Winners are selected by a 24 member board of critics from around the country. Books are often recommended to the board by the more than 500 general members of the circle. The award for General Non-fiction has been made annually since 1975


2003 Paul Hendrickson Sons of Mississippi
2002 Samantha Power A Problem from Hell: America and the Age of Genocide
2001 Nicholson Baker Double Fold: Libraries and the Assault on Paper
2000 Ted Conover Newjack: Guarding Sing-Sing
1999 Jonathan Weiner Time, Love, Memory: A Great Biologist and his Quest for the Origins of Behavior
1998 Philip Gourexitch We Wish to Inform You that Tomorrow We Will be Killed With Our Families
1997 Anne fadiman The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down
1996 Jonathan Raban Bad Land: An American Romance
1995 Jonathan Harr A Civil Action
1994 Lynn H. Nicholas The Rape of Europa: The Fate of Europe's Treasures in the Third Reich and the Second World War
1993 Alan Lomax The Land Where Blues Began
1992 Norman Maclean Young Men and Fire
1991 Susan faludi Backlash
1990 Shelby Steele The Content of Our Character: A New Vision of Race in America
1989 Michael Dorris The Broken Cord
1988 Taylor Branch Parting the Waters: America in the King Years, 1954-63
1987 Richard Rhodes The Making of the Atomic Bomb
1986 John W. Dower War Without Mercy: Race and Power in the Pacific War
1985 J. Anthony Lucas Common Ground: A Turbulent Decade in the Lives of Three Americans
1984 Freeman Dyson Weapons and Hope
1983 Seymour M. Hirsh The Price of Power: Kissinger and the Nixon White House
1982 Robert A. Caro The Path of Power: The Years of Lyndon Johnson
1981 Stephen J. Gould The Mismeasure of Man
1980 Ronald Steel Walter Lippmann and the American Century
1979 Telford Taylor Munich: The Price of Peace
1978 Maureen Howard Facts of Life
1977 Walter Jackson Bate Samuel Johnson
1976 Maxine Hong Kingston The Woman Warrior: Memoirs of a Girlhood Among Ghosts
1975 R.W.B. Lewis Edith Wharton