BABCOCK, E.C., M.D., was born at Oriskany Falls in 1872, son of Welcome E. Babcock, who was a prominent physician at Oriskany Falls, and grandson of Welcome A. Babcock, who was also a practicing physician at Oriskany, and examining surgeon at Utica through the Civil War. E. C. Babcock, choosing the profession of his father, and grandfather, at eleven years of age he went to Madison and in 1888 entered Colgate University, where he took a three years' scientific course; thence to New York Homoeopathic Medical College in 1891, from which institution he graduated in 1894, with a standing of ninety-seven percent. He now holds diplomas from New York Homoeopathic College and Hospital, and from New York University. Upon coming to this place, he resigned position as physician to the Central and Yorkville Dispensaries, surgeon to the Hahnamann Hospital, and to the New York Homoepathic Medical College. He makes surgery a specialty and had charge of the surgical clinic at college dispensary during the last war. (p. 37) [Top]

BABCOCK, MRS. G.D., born Elizabeth Clark, of Poughkeepsie, is the widow of the late George Denison Babcock, whom she married in 1843. They had six children, but only one daughter is living, who is the wife of Frank C. Ogden. Mr. Babcock was a representative of an old Connecticut family, and a son of Denison Babcock, who settled in New Hartford, where George D. was born in 1818, during the latter part of the last century, being a central figure in the development of the town. Mr. Babcock was a prominent member of the Presbyterian church, to which he was united when twelve years of age, and where he was for many years a faithful teacher in the Sabbath school. His death occurred in 1874. (p. 355) [Top]

BABCOCK, DR. HENRY E., was born in the town of New Scotland, Albany county, N. Y., in 1827. His education was obtained in the district schools and the Westerlo Academy. He then began the study of medicine with Dr. S. Ingraham, of his native town, and graduated from the Albany Medical College in 1855. He is a member of the New York State Medical Association. He has practiced in Albany, Greene, Saratoga, Wayne, and Oneida counties with success. In 1853 he married Elizabeth Winston, of Westerlo, Albany county, by whom he has two daughters: Ruby E., and Alice. The doctor's father, David, was born in Albany county, and married Hannah Vannatten, by whom he had one son, Henry E. David Babcock died when Henry E. was a child. The family is of English and Dutch descent. (p. 82-83) [Top]

BACON, EZEKIEL, son of Rev. John Bacon, was born September 1, 1776. His father was pastor of South church, Boston, later a resident of Stockbridge, Mass., a representative to the Massachusetts Legislature and the Congress of the United States, and for several years the presiding judge of the Berkshire Common Pleas. When fourteen Mr. Bacon entered Yale College and was graduated in 1794. He read law with Judge Reeve in Licthfield [sic], Conn., and with Nathan Dane in Beverly, Mass., and practiced for some years in Berkshire county. He was a member of the Massachusetts Legislature in 1806 and 1807, and represented his county in Congress from 1807-1813, serving one year as chairman of the ways and means committee. He was appointed chief justice of the Circuit Court and Common Pleas for the Western district of Massachusetts, and soon after assuming the office was made first comptroller of the treasury by President Madison. On account of ill health he resigned this latter office within two years and came to Utica, where he became a partner in the mercantile firm of Alexander Seymour & Co. In 1818 he was appointed associate judge of the Court of Common Pleas; in 1819 he was elected to the Assembly; in 1821 he was a member of the State Constitutional Convention. About 1824 he was nominated for Congress but was defeated by Henry R. Storrs by less than 100 votes. In October, 1825, he was selected by the citizens of Utica to do honor to Governor De Witt Clinton in locally celebrating the Erie Canal. He was also at one time chief of a packet boat company. Judge Bacon was for a while the main editorial writer on the Oneida Whig and Utica Daily Gazette, to both of which he frequently contributed valuable articles. At his death on October 18, 1870, he was the oldest living graduate of Yale College and the last representative of Madison's administration. In 1799 he married Abby, daughter of Dr. Reuben Smith, of Litchfield, Conn., and their children were John H., William J., Francis, Elizabeth (Mrs. Henry Colt), and Fanny (Mrs. Theodore Pomeroy). William Johnson Bacon was born in Williamstown, Mass., February 18, 1803, came with his parents to Utica in 1815, and was graduated from Hamilton College in 1822. He read law with Gen. Joseph Kirkland and his son, Charles P., and also in the law school of Judge Gould, of Litchfield, Conn., and was admitted to the bar in 1824. Soon afterward he became partner of Samuel D. Dakin in the proprietorship and editing of the Sentinel and Gazette, now the Utica Morning Herald, for about two years. He then resumed his profession and in 1832 formed a partnership with his brother-in-law, Charles P. Kirkland, which continued successfully until Mr. Kirkland's removal to New York in 1851. In 1853 Mr. Bacon was judge of the Supreme Court, and by re-election remained on the bench sixteen years, retiring in 1870. Afterward he acted as counsel and referee. He was a most able jurist, high minded, and dignified. He was city attorney in 1837, elected to the Assembly in 1850, and was sent to Congress as a Republican in 1876. He was for many years a trustee of Hamilton College; for more than twenty years a director of the Oneida County Bible Society; a director of the Second National Bank; a trustee and president of the Savings Bank of Utica; a director and vice-president of the Utica Gaslight Company and the Forest Hill Cemetery Association; a director of the Utica and Black River Railroad, Company, the Utica Water Works Company, and the Utica Steam Cotton Mills; a trustee of the Home for the Homeless, and consulting manager of the Utica Orphan Asylum; councilor and vice-president of the Oneida Historical Society; a trustee of the Saratoga Monument Association; and president of the Utica Philharmonic Association. He was a profound Bible student and an able writer and speaker. For forty-nine years he was an officer of the Reformed church. He died July 3, 1889. His first wife was Eliza, daughter of Gen. Joseph Kirkland, and their only surviving child is Mrs. Seth W. Crittenden. He married second, Mrs. Susan Sloane Gillett. (p. 306-307) [Top]

BACON, HIRAM H., was born in the town of Oppenheim, Fulton county, N.Y., April 3, 1826. He was educated in the district schools and the Little Falls Academy, then engaged in farming. July 4, 1850, he married Sarah J. Barker, of his native place, by whom he had three children: H. Eugenia, David E. and Alice A. H. Eugenia married Jacob Seme, of this town, and they have five children: Harold J., D. Alvin, Sidney G., Jennie M. and Frank H. David E. Bacon married Emma Cagwin, of this town. Alice A. married John W. Owen, of Rome, N.Y., and they have two children, Spencer and Mildred. August 7, 1862, Mr. Bacon enlisted in Co. E, 117th Infy., N.Y.S. Vols., and participated in twelve general engagements and was honorably discharged June 20, 1865. He is a member of Joseph H. Warren Post No. 615, Verona, N.Y. Jonathan Bacon, his father, was born in Fulton county, N.Y., about 1787. He married Huldah Davies, formerly of Massachusetts, by whom he had seven children: Davis W., Warren A., William S., Harriet, George H., Hiram H. and Eliza A. He died when a young man and his widow died in 1871, aged eighty-two years. Mrs. Bacon's father, David Barker, was born in New Hampshire, January 5, 1797. He married Lois Heald, of his native State, who was born in December, 1801. They had four children: David, Lois, Mary and Sarah J. Mr. Barker died October 13, 1846, and his wife in 1863. Mr. and Mrs. Bacon are members of the M.E. church of New London, N.Y., and he is steward of the church. The family is of English and Scotch descent. (p. 335)nbsp;[Top]

BAER, G.A., was born in Oriskany, N.Y., March 2, 1860, son of John and Elizabeth Baer. John Baer was born in Hechingen Hohenzollen, Germany, October 25, 1813, and came to Oriskany in 1842, where he engaged in the manufacture of harnesses. He was also engaged in farming, and was proprietor of a hotel. He died in 1882. G. A. Baer was educated in Oriskany, Whitesboro Seminary, and Eastman's Business College, Poughkeepsie, N.Y., after which he worked with his father. He was engaged for a number of years in commission business, buying produce for New York houses. In 1892 he associated himself with H. L. Sweet, and they have a large store in the village of Oriskany, where they keep a complete stock of merchandise of all descriptions. Mr. Baer has been justice of the peace for eight years, is the present postmaster and has been director in the Oriskany Malleable Iron Works for a number of years. He married Mary E. Quinn of Brooklyn, by whom he had four children: Mary, Alma, John, and Helen. Mr. and Mrs. Baer are members of St. Paul's church at Whitesboro. (p. 147-148) [Top]

BAGG, ASAHEL S., was born in the town of Trenton, N. Y., May 17, 1849, son of Albert C. and Mary Maria Bagg. His grandfather, Abner Bagg, was an early settler in the town of Trenton, Albert G. was born April 20, 1813, and was engaged in farming. In 1865 he engaged in the manufacture of cheese, and was the first in this section to introduce steam in its manufacture, and also invented machinery for its manufacture. He died December 6, 1875. His children were Albert G., jr., Asahel S., Frank P. and John C. Asahel S. married Kate M., daughter of Leonard G. Savage, by whom he has three children: Grace M., J. Curtis, and Albert S. He is a member of the board of the Holland Patent Academy, also of Remsen Lodge F. & A. M., No. 677. When twenty years of age he commenced the manufacture of cheese, in which he has been engaged to the present time with farming. (p. 218) [Top]

BAGG, EGBERT, is a great-grandson of Moses Bagg, sr., who came to Utica with his wife and two sons from Westfield, Mass., In 1794. He was a blacksmith and also kept a log, and later a frame, tavern on the east side of Bagg's square. His son Moses Bagg, jr., became a merchant and afterward took charge of the tavern, which stood on the site of Bagg's hotel of to-day. In 1812-15 he erected the central portion of the present building and to it he subsequently added on either side. He kept the hotel with brief intermissions until 1836, when it was sold to a company. Egbert Bagg, son of Moses, jr., was born February 2, 1820, was educated at Geneva (now Hobart) College, was engaged on the Erie Canal enlargement, completed a course of law study, and formed a partnership with William Roberts, then foreman of the New York Cotton Mills machine shop, and engaged in machine making in Utica. Later Mr. Bagg gave himself to surveying and in 1853-54 was Surveyor of the city. From 1855 to 1861 he resided in Fort Lodge, Ia. In 1862 he became quartermaster with rank of first lieutenant in the 117th N. Y. Vols., rose rapidly, and in August, 1864, was made major. He was engaged in thirteen fights, nine of which were pitched battles, and had command of the regiment in several engagements. At Fort Fisher he distinguished himself, was wounded, and for gallant and meritorious service was brevetted lieutenant-colonel by the United States government. He was again surveyor of the city from 1866 to 1869 and in 1878, and was both surveyor and superintendent of Forest Hill Cemetery. He died November 18, 1885, while on a trip to Europe. His wife was Cornelia, daughter of Montgomery Hunt, and sister of Justice Ward Hunt, of the United States Supreme Court. Their son, Egbert Bagg, was born August 10, 1850, was educated at Hobart College and Cornell University, and since 1871 has been engaged in the insurance business, first as clerk for Hoyt & Butler, later as clerk for Erastus Clark & Co, subsequently as a member of the last named firm, and since 1884 alone. He was for many years a member of. the Utica Citizens' Corps, rising from private to captain. On the death of his father in 1885 he was elected to succeed the latter as a member of the Military Order of the Loyal Legion. He is also a member of the Society of the Sons of the Revolution, in which struggle Daniel Bagg, father of Moses, sr., participated. He is a member of the Oneida Historical Society and an associate member of the American Ornithologists' Union, and has written numerous articles on birds for leading magazines and periodicals. In connection with Dr. William L. Ralph he wrote a paper on " Birds of Oneida County," which was read before the Oneida Historical Society and published in the society's proceedings and also in book form, and has since been the authority for Central New York. He married in 1882, Sarah A., daughter of William Clarke. (p. 264-265) [Top]

BAILEY, CAPT. MYRON J., was born in Rensselaer county, N. Y., January 1, 1834, son of Silas and Sallie A. Bailey. He was born in the town of Paris, son of Silas and Olive Sweetland Bailey, whose children were Eunice, Silas, Timothy, Lyman, Edward, Ora, Abraham, Olive and Almira. The children of Silas, jr., were Jay C., Dorleski, Myron J., and Charlotte. Myron J. married Adelaide M., a daughter of George W. Coville, and a native of the town of Vienna, and their children are Edna E., Gilford D., Myron L., George S., Lottie V., Charles, jr., and S. Wyman. Capt. Myron J. Bailey has followed farming, and by trade is a carpenter and paper hanger, but has now retired from active business. He enlisted in Company E , 101st Regiment N. G. S. N. Y., and was elected captain of Company K, of the same regiment, which commission he now holds. He is serving his second term as assessor, and has been overseer of the poor, excise commissioner and school trustee. He is a member of Vienna F. & A. M. Lodge, 440, of which he is past master, and has been secretary for sixteen years, and has also been senior warden and senior deacon. He belongs to Sylvan Beach I. O. O. F., No. 326, and West Vienna Grange. In 1890 he was appointed State inspector of public works, and was located at Solvay, near Syracuse. (p. 174-175) [Top]

BAKER, A. E., was born at West Monroe, Oswego county, in 1838, son of Samuel P. Baker, one of the early settlers of Oswego county, who was originated from an old New England family, and was colonel of a militia regiment and justice of the peace for twenty years. A. E. Baker received his education at Mexico Academy. His first business was in 1862, when he came here with James Armstrong and established a knitting mill, which ahs proved a successful enterprise. In 1867, he married Cordelia, daughter of Capt. J. P. Richardson, the well-known provost-marshal of the early war days. They have two sons: Joseph Richardson and Edwin Carlos, both of whom are graduates of Hamilton College, and who are now reading law, with the intention of making it their chosen profession. (p. 75) [Top]

BAKER, CHARLES F., was born October 16, 1840, in Marcy, Oneida county, and is a son of Warren and Mary A. (Sheldon) Baker. His grandfather. Elnathan Baker, came to Marcy from Connecticut at a very early day and died about 1855. Warren Baker was born in Marcy in 1809 and died in 1887. He was a farmer. His first wife died in 1854. They had five children: Charles F., of Utica; Silas J., of Stittville, Oneida county; Laura F. (Mrs. William G. Spence) of Stittville; Edgar A., of Utica; and Fred S. of Canastota. He married second, Elizabeth Sheldon, sister of his first wife. Charles F. Baker was educated in the district school of Marcy, and at the age of nineteen engaged in the grocery and produce business in Stittville. first with Daniel Martin and later alone. He continued there successfully for eight years. In 1869 he came to Utica and was a salesman for W. H. Scranton fourteen years. In 1879 he started his present floral business and since 1881 has given it his whole attention. He is one of the leading florists and gardeners in the city. In December 7, 1862, he married Delany, daughter of Jireh Martin, of Stittville. She died February 8, 1873, aged thirty-one, leaving three children: Frank J., Angie N., and Mary A. He married, second, September 24, 1874, Helen L. Lent, daughter of Abram Lent and Catherine Brodock, of Utica, and they have one child, Raymond L., born April 24, 1876. (p. 219) [Top]

BAKER, DANIEL, was born in Hanover, Germany, August 4, 1832, and came to the United States with his parents when thirteen years of age, and located in Deerfield, where he was educated. He learned the carpenter trade, and has since followed the occupation of contractor and builder. October 27, 1857, he married Eliza Ague, of Syracuse, N.Y., by whom he had seven children, three of whom died in infancy: William, E. Frederick, Henry L., and Louisa C. Frederick married Myra Collins, and they have one son, Lester H. Frederick Baker, father of Daniel, was born in Hanover, Germany, in 1801. He married Mary Haper, of his native State, by whom he had five children: Daniel, Caroline, Henry, Dorothy, and one who died in infancy. They came to the United States in 1845, where Mr. Baker died in 1856, and his wife about 1880. Daniel Baker is one of the inspectors on the Erie Canal. The family on both sides are German-American. (p. 332) [Top]

