National Book Critics Circle Award for Biography/Autobiography

Winners are selected by a 24 member board of critics from around the country. Books are often recommended to the board by the more than 500 general members of the Circle. The award for Biography/Autobiography was first made in 1983.


2003 William Taubman  Khrushchev: The Man and His Era
2002 Janet Browne Charles Darwin: The Power of Place
2001 Adam Sisman Boswell's Presumptuous Task: The Making of the Life of Samuel Johnson
2000 Herbert Bix Hirohito and the Making of Modern Japan
1999 Henry Wieneck The Hairstons: An American Family in Black and White
1998 Sylvia Nasar A Beautiful Mind
1997 James Tobin Ernie Pyle's War: America's Eyewitness to World War II
1996 Frank McCourt Angela's Ashes
1995 Robert Polito Savage Art: A Biography of Jim Thompson
1994 Mikal Gilmore Shot in the Heart
1993 Edmund White Genet
1992 Carol Brightman Writing Dangerously: Mary McCarthy and Her World
1991 Philip Roth Patrimony
1990 Robert A. Caro Means of Ascent: The Years of Lyndon Johnson, Vol.2
1989 Geoffrey C. Ward A First Class Temperament: The Emergence of Franklin Roosevelt
1988 Richard Ellman Oscar Wilde
1987 Donald R. Howard Chaucer: His Life, His Works, His World
1986 Theodore Rosengarten Tombee: Portrait of a Cotton Planter
1985 Leon Edel Henry James: A Life
1984 Joseph Frank Dostoevsky: The Years of Ordeal: 1850-1859
1983 Joyce Johnson Minor Characters