The National Book Awards are given annually for outstanding literary works by American citizens. The number of prizes awarded has varied including categories such as fiction, biography, science, philosophy,  religion and history. The Awards for Fiction are given below.


2003 Shirley Hazzard The Great Fire
2002 Julia Glass Three Junes
2001 Jonathan Franzen The Corrections
2000 Susan Sontag In America
1999 Ha Jin Waiting
1998 Alice McDermott Charming Billy
1997 Charles Frazier Cold Mountain
1996 Andrea Barrett Ship Fever and Other Stories
1995 Phillip Roth Sabbath's Theater
1994 William Gladdis Frolic of His Own
1993 E. Anne Proulx The Shipping News
1992 Cormac McCarthy All the Pretty Horses
1991 Norman Rush Mating
1990 Charles Johnson Middle Passage
1989 John Casey Spartina
1988 Pete Dexter Paris Trout
1987 Larry Heinemann Paco's Story
1986 E.L. Doctorow World's Fair
1985 Don DeLillo White Noise
1984 Ellen Gilchrist Victory Over Japan
1983 Alice Walker The Color Purple
1982 John Updike Rabbit Is Rich
1981 Wright Morris Plains Song
1980 William Styron  Sophie's Choice
1979 Tim O'Brien Going After Cacciato
1978 Mary Lee Settle Blood Ties
1977 Wallace Stegner The Spectator Bird
1976 William Gaddis J.R.
1975 Robert Stone Dog Soldiers
1975 Thomas Williams The Hair of Harold Roux
1974 Thomas Pynchon Gravity's Rainbow
1974 Isaac Bashevis Singer A Crown of Feathers and Other Stories
1973 John Barth Chimera
1972 Flannery O'Connor The Complete Stories
1971 Saul Bellow Mr. Sammler's Planet
1970 Joyce Carol Oates Them
1969 Jerzy Kosinski Steps
1968 Thorton Wilder The Eighth Day
1967 Bernard Malamud The Fixer
1966 Katherine Anne Porter The Collected Stories
1965 Saul Bellow Herzog
1964 John Updike The Centaur
1963 J.F. Powers Morte D'Urban
1962 Walker Percy The Movie Goer
1961 Conrad Richter The Waters of Kronos
1960 Phillip Roth Good-bye, Columbus
1959 Bernard Malamud The Magis Barrel
1958 John Cheever The Wapshot Chronicle
1957 Wright Morris The Field of Vision
1956 John O'Hara Ten North Frederick
1955 William Faulkner A Fable
1954 Saul Bellow The Adventures of Augie March
1953 Ralph Ellison Invisible Man
1952 James Jones  From Here to Eternity
1951 William Faulkner The Collected Stories
1950 Nelson Algren The Man With the Golden Arm