BAKER, PHILIP J., was born in Bavaria, Germany, August 18, 1839, a son of Ferdinand an Doretta Baker, who settled at East Floyd in 1854. He was one of twelve children: Philip J., Conrad, Lewis, Albert, Frank, Henry, Christian, Louis, Sophia, Sarah, Emma, and Etta. Ferdinand Baker engaged in farming, and was active in the educational interests and developments of the town. Philip J. Baker learned the carpenter trade, and in which he engage until he enlisted August 7, 1862, in Battery H., 3rd N. Y. Light Artillery, and joined Burnside's army in North Carolina. He also served under Generals Foster, Butler and Grant, and was discharged June 24, 1865, and was wounded twice at Petersburg. August 3, 1865, he married Sophia E., daughter of George Gerard of Morehouseville, N. Y. by whom he has six children: Hattie Young, Annie, Flora, Addie, Lena May, and Philip J. jr., all natives of the town of Floyd. Mr. Baker is now engaged in the planing, saw and grist mill business at East Floyd, and is a manufacturer of cheese boxes, and is also interested in a farm at Remsen. He was elected justice of the peace one term and was supervisor in 1884-5, also 1893-4-5. He has been a deacon of the Baptist church for several years. (p. 4) [Top]

BAKER, THOMAS F.--The Utica Saturday Globe is one of the phenomenal journalistic enterprises of the country. It was founded in May, 1881, by the business association of the brothers, William T. and Thomas F. Baker. Its success pecuniarily and its growth in circulation as well have been so remarkable as to approach the marvelous. Copies of the paper are weekly sold on the Pacific slope, as far south as Florida, and in Northern Ontario. It is a true monument to the spirit, sagacity and force of the men who founded it and enjoy the fruits of their labors. Thomas F. Baker was born in Hartford, Conn., April 5, 1847. In 1850 his parents removed with their family to Utica. There, when old enough to go to school, Thomas attended the Assumption Academy. While yet a lad he worked for a few months in the Washington Mills factory, and began his newspaper career by selling The Utica Observer on the streets. At the age of sixteen he entered the composing room of the Observer, as an apprentice, and in 1867 he was admitted to the rank of journeyman printer. But young Baker was ambitious and anxious to branch out for himself, and in October, 1870, he, with others, established the Utica Daily Bee. It was a brave struggle upward for a time, but the hill was steep and the way rough. The paper was transferred to other parties in 1872. and soon disappeared from the field. Mr. Baker went back to his case, this time in the composing room of the Utica Herald, and in 1877, in partnership with Dennis T. Kelly, he started the Utica Sunday Tribune, which soon secured and retained a place among the papers of that city. In 1879 he retired to make way for Patrick E. Kelly. In that year he formed the business association with his brother, William T., and founded the Sunday Tribune at Binghamton, N. V., which they continued for two years, when they returned to Utica and started the Globe. The first issue of the latter paper was published May 21,1881, from the third story of the Thomas Block, later the Lux building. Illustrations have from the first been one of the features of the paper, the first number containing a rather rude wood-cut of Horatio Seymour. Of that issue only 2,000 copies were struck off and only 700 were sold. The supply of advertising was very meagre, but its publishers, like brave mariners, clung close to the course they had marked out before they launched their craft, and finally found the track to summer seas. In 1882 the Globe had removed its quarters to the Kinney Block, on the west side of Charlotte street, and in 1888 it was removed to its present well equipped and imposing edifice on Whitesboro street. (p. 94)[Top]

BALL, CHESTER A., was born in Massachusetts in 1826, and came to Vernon in 1852. His father, Adonijah Ball, was also a native of Massachusetts, born in 1791, and died in 1828. His mother was a native of Massachusetts. Chester A. Ball settled in Vernon and learned the blacksmith trade, which he has since continued successfully in Vernon Center. In 1855 he married Margaretta McLean, who was born in Scotland in 1836, a descendant of the most noted Scotch ancestry. She has taken a prominent place and interest in the historical and church affairs at Vernon Center, and it was at their house that the Presbyterian society of that place was organized, and also the place of the first funeral in the settlement. Mrs. Ball is now postmistress at Vernon Center. They have had four children: Anna M., born October 1, 1857; Ella S., born September 3, 1859; John C., born November 11, 1861; and Miriam M., born November 19, 1864. John C. is a Presbyterian minister, and is now pastor of the Presbyterian church at Pompey Hill, Onondaga county; Anna M. is the wife of Dr. J. McCullough, of Remsen; and Ella S. married Lorenzo R. Paxton, of Vernon Center. (p. 294) [Top]

BALL, EMMETT J., was born in Marcellus, Onondaga county, N. Y., November 22, 1852, son of Daniel and Esther (Wood) Ball. Daniel Ball was district attorney of Oneida county from 1868 to 1872. Emmett J. was educated in Whitestown Seminary and was graduated from Hamilton College in the class of 1875. He received the degree of LL. B. from Hamilton College Law School in 1876, and the same year opened a law office and commenced the practice of his profession in the city of Utica. In 1886 he and his brother, Willard D., formed a copartnership. Emmett J. held the office of special surrogate of Oneida county for two terms, from 1878 to 1884. He was the candidate for city judge of Utica on the Republican ticket in 1882, and was defeated by Judge P. F. Bulger. Mr. Ball is unmarried. He is a Mason, an Odd Fellow, a veteran of the Utica Citizen Corps and a member of Royal Arcanum. (p. 263) [Top]

BALLOU, ELLIS, was born near Boonville, in 1842, son of Ellis Ballou, also a native of that place. His grandfather, Peletiah Ballou, came from Rhode Island. Ellis Ballou, jr., was educated at Boonville, after which he engaged in farming, and now owns a farm of 170 acres. He is a Democrat in politics, and was highway commissioner in 1882, and in 1884 was elected assessor. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity. In 1875 he married Agnes Sester, of a French family of Boonville, by whom he had one daughter, Mary A. (p. 102) [Top]

BALLOU, HON. WALTER, was born in Boonville, in 1839, son of William Ballou. His grandfather, Pelatiah Ballou, is of Huguenot extraction, and came to Boonville in 1799, from Rhode Island, whither he had fled, to escape the religious intolerance of Massachusetts. Walter Ballou began his legal studies with H. R. Hadley of this place, and after admission to the bar in 1868, began practice here, where his genial nature and professional ability have made for him a wide circle of friends. At his election to the Assembly in 1876, he was the first Democrat elected in twenty years. In 1862, Mr. Ballou went to the front as first lieutenant in the 12th Regiment, and after Fredericksburg, was discharged for disability, making a protracted but complete recovery. In 1864, he married Eugenia Brinkerhoof of Boonville, by whom he has two daughters; Harriet and Eugenia, the former a graduate of Cornell University, and the latter of Boonville Academy. (p. 5) [Top]

BANGS, G.R., was born January 3, 1831, son of Dennis and Roana (King) Bangs, who settled in Pleasant Valley, and lived there for fifty years. G. R. Bapgs engaged in farming up to 1891, when he sold his place to Colonel Sanger, and moved to Waterville. In 1877 he married Frances M., daughter of Nicholas and Marietta (Green) Edwards, by whom he has one daughter, Florence M. Nichols Edwards, son of Elijah and Catherine Van Buren Edwards, was born August 5, 1809, at Kinderhook, N. Y. , and was a direct descendant of Martin Van Buren. He lived to be eighty-five years old, and came to Waterville when nine years of age with his parents, who settled upon the farm now owned by the Charlemagne Tower estate. In 1839 he went to live upon the eminence where he spent the remaining fifty-five years of his life, only changing from the old house to the new. At middle age he was possessed of a fine property; a man of strong character and striking individuality, and during all his long life was distinguished for his sterling honesty and christianity. (p. 113-114) [Top]

BANNIGAN, MICHAEL T., son of Patrick, was born in Utica, November 22, 1868, and was graduated from the Assumption Academy in 1881. His father came from Ireland about 1845, and is the senior member of the firm of Bannigan & Weber, masons and contractors. At the age of fifteen Michael T. entered the employ of J. A. Marrow & Co., coal dealers, with whom he remained two and one-half years, when he became bookkeeper and rodman in the city surveyor's office. After filling these positions for three years he spent one year in the post-office under Postmaster E. Prentiss Bailey, and later four months as city treasurer to examine the books under appointment of the Common Council. In April, 1891, he accepted his Present position as cashier for the Warren Scharf Asphalt Paving Company. (p. 264) [Top]

BARBER, WILLIAM F., was born in Westmoreland, Oneida county, N.Y., in 1836. He completed his education at Fort Plain Seminary, after which he engaged in farming for several years. Besides conducting an insurance business, he is at present an egg dealer. In politics Mr. Barber is a Republican; he served as justice of the peace for four years, and is now serving his third term as assessor. His father, George Barber, was also a farmer, and died in 1843, from injuries received by accidentally jumping on a pitchfork. In 1866 Mr. Barber married Adelaide, daughter of Abner H. Waters, of Westmoreland, by whom he had four children: Estella M., Alice J., and Roy De Forest. (p. 265) [Top]

BARDEEN, JOHN, was born at Paris Hill, N.Y., December 5, 1863, son of William and Ellen (Simmons) Bardeen, residents of Oneida county. He was educated in Waterville and learned the trade of harness maker. He has been successfully engaged in business for himself for seven years, and is a member of the Royal Arcanum, and is also special policeman in the Waterville police force. In 1889 he married Mary Gibbons of Hanover. (p.311) [Top]

BARDSLEY, JOHN S., was born in New York Mills, April 26, 1859, son of Josiah and Mary Bardsley, natives of England, who came to New York Mills, where they have resided about forty years. John S. was educated at the New York Mills public school, and then engaged as clerk in a grocery business. He entered the postal service as deputy in which position he served about eleven years, and then became postmaster, and during all this period, he was conducting a grocery business, which he sold out in 1895. Mr. Bardsley at the present time owns and conducts the New York Mills and Utica Express, in addition to holding the position of postmaster. He married Ellen A. Goodrich of Yorkville, and he is a member of Faxton Lodge of F. & A.M., and also belongs to the Royal Arcanum. (p. 322-323) [Top]

BARDSLEY, JOSIAH, was born in Lancashire, England, January 1, 1826, son of John and Elizabeth Bardsley. Mrs. Bardsley died in England in 1850. John Bardsley came to the United States in 1851 and settled in New York Mills. Josiah Bardsley worked in the mills in England when a little over eight years of age, and at eighteen years of age had learned the trade of mule spinning, at which he has since continued. When he first came to New York Mills he worked in the dye house for a short time, and then resumed his trade of mule spinning in the mills. He is now boss mule spinner, and has had charge of the mule spinning in Mill No. 4 for thirty-seven years. He married Mary, daughter of Joseph Stafford of England, by whom he has seven children: Sarah Jane, Joseph, Violetta, Ella, John S., Edward, and Lottie. In 1892 he visited England on a three months' vacation. Mr. and Mrs. Bardsley are members of the Methodist church at New York Mills. (p. 326) [Top]

BARKER, JOHN S., was born in the town of Marshall, Oneida county, March 16, 1826, and is one of the descendants of M.W. Barker, who lived for a long time in the village of Clinton, where he died in 1893 at ninety-one years of age. John S. Barker was educated in the district schools after which he engaged in farming. He first married Caroline Barnard, by whom he had three children: Charles H., J.M. and William I. His second marriage was to Ellen Barber of Kirkland, by whom he has one son, John E. (p. 300) [Top]

BARKER, LAURENS M., was born in Oriskany Falls, N. Y., October 3, 1828, on the farm where he now resides. His grandfather, Munson, and his brother Miles were pioneers in Oneida county, coming from Connecticut in 1797, with an ox team and settling on what after became known as Barker Hill, when there was not a house within several miles of their own rudely constructed homes. Laurens H., father of Laurens M., was born May 9, 1804, and spent his life on the old homestead. where he died October 20, 1869. Laurens M. Barker received his education at the district school in the vicinity of his home, after which he settled down to farm life. January 3, 1872, he married Phebe Barker of Oriskany Falls, by whom he has one son, Charles H., born July 13, 1784. Mr. Barker's farm occupies a commanding picturesque site, upon which they raise large crops of hops. (p. 303-304) [Top]

BARNARD, JOSIAH E., was born in Kirkland, N.Y., October 16, 1834, son of George W. and Phoebe Frances Barnard. George W. Barnard was born May 5, 1806, in Kirkland. Mrs. Barnard was born in Pittsfield, and is still living, being in her eighty-sixth year. Josiah E. Barnard was educated partly in Westmoreland and partly in Clinton, and was connected with the agricultural manufacturing business for about fifteen years in Madison county, and then he engaged in farming, at which he has since continued. He married Eliza C. Mansfield, of Madison county, by whom he has one child, Frances M. Barnard, who was graduated from Albany Normal School and is now teaching in Tome Institute, Port Deposit, Maryland. (p. 151) [Top]

BARNES, SAMUEL C., was born in Russia, Herkimer county, April 21, 1844, son of Samuel and Lydia Barnes. Samuel Barnes was a native of Oneida county, and was engaged in the coopering business. He died in 1871, aged eighty years. Samuel C. was educated in New York Mills, after which he engaged in the mill. In the late civil war he volunteered and went to the front with Co. A, 97th Infantry, and was in the battles of Cedar Mountain, Thoroughfare Gap, Rappahanock River, and Second Bull Run, and although in some of the hottest battles of the war, escaped without a wound and was discharged by reason of disability. Mr. Barnes is second hand mule spinner in Mill No. 1. He married Jennie A. Herron, daughter of James Herron of New York Mills, by whom he has one daughter, Jennie S., married to Frederick Shaw of New York Mills. Mr. Barnes is a member of the F. & A. M., Oriental Lodge No. 224, and also of the A. O. U. W. (p. 232) [Top]

BARNEY, MOSES, was born in County Wexford, Ireland, December 23, 1833, came to America in 1854, and first settled at Fort Hamilton in Brooklyn, N. Y. A year later he moved to Holland Patent, Oneida county, and in 1856 located in Utica, where he has ever since been engaged in the livery business, a period of forty years. He has occupied his present quarters in Elizabeth street since 1872, and is the oldest liveryman in continuous business in the city. He was the first Democratic alderman elected from the Fourth ward and served two years. He is a member of Mohawk Valley Lodge Knights of Honor, and one of the organizers of the Gulf Brewery and Brewing Company, which he has continuously served as president. He was also one of the originators of the Eagle Brewing Company. (p. 263) [Top]

BARNS, CAPT. AMOS, son of Nathaniel and Nancy (Pendleton) Barns, was born in Westerly, R. I., February 13, 1799. He was of English origin, his father's ancestors having come to America within a few years after the settlement of Plymouth, staying awhile in New England, then settling at Amagansett, Long Island. An authentic history is known as far back as 1675 which is the date of the birth of Isaac Barns. On his mother's side he was the seventh in line from Major Bryan Pendleton, who was born in England in 1599, and settled in Sudbury, Mass., previous to 1734, where in after years he held several important civil and military offices. Captain Barns was the fourth child and youngest son of a family of eight children, all of whom he survived. His boyhood home was upon the bank of the Pawcatuck River, within sight and sound of the ocean, and he grew up with a great love for the water and early became an intrepid swimmer and a daring and skillful sailor. When little less thyn [sic] thirteen years old he went on a voyage to Norfolk, Va., as one of the hands on board the vessel. He was an eye-witness of the bombardment of Stonington, Conn., on the 10th of August, 1814, and saw the coming and the sailing away of the discomfitted English fleet. At the age of eighteen he was apprenticed to learn the cabinetmaker's trade, but soon after serving his time of three years, he again went to sea. In 1820 and 1821 he was at the South Shetland Islands in the Antarctic Ocean engaged in seal-fishing. While there he had some thrilling and perilous adventures, among them being that of falling into a crevasse when crossing alone one day one of the glaciers with which those islands are covered. By dint of good luck, perseverance and the aid of his sealing club he worked his way out and duly reported himself in camp, somewhat battered and bruised from the fall and effort of getting to the surface again. For many years he was the sole survivor of the crew of one hundred men that manned the fleet of five vessels on the voyage. In June of the following year he was near the Arctic Ocean in the sloop Alonzo (Capt. Acors Barns). For several years he was in the coasting trade, buying cargoes of the farmers along the Connecticut shore and up her rivers, and taking them to Charleston, Norfolk, Baltimore and other southern parts where he exchanged them for the products of those regions, selling those in turn in New York city. During the last four years of his sea life he was engaged in running a packet for freight and passengers between Stonington, Conn., and New York. January 13, 1822, he married Margaret Dickens (daughter of a Revolutionary soldier), who was born May 31, 1801. Eleven children were born to them: Sylvester, Matthew, Franklin, Susan, Arthur (deceased), Margaret, Lydia, Sarah (deceased), Harriet(deceased), Caroline and Henry D. In September, 1833, Captain Barns settled in Oneida county, and in February, 1834, purchased the farm and residence in Westmoreland which was his home till he died, and where he very successfully followed the vocation of farming. In politics he was a Republican and always took a lively interest in the affairs of the nation, and gave liberally of his means to promote all good works. From 1850 to 1854 he was postmaster at Westmoreland. Mrs. Barns died January 27, 1872, after a married life of fifty years. Captain Barns died May 30, 1894, aged ninety-five years. (p. 126-127) [Top]

