Paul Prestopino, Barbara Greenberg, Kathy Talvitie, Daniel Beerbohm

(photo by Lewis Kassel)

Hold The Mustard was formed in 1981 as a quintet comprised of two fiddlers, Barbara Greenberg and David Herndon, Paul Prestopino on frets, Daniel Beerbohm on winds and Eric Scott on piano.  For nearly ten years the band played contra and English country dance music for the Princeton Country Dancers.  During that time, David left the area and  HTM continued as a quartet, expanding its English country dance repertoire.

Early on, HTM played for dances in Philadelphia and New York and  soon traveled throughout the Eastern United States. Eric passed away in 1991, and in 1994 the band invited Kathy Talvitie to join them. Since then we have continued to play both English and contra dance music, expanding our travels to many festivals and dance camps around the country.

Other Recordings By Hold The Mustard:


Hold The Mustard - Contra Dance Music (1987)

It's Easy If You Know Where You're Going (1989)

English Country Dance Favorites (1991)


Hold The Mustard Is:

Daniel Beerbohm Clarinet, Flute, Whistles
Barbara Greenberg Violin, Viola
Kathy Talvitie Piano
Paul Prestopino Mandolin, Guitar, Banjo-Mandolin, Tenor Banjo, Harmonica, Recorder