The National Book Awards are given annually for outstanding literary works by American citizens. The Number of prizes has varied, including categories such as poetry, fiction, biography, science, philosophy, religion and history. The prizes for nonfiction are as follows.


2003 Carlos Eire Waiting for Snow in Havana: Confessions of a Cuban Boy
2002 Robert Caro Master of the Senate: The Years of Lyndon Johnson
2001 Andrew Solomon The Noonday Demon
2000 Martahnial Philbrick In the Heart of the Sea: The Tragedy of the Whaleship Essex
1999 John W. Dower Embracing Defeat: Japan in the Wake of World War II
1998 Edward Ball Slaves in the Family
1997 Joseph J. Ellis American Sphinx: The Character of Thomas Jefferson
1996 James Carroll An American Requiem: God, My Father and the War That Came Between Us
1995 Tina Rosenberg The Haunted Land: Facing Europe's Ghosts After Communism
1994 Sherwin B. Nuland How We Die: Reflections on Life's Final Chapter
1993 Gore Vidal United States: Essays, 1952-1992
1992 Paul Monette Becoming a Man: Half a Life
1991 Orlando Patterson Freedom
1990 Ron Chernow The House of Morgan
1989 Thomas L. Friedman From Beirut to Jerusalem
1988 Neil Sheehan A Bright and Shining Lie: John Paul Vann and America in  Vietman
1987 Richard Rhodes The Making of the Atomic Bomb
1986 Barry Lopez Arctic Dreams
1985 J. Anthony Lucas Common Ground: A Turbulent Decade in the Lives of Three American Families
1984 Robert V. Remini Andrew Jackson and the Course of American Democracy, 1833-45, Vol. 5
1983 Fox Butterfield China: Alive in the Bitter Sea
1982 Tracy Kidder The Soul of a New Machine
1981 Maxine Hong Kingston China Men
1980 Tom Wolfe The Right Stuff
1979 Arthur M. Schlesinger Jr. Robert Kennedy and His Times
1978 Walter Jackson Bate Samuel Johnson
1977 Bruno Bettleheim The Uses of Enchantment: The Meaning and Importance of Fairy Tales
1976 Paul Fussell The Great War and Modern Memory
1975 Richard B. Sewall The Life of Emily dickinson
1974 Lewis Thomas The Lives of a Cell
1973 Frances Fitzgerald Fire in the Lake: The Vietnamese and the Americans in Vietnam
1972 Joseph P. Lash Eleanor and Franklin
1971 James MacGregor Burns Roosevelt: The Soldier of Freedom
1970 Lillian Hellman An Unfinished Woman, a Memoir
1969 Norman Mailer The Armies of the Night
1968 Jonathan Kozol Death at an Early Age
1967 Justin Kaplan Mr. Clemens and Mark Twain
1966 Arthur M. Schlesinger Jr. A Thousand Days: JFK in the White House
1965 Louis Fisher The Life of Lenin
1964 Aileen Ward John Keats: The Making of a Poet
1963 Leon Edel Henry James, Vols. 2 & 3
1962 Lewis Mumford The City in History
1961 William L. Shirer The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich
1960 Richard Ellman James Joyce
1959 J. Christopher Herold Mistress to an Age
1958 Catherine Drinker Bowen The Lion and the Throne
1957 George F. Kennan Russia Leaves the War
1956 Herbert Kubly An American in Italy
1955 Joseph Wood Krutch The Measure of a Man
1953 Richard DeVoto Course of Empire
1952 Rachel Carson The Sea Around Us
1951 Newton Arvin Herman Melville
1950 Ralph L. Rusk Ralph Waldo Emerson