BARNS, HENRY D., was born in Westmoreland, January 11, 1844, youngest son of Capt. Amos Barns. Henry D. Rams attended the district school and high school, and finished his education at the Whitestown Seminary. He then learned the carpenter's trade, and now conducts a building business, and has put up a number of buildings throughout the county. He has been road commissioner, and is a member of the County Committee. Mr. Barns is a staunch Republican, and takes an active and efficient interest in the success of his party. April 2, 1874, Mr. Barns married Anna M. Dodge, of Glen, Montgomery county. N. Y. He is one of the representative citizens, and active business men of the township of Westmoreland. (p. 80) [Top]

BARNUM, D.A., M.D., was born in the town of Paris, N. Y., April 16, 1845, son of David H. and Narina (Budlong) Barnum. His great-grandfather was a soldier in the Revolutionary war. The Barnum family originally came From Connecticut. Dr. Barnum was educated at the common and select schools and Fort Edward Institute. He studied medicine with Dr. Budlong, and was graduated from the Albany Medical College in 1865, having taken his degree before he was of age. He was appointed assistant surgeon to the Sixteenth N. Y. Heavy Artillery, and was in the field with his regiment for six months. Immediately after the war he began the practice of his profession in Cassville, where he has since maintained his office, and has risen to a front rank in his profession. He is a member of the Oneida County Medical Society, The Medical Society of the State of New York, and of the Medical Association of the State of New York. He was supervisor of the town of Paris from 1888 to 1892, and is chairman of the Democratic County Committee, which position he has filled for six years, In 1876 Dr. Barnum married Catharine Rhodes, of Oswego, N.Y., who was the youngest daughter of Benjamin Rhodes, one of the pioneers of the town of Bridgewater, N.Y., where she was born. (p. 114) [Top]

BARRETT, F. A., was born at Turin, Lewis county, in 1855, son of James Barrett, the well-known proprietor of the old Railroad House at Rome. When thirteen years of age F. A. Barrett was thrown on his own resources, and when eighteen years of age went to sea on coastwise fishing boats, and there met all the hardships and experiences of a sailor's life. He visited the East Indies, and finally returned home and settled in Boonville in 1880, and opened a grocery store, which he has since conducted and has been very successful. In 1880 he married Martha A., daughter of James Brainard, the well-known pioneer from Massachusetts, who made the perilous journey here with an ox team and first settled at Leyden. Mr. and Mrs. Barrett have two children: Nina and Archie. (p. 180) [Top]

BARROWS, SAMUEL JONES, is a descendant of the staunch English yeoman stock. His ancestor, John Barrows, came from Yarmouth, England, in 1637, and settled in Salem, Mass. He was married twice, and by his second wife he had three children: Joshua, Beniger, and Ebenezer. He died at Plymouth. Mass., in 1692. His son Ebenezer settled in Attleboro, Mass., and was the father of Abraham, who was born at Attleboro, February 11, 1714, and settled in Cumberland, R.I. Abraham was the father of Jeremiah. Jeremiah was the father of Mellen, and from Mellen came Samuel Jones. Abraham Barrows removed from Cumberland, R.I., to Richmond, Cheshire county, N.H., in 1765. Mellen Barrows, the son of Jeremiah, and the father of Samuel Jones, was born in Warwick, Franklin county, Mass., on the 29th day of February, 1786, and afterwards went with his father to Richmond, N.H., where he lived for several years and married Lucy Whipple, the daughter of Ichabod Whipple, jr., on the 12th day of August, 1810. Her great-grandfather, Nathaniel Whipple, also moved from Cumberland, R.I. to Richmond, N.H., in 1767. The father and mother of Samuel Jones moved from Richmond, N.H., to McDonough, Chenango county, N.Y., in about 1815, where they lived and died at a good old age, in which town the subject of this sketch was born. Jeremiah Barrows, the grandfather of Samuel Jones, fought in the ranks of the Continental army at the battles of Bunker Hill, Trenton, Princeton, and Bennington, and was the last one of the Revolutionary soldiers who died in the town of Richmond. He died October 25, 1850, at the age of ninety-four years. The father of Samuel Jones served in the war of 1812 and was stationed at Portsmouth, N.H. Both of these men drew pensions for many years before they died. Samuel Jones was a farmer's boy, and remained on the farm in his native town, helping his father and brothers in all kinds of work pertaining to that business until he was of age. He was the youngest of five sons and belongs to the sixth generation of his family. His education was obtained at odd intervals in the district and select schools of the town in which he was born, to which was added a few months in the academy at Norwich, N.Y. On becoming of age he taught a district school for a short time in an adjoining town to where he was born, then went to the city of Utica, N.Y., where he studied law in the office of the late Joshua A. Spencer and Francis Kernan, and was admitted to practice in 1851. He afterwards acted as clerk in the office of the late Judge Ward Hunt for one year, and then opened an office for himself at Utica, N.Y., where he has ever since resided and practiced his profession. He was elected city attorney for the city of Utica in 1853 and held that office one term. He also held the office of attorney and connsel [sic] for the Board of Excise of the county of Oneida for thirteen years, from 1857 to 1870, when the law was changed from county to town and city boards. He has also held the office of corporation counsel of the city of Utica for five consecutive terms, from March, 1879, to March, 1884, being first appointed by a Republican and afterward a Democratic common council; and it is to his credit and ability as a lawyer that while he was its counsel the city never paid any damages or costs in any action which he defended. He was also elected mayor of the city of Utica on the Democratic ticket, in 1889, and held that office one term. He has been twice married, his second wife being Mrs. Isabella Grace Lowery, daughter of Mr. John Gourlay, deceased, late of Ogdensburg, N.Y. (p. 137-138) [Top]

BARRY, JOHN J., son of Thomas, who came to Utica from Ireland in 1841 and died in 1873, was born in Utica, June 11, 1863, and learned the trade of tin and coppersmith, which he followed thirteen years as an employee of O'Neil & Son, the predecessor of Childs & Jones. In 1888 he opened his present news stand and cigar store on the corner of Genesee and Bleeker streets, where he has since continued with remarkable success. In the spring of 1895 he became a member of the firm of William T. Donnelley & Co., and also engaged in the gent's furnishing business. Mr. Barry is a member of the Royal Arcanum and of the I. O. of R. M., and formerly was quite active in Democratic politics. (p. 158-159) [Top]

BARTHOLOMEW, EDWARD J., was born in Augusta, N.Y., October 20, 1850, son of Orlo Bartholomew, who was born in Goshen, Conn., in 1801, and died in Augusta May 7, 1864. He was a minister of the Presbyterian faith, and for twenty-eight years was pastor of the Presbyterian church at Augusta. He was the second pastor the church had, and did more to build up and promote the interest of the society than any other person connected with it. He came to Augusta in 1836, and up to that time had been engaged in farming. November 13, 1836, he married Julia A.Peck, of Skaneateles, N.Y.,who came from one of the best known families of that place. She was born May 11, 1813, and died in Augusta, March 21, 1892. Edward J. Bartholomew received his education at the school in Augusta, and after finishing, he taught school for eleven successive winters, devoting his summers to farming. At the age of twenty-four he bought the Sheldon Smith farm near Augusta, where he remained for two years. He then sold out and moved to Madison, N.Y., where he resided for seven years, still continuing to teach school winters. October 8, 1873, he married Flora Spooner of Augusta, daughter of James Spooner, a prominent farmer of that place. In 1888 they took possession of the Spooner farm, and remained there until 1892, when Mr. Barthnlomew moved on to the farm left vacant by the death of his brother, A. P. Bartholomew. Mr. and Mrs. Bartholomew have four children: Florence A., born December 27, 1875; Clara M., born July 17, 1878; Josephine S., born June 23, 1881; and Harry J., born January 12, 1889. (p. 149) [Top]

BARTHOLOMEW, JAMES J., was born at Vernon Center, October 5, 1854. His father, James Bartholomew, was born in the town of Kirkland, N.Y., in 1793. He served in the war of 1812, having the rank of corporal, and at the close of the war returned to his native town and engaged in farming, and subsequently moved to Vernon Center. Charles Bartholomew, grandfather of James J., came from Farmington, Conn., where his ancestors had lived since coming to this country. He was a participant in the Revolutionary war, serving in several expeditions, first under Colonel Douglass in New York, and then at Albany, being there at the time of the advance of General Burgoyne. The Bartholomews came from a long line of English ancestry. James Bartholomew married for his first wife, Ruth Cushman, who died January 24, 1851, and in 1853 he married Lucy E. Stockwell, who died October 16, 1876, James Jay being a child by the second marriage. Mr. Bartholomew died in Deansville in 1877. James Jay attended the school at Vernon Center and the Vernon Academy, and when thirteen years old he engaged as clerk in the store of S. Case's Sons at Vernon, where he remained eleven years. After spending one year with S. C. Hayden & Co. at Syracuse. N.Y., he returned to Vernon, and entered into the management of the large flouring mill of Joel H. Hills, and a few years later came into full control, which he still continues. In 1878 he married Mary H., daughter of J. H. Hills, by whom he has two children: William Van Hills and Lucy Hope. (p. 115) [Top]

BARTLETT, DR. HOWARD G., was born at Lee Center, Oneida county, November 5, 1863, a son of John Bartlett, who was also born at Lee Center, July 26, 1832. The ancestors were from Massachusetts and Connecticut, and came to this county about 1820. John Bartlett married Dolly N. Hodge, by whom he had two children: Minnie L., wife of James A. Corey; and Howard G., Who remained on the farm with his father until he was seventeen years of age, and attended the district schools. He was graduated from the Clinton Grammar school, after which he began the study of medicine, and in 1885 entered Bellevue College, where he remained until 1888. In 1891 he was graduated from Long Island Hospital, and began the practice of his profession at Oriskany, N. Y., where he remained until 1894, since which time he has been located in the village of Clinton. He married Anna Luther, of Cazenovia, N. Y. (p. 359) [Top]

BARTON, D.W., was born on the old homestead in the town of Marshall in 1835, son of Eliphaz and Polly (Barker) Barton. His grandfather, David Barton, came to the town of Paris from Granby, Mass., prior to 1800. He walked all the way, and began a clearing; he also carried wheat on his back from Utica, and planted it with an ax among the stumps, and he was a pioneer from that part of the county. David Barton's father, David Barton, was a captain in the Revolutionary War. The principal occupation of D. W. Barton's life has been farming, and for thirty years he was engaged in growing seeds for prominent houses in New York and Philadelphia. He was also the pioneer of the commercial fertilizing business in Oneida county and followed that twenty years. In 1861 he married Mary A. Oliver, by whom he has two children: Mrs. Eva Barton Miller and Gertrude M. Barton. (p. 115)

BARTON, J.F., was born in the town of Marshall, Oneida county, N. Y., June 16, 1823. His father, Eliphaz B. Barton, was a native of Granby, Mass., and one of the early settlers in this section of the country, coming here about 1797. He married Polly M. Barker, a native of this county. J. F. Barton has been a farmer all his life, and has always taken an intelligent interest in the affairs of his town, and was supervisor for six years. (g. 68)

BARTON, SETH E., was born in the town of Marshall, N. Y., December 16, 1839, son of Eliphaz and Polly M. Barton, Polly, a daughter of Wardwell Barker, who came from New Lebanon, N. Y., about 1797, when three years old. Eliphaz, a son of David, who came from Granby, Mass., in 1793, and was the first white settler in the town of Marshall, and he was engaged in pioneer farming, lumbering, and custom milling. Seth E. Barton married Mina (deceased) daughter of Martin and Elizabeth Brigham, by whom he had one child, Mary E., wife of Gardner T. Wells. In early life, Mr. Barton was engaged in general merchandise business at Deansville and Clinton, and later years has been engaged in farming. He is interested in educational work, and was formerly a member of the Board of Education of Holland Patent, and president of the village. (p. 5) [Top]

BARTOW, PIERREPOINT, son of Edgar John and Harriette Constable (Pierrepont) Bartow, was born in Brooklyn, N. Y., May 17, 1842. His father, a resident of Brooklyn, but a leading merchant of New York city, was of the Bartows of Westchester, N.Y. Others of his name had been in these parts before him, notably Andrew A. Bartow, of Bartow Hill, Herkimer county, who was connected with the introduction of the great Erie Canal in New York State. His mother was a daughter of Hezekiah B. Pierrepont and a descendant of an old Connecticut family of New Haven, and his grandmother was a daughter of William Constable, well known in this State as the purchaser of large tracts of land in connection with McCormick, Macomb, Lynch and others. Mr. Constable was in the war of the Revolution and at one time aide to La Fayette. After the peace he settled in New York as a merchant. Pierrepont Bartow received his early education in Brooklyn and finished at the English and Classical School of Mr. Huntington. In 1862-63 he was employed as draughtsman at the Continental Iron Works, Brooklyn, in preparing the plans for the monitors Passaic, Cakskill, and others, which were being built for the United States Navy. Later he was connected with the School of Mines of Columbia College for several years. In 1867 he received the appointment of draughtsman and designer for the Wood and Mann Steam Engine Company of Utica. In 1887 he was appointed to a position in the Engineer Department of the new aqueduct for New York city, where he remained several years. He returned to Utica in 1892 and since then has practiced his profession as a general mechanical engineer. For a number of years between 1870 and 1880 he followed the profession of an artist, and among his principal works is a large painting for the Union Ferry Company of Brooklyn, representing New York city in 1790 and now in the possession of the Brooklyn Historical Society. February 23, 1886, Mr. Bartow married Mrs. Emma C. (Smith) Sweet, whose ancestors were among the first settlers of Oneida county and engaged in the war of the Revolution. Timothy Smith enlisted and served as a private in Taunton, Mass., before coming to Oneida county in 1798, when he settled on Smith Hill. His wife was a Pratt, of another Revolutionary family of Taunton. Mrs. Bartow's grandmother was a Damuth, a family among the earliest settlers of Oneida county, and conspicuous for their bravery in the war of the Revolution. Captain Mark Damuth was a trusty friend of General Herkimer, and his brother George, of Deerfield, was a lieutenant, and John, another brother, a lieutenant in the battle of Oriskany. Frederick, Richard, and other Damuths were also in the struggle. George Damuth, a nephew of Captain Mark, was captured by the Indians when an infant and ever aftewards bore the marks of his captivity in his cut-ears and nose-ring, whlch his grandson and the late Davld Gray, as boys, well remember. His wife Caty was a Christman, another family who fought in the struggle against Great Britain for American independence. Mr. Bartow has two sons, William Edgar and Francis Pierrepont. (p. 200-201) [Top]

BATES, CHARLES E., was born in the town of Westmoreland, Oneida county, N.Y., September 26, 1860. He was educated in the district schools, and is a farmer by occupation. October 8, 1881, he married Estella H. Elmer, of this town, by whom he had four children: Harvey, Elmer N., Bessie M., and Viola E. Mr. Bates's father, Harvey Bates, was born in Oswego, N.Y., in 1836. He was educated in the schools of that time, and always followed farming until he became an invalid. He married Julia Emory, of the town of Westmoreland, by whom he had four children: Ida A., Charles E., as above, Alma L., and Mary. Mr. Bates came to this county when a young man. He died March 12, 1893. Mrs. Bates's father, William Elmer, was born in Lewis county, N.Y., in 1824, where he was educated. He married Emily Brownell, of that county, by whom he had six children: George L., deceased, Luella, deceased, Jennie S., Louisa M., Estella H., as above, and William H. The family came to this county in 1865. Mr. Elmer died September 30, 1894, and his wife February 26, 1889. The ancestry of the family on the paternal side is Scotch, and on the maternal side, New England stock. (p. 328) [Top]

