C.K. Williams

The National Book Awards are given annually for outstanding literary works by American citizens. The award for Poetry has been given since 1950 although no awards were made 1985-90.


2003 C.K. Williams The Singing
2002 Ruth Stone In the Next Galaxy
2001 Alan Dugan Poems Seven: New and Complete Poetry
2000 Lucille Clifton Blessing the Boats: New and Selected Poems, 1988-2000
1999 Ai Vice; New and Selected Poems
1998  Gerald Stern This Time: New and Selected Poems
1997 William Meredith Effort at Speech: New and Selected Poems
1996 Hayden Carruth Scrambled Eggs and Whiskey: Poems, 1991-1995
1995 Stanley Kunitz Passing Through
1994 James Tate Worshipful Company of Fletchers
1993 A.R. Ammons Garbage
1992 Mary Oliver New and Selected Poems
1991 Philip Levine What Work Is
1990 No Award  
1989 No Award  
1988 No Award  
1987 No Award  
1986 No Award  
1985 No Award  
1984 Charles Wright Country Music
1983 Galway Kinnell Selected Poems
1982 William Bronk Life Supports
1981 Lisel Mueller The Need to Hold Still
1980 Philip Levine Ashes
1979 James Merrill Mirabell: Books of Number
1978 Howard Nemerov The Collected Poems
1977 Richard Eberhart Collected Poems, 1930-1976
1976 John Ashberry Self-Portrait in a Convex Mirror
1975 Marilyn Hacker Presentation Piece
1974 Allen Ginsberg The Fall of America: Poems of These States, 1965-1971
1974 Adrienne Rich Diving into the Wreck: Poems, 1971-1972
1973 A.R. Ammons Collected Poems: 1951-1971
1972 Howard Moss Selected Poems
1971 Mona Van Duyn To See, To Take
1970 Elizabeth Bishop The Complete Poems
1969 John Berryman His Toy, His Dream, His Rest
1968 Robert Bly The Light Around the Body
1967 James Merrill Nights and Days
1966 James Dickey Buckdancer's Choice
1965 Theodore Roethke The Far Field
1964 John Crowe Ransom Selected Poems
1963 William Stafford Traveling Through the Dark
1962 Alan Dugan Poems
1961 Randall Jarrell The Woman at the Washington Zoo
1960 Robert J. Lowell Life Studies
1959 Theodore Roethke Words for the Wind
1958 Robert Penn Warren Promises: Poems, 1954-1956
1957 Richard Wilbur Things of this World
1956 W.H. Auden The Shield of Achilles
1955 Wallace Stevens The Collected Poems
1954 Conrad Aiken Collected Poems
1953  Archibald MacLeish Collected Poems: 1917-1952
1952 Marianne Moore Collected Poems
1951 Wallace Stevens The Auroras of Autumn
1950 William Carlos Williams Paterson: Book III and Selected Poems