CADY, A. B., was born in Sangerfield in 1836, son of A. B. and Harriet (Terry) Cady, natives of Herkimer county and Sangerfield, respectively. He was a mechanic, and became a prominent builder in Waterville, nearly all of whose fine buildings he erected, including the Candee block, Buell's shoe factory, the National Bank, the school buildings, etc. He has been trustee of the village, water commissioner, and chief engineer of the Fire Department. (p. 68) [Top]

CAGWIN, MARENUS, was born on the homestead near Verona, July 24, 1838. He was educated in the district and select schools, and is a farmer by occupation. November 22, 1871, he married Christine Mattice, by whom he had four children: George H., Frank L., Mabel G., who died in infancy, and Pearl M. The oldest son is a student in Utica Business College; Frank L. is a student in the union school at Verona. Mr. Cagwin's father, Abial Cagwin, was born in Connecticut in 1802, and came to this State with his parents when an infant. He married Desire Chase of Saratoga county, by whom he had five children: Lydia J., Mary E., Marenus, Henry A. and Julia M. Mr. Cagwin died in 1868, and his wife July 20, 1887. Mrs. Cagwin's father, Peter Mattice, was born in Germany, was educated there, and married Mrs. Gertrude (Fisher) Myers, of his native place, by whom he had three children: Christine, George, and Catherine. Mrs. Mattice died when Mrs. Cagwin was six years old. The ancestry of the family is of New England and German nationality. (p. 381) [Top]

CALDER, HON. FREDERICK MANWELL, elected surrogate of Oneida county in 1894, was born in the village of New York Mills, Oneida county, N. Y., March 20, 1861, son of John and Margaret (Huton) Calder. He was educated in the public schools and was graduated from Whitestown Seminary in 1878 and from Hamilton College in the class of 1882. He studied law with P. C. J. De Angelis, at Utica, N. Y., also with the firm of Miller & Fincke, of that city, and was admitted a member of the bar in June, 1884, after which he was managing clerk for Miller & Fincke for three years, when he opened an office on his own account in the Mann building in the city of Utica, and won for himself in a short period an extensive and valuable clientage. Judge Calder was chairman of the Republican County Committee in 1891-92, and in 1892-93 was corporation counsel of the city of Utica. June, 17 1891, he married Elizabeth N. Holbrook, of Utica, by whom he had one son, Frederick Holbrook Calder. Judge Calder is an Odd Fellow and Mason, and a member of the Fort Schuyler, Arcanum, and Masonic Clubs. (p. 91)&[Top]

CALLAHAN, W.C., D.D.S., was born in Madison county, July 28, 1870, son of Dennis and Catherine (Carpenter) Callahan, and the family have lived in Morrisville, Madison county, for fifty years. He was educated at the Morrisville Union School and Baltimore College of Dental Surgery, from which he was graduated in 1892. In that year he came to Waterville, and began the practice of his profession. He was in partnership until January 1, 1895, when he opened an office of his own, where he is meeting with the success his abilities merit. He is especially successful in crown and bridge work, and met with surprising success in reinserting the natural teeth. Dr. Callahan is a member of the Pickwick Club. (p. 310) [Top]

CAMPBELL, RODERIC, was born in Scotland, in 1846, where he was educated, graduating from the Inverness Royal Academy. He followed in the footsteps of his father, Kenneth Campbell, as a florist. He came to America in 1867, locating in Brooklyn, where he remained until 1875, when he came here and took charge of the Forest Hill Cemetery. Mr. Campbell is an expert landscape gardener and florist, under whose skillful hands the cemetery has developed into one of the most beautiful of its kind in Central New York. Mr. Campbell is a member of the Masonic fraternity. He married Jessie Mitchell of Brooklyn, by whom he had four children: Douglas Henry (deceased), Lyman Forest (deceased), Catherine Finlay and Annie Morrison. (p. 339) [Top]

CANDEE, J. W.--The late William Candee was born in Sangerfield, N. Y., May 16, 1831, and was a lawyer by profession. He married Lucia Newberry, of Detroit, Mich., by whom he had four children: Lucia Clark, wife of W. S. Hawkins, Kate Louise, Julius Warner and W. H. Candee (deceased). Mrs. Candee's father, Julius Newberry, was a merchant of Detroit, Mich. The family all belonged to Sangerfield but Julius and Oliver, who moved to Detroit, Mich., where Oliver was a celebrated boat builder. He built the Michigan, the largest steamboat at that time on the lakes. He participated in the Black Hawk war and the war of 1812. Walter Loomis Newberry was born in Connecticut in 1804 and was one of the founders of the Young Men's Library of Chicago. Amasa Stoughton Newberry was a well known agriculturist of Sangerfield, and served in the State Assembly. He was also vice-president of the Waterville Bank before it became a national bank, and he died April 15, 1858. Julius Warner Candee, the only representative of the family, is a young man of twenty-two years, who resides with his mother. He was educated at the St. John's Military School and at schools at Linwood, and is a member of the Pickwick Club and his college societies. William Candee died in March, 1886. (p. 361) [Top]