BAXTER, FRANK K., was born in Utica, October 13, 1854, has followed civil engineering since 1871, and has been in charge of a very great variety of important work. He began with his brother as assistant city engineer and for seven years experienced municipal engineering in Utica in its various branches-paving, sewerage, grading, etc. In 1878 he was appointed to a position in the New York State Canal Engineering Department, Middle Division, of Syracuse, where he remained until the winter of 1879, when he was promoted and changed to the Western Division with headquarters in Rochester. Here he was assistant engineer under Thomas Evershed, the designer of the Niagara Falls Water Power scheme and an old canal engineer of wide reputation. Mr. Baxter's schooling here was varied and of the best. Returning to Utica in 1882, owing to change of State politics, he was immediately employed by the villages of Little Falls, Herkimer, and Clinton and the city of Utica until 1889. During these years Mr. Baxter designed and erected the Clinton water works, the Herkimer water works, stone arch bridges for the town of Herkimer, and railroad work for private and public corporations from preliminary work to final construction. In fact he had considerable experience in railroad construction. Beside the above, much important professional work was performed by him in surveying large and valuable tracts of land in the central part of this State; estimates, plans, etc., for various corporations, including Richfield Springs, Waterville, Little Falls, Herkimer, Hamilton, Ilion, Mohawk, Syracuse, Rochester and Buffalo. In 1889 he served with great credit as city engineer of Utica. In 1889 and 1890 he made many very important surveys for towns and counties, surveys of the Masonic Home property, etc. During these years important. canal surveys, railroad work, and much of the land outlying Utica was also laid out by Mr. Baxter. Railroad surveys in Syracuse were also made. In 1891 he served again as city engineer of Utica. The excellent separate system of sewers in Herkimer, N. Y., were designed at this time by Mr. Baxter and completed by him in 1893 and 1894. In 1892 much of his time was taken up in consultations with various corporations in water and sewerage work. Mr. Baxter has been retained in many important law suits as expert engineer in railroad, water, sewer and municipal work. He was employed by the sewer commissioners of Ilion as consulting engineer in the construction of its system of sewers. In 1892 he was appointed inspector of the State Board of Railroad Commissioners and which office he now holds. All of the railroads in this State are under his supervision as regards the proper maintenance of permanent way and safety to the traveling public. Mr. Baxter has always been a close student; he graduated from the public schools of Utica, Williams's Private school and the Utica Business College, and it is no doubt true, as he puts it, that civil engineering necessitates constant daily study, and close application if success is desired. His knowledge of modern railroad construction and maintenance is considered most excellent in all its various phases. Seldom one meets a civil engineer who has successfully practiced in so many branches of this grand profession. Mr. Baxter is a self-made man and certainly merits the success which his useful life has attained. (p. 197-198) [Top]

BEACH, JOHN J., was born in Augusta, N. Y., July 25, 1838, son of Jacob Beach, who was born in Connecticut, August 14, 1805, and came to Augusta in 1820, where he engaged in the agricultural industry. September 21, 1824, he married Laura A. Doolittle who was born in Greene county, N. Y., in 1808, and died May 27, 1882. In connection with his farm interests, Mr. Beach was engaged as a carpenter, joiner and builder. He died May 30, 1882. John J. was educated at the old Augusta Academy, and after his school days he rented the farm of his father, upon which he still lives, later buying it, and has occupied and conducted it since. In 1860, he married Ann M. Morrell, of Rome, N. Y., and she died in 1885, leaving three children: Almond D., born July 16, 1861, Flora A. born September 22, 1863; and Ina S. born March 3, 1868. June 21, 1888, he married Mrs. Julia (Lewis) Vaughn, who was born in Leray, Jefferson county, July 5, 1849, by whom he had one child: Foster J., born July 10, 1891. (p. 77) [Top]

BEARDSLEY, BACKUS A., was born in the town of Sangerfield, December 3, 1816, son Rev. Evans and Hannah (Magoon) Beardsley. Evans Beardsley was a Presbyterian minister, and came from Vermont to Sangerfield in 1815. His father, Gershom Beardsley, was a native of Connecticut, and was a soldier in the Revolutionary war. Backus A. Beardsley spent six years of his active life in farming, and two years in the patent right and stove business in Wisconsin and Illinois. He then returned to Waterville and engaged in the foundry business until 1887, when he disposed of it to his son, B. B. Beardsley. Mr. Beardsley married Cornelia Pangman, and they have four children living: Brace B. Beardsley, Mary B. Foster, Grace Mott, and Cornelia Beardsley. Mrs. Beardsley died September S, 1893. Mr. Beardsley was a delegate to the first Republican convention in Rome, and was appointed deputy collector during the war, which office he held for three years, when he resigned. The original William Beardsley and Mary his wife came from Stratford-on-Avon, England, and settled in Stratford, Connecticut, and from him the Beardsleys have descended. (p. 83) [Top]

BEARDSLEY, HON. SAMUEL A. Beardsley, Hon. Samuel A., comes of a race of long lived and vigorous minded men. His father, Arthur M. Beardsley, has been in active practice as a lawyer for more than fifty years. His grandfather, Samuel Beardsley, for whom he was named, was one of the prominent statesmen and jurists of his time. He was appointed United States district attorney for the northern district of New York by President Andrew Jackson in 1823, an office he held to 1830, when he was elected member of congress from the Utica district, re-elected in 1832 and 1834, and again in 1842. He was also attorney-general of the State of New York, associate judge and chief justice of the Supreme Court of the State. In 1834 Governor Marcy tendered Mr. Beardsley an appointment to the bench of the Supreme Court. President Jackson, in the presence of his cabinet, requested the congressman to decline the proffered place on account of the valuable services he could render the country and his party in Congress, and Mr. Beardsley yielded to the president's importunities. Samuel A. Beardsley was born in the city of Utica, N. Y., December 1, 1856, and was educated in the Utica public schools and Williston Seminary at East Hampton, Mass. He studied law in his father's office, the firm being Beardsley, Cookingham & Burdick, and was admitted to the bar in 1879, at which time he became a member of this firm. In 1884 this partnership was dissolved, and father and son united forces under the firm title of Beardsley & Beardsley. Mr. Beardsley was elected special city judge of Utica in 1886, and city judge in 1888, which he resigned four years later to accept the appointment of State railroad commissioner which was tendered him by Governor Flower. Mr. Beardsley was chairman of the Democratic County Committee in 1886-87-88, and was also State committeeman from his congressional district and secretary of the Democratic State Committee from 1889 to 1893. Mr. Beardsley married Elizabeth, daughter of Thomas Hopper, of Utica, by whom he had three children. He is a Mason. (p. 94)[Top]

BECK, CHRISTOPHER, was born in Baden, Germany, December 18, 1841. He came with his parents to the United States when ten years of age, and located in Coonrod Settlement, near Rome, N. Y., and came to Verona three years later. He was educated in the common schools, and has always been a farmer. March 31, 1880, he married Allie J. Poppleton, of this town, by whom he had two children: Ernina C. and A. Leora. Peter Beck, father of Christopher. was born at the old home in Germany in 1804, was educated there and aftewards [sic] engaged in farming. He married Elizabeth White, also of Germany, by whom he had nine children: Jacob J., Elizabeth, Caroline, Mary, Christopher, Catherine, Addie, and two who died in infancy. Mr. Beck died in 1877, and his wife in 1885. Mrs. Beck's father, Zenas Poppleton, was born in this county in 1837. He was educated in the public schools, and is a farmer by occupation. He married Josephine A. Hess, of this town, by whom he had two children: Allie J., and Archie H. For his second wife Mr. Poppleton married Pauline Gates, formerly of Germany, by whom he had seven children. (p. 230-231) [Top]

BEEBEE, EDWARD B., was born in Bridgewater, N. Y., March 11, 1845, and with his parents removed to Oneida in 1860. His father, Galutia Beebee, was born in Brookfield, Madison county, February 18, 1828, and is a sash and blind maker by trade and has continued to reside in Oneida since his removal there in 1860. His wife, Louisa H. Brown, born in Brookfield, July 14, 1826. Edward B. attended the Oneida public schools and afterwards the Oneida Seminary. At the age of seventeen he entered the office of the "Democratic Union" and learned the printer's trade, and has spent the greater part of his time since in connection with that establishment, at present acting as foreman. In 1883 he bought a market gardening farm at Oneida Castle, where he has since resided, carrying on that industry in connection with his business in Oneida. Mr. Beebee is an ardent Democrat, and on that ticket has been elected three times president of the village, which office he now holds, and is also a member of the Board of Education. January 27, 1875, he married Mary A. Tefft, an accomplished young lady, who was the daughter of Almon and Ann H. Tefft, formerly of Stockbridge, Madison county, N. Y. Mrs. Beebe has ever been a helpful adviser and an exemplary wife and mother; her ever kind and cautious advice has had much to do with her husband's success, and her children are living testimonials of her careful and christianlike training She was born January 24, 1858, near Waterville, N. Y., and they have had six children, five of whom are living: Harry E., born May 5, 1878; Francis C., born May 30, 1880; Susie B., born December 7, 1882; A. Louisa, born June 28, 1888; S. Maxon, born November 12, 1889; C. Ray, born September 9, 1894. The family circle has once been broken by the death of the second daughter who was an unusually bright child, whose death occurred at the age of five months. Harry E., the oldest son, is an ardent student and is preparing himself for a teacher. Mr. Beebee has been prominently connected with the affairs and improvements of the village and energetic in the work of improvement of the public schools under his supervision. He has one sister, Carrie A., who was born April 10, 1868, and is living at home with her parents in Oneida; she is unmarried and is an expert dressmaker, which occupation she is at present engaged in. (p. 228-229) [Top]

BEERS, G.P., was born in the town of Sherburne, Chenango county, September 22, 1859, son of L.M. and Sarah (Kershaw) Beers. His grandfather was Garry P. Beers, of Connecticut, and his great-great-grandfather Hurd had the management of the postal affairs of the colony of Connecticut, and held his commission from King George. At twenty-one years of age G.P. Beers engaged in the painting and paper hanging business, which he has since followed with marked success. In 1892 the partnership of Beers & Davies was formed. On January 14, 1895, Mr. Beers married Nellie Simmons of Waterville. Mr. Beers is a noted musician. He has been leader of the Waterville Band since its organization in 1886. He was a good cornet player at the age of ten years; a members of the Deansville Band at thirteen years, and leader of that band at sixteen. (p. 311) [Top]

BELL, HENRY DWIGHT, was born in Westmoreland, N. Y., September 4, 1840, son of John Morris and Sarah Bell. John Morris Bell was the son of Phineas Bell, a soldier in the American Revolution; and Mrs. Sarah Bell was the daughter of Anson Smith of Walesville, N. Y. Henry D. was educated at the district school, and at the Whitestown Seminary. He then engaged in farming at which he always continued. In politics he is a Democrat. Mr. Bell married Helen Rogers of Whitestown, by whom he has three children: Louis W., Edna and Grace. (p. 281) [Top]

BELLINGER, DANIEL H., is of German descent, although his father, Daniel P., was born in Herkimer county, N. Y., in 1820. Daniel P. Bellinger came to Knoxboro in 1856 and purchased the farm upon which he now resides. He married Phoebe Hunt, who was born in Warren, Herkimer county, in 1822 and died in January, 1895. Daniel H. was educated at Knoxboro and the Augusta Academy, after which he was engaged as a clerk in a clothing store for three years. He was then called here on account of sickness and has since continued on the farm, being quite as prosperous and successful as his father, and though but thirty-eight years of age is one of the foremost farmers in Augusta. He married Sarah A. Williams, who was born in Knoxboro, January, 1863. (p. 286-287) [Top]

BELLINGER, HENRY H., was born in Forestport, N. Y., August 29, 1856, son of John, who was a native of the Mohawk country, and Elizabeth (Melville) Bellinger, a native of German Flats, N. Y. The village of Enoch was originally called Bellingertown, taking its name from the grandfather of Henry M. He was a pioneer there, and was a soldier in the war of 1812. John Bellinger was engaged in farming at Forestport, where he lived and died, and was also a noted trapper and hunter, and cleared a farm at Forestport. Henry M. was engaged as a farm hand at Lowville nine years. He then came to Ava, and after working for H. J. Lewis one year, rented the farm for seven years, and in 1891, bought the farm in Ava, where he now resides. He kept a dairy of ten cows, and made choice butter. In 1875, he married Jennie Congdon of Forestport, by whom he has three children: Bertha, Hattie and Leon. Mr. Bellinger is a member of the Boonville Grange. (p. 67) [Top]

BEMISTER, ALFRED, was born in England, June 10, 1845, son of Stephen and Mary Ann Bemister, who came from England, and settled in Marcy about 1849, and whose children were Ann, Eliza, Harriet, Alfred, Stephen, Henry, John, Emma, Josephine, and Nettie. Stephen Bemister was a self-made industrious man, and was engaged in farming. Alfred Bemister was assessor of the town for three years, and a veteran of the late Rebellion. October 23, 1861, he enlisted in Co. A., 14th N. Y. Vols., and served about twenty months; May 20, 1863, he enlisted in Co. F, 44th N. Y. Vols., and was transferred to Co. K, 146th N. Y. vols. He was wounded at the battle of Gaines Mills, and was three months in the hospital at Philadelphia; he was also wounded in the battle of the Wilderness, from which at present he is suffering the injuries. Mr. Bemister belongs to the McQuade Post No. 14, of Utica.(p. 48) [Top]

BENNETT, C. H., L. D. S., was born in the town of Kirkland, January 22, 1841, son of Julius and Charlotte (Griffin) Bennett, natives of Connecticut. His father is dead, but his mother is still living at the age of eighty-two, and her residence at Westmoreland is probably the oldest house in that part of the country, and was built by her father, William Griffin, one of the early settlers. Dr. Bennett was educated in this county, and studied dentistry in Waterville, beginning in 1865, and he has had his dental offices here since that time. In 1868, he married Anna C. Terry, of Sangerfield. Dr. Bennett is a member of the Masonic fraternity, both of the Blue Lodge and Chapter; also of the U. M. C. A., Pickwick Club and G. A. R. He enlisted in 1861, in Co. B, 81st N. Y. Regiment, and served thirteen months, subsequently he enlisted in the navy, and served on the U. S. gunboat Grand gulf. He is also a member of the life saving corps, of which he is captain, on Oneida Lake, where he has a summer residence, and a private yacht, "Water Witch." (p. 70) [Top]

BENSBERG, FREDERICK W., was born in Utica May 21, 1852, and is a son of Frederick W. and Barbara Bensberg, who came from Germany to America and settled in Utica in 1846 where they spent the remainder of their lives. Mr. Bensberg, sr., was engaged in the grocery and coal business here until his death in 1883. Frederick W., his son, was educated in the public and advanced schools of Utica, commenced to learn the trade of printing first in the Herald office, where he was employed from 1863 to 1881, being assistant foreman during the last twelve years. In 1881 he was one of the organizers of the Utica Daily Press and has since been its foreman. When the company was incorporated in 1883 he was made a director and a member of the executive committee, which position he still holds. Mr. Bensberg is a staunch Republican, was school commissioner of Utica for three years (1891, 1892, and 1893). He married Miss Georgia A. Perkins, of Oriskany Falls, Oneida county, and a daughter of John P. Perkins. They have had two children: Florence P. and Frederick Stafford (who died aged two years). (p. 380) [Top]

BENSTED, W.H., is a native of England, and came to America when seventeen years of age. He resided one year in Hamilton, two years in Madison, and came to Waterville in 1886, since which time he has conducted the leading meat business of the place. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity, and chief engineer of the Waterville fire department. In 1889 Mr. Bensted married Mary Jane Maxted, a native of England, and they have one son, Clarence Bensted. (p. 313) [Top]

