert Erwin The Arabian Nightmare (1983)
Iain Banks The Wasp Factory (1984)
T. E. D. Klein The Ceremonies (1984)
Robert Holdstock Mythago Wood (1984)
Michael Bishop Who Made Stevie Crye? (1984)
Dan Simmons Song of Kali (1985)
Clive Barker The Damnation Game (1985)
Peter Ackroyd Hawksmoor (1985)
Lisa Tuttle A Nest of Nightmares (1986)
Charles N. Grant The Pet (1986)
Robert McCammon Swan Song (1987)
Ramsey Campbell Dark Feasts (1987)