CANFIELD, M.T., was born at Pittsford, N. Y., in 1844, son of Lewis Canfield, and later a jeweler, in Binghamton, N.Y. M.T. Canfield spent his boyhood in Fremont, Ohio; at sixteen years of age he was apprenticed to a watchmaker at Jamestown, N Y., where he served four years. Disliking the trade at that time he traveled for two years for a Cleveland manufacturing company. At the age of twenty-two he resumed his work at Columbus, Ohio, and in 1869 went to Memphis, Tenn., continuing his trade for four years. He then spent a year at Muskegon, Mich., and two years at St. Louis, Mo., thence to San Francisco for one year, and one year at Los Angeles, where in 1877 he married Susan Dixon, of Utica. After his marriage he returned to San Francisco, where he was engaged in business for four years and then came to Utica, where he is at present a prominent jeweler. Mr. Canfield is held in high repute in both business and social circles and is an efficient trustee of the Presbyterian church, and member of Oneida Historical Society. (p. 127-128) [Top]

CANTWELL, JOHN A., city clerk of Utica, was born in that city September 14, 1861, son of Roderick J., and Mary (Conlon) Cantwell, and was educated in the public schools of the city. He learned the printing trade in the composing room of the Sunday Tribune, finishing his apprenticeship in 1881. After learning his trade he spent one year in travelling (sic), during which time he worked on most of the leading journals in the west. Returning to Utica he accepted the position of foreman of the composing room in the office in which he served his apprenticeship, holding such position until his appointment as city clerk. During the period in which he was employed in the printing business he issued many creditable periodicals and papers, notably among which was the Illustrated Daily, illustrating the events transpiring on the grounds each day during the last State Fair held in Utica. In 1884 he was elected by the Utica Typographical Union delegate to the International Typographical Union Convention then held in Buffalo. He is a Democrat, and has been active in politics since reaching his majority, and for the past six years has been secretary of the Democratic City Committee. Mr. Cantwell is unmarried. He is a member of the Arcanum, and Union Social Clubs, also of the Typographical Union, Trades Assembly, Knights of Honor, C. B. L., and Saturday Globe Benefit Association. (p. 245) [Top]

CAPRON, C. G., M. D., was born in Utica, N. Y., June 6, 1867, and is a son of John S. Capron, who came here with his parents from Lewis county, and for several years has been a partner in the extensive dry goods firm of J. B. Wells, Son & Co. His grandfather was the Hon. David Gray of Marcy, who died in September, 1895. Dr. Capron was educated in the public and private schools of his native city, at Whitestown Seminary, and in the Utica Advanced School, and prepared for college at Dr. Holbrook's Military Academy in Sing Sing. He read medicine with Dr. Frank F. Laird, one of the leading homoeopathists of Utica, and was graduated from Hahnemann Medical College, Philadelphia, in 1890. During the last six months of his course there he was intern in the Children's Homoeopathic Hospital. In May, 1890, he began the practice of his profession in Utica, where he has already acquired success, having offices with his preceptor, Dr. Laird. Dr. Capron is a member of the Oneida County Homoeopathic Medical Society and its president for 1896, and for two years prior to this served as its secretary and treasurer. He is also a member of the American Institute of Homoeopathy and a member and examining surgeon of Imperial Council, No. 70. R. A. June 21, 1893, he married Carolyn M., daughter of James W. Rathbun, of Utica. (p. 236) [Top]

CAPRON, JAMES H., was born in Ava, Oneida county, N, Y., July 11, 1828, son of Henry and Betsey (Kent) Capron, he a native of Western and she of Lewis county, and grandson of John and Jemima (Martin) Capron, who were pioneers of the town of Western, coming there from Rhode Island. From Western they removed to Lee, where they died. Henry Capron spent his life as a farmer in Ava. He was a soldier in the war of 1812, and died in 1875. His wife died in 1873. In politics he was a Republican, and was supervisor and justice for many years. James H. Capron was reared on the farm. He has made a success of farming, now owning farms of about 1,200 acres, and keeping a dairy of about 160 cows. He is a Republican in politics, and has been superintendent of schools of Ava, also supervisor of the town. In 1867 he moved to Mankato, Minn., and remained one summer. In 1868 he removed to Boonville, where he has since resided, taking an active part in all public matters. He was for several years an active member of the Board of Education, the board of village trustees and president of the village. In 1855 he married Maria L. Cagwin, by whom he had one son, Henry, who died November 11, 1886. Mrs. Capron died December 31,1859, and February 10, 1864, Mr. Capron married Hetta Brinckerhoff, of Boonville, by whom he has two sons: Benjamin A., a lawyer of Boonville, who married Anna Jackson; and Ambrose C., who resides on the home farm, and married Maud Douglass, of Boonville. Mr. Capron is a member of the Odd Fellows. (p. 109) [Top]