BENTLEY, HON. HENRY W., was born in De Ruyter, N. Y. in 1838, the son of General Z. T. Bentley, a Democratic leader of distinction. Mr. Bentley was educated at the Yates Polytechnic Institute and elsewhere, then became principal of the Eaton Union School, and also taught at Madison, N. Y., and Bloomindale, ILL. He was admitted to the bar in 1861, and soon opened an office at Boonville, where he has become identified with the best interests of the town. He has served as village president for several terms. He was one of the original incorporators of the First National Bank, and has, from its first organization been vice-president of the flourishing institution. He ably represented the counties of Oneida and Lewis in the Fifty-second Congress, and was there a prominent advocate for a ship canal from the Great Lakes to the Hudson. As receiver in the celebrated Taylor Will contest in New York city; as commissioner in West Shore Railroad claims and in claims for damages by reason of taking of the waters of Skaneateles Lake by the city of Syracuse; as special commissioner for the investigation of Erie county politics which resulted in the removal of Sheriff Beck; as surrogate of Oneida county, and in other affairs of wide import, he has repeatedly demonstrated ability and integrity. Mr. Bentley holds high rank, not only as a gentleman and a lawyer, but as an orator, financier and legislator. (p. 4) [Top]

BENTON, EUGENE C., was born at Sherburne, Chenango county, N.Y., March 23, 1846, son of Sylvester C. and Fannie A. Benton, who settled in this county about 1852, and who have three children: Emerette C. Reed, Lucretia A. Simmons, and Eugene C. Benton. Sylvester Benton was a painter and carpenter by trade and is now retired. He was a veteran in the late war and belonged to the 117th Regt. N. Y. Vols., enlisted as a teamster and returned as a wagon master. He is a member of Post Bacon of Utica. Eugene C. married Kate M., daughter of Henry and Mary Ann Peek, by whom he has four children: Henry E., Eugene C. jr., Fannie and Samuel M. Mr. Benton learned the painter's trade at twelve years of age; he also clerked for several firms, and was interested in the manufacture of bricks; but late years has been engaged in farming, dealing in produce and the breeding of fine Jersey cattle. Henry E. attended the Colgate University of Hamilton, N. Y. Mr. Benton belongs to the Orient Lodge No. 224 F. & A. M. of Utica, N. Y., also Washington Chapter No. 212 of New York City.(p. 61) [Top]

BENTON, GEORGE, was born at Frankfort, Herkimer county, N. Y., in 1836, son of the late James Benton. He came to Utica in 1839, where he was educated in Williams's Private School, and began his agricultural pursuits at his present location, a 200 acre dairy farm overlooking Utica, it being the old homestead where his father resided for twenty-five years. The latter was a man of rare ability and a prominent builder of Utica, who died at ninety years of age. He was born at Warwickshire, England, in 1805, and his parents being poor, and he the oldest of the family, he was early thrown on his own resources. After acquiring his trade as a builder, he came to America and settled in Utica, where he was a man of great discrimination and tact, an essential requisite of an employer of many men of whose welfare he was ever mindful. He upheld the principles of the Democratic party, but was elected mayor of Utica in 1878 by the Workingman's party. He married Susan Bradley, of English birth, who died in 1889, leaving five children. In 1867 George Benton married Rhoda, daughter of Thomas Wheatley, of New Hartford, by whom he had twelve children, of whom eight are now living. Mr. Benton was elected supervisor in 1890, by the largest majority ever received by a Democrat in New Hartford. (p. 279-280) [Top]

BERICAL, ANTHONY, was born in Alsace, France (now Germany) January 20, 1844, and came with his parents to the United States when about two years of age, locating in the town of Rome, Oneida county, where he was educated in the district schools. He was a boat owner on the canal for several years, but has been a small farmer and hotel keeper at Higginsville for the past twelve years. In 1869, he married Adelia Dunn, of the town of Verona, by whom he had five children: William W., Edward G., Mabel A., Agnes M., Anthony E. (deceased), and Vivien L. William W. married Cora Lepert, of this town. Mr. Berical's father, Anthony Berical, sr. was born at the old home in 1810. He married Catherine Augustine, of his native place, by whom he had nine children: Christina, Theresa, Anthony, George, Lawrence, Joseph, Michael, Ferdinand, and Francis. Mr. Berical died in 1894. Mrs. Berical's father, Dennis Dunn, was born in Dublin, Ireland, in 1806. He was twice married and for his second wife he married Adelia Daley, of County Cork, Ireland, by whom he had nine children: Mary A., Walter W., Adelia, Thomas, John, Catherine, Edward, Agnes, and Theresa. (p. 73) [Top]

BEYEL, CHARLES, was born in Ava, N. Y. March 22, 1854, son of Phillip and Elizabeth (Fadner) Beyel, natives of Germany. Phillip Beyel came to America in 1829, and settled in Buffalo, N. Y. Mrs. Beyel came with her parents, Martin and Elizabeth Fadner, in 1832, and also settled in Buffalo. In 1840, they came to Ava, where they spent the remainder of their lives. The grandparents, Phillip and Barbara Beyel, lived and died in Germany, and Phillip was a wagonmaker. Phillip jr. was a soldier in Germany eight years. He bought a farm in Ava of 165 acres and died in 1870. Mrs. Beyel is still living on the homestead with her son, Charles. He received his education in West Leyden school, and has always lived on a farm, and he owns 170 acres, and keeps from twenty to twenty-five cows. He is also a mason and carpenter. In 1876, he married Mary, daughter of Henry and Catherine Roser, by whom he has one daughter, Alta. Mr. Beyel is a Democrat and has been assessor three years, and was elected justice of the peace for a full term in 1896, he is a member of Grange at West Leyden. (p. 19) [Top]

BEYEL, JACOB, was born in Ava, Oneida county, June 4, 1844, son of Philip and Elizabeth Beyel. Jacob Beyel was reared on a farm and attended West Leyden school, and has since followed farming and carpentering. In 1873 he married Addie C., daughter of Fred and Adaline Myers, by whom he had two children: Ada, born Febnruary 14, 1877, and Permilla, born February 6, 1888. Mr. Beyel purchased the farm where he now resides in 1873; he now owns 163 acres of land and keeps about twenty-five cows. Mr. Beyel attends the Union Church at West Leyden and is a member of Grange of the same village. (p. 213) [Top]

BIDDLECOME, WILLIAM D., son of William W. and Catherine (Steel) Biddlecome, was born at Deerfield, Oneida county, N.Y., November 30, 1857. His father is a farmer, and still resides on the family homestead in Deerfield. William D. was educated at the Utica public schools, Whitestown Seminary and Hamilton College Law School. He was elected school commissioner of the first district of Oneida county in 1881, and re-elected in 1884. He has practiced his profession as a lawyer at Utica since 1888. Mr. Biddlecome is a Republican in politics, and was secretary of the Republican County Committee several years, also chairman of the Executive Committee of the County Committee in 1894. Mr. Biddlecome is a Mason, and a member of Utica Lodge No. 47. He has never married. (p. 72) [Top]

BIELBY, ISAAC P., son of Thomas A., was born March 11, 1847, in Oriskany, Oneida county, in the old house just west of the Presbyterian church, now used as a grocery store. Thomas A. was born near Malton, England, in June, 1800; he came to America and located in the western part of Oneida county in 1827, and in 1828 settled in Oriskany where he had charge of conveying woolen goods to New York city for Newton S. Dexter & Co., proprietors of the first woolen factory establishment in the United States for manufacturing supplies for the Federal army in the war of 1812. In 1852 Mr. Bielby settled on a farm two and a half miles southwest of Oriskany, in the town of Whitestown, which Isaac P. now owns. There he died in December, 1873. In politics originally a Whig, and an early Abolitionist, and later a Republican; he was a college bred man, and civil engineer; he held several local offices, and in the military rose through the various grades in the service to lieutenant-colonel, to which he was appointed by his friend an coworker, Governor William H. Seward. His maternal grandfather was archbishop of Canterbury, and his father a major in the British army who distinguished himself with Wellington in the battle of Waterloo. Mr. Bielby married Christy Ann, daughter of Isaac and Elizabeth Prudens, pioneers of Oriskany. She survives him. Their children were Thomas Picton and John Allison, both deceased; Isaac Prudens of Utica; William James, who occupies the homestead; and Elizabeth Ann, who married Bielby Yates and died in 1872. Isaac Prudens, father of Mrs. Bielby, was a deacon and local Methodist preacher, widely known as an earnest Christian, and died in 1870, aged nearly eighty years. His wife died about 1871. Isaac Prudens Bielby attended the district schools of his native town, Misses Cunningham and Grahame's, Whitestown Seminary, and Oberlin College in Ohio. He read law with Johnson & Prescott of Rome, was admitted to the bar at Buffalo in June, 1875, and began practice in the office of his preceptors. Becoming deeply interested in religion he entered Auburn Theological Seminary to master the Hebrew and Chaldean languages. While there his home was destroyed by fire, and all his property lost in the ruins. He returned to the homestead to settle the estate and life the encumbrances, and also practice law at Oriskany. January 1, 1876, he entered the sheriff's office as counsel under George Benedict, and has remained there ever since, and has been attorney for the sheriffs in all the courts and before the governors. Mr. Bielby became an active abolitionist from his boyhood and in the Lincoln campaign joined the Republican Wideawakes, now the Utica Continentals, of which he is still a member. In 1861 he was a drummer in the recruiting service and a member of the Whitestown Seminary cadets. He enlisted in Co. E., second N.Y. Volunteers, but was too young to muster. He afterwards served in the 145th Regiment. In September, 1864, he was mustered into Co. C, 14th N.Y.H.A. and served till his discharge in September, 1865. In the great temperance reform movement of 1877 he was one of the most able and eloquent advocates, being the friend and companion of the lamented John P. French. In the political campaign of 1880 he raised the Lawrence cadets (afterwards recognized as the Conkling Unconditionals) and of which he was captain. He was a lieutenant-colonel on General Grant's staff of the Boys in Blue, a national veteran organization, which local organization became the Forty Rounders in the Blaine and Logan campaign of 1884. He was also commander of the Plumed Knights and adjutant-general of the Thirteenth Division (Central New York)of the Boys in Blue, and is now president of the Forty Rounders and the Veterans' Organization of Oneida County. He has been very active in politics and has often been nominated for office, but has declined to run. He was made a Mason in Roman Lodge, and since April, 1876, has been a member of Oriental Lodge, Utica. He is a member of the Veteran Masonic Association, a charter member of the Masonic Club, and for many years active in the I.O.G.T., holding offices in the Grand and Supreme Grand Lodges. He was also for many years an officer in the Y.M.C.A. He joined the G.A.R. in Illinois in 1866 and in 1867 became a member of Post Worth, Westmoreland; later he joined Post Rose, New York Mills, and about 1872 became the first chaplain of Post Skiller of Rome of which he was the organizer and charter member. He is now a past commander of Bacon Post, Utica, was president of the old Utica Veteran Zouaves, and formerly chaplain with the rank of captain of the 26th Battalion N.G. January 27, 1886, he married Anna E., daughter of Langford T. and Elizabeth Hewett. Mr. Hewett is an old engineer on the D.L. & W. Railroad and a descendant of one of the pioneer families of Paris, Oneida county. He is one of the historians of Oneida county, and author of a book of patriotic songs, Illustrated History of Utica, Sheriffs of Oneida County, District Attorneys and Surrogates of Oneida County, and other works of the different organizations to which he belongs. He is a member and officer of the Presbyterian church. He has the reputation of being an eloquent advocate, a competent official and faithful public servant. (p. 268-270) [Top]

BIGELOW, H.P., was born in the house where he now resides in Waterville, son of Horace Bigelow, a hat manufacturer in Waterville and Julia A. (Porter) Bigelow, daughter of Noah Porter of New Hartford, N. Y. He was graduated from the Hamilton College in the class of 1861, and December 28, 1887, he married Pauline C. Mayer of Cincinnati, by whom he has two children: Frederick and Frieda. Mr. Bigelow was treasurer in the village of Waterville for a number of years and was supervisor of the town of Sangerfield for a term. He is a member of the Pickwick Club and of the Patrons of Husbandry. (p. 70) [Top]

BIGGAR, REV. DAVID I., is a native of Quebec, Canada, but has spent the greater part of his life in the United States. His father, James Biggar, came from Roxboroshire, Scotland, where he was born in 1790. He engaged in teaching until 1819, when he came into possession of a land grant of several hundred acres from the British government, and settled upon it at Huntington, where David I. was born. After settling in Canada he married Janette Murray, also a native of Scotland, but a resident of the province of Quebec, who was born in 1800, and died in 1855. Mr. Biggar died in 1851. David I. was one of a family of eleven children, all of whom were born at the original homestead. He attended the Huntington Academy, and prepared for college at the Burr Seminary, at Manchester, Vt. He then entered Amherst College, from which he was graduated in 1862. After spending three years at Auburn Theological Seminary, he preached a year and a half at Norwich Corners, near Utica, and then acted as pastor for the Presbyterian church at Vernon for ten years. From that place he went to Camillus, where he remained for seven and a half years, and from there he was called to the Owasco church, where he preached for five years. In 1890 the Vernon Center Presbyterian Society called him to the church there, and he is now engaged in building up and strengthening the church society. He married Mary E. Wood, who was born in Litchfield, N. Y., June 27, 1843, by whom he has had four children, three of whom are now living. (p. 273) [Top]

BILLINGHAM, FRED G., was born in the town of Kirkland, October 30, 1860, son of Richard J. Billingham. Fred G. was reared on his father's farm, where he remained until about three years ago, when he became the proprietor of the Clinton House, in the village of Clinton, where he and his wife, Ella (Griffith) Billingham, are always ready to care for the guests in a manner which proves their ability in this line. (p. 296) [Top]

BILLINGHAM, RICHARD J., was born in Whitestown, March 4, 1835, son of William R. Billingham, who was born in Yorkshire, England, August 8, 1792, and came to the United States in 1832. He settled in Whitestown where he worked at his trade as shoemaker; this he followed for about fifty years. He came to the town of Kirkland in 1852. He married Mary, daughter of John and Polly Bellinger, by whom he had three children: Richard J., William C., and Anna E. Richard J. Billingham at twenty-two years of age worked a farm on shares, and in 1861 he bought a farm, and is now the owner of several farms in this town. In 1875 he engaged in buying hops, which business he continues. He was elected road commissioner in the years 1873 and 1874. Mr. Billingham married Jane Laville of Whitestown. by whom he has four children: Armenia, Christopher H., Fred G., and Charles A. (p. 82) [Top]

BIRDSEY, GEORGE L., was born at Leyden, September 7, 1864, son of the late Linus Birdsey of that place, who was a citizen of much local prominence, having represented the town in the county legislation, for a number of years. George Birdsey completed his education at Cazenovia, graduating in 1887, and for a time was engaged in teaching school in the vicinity of his boyhood home. In 1892, he embarked in the retail business now operated under his name. He carries a large stock of millinery, furnishing goods, books, jewelry and toilet goods. In 1891, he married Ora Wardell, daughter of a clergy man of the Methodist Episcopal church, and of which he and his wife are both valued members. Mr. Birdsey has been superintendent of the Boonville Sunday school since 1888. On February 1, 1906, Mr. Birdsey transferred the entire stock from Boonville to Waterloo, N. Y., where he is now doing a thriving business. (p. 6) [Top]

BIRDSEY, RUFUS P. View Biography

BLAKE, FRANK, was born in Clayville, August 30, 1868, and is of old Irish stock, his father, Peter Blake, being born in Ireland. Peter Blake kept the Blake House in Clinton for about twenty years, and enlisted in 1862, serving through the entire war. Frank Blake received his education in the schools in Clinton, and was clerk in his father's hotel. He engaged with a Buffalo house, where he formed an idea of the furniture and undertaking business, which he established in 1889 in Clinton. He married Jessie D., daughter of W. L. Hart of Clinton. Mr. Blake is at present town clerk being elected on the Democratic ticket in 1894. (p. 296-297) [Top]

