The Los Angeles Times awards several prizes to honor achievement on literature by recognizing writers who have demonstrated outstanding craftsmanship and vision. A writer need not be an American citizen and need not have written originally in English, but the winning book must have been published in English in the United States during the eligible year. Awards are made for works published in the preceding year. The Prizes awarded for History are as follows.


2004 Henry Wiencek An Imperfect God: George Washington, His Slaves, and the Creation of America
2003 Gregg Herken Brotherhood of the Bomb
2002 Rick Perlstein Before the Storm: Barry Goldwater and the Unmaking of the American Consesnsus
2001 Alice Kaplan The Collaborator: The Trial and Execution  of  Robert Brasillach
2000 John Dower Embracing Defeat
1999 Roy Porter The Greatest Benefit to Mankind
1998 Orlando Figes A People's Tragedy
1997 Neal Ascherson Black Sea
1996 Jackson Lears Fables of Abundance
1995 George Chauncey Gay New York
1994 Anthony Grafton New Worlds, Ancient Texts
1993 Alexander Stille Benevolence and Betrayal
1992 Nicholas Lemann The Promised Land
1991 Richard Fletcher The Quest for El Cid
1990 Neal Gabler An Empire of Their Own: How the Jews Invented Hollywood
1989 Eric Foner Reconstruction: America's Unfinished Revolution, 1863-1877
1988 Robert Jay Lifton The Nazi Doctors: Medical Killing and the Psychology of Genocide
1987 Geoffrey Hosking The First Socialist Society: A History of the Soviet Union from Within
1986 Evan S. Connell Son of the Morning Star: Custer and the Little Bighorn
1985 Robert Darnton The Great Cat Massacre and Other Episodes in French Cultural History
1984 Fernand Braudel The Wheels of Commerce
1983 Jonathan D. Spence The Gate of Heavenly Peace: The Chinese and Their Revolution, 1895-1980
1982 Ray Allen Billington Land of Savagery/Land of Promise
1981 Ronald Steel Walter Lippmann and the American Century