BLAKE, JOHN, was born in Westchester county, N.Y., in 1844. He was educated in the common schools, and is a farmer and market gardener by occupation. August 6, 1862, he enlisted in Co. G., 113th N.Y. Vols. Nov. 7, 1865, his regiment was consolidated with the 7th Heavy Artillery, of the Second Corps, Army of the Potomac. He was wounded in the leg in the battle of the Wilderness, and on June 19, 1864, in the battle of Petersburg, was wounded in the hand and forearm with rifle bullets, and in the back with a piece of shell, four ounces and a half of which was extracted by the surgeon. He was left on the field for dead sixty four hours, and yet survives to tell the story. February 12, 1865, he was honorably discharged by surgeon's certificate of disability from Finlay Hospital, Washington, D.C. In the fall of 1869 he married Emily E. Dunn, of Verona, by whom he has eight children: Mary M., Julia E., E. Isabel, Adeline E., John L., Clara L., Carrie I., and Howard L. (p. 302) [Top]

BLASIER, IRVING, was born in the town of Western, January 11, 1860, son of Ichabod and Elizabeth M. Blasier. Ichabod, son of Henry, was born in the town of Western, October 12, 1825, and his children were Henrietta, Francis M., Esther E., Celia, Mary, Josephine, Ichabod, jr., Irving, Melvin, Lena, Evert E., Martha, Carrie, Franklin and Charles, of whom the last four are deceased. December 12, 1880, Irving married Clara L., daughter of Henry L. and Sarah A. Vosburg, and they have one child, Merton Irving. Mr. Blasier was educated in the Winfield Seminary, and when seventeen years of age started in the cheese business. In 1889 he bought a cheese factory at Vienna, and in 1893 he started a canning factory under the firm name of Freeman & Blasier, and they do a business of about $23,000 a year, and make 115,000 pounds of cheese yearly. He is a member of Vienna F. & A. M. Lodge, No. 440. (p. 175) [Top]

BLISS, FREDERICK, was born in Floyd, N.Y., February 5, 1859, son of Jonathan and Maria A. Bliss. Jonathan Bliss was engaged in farming during his lifetime. He was born in 1819 and died in 1887. Frederick was educated in the Whitesboro district school and at business college, after which he engaged in farming and still continues. He also conducted the Oriskany Mill, which property he bought and installed steam power in the mill instead of water power; but after conducting it for three years he sold it, and gave his attention entirely to farming. Mr. Bliss married Lillian M. Champlin of Whitesboro, by whom he has five children: Stuart J., Henry F., Spencer E., Sarah M. and Ruth F. The family are members of the Presbyterian church, and Mr. Bliss and his father have always been staunch Republicans. (p. 321) [Top]

BLUE, MALCOLM A., was born in Deerfield, N. Y., January 27, 1822, son of Alexander and Christa (McVean) Blue, natives of Scotland. Alexander Blue came to Deerfield with his parents, Malcolm and Flora Blue, in 1803. Mrs. Blue came with her parents, Peter and __ McVean, who settled at Johnstown, Genesee county, where they died. Alexander Blue was a carpenter by trade, but spent the latter part of his life on the farm. He was town school superintendent and road commissioner. Mrs. Blue died in 1822, and Mr. Blue married the second time. He died in 1872. Malcolm A., at the death of his mother, was adopted and reared by Daniel McKay, who was an early settler on the farm where Mr. Blue has always resided, except four years in the banking business, and he is now president of the bank at Poland. Mr. Blue has given his attention principally to farming and has owned about 816 acres of land, 320 of which he has deeded to his sons. He has been supervisor and road commissioner seven years. In 1847, he married Maria, daughter of Isaac and Mary Hetherington (who died in August, 1887), farmers of Deerfield; and Mr. Hetherington was a native of England. Mr. and Mrs. Blue have three children: Arch M., and Grant A. who are both engaged in farming and in the manufacture of cheese, also dealing stock; and Maria, wife of John K. Walker. The family are Presbyterians. (p. 51) [Top]

BOSS, JOSEPH, son of Peter, was born August 23, 1860, in Utica, where his father still resides, coming here from Germany about 1845. He was for four years in the employ of Sherwood & Hemmens, tobacco dealers, for another four years with the U. S. Express Company, and for eight years with the old baggage express firm of Dunn & Lent, having charge of their business during the last two years. In January, 1887, he established his present baggage express and livery business. Mr. Boss was married in 1886 to Matilda Briggs, of Mohawk Hill, Lewis county, and they have two children: Joseph John and Helen Mergret. (p. 354) [Top]

BOURKE, MILES R., was born in the town of Florence, Oneida county, May 1, 1848, son of Thomas and Mary Bourke, natives of Ireland, who came to America in 1836, settling in Florence. In 1851 he moved to Utica where Mr. Bourke worked for a telegraph company, and then for the New York Central Railroad. Miles R. Bourke learned the trade of plumber and hardware business with John Carton of Utica. He was appointed to the Naval Academy by Francis Kernan, but did not serve, owing to lack of physical development. In 1866 he came to Waterville, where he conducts a general hardware and plumbing business. He is serving his fourth term on the exise [sic] board, and was chief of the fire department one year. He is an active Democrat and has been delegate to many conventions. He was formerly in the Utica Fire Department, and is an exempt fireman in that city. In 1880 he married Margaret Landers, by whom he has four children: John, Miles, Rachel and Frances. (p. 150) [Top]

BOWEN, JOHN, was born near South Trenton, Oneida County, N. Y., April 2, 1851, son of William & Ann Bowen, who came from England and settled in Trenton about 1843. In early life William Bowen was a laborer, but later followed farming. His children are William E., Thomas, Elizabeth, John, Lydia, and Hannah. John Bowen married Carrie, daughter of Thomas and Maria Theobold, by whom he had one child, Fred W. Mr. Bowen is active in education, school and church work, and is also interested in town, county, and national affairs. He is a charter member and president of South Trenton Patrons of Industry, and has held other minor offices. (p. 103) [Top]

BOWES, JOHN A., is a son of John R., who was born in England, in 1827, came to Utica in 1842, and still resides here, having been engaged for over fifty years in the wool business, buying principally for A.T. Stewart & Co., and later for the Globe Woolen Company. He was born in Utica, September 23, 1862, received a public school education, and in 1879 entered the employ of B. Wilson & Co., wholesale dealers in paper, with whom he remained about ten years. August 1, 1889, he formed a partnership with his brothers, Henry L. and Charles S., under the firm name of Bowes Brothers, and established their present business as wholesale dealers in paper, twine, stationery, and woodenware. Henry L. Bowes was born March 1, 1861, and for several years prior to June, 1889, was a member of the firm of B. Wilson & Co. Charles S. Bowes was born November 27, 1866. (p. 342) [Top]

BOWMAN, JOHN, was born in Rome, Oneida county, August 19, 1858, son of Fred and Verbena (Light) Bowman, natives of Mechlenberg, Germany. Fred Bowman came to America about 1854, locating at Rome, Oneida county, where he was employed five years, and in 1889 removed to Annsville, where he cleared a farm of seventy-five acres, and where he died May 1, 1895, aged sixty-nine years. His children, were Fred, John, Frank, Sophia(Mrs. Charles Regler), and William. John Bowman was reared on the homestead, and received a limited education in the common schools, and after attaining his majority he removed to Canada, where he worked two years as a farm hand, then returned to the homestead, where he remained until 1885, when he embarked in the hotel business at Point Rock, and remained there seven years. He then kept the Central Hotel at Rome two years, and in 1894 purchased the Lee Center House, which he has since successfully continued, adding extensive improvements, including one of the finest barns in the county, at an expense of $1,500. May 12, 1885, he married Carrie, daughter of Frank and Caroline Dorn, of Ava, Oneida county, by whom he had three children: John, jr., Carrie and Howard. (p. 171-172) [Top]

BOYD, CHAUNCEY, was born in Western, December 11, 1809, son of James and Mehitabel (Reynolds) Boyd, natives of Rhode Island, among the pioneers of Western, where they lived and reared a family of five children, and where they died. Chauncey Boyd has always resided in Western, and has lived on the farm he now occupies for sixty-four years. In 1831, he married Catherine, daughter of John and Rachel (Carpenter) of Western, by whom he had five children: Almira (Mrs. Edwin Fraser); Squire; Charlotte (Mrs. Wilbur Cummins); Jane (Mrs. Robert D Phillips) and Emma (Mrs. Alvin R. Stone). Mr. and Mrs. Boyd are probably the oldest living married couple residing in Western, this date, August 16, 1895. (p. 5) [Top]

BRAINARD, I.D., was born in Hubbardsville, N.Y., September 27, 1846, son of Ira and Jemima (Beebe) Brainard. He was educated at the Clinton Liberal Institute, after which he engaged in the hop business, and his firm is one of the largest in Central New York. In 1891 the firm of Charles Green, Son & Co., hop merchants and bankers, was formed. The banking house is in Waterville, and is in charge of Mr. Brainard. He has been president of the village two terms, and has been a member of the Board of Education ten years. In 1870 Mr. Brainard married M. Geneva Green, by whom he has one son, Charles Green Brainard. (p. 312) [Top]

BRAYTON, MRS. FRANCES A.--The late Stephen H. Brayton was born at Newport, Herkimer county, January 12, 1845, son of Stephen and Sarah Brayton. Stephen Brayton was engaged in farming in Herkimer county., Stephen H. was educated at Utica and Poughkeepsie, and then engaged in farming at which he has always continued. He conducted a farm in Deerfield, and was a man highly respected as one of the representative agriculturists of that place. He married Frances A., daughter of George F. Weaver of Deerfield, N. Y., by whom he has two children: Helen A. and Stephen H. Mr. Brayton died in Deerfield, March 29, 1892. Mrs. Brayton and her children are members of the Presbyterian Church at Whitesboro. (p. 77) [Top]

BRAYTON, M. JESSE, son of Almond and Caroline (Schermerhorn) Brayton, was born on a farm near the Herkimer-Oneida county line July 20, 1852, attended Fairfield Seminary, and was graduated from the Clinton Liberal Institute. His ancestors were Rhode Islanders. His grandfather, Jesse Brayton, came with several brothers to Newport, Herkimer county, and Deerfield, Oneida county, very early in the present century. In 1860 his parents settled in Deerfield, where his father died in January, 1886. His mother survives. Mr. Brayton read law in Utica with J. Thomas Spriggs and later with D.C. Pomeroy, and was admitted to the bar in in Syracuse in 1876. He began the practice of law in Utica with D. E. Pomeroy, with whom he was associated for about five years. He then practiced alone until January, 1883, when he was appointed deputy county clerk, which position he held until he was elected county clerk in 1885. He served in this capacity from January 1, 1886, to December, 31, 1888. He had become interested in the Utica Electric Light Company and since the close of his term as county clerk has served as its secretary and treasurer, and has also acted in the same capacity for the Utica Manufacturing and Supply Company. Mr. Brayton is a member of Oriental Lodge, F. & A.M., Utica Commandery No. 3, K.T., the Royal Arcanum, and the I.O.O.F. In January, 1885, he married Cora B., of Ilion, daughter of Joseph A. Johnson. (p. 366-367) [Top]

BREITENSTEIN, GEORGE FREDERICK, was born in Rome, N.Y., January 19, 1852, and is a son of Frederick Breitenstein, a native of Germany, who came with his family to Utica in 1865 and died here September 23, 1895, aged sixty-seven. George P. was educated in the public and private schools of Utica and when sixteen engaged in the meat business with his father, with whom he continued until 1874. He then opened a meat market for himself in State street and carried on business four years. In 1878 he was appointed tillerman of hook and ladder truck number one, Utica fire department, with which he has since been connected. He was promoted superintendent of the police and fire telegraph in May, 1895, and still holds that position. He is a member and was one of the organizers of the Firemen's Relief Association of Utica, and for a time served as one of its first trustees. August 19, 1874, he married Mary, daughter of John Heimberger, of Utica, and they have four children: Cora, Arthur, Grace and Pearl. (p. 348) [Top]

BRENNAN, THOMAS, was born in Westmoreland, March 23, 1855, son of Frank and Mary Brennan. Frank Brennan is a farmer and has been conducting a farm in Westmoreland for twenty-two years. Thomas Brennan was educated in Paris, Kirkland and Westmoreland, and has since been engaged in farming in Westmoreland. He married Mary Riley, of Verona, by whom he has one daughter, Lizzie. (p. 293) [Top]

BRESLAUER, THEOBALD, was born in Frankenstein, Silesia, Germany, October 9, 1846, and between 1861 and 1864 served an apprenticeship at glove making, which he successfully followed in the chief cities of Europe for several years, notably in Vienna, Paris, London, and Berlin. In Breslau, Germany, he engaged in manufacturing on his own account for a time. In 1873 he came to America, settled in Gloversville, N. Y., and for about four years pursued his trade in the extensive glove factories of that place. He moved to Utica in 1877 and established his present business, and since May, 1883, has conducted a successful trade at his present location, 182 Genesee street, wholesaling and retailing a full line of gloves and millinery. He is a member of Oriental Lodge, No. 224, F. & A. M., Oneida Chapter, No. 57, R. A. M., and Utica Consistory, No. 2, being a 32d degree Mason, northern jurisdiction. In 1871 he married Miss Bertha Dann, who learned her trade of milliner in Germany, her native country. (p. 160) [Top]

BREWER, EDWARD E., was born on the homestead in the town of Verona in 1840. He was educated in the common schools and Vernon Academy, and is by occupation a farmer. He is also a dealer in hay. In 1868 he married Melia Eigabroadt, of the town of Vernon, by whom he had two sons: James E. and Charles E. James E. is a prominent attorney in Oneida, N. Y., and married Clara Swift, of Warren, Conn., by whom he had two daughters: Helen and Grace. Charles E. is a fireman on the N. Y. C. & H. R. R. R. He married Lizzie Mahaney, of Vienna. Mr. Brewer's father, Morris P., was also born here July 8, 1812. He was educated in the public schools and Hamilton College at Clinton, and was a farmer by occupation. He married Caroline E. Sage, by whom he had five children: James A., Theodore R., Edward E., as above, and Mercy E., now Mrs. John Merrill, of Toledo, Ohio, and Morris P. Mr. Brewer's grandfather, Artemus Brewer, was born in Massachusetts, about 1776. He married Electa Hall, by whom he had six children. He died in 1863, and his wife about 1858. Mrs. Brewer's father, Peter G. Eigabroadt, was born at Palatine Bridge, Montgomery county, N. Y., April 28, 1792. He married Lena Garlock, of his native place, and came to this county in 1840. They had thirteen children: Mary, Nancy, Elizabeth, Washington, David, James, Alonzo, Walter, Peter, Diana, William, Charles, and Amelia. Charles was a soldier in the late war, in the 3d N. Y. Vols., and died at Fort McHenry, Baltimore, Md. Peter was a soldier in a Wisconsin Regiment, and was honorably discharged at the close of the war. Mrs. Brewer's father was a soldier in the war of 1812. Her grandfather, Adam Garlock, was a soldier in the Revolutionary war, and was in the battle of Oriskany. (p. 102-103) [Top]

BRIGGS, GEORGE, is a native of Floyd, Oneida county, where he was born March 11, 1822, and is the oldest of five children, born to Cyrus and Mary Ann (Tinker) Briggs. Mr. Cyrus Briggs was born in Vermont in 1803, and Mrs. Briggs was born in Lyme, Conn., in 1806. Mr. Briggs's parents, Ebenezer and Elizabeth Briggs, came from Connecticut and settled in Rome where they were engaged in farming. Mrs. Briggs's parents, Allen and Polly (Maynard) Tinker, came from Connecticut with an ox team, and settled in Floyd about 1818. From there they emigrated to Illinois, where Mr. Tinker died in 1865, and his wife in 1885. Cyrus Briggs was engaged in farming in the town of Rome, and he died in 1838. Mrs. Briggs is still living at the age of eighty-nine, and has resided with her son for the past thirty years. George Briggs was reared on the farm at Rome, and took charge of the family as soon as he was old enough, after the death of his family. He worked on a farm and conducted a hotel at West Branch; and also ran a stage line for four years. He was in the mercantile business for three years at Point Rock, and in 1877 he came to Ava where he purchased the hotel of which he has since been proprietor. Soon after he bought a farm, and has carried on dairy farming, keeping ten cows. In 1852 he married Catherine, daughter of Conrad and Sallie Mowers, of Weston, N. Y., by whom he has two children: George H., who is married to Annie Houck, and is engaged in farming on the home farm; and Era, wife of George Anmon, a farmer of West Leyden. (p. 213) [Top]

BRILL, FRED J., was born in Lowell, township of Westmoreland, Oneida county, July 20, 1850, son of William and Mary O. Brill. William Brill was born in Saratoga county, April 1, 1823. He kept a store in North Western for three years, coming to Lowell in 1848, where he engaged in farming. He was one of the most prominent men in the township, and was supervisor for a number of years. He died August 7, 1888. Fred J. Brill was educated in Cazenovia, after which he engaged in farming, and is also a large distiller of witch hazel, distilling it from the shrub and shipping the product all over the country. He is also engaged in the manufacture of cheese. He married Mary E., daughter of E. Day, of Verona, by whom he has one son, John, now attending school. (p. 293) [Top]

BROADBENT, FRANK, was born in Manlius, Onondaga county, N. Y., May 28, 1855, son of Giles Leon Broadbent, a native of England, who came to America when about nineteen years of age. He was a machinist by trade and was engaged in different woolen mills in this State for many years. His wife, Mary Haynes, was born in the town of Western, N. Y., daughter of Solomon and Amanda Haynes. They had but one child, Frank. Mr. Broadbent died in 1863, from injuries he received while alighting from the cars. His wife survives him. Frank Broadbent first engaged in farm work, and when seventeen years of age learned the trade of cheesemaker, in which he has been engaged in various factories throughout the county. He was cheesemaker for the Steuben Association in the town of Steuben for eight years. During the years 1892-3 he owned a half interest in the Willow Grove cheese factory in the town of Trenton. For a time he owned a factory on Floyd Hill in the town of Floyd, and in 1893 he purchased his present farm of 203 acres, on which he conducts a dairy of thirty cows, and having a factory in addition to this on his farm, he also manufactures cheese. In 1876 he married Estella E., daughter of Hiram G. and Mary E. (Dustin) Bullock, who was born in the town of Western. They have six children: Leon G., Robert A., Homer F., Frank A., Lester F. and Erwin J. Mr. Broadbent is a member of the F. & A. M. (p. 89) [Top]

BROCKWAY, WILLIAM H., was born January 6, 1856, son of Thomas and Eliza Brockway. The family dating back to 1660, settled in Lyme, Conn. Lathrop Brockway came to the village of Clinton in the fall of 1811, and in 1812 bought and settled upon a farm, where he resided up to his death. He early identified himself with the agricultural, educational and religious interests of the town, and died at Clinton, October 17, 1879, and Thomas H., his son, now resided on the old farm. William H. Brockway is one of seven children, and was reared on the farm owned by his grandfather, Lathrop Brockway. He was identified with the Franklin iron works, and received the appointment of postmaster at that place. February 17, 1875, he married Sarah Boon, who was born January 6, 1855, and by whom he has seven children: Harry Lathrop, Mabel Eloise, Flora May, Robert Clinton, William Frederic, Carl Watson, and Sarah Hazel. W. H. Brockway is one of the representative men in Clinton village, and has been engaged in buying hops, which business he still follows, and he is prominently connected with the Masonic fraternity. (p. 83-84) [Top]

BRONSON, JAMES C., was born in the village of Clinton, November 22, 1836, son of Dr. Gerritt I. Bronson, who was born in this village in 1804, and whose ancestors were from Middlebury, Conn. James Bronson, who dates back for five generations, was the first white man to sleep on what is known as Clinton Greens. Dr. Gerritt I. Bronson, was a practicing physician in this village for over fifty years. He married Phebe, daughter of Jesse Curtis, by whom he had four children: James C.; Julia H., who is postmaster in Clinton village; Arthur, who died when young; and Arthur a prominent lawyer, now deceased. James C. Bronson was educated in the Academy and Liberal Institute of which he is a graduate. He was connected with John E. Elliott in the mining business, and was county clerk in 1868, 1869 and 1870. He was also supervisor of the town, and town clerk, and enlisted in 1861 in the Fifty-seventh N. Y. Volunteers, where he went as first lieutenant, and returned colonel. He lost his arm in the battle of Deep Bottom, Virginia, August 14, 1864. (p. 124-125) [Top]

BROOKS, W.A., was born on the same street on which he now lives, December 8, 1834, and worked on a farm until twenty-one years of age, when he learned the trade of carpenter. In 1869 he engaged in the saw mill business, which he has successfully conducted ever since. In 1872 he married Sarah L. Brown, by whom he has one daughter, Mrs. Wayne E. Small. Mr. Brooks's parents were Morgan and Lucretia (Adams) Brooks. His grandfather, Roger Brooks, was a carpenter, and erected the first two story house in Utica. This house was erected for his brother, Barnabas Brooks, who was the first jeweler in Utica. Mr. Brooks has to-day an old- fashioned rule, once the property of Roger Brooks, and also a knee buckle made by Barnabas Brooks, besides other valuable heirlooms. His grandfather, Roger Brooks. came from from Blandford, Mass., and settled in the town of Nelson, Madison county. He has been collector of the town of Marshall, and is a member of the Grange at Waterville. He makes lumber, shingles, cider, etc., and is noted for his hop cowls, of which he has made more than any man in the world. (p. 112) [Top]

BROWN, BRAYTON E., was born in the town of Fowler, St. Lawrence county, N.Y., October 7, 1864, received his education in Spragueville, and remained with his father on a dairy farm until the age of sixteen, when he accepted a clerkship with his uncle, Lester Munson, a general merchant in Sandy Creek. In 1882 he came to Utica and entered the employ of A.L. Owens, a wholesale milk dealer, with whom he remained four and one-half years. In December, 1886, he established himself in business as a wholesale and retail dealer in general dairy products and as a manufacturer of butter, etc. He is a member of Central City Lodge No. 68, I.O.O.F. (p. 346) [Top]

BROWN, CALVIN

BROWN, CHARLES A., was born in the town of Trenton, N. Y., January 8, 1845, son of Oliver and Almira (daughter of Eli Mitchell of the town of Ava) Brown. Oliver Brown was born January 24, 1810, in Stonington, Conn., and settled in Trenton about 1830, marrying seven years later. His children were Henry (deceased), Charles A., and Mary A. He was farmer by occupation. Charles A. married Helen M., a daughter of Ammi and Susan Mallory, who were residents of the town of Trenton. Mr. and Mrs. Brown have one child, Abbie M. Mr. Brown was formerly director and treasurer of Trenton Union Agricultural Society and a member of Holland Patent Grange. (p. 218) [Top]

BROWN, JAMES, was born in the town of Floyd, Oneida county, January 29, 1837, son of John and Jane Brown, who came from Dutchess county, and settled in Floyd in 1826. Their children were Harriet, Charles Henry, James, Thomas, William H., and Betsey Ann, all natives of this county. Charles Henry was a veteran of the late war. James married Susan Faulkner, daughter of William and Harriet Faulkner, by whom he had three children: Hattie Jane, Charles E., and William G. William G. Brown was graduated from Union College in 1895, and is now studying law at Albany. He also spent three years at Cazenovia Seminary. Susan, wife of James Brown, died January 1, 1870. For his second wife James married Helen, daughter of William and Eliza Bowman, by whom he has one child; Nellie E. James and his father followed farming and boat-building, and have been actively interested in educational affairs. James has been highway commissioner two terms, and also loan commissioner. (p. 55) [Top]

BROWN, THOMAS S., was born in the town of Vienna, December 8, 1838, son of John and Jane Brown. John Brown was a native of the county, a son of Asa, who settled here about 1800. Thomas S. Brown married Margaret, a daughter of Robert and Mary Bentley, who came from England and settled in Rome about 1843. Mr. and Mrs. Brown have six children; Alberta, Cora, Jessie, Gracie, Seymour, and Maggie, all natives of Oneida county. At the age of twenty-one Mr. Brown engaged in farming, which he still follows. He has served as justice of the peace and assessor for two years. He was formerly president of the Patrons of Industry. (p. 5) [Top]

BROWNELL, JAMES B., was born in Madison county, N.Y., son of Nathaniel S. and Abbey L. (Barker) Brownell. Nathaniel S. was born in Little Compton, R.I., and was engaged in the tanning business in Rhode Island, where he still resides, having retired from active business. James B. was educated in Hamilton and then became a commercial traveler. He later engaged in market gardening, in which he is still engaged supplying the Utica and Rome markets. He married Mary Throop, of Hamilton, by whom he had one daughter, Kate. Mrs. Brownell died in 1876, and later Mr. Brownell married Kate Wentworth of Madison, by whom he has one daughter, Mary E. (p. 322) [Top]

BROWNELL, JONATHAN, was born in Schoharie county, N. Y., July 29, 1844. He was educated in the district schools, and is a farmer by occupation. August 11, 1862, he enlisted in Co. D, 134th N. Y. Vols., was in Fredericksburg battles, Chancellorsville and Gettysburg, where he was wounded in the thigh, taken prisoner and paroled on the field, was then transferred to the Western army, and was with General Sherman in his march to the sea, also participated at the close of the war in the grand march through Washington. He was honorably discharged June 22, 1865. In 1867 he married Catherine Hawley, who died in 1868, and In 1871 he married for his second wife, Hannah M. Dygert, of Oneida, N. Y. by whom he had five children: John A., Flora E., Edith M., Susie R., George L., William T. S., and Earl J. Flora E. married Harvey Renwick, of Blossville, and they have one daughter, Ethel M. Mr. Brownell's father, Jonathan Brownell. was born in Rensselaer Co., N. Y., in 1810, and was educated in the common schools. He married Mary A. Ostrander, by whom he had three children: Nancy, Robert, and Jonathan, as above. Mrs. Brownell died December 5, 1845, and Mr. Brownell in 1894. Mrs. Brownell's father, John Dygert, was born at Fort Plain, Montgomery county, N. Y., in 1815, and came to Oneida, Madison county, with his parents, when three years of age, where his father was killed by the Indians in his own doorway. He married Betsey Phillips, of Oneida, by whom he had five children: Thomas, Eliza, John, Hannah M., as above, and Alamanzo. He died in 1887, and his wife in 1856. Mrs. Dygert's grandfather was a soldier in the war of 1812. Mr. Brownell is a member of Joseph H. Warren Post, No. 615, G. A. R., in which he has filled all of the offices with the exception of chaplain. (p. 223) [Top]

BRUCKER, GEORGE L., was born on a farm on the town line between Marcy and Trenton, August 7, 1860, and is the son of Jacob Brucker, who came from Alsace, France, in 1856, and settled in Utica, whence he soon removed to the abovementioned farm. The family went to Englewood, N.J., in 1863, where Jacob died in 1892. George L. Brucker was educated and remained in Englewood until the age of twenty-one, when he began learning the trade of plumber and gas fitter in New York city. He then came to Utica for four and one-half years was with Wicks, Hughes & Griffiths. In 1887 he established for hmself in West street and in 1888 came to his present location in South street, where he carries on a general plumbing and gas and steam fitting business. He is a member of Allamania Lodge, I.O.O.F., the Utica Maennechor and the Germania Industrial Association. December 25, 1883, he married Louisa H. Brucker, his cousin, and they have three children: Clarence William, Laura Savilla, and Leroy Harold. (p. 343-344) [Top]

BRUSH, CHARLES W., was born in Rome, August 28, 1835, son of Elijah and Laura Brush. Elijah Brush, learned the builders' trade in early life, and followed it permanently. He was one of the largest builders, in his day, in the entire county; his operations extending all through the county, although the larger part of his work was done in the eastern section of the county. Many of the finest residences in Oneida county are evidences of his energy and ability as a builder. He also dealt largely in real estate, buying numbers of farms, which he leased. Perhaps there are few men to whose energy and ability. Oneida county owes more, than to the efforts of Elijah Brush. Mr. Brush died at the age of sixty-eight. Charles W. Brush was educated in Oneida county, and is largely interested in farming. He married Helen L. Knox, Rome, by whom he has one son, E. Knox Brush, who is in charge of one of the departments of the State Hospital at Ogdensburg, N. Y. E. Knox Brush married Annie Cosgrove, of Ottawa Canada. (p. 292-293) [Top]

BRYDEN, EDWARD N., was born in the village of Clinton, October 10, 1869, son of George and Mary (Norton) Bryden, and was reared in the city of San Francisco, Cal., where his father was one of the leading draymen. His mother is a descendant of the Rev. Ashel Strong Norton, who was pastor of the Presbyterian church in Clinton for forty years, and who was also one of the founders of Hamilton College. Edward N. Bryden has traveled over a great part of the country, and was at one time engaged in the lumber business at Oklahama [sic]. He is now engaged in the dry goods business in Clinton, being one of the leading firms in the town. He is a member of the Smyth Hook and Ladder Co. and Skenandoah Club. (p. 82) [Top]

BUCKLEY, JEREMIAH, was born at Boonville, in 1859, son of Patrick Buckley of Irish birth. Patrick Buckley was engaged in mercantile business at Hawkinsville, dealing in dry goods and groceries, which enterprise he continued later at Boonville. Since 1885 Jeremiah Buckley has conducted a saloon in connection with a restaurant on Main street, Boonville. In 1894 he purchased the Central Hotel, which he has repaired and remodeled in a creditable manner, and his ready and genial character makes him an efficient landlord. In 1885 he married Mary A. Maguire, daughter of Philip Maguire, of Forestport, by whom he has three sons: Frederic, C. Donald, and Hubert. His personal popularity is evinced by his recent election to the prominent office of village president. (p. 180) [Top]

BUCKLEY, PATRICK, was born in County Cork, Ireland, in 1825, son of John Buckley, and is an able and highly esteemed man. He came to this country in 1847, when twenty-two years of age, having just $5 in his pocket when he landed. His having met the obstacles of life so successfully, with naught save a pair of active hands and busy brain, is the real test of his character and ability. He first settled near Boston, but two years later came to Boonville and engaged in farming. He now owns a farm of 180 acres about four miles south of the village, where he has resided the last thirty years. In 1852 he married Bridget Carrigan of this place, by whom he has had thirteen children, ten of whom are boys. In politics he is a Democrat, and he is also a member of the Roman Catholic church. (p. 181-182) [Top]

BUELL, C.E., is a native of Waterville, and a member of the firm of Buell & Son, shoe manufacturers. This business was established in 1837 by Chauncey Buell, grandfather of C. E. Buell. C. E. Buell and his father came into the business in 1862, and in 1883 the present firm was formed. They do a large manufacturing business, employing 115 hands and turning out 350 pairs of shoes daily. Mr. Buell is a prominent Mason and master of the lodge in Waterville, and is also a Knight Templar. In 1889 C. E. Buell married Clara G. Andre, a native of Saginaw, Michigan. (p. 70) [Top]

BUELL, WALES, M. D., was born in Walesville, Oneida county, March 31, 1837, son of Alton and Julia Ann (Wales) Buell. Alton Buell was the son of Benjamin Buell of Westmoreland, and Julia Ann Buell was the daughter of Jonathan Wales, who came from Windham, Conn., in 1797, settled in Whitestown and built up the village of Walesville, and in addition to residences, he built the paper mill, hotel and other buildings. The larger portion of the village of Walesville was built by Jonathan Wales and Alton Buell. Mr. Wales died in 1838. Alton Buell built up the village of Walesville from the point where Jonathan Wales left off, and also the stove foundry, which was run as A. Buell & Co. They manufactured the Walesville cook stove, in which wood was used, and it was the greatest stove of its day, known and sold in every section of the country. Dr. Wales Buell was educated at Whitestown and Fairfield Seminaries, and at the Bellevue Medical College in New York. He practiced in Utica six years, and removed to Walesville, where he has since practiced. Dr. Buell's family is the oldest in the county, and have done almost the entire work of building up one of the oldest villages. (p. 258) [Top]

BURBACK, JOSEPH H., was born in the town of Verona, in a log house, near State Bridge, May 26, 1854. He was educated in the district schools, and is by occupation a farmer. October 14, 1880, he married Margaret E. Kennedy, of this town, and they have adopted one son, James William. Mr. Burback's father, Florence Burback, was born in Alcase, Germany, October 20, 1821, and was educated there. He married Mary Fox, and came to the United States and located near Higginsville, Oneida county. He carried the mail twenty-one years. They had eight children: Mary, Joseph H., Carrie, Peter P., Alanson, John H., George, and Leo, who died in infancy. Mr. Burback died November 4, 1892. Mrs. Burback's father, Thomas Kennedy, was born in Ireland, December 22, 1815. He was educated there and came to the United States in 1845, where he engaged in farming. He married Eliza Gleason of this town, formerly of Ireland, by whom he had seven children: Margaret E., Nora A., Michael J., Mary A. (deceased), Thomas A., Theresa M., and Frances J. Mrs. Kennedy died in 1867. The ancestry of the family is French, German, and Irish. (p. 74) [Top]

BURDETT, MINER E., was born at Oriskany Falls, N. Y., December 23, 1841. His father, David M., was born in the town of Brookfield, Madison county, N. Y., in January, 1811, and was of New England parentage. At the age of twenty-two he came to Oriskany Falls, and was engaged in teaching school for a number of years, after which he interested himself in agriculture which he continued until his death, November 6, 1880, He served as school commissioner, supervisor four years, was elected to the State Legislature in 1870-71, also was a railroad commissioner at the time of his death. He married Arabell Willard of Oriskany Falls, N. Y., who was born December 25, 1820, and still survives him. They had six children: Ellen L., E. Burdett, Jennie M., Charles E., Willard M., and Minnie F., all except the last named are still living. E. Burdett was educated at the public schools at Oriskany Falls, and was engaged in farming with his father until the latter's death; is still in the same pursuit on the old farmstead, and has been prosperous. He married Elizabeth, youngest daughter of Charles B. and Sophia Kinney of Madison, N. Y., where she was born September 8, 1847. They had six children: Charles D., born October 24, 1872; Jennie M., born May 1, 1875; Ralph K. born January 17, 1877; Harry V., born December 19, 1878; Dana M. born March 6, 1881, and Wilford, born February 19, 1884. (p. 75) [Top]

BURGESS, GEORGE H., was born in Otsego county, August 23, 1839, son of Hiram and Mahala P. (Morey) Burgess, who was a native of Connecticut. George H. was engaged in farming, and in 1864 he came to Oneida county, settling in the town of Bridgewater. In 1858 he married Larinda A. Loomis, who died leaving one daughter, Mrs. Flora E. Crist. He married for his second wife Addie L. Allen, who died January 19, 1895. Mr. Burgess is a successful and highly respected gentleman, and and he has one of the finest farms in the town of Bridgewater. He was justice of the peace for ten years, and has been delegate to county and State Republican conventions. (p. 277) [Top]

BURGESS, WILLIAM A., M. D., was born on a farm in West Winfield, Herkimer county, June 26, 1864, and is a son of Isaac T. and Marion (McKown) Burgess. He was graduated from West Winfield Academy in 1882, read medicine with Dr. E. S. B. Spencer, of West Winfield, and was graduated from the medical department of the University of the City of New York in 1888. After a few months' practice in Clayville, Oneida county, he came to Utica in 1889, and has since built up a large general and surgical business. In 1889 he was appointed visiting physician to St. Elizabeth's Hospital and in 1892 the visiting surgeon, which post he still holds. He has been a, member of the medical and surgical staffs of the Masonic Home since the organization of the Board in 1898 and is attending physician to the Infants' Hospital (opened in 1895). He is also a member of the Utica Medical Library Association and the Oneida County Medical Society, and a permanent member of the New York State Medical Society. He was a charter member, and one of the organizers, the first president of the Utica Medical Club, is assistant surgeon of the 28th Separate Co., N. G. S. N. Y., a member of Faxton Lodge No. 697, F. & A. M., and a charter member of the Masonic Club. February 25, 1885, Dr. Burgess married Leila I. Chapman, daughter of P. A. Chapman, of Unadilla Forks, Otsego county, and they have two children: Isaac Thayer and Evangeline. (p. 239-240) [Top]

BURLESON, WILLIAM JAY, was born in the town of Stockbridge, N. Y., February 19, 1845, son of Ira Burleson, a native of Rhode Island, where he was born March 22, 1809. He was an early settler in Augusta, having come with his parents in 1818. In early life he removed to Stockbridge, where he followed the occupation of a farmer until ten years before his death, at which date he changed his residence to Vernon, where he spent the rest of his life. He married Sarah Jakeways, of French descent, who was born in the town of Augusta in November, 1810, and died in Stockbridge August 6, 1855; and Mr. Burleson died April 18, 1881. William J. Burleson came to the town of Augusta in 1867. He lived in Vernon during the early part of his life, except a short time spent in Stockbridge with his parents during his childhood. He received his education at the Augusta and Stockbridge schools, after which he bought the farm which he now occupies, on the summit of the road leading from Knoxboro to Valley Mills. January 24, 1871, he married Lucretia Stanford, of Annsville, N. Y., daughter of Hiram and Lucy A. Stanford, who was born April 7, 1851, and was educated at the school in Annsville. They have four children: Charles E., born January 13, 1873; Lena I., born January 19, 1877; Frank J. born February 29, 1881; and Mary L, born May 1, 1884. (p. 78) [Top]

BURLINGAME, J. K., was born in Holland Patent, N. Y., in 1845, and is of English and Scotch ancestry. His father, Jeremiah Burlingame, was born in Watertown, where he resided as a farmer, always taking a foremost part in all political movements, and lending his aid and influence in promoting every good cause. He married Sarah F. Ward of a prominent Holland Patent family. J. K. Burlingame was educated in Watertown, after which his uncle, Joseph Ward, received him as bookkeeper and cashier in his mill and warehouse at Battle Creek, Mich. Having been reared on a farm, his tastes were more in keeping with farming, and after a residence of ten years in Trenton Rails, he purchased a farm of 100 acres in Boonville, which he has devoted to dairy interests. In politics Mr. Burlingame is a Republican. He first married Anna E. Grant, who died in 1879, by whom he had two sons: Walter P. and Roy Grant. He afterwards married Annette Manchester, of an old pioneer family of this section, by whom he has three daughters: Eva S., Frances L. and Blanche R. (p. 181) [Top]

BURNS, OWEN J., was born in this village, April 22, 1859, son of Patrick Burns, who was born in Ireland, and came to the United States in 1855. He followed peddling for about twenty years, and then with his son, Owen J. Burns, started in business, and died in about a year, and since the business has been conducted by the son. Owen J. Burns has become one of the leading men of the town, being for three years in the office of town clerk, and is at present a member of the Board of Education. His education was acquired in the Clinton Institute and Grammar School. He married Mary, daughter of Joseph Coffa, of Kirkland, by whom he has four children: Robert, Alice, Gregory and Leonard. (p. 296) [Top]

BURR, HENRY A., was born at New York Mills, N. Y., March 9, 1859, son of William and Sarah Burr. William Burr was born in 1823, and has always been engaged in farming, and he and his wife are both living in good health at New York Mills. Henry A. Burr was educated partly at New York Mills, and partly at Whitestown Seminary, after which he was engaged in the office of the Quigley Furniture Co. He entered the coal business July 1, 1888, under the firm of Haynes & Burr. This firm is located on the Erie Canal, and have remarkably good facilities for receiving coal, also storing and housing it. Their business extends through Whitesboro, New York Mills, and the adjacent territory. The firm is now composed of F. D. Haynes and Henry A. Burr, and the business is one of the representative interests of Whitesboro. He married Rachael C. Reese of Whitesboro, by whom he has two children: Helen and William Richard. He has been postmaster of Whitesboro for four years, being appointed under President Harrison, and holding over two years under President Cleveland. He is also interested in the Whitesboro Canning Co., of which he is one of the directors. (p. 76) [Top]

BURRELL, JOSEPH, was born in England October 12, 1844, son of Thomas and Mercy Burrell, who came from England to Westmoreland in 1854. Thomas Burrell then engaged in farming, at which he continued until his death in May, 1895. Joseph was educated in the district school, after which he also engaged in farming, and at the outbreak of the late Civil war he volunteered and went to the front with the 117th New York Infantry, participating in the following battles: Suffolk, Va., bombardment of Fort Sumter, S.C., Seabrook and John's Island, Swift Creek, Va., Drury's Bluff, Bermuda Hundred, Cold Harbor, Petersburg Mine Explosion, Chapin's Farm, Darbytown Road, Fort Fisher, N.C., campaign of the Carolinas, and Bennet House, N.C., and was honorably discharged June 8, 1865, at Raleigh, N.C., by reason of the close of the war. This regiment participated in an unusual number of engagements, in all of which Mr. Burrell participated, never being absent from his regiment during the whole three years of their brilliant record, and he was fortunate enough, though participating in some of the hottest engagements of the war, to not receive a wound. After the war he returned to Westmoreland and engaged in farming, at which he continues. He married Jessie I. Isbell, daughter of S.A, Isbell, of Westmoreland, by whom he has one daughter, Hattie L. (p. 134-135) [Top]

BURRITT, A.W., was born in Paris, N.Y., June 20, 1866, son of William H. and Sallie (Wicks) Burritt. He followed farming until 1889, at which time he commenced the mercantile business, first as clerk, and in 1892 engaged in business for himself as senior member of the firm of Burritt & Henkle. His father, William H. Burritt, served three years in the Rebellion, enlisting August 7, 1862, in the 8th Regiment. N. Y. Vol. Cav., was honorably discharged at Cloud's Mills, Va., June 7, 1865. His grandparents (Wicks) came from Connecticut in 1800 and were among the pioneer settlers of old Paris. (p. 204) [Top]

BURROWS, MRS. H. F.--William N. Marsh was born in September, 1804, and died in the house where he was born in 1884. His father, Nathan Marsh, came from Massachusetts at an early day, before the Revolutionary war. He cleared a farm of fifty acres, built a log cabin, and through untiring efforts, they now own a fine farm of 100 acres. William N. Marsh married Mary A. Gridley, by whom he had four children: Eliza M., deceased, Helen M., George G., and Samuel, deceased. He married for his second wife, Eveline Gridley, a sister of his first wife. In the house where Mr. Marsh was born there now lives four generations, something that can seldom be said of any family. (p. 298) [Top]

BURTON, THOMAS M., was born in Deerfield, N. Y., January 26, 1826, son of Nathan, a native of Connecticut, and Lydia (Manchester) Burton, a native of Rhode Island. Mr. Burton came to Deerfield in 1806 and engaged in farming. He died in 1855, and Mrs. Burton died in 1870, at the age of ninety-two years. They were Universalists in religion. Thomas M. was reared on the farm, and excepting nine months in a general store at Frankfort, has been engaged in farming, at which he has been successful. He owns 225 acres of which he works 100 acres, and rents 125 acres. In 1834 he married Elizabeth, daughter of Owen and Ellen Owens of Deerfield, by whom he has three children: Nellie M., wife of Horatio Goodwin, a farmer and milkman in Deerfield, Nathan W., engaged in farming on the home farm; and W. H., also at home. (p. 215) [Top]

BUSHINGER, EDUARD, son of Andrew and Christina (Abberle) Bushinger, was born at New York Mills, Oneida county, N. Y., June 1, 1856. He was educated at New York Mills district school and at Utica Business College where he graduated in 1873. He was bookkeeper for the Central New York Copying House of Utica for two years and a half, clerk for Marcus A. Pillsbury for several years, and bookkeeper in the crockery department of George Dubois & Co. for a year. May 1, 1882, he became bookkeeper and afterward teller in A. D. Mather & Co.'s Bank when it was incorporated as a State Bank in November, 1890. Mr. Bushinger's services were duly recognized and he was made cashier. Mr. Bushinger is a member of Faxton Lodge, No. 697, F. & A. M., of Royal Arcanum, Imperial Council No. 70, and of Oneida Chapter, R. A. M. He has been twice married, his first wife being Mary A. Thomson, of Utica, who died January 26, 1890. December 26, 1894, Mr. Bushinger married M. Adel Roberts, daughter of W. J. Roberts, of Utica. (p. 201) [Top]

BUSHNELL, MONROE.--Aaron Bushnell was born in the town of Lee, November 4, 1808, son of Joshua and Sophia Bushnell, who settled in the town of Rome about 1795 and one year later moved to Lee. Their children were Lura, Lucius, Annis, Harriet, Annis, Filmore, Aaron, Clarissa, Artemissa and Oscar. Aaron married Mary Ann, a daughter of John and Annie York, and they were the parents of eight children: Alsadia, Clarissa, Lorin, Marietta, Walter, Raymond A., Chester L., and Monroe. Aaron has followed lumbering, boat building and farming, being one of the earliest boat builders in this section. When the Midland railroad was constructed he was railroad commissioner and plank road inspector, and has been assessor for twenty-one years. He was also active in educational interests, having been trustee for thirty years. (p. 174) [Top]

BUTLER, MRS. MARIANNE H.- The late Morgan Butler was born June 7, 1807, son of Eli Butler, who came from Middletown, Conn., with his father in 1792. His death, which occurred August 3, 1892, removed from Oneida County, one of its oldest, most generous and best known citizens. He was a man of commanding presence and splendid physique, and was a devout man and a member of St. Stephen's Episcopal church, being one of its wardens and treasurer for many years. Among his many benevolences which most evince his generous nature and noble character, is his gift to the townspeople, the Butler Memorial Hall, a monument built during his lifetime. This beautiful structure was erected in 1889 at the cost of $15,000, and though advanced in years, the giver personally supervised the building daily, which resulted in a building complete in every part. His mother, Mrs. Rachel (Kellogg) Butler, was the daughter of Truman Kellogg. He took great pride in carrying on the farm of his ancestors, which had remained in the family over 100 years, and personally superintended the farm till eighty-two years of age. Being possessed of great energy and enterprise, he was progressive and took a lively interest in the improvements of agricultural machinery, and became a model American farmer. With his sixty years' experience of agricultural life, he was a valuable member of the Central New York Farmers' Club, and assisted at its organization, and was the beloved and venerable president at the time of his death, having been annually elected by a unanimous vote for five years, and as vice-president for fifteen years. In 1841, he married Marianne, daughter of Rufus Howard, of Forestport, sister of Gen. Rufus Lombard Howard, of Buffalo, N. Y. (p. 79) [Top]

BUTTERFIELD, CHARLES, was born in the town of Vernon in 1830, and has lived in the town since; his residence since 1844 being at Skenandoah, a small settlement one mile north of Oneida Castle. He is descended from a family eminent in history as soldiers and generals, from the early English wars down to our late Civil war. His father, Samuel Butterfield, moved there at that time and built up a large industry, which he carried on for more than twenty years. It was there that he started the manufacture of ingrain carpets, this being one of the first in the country. Previous to this he was a partner with S. Newton Dexter in the same line at Oriskany. Mr. Butterfield was the leader and means of Skenandoah becoming an important business point in early times. He was born in England in 1792, and died in 1879. He married Elizabeth Laister, also a native of England, who died in 1863, leaving a family of seven children. Charles Butterfield is now occupying the old family house at Skenandoah. Since his father's death and for some time previous he has carried on a large farm. He has always been an active Republican, and has held several important offices, being at the present time justice of the peace. (p. 273-274) [Top]

BUTTERFIELD, SAMUEL, was a native of England, born in 1792. His grandfather, John Butterfield, was killed in the battle of Minden in Germany, 1760. His father and three elder brothers died in the English army. Mr. Butterfield came to America in 1827 with two sons by his first wife (William and Samuel). In 1828 he married Elizabeth Laister (a native of England), a sister of Thomas Laister, of New Hartford. In 1830 he moved to the town of Vernon, remained about two years and went back to New Hartford where he carriend [sic] on business until 1838, when he went into partnership with the late S. Newton Dexter, of Whitestown, and manufactured ingrain carpets at Oriskany. In 1844 he moved to Sconondoa and carried on the same business with his son William for about twenty years; they employed about thirty hands. Mr. B., son of Thomas, carried on the business of manufacture and sale of leather. Thomas was supervisor of the town of Vernon several times. About twenty years ago he moved to Buffalo where he died in 1888. Samuel, jr., was a soldier of the Republic during the late war; he died in 1882. William died in 1891. Mr. Butterfield's three daughters (Mrs. Wilson, Mrs. Woodhull, Mrs. Stewart), are still living, also his son Charles, who is one of the justices of the peace of the town of Vernon, and lives with Mr. and Mrs. R.D. Patton, daughter of William, at the old homestead. During the time Mr. Butterfield and his sons were carrying on business, Sconondoa was a lively little hamlet. (p. 309) [Top]