CARLETON, CHARLES, was born at Clingara, County Meath, Ireland, December 25, 1820. He was the oldest child of James and Eleanor Carleton, to whom six children were born, five of whom came to the United States. His mother's maiden name was Raymond, and she was one of a numerous and prosperous family. His parents were natives of Ireland, followed the occupation of farming there and afterwards came to America. It was Mr. Carleton's fortune to have first seen the light of day in one of the most historic and romantic places in Ireland. The Hill of Tara, the ancient capital of Ireland, was to the north in sight of his home. There remains to the present time there the ruins of the ancient palace of the Ard Ri or the High King of Ireland. Among the evidences of Tara's former greatness is found the ruins of the legislative hall in which laws for the Irish nation were once made; the ruins of the Military School and of the National Court House, which was in its day the court of last resort in Ireland. To the northeast of his home and about three miles distant was the famous Dangan castle, in which the Duke of Wellington was born. To the north was the famous Boyne river. About twenty miles down the stream from Tara is the battlefield where on July 1, 1690, was fought the famous battle of the Boyne. It was there that the Irish army under James II of England received its death blow. It was on the bank of this old stream that Mr. Carleton attended the little country school and with his little companions many times ran away from school and went swimming in the Boyne River. The little ivy covered church which Mr. Carleton attended, tradition had it that it was the church attended by Dean Swift's ancestors. Mr. Carleton came to the United States in 1849, and is 1870, married Henrietta Deering, by whom he had two children: Ella M. and William. He has always been engaged in the business of lumbering and farming and so has his son. He is now the owner of 700 acres of land. (p. 52) [Top]

CARPENTER, HORACE M., was born in Herkimer, Herkimer county, N.Y., February 16, 1838. He was educated in the district schools, and came to this county in 1860. He is a general and dairy farmer. November 14, 1878, he married Eliza Rener, of this town, by whom he had two children: Florence and Harry. Mr. Carpenter's father, Samuel Carpenter, was born in Herkimer, in 1810. He was educated in the schools of the day, and was also a farmer. He married Caroline Stevens of that county, by whom he had three children: Horace M., as above, Stephen, and Almira. He died January 7, 1888, and his wife, April 7, 1892. His grandfather, Stephen Carpenter, was born in Rhode Island. He married, and in 1788 came to Herkimer county with an ox team, and drove two cows and some sheep. Mrs. Carpenter's father, Frederick Rener, was born in Switzerland July 6, 1830, and came to the United States when a young man, locating in this county. He married Susanna Bechthept, of this county, formerly of Germany, by whom he had ten children: Eliza, as above, Philip, Susie, George, Theresa, Louisa, Kate, Millie, who died in infancy, Frederick, and Charles. Mr. Carpenter's great-grandfather, Frederick Stevens, was killed in the battle of Oriskany. The ancestry of the family is English, Swiss and German. (p. 329) [Top]

CARPENTER, W.H., was born in Oneida county, where he has lived all his life, May 17, 1847, and was engaged in farming until 1880, when he retired, but later went into the saw mill business, and also conducts a wagon shop and a cider mill, his three industries forming a prominent and notable factor in the manufacturing interests of Sauquoit Valley. Mr. Carpenter is a thorough and enterprising business man, who not only hold a front place among the business men of this part of the county, but is also highly respected for his integrity and progressive ideas. He possesses a great deal of literary ability inherited from his mother, who was a cultured and literary woman. Mr. Carpenter's parents were Lucas and Alphea (Radford) Carpenter. His great-grandfather Carpenter came from England and was one of the early settlers. His grandfather, Oliver Carpenter, was a native of Connecticut, and settled in Oneida county, so that this family has been associated with the growth and progress of Oneida county during its entire history. October 26, 1870, Mr. Carpenter married Mary E. Jones, by whom he has one son, Arthur L., who is associated with his father in the conducting of their various enterprises. He is a popular and talented young man, and is a member of the Clayville Band. (p. 271) [Top]

CASE, A. PIERSON, was born in Vernon. N.Y., March 22, 1818, son of Salmon Case, who came from Norfolk, Conn., in 1813, and built up a large mercantile business, carrying it on until 1840, when he retired. He, in company with John J. Knox, started the Vernon Bank in 1839, of which for some time he was cashier. Salmon Case was a descendant of John Case, who came from England in 1640 and settled in Connecticut. He was born November 26, 1794, and died in 1871. In 1844 he was the Whig candidate for Congress in Oneida county. A. Pierson Case received his school training at "Dominie" Wicks's school on Paris Hill, Prof. Charles Bartlett's High School at East Utica, and the Vernon Academy. He then entered his father's store at Vernon and for the following thirty-five years was identified with the business, he, with his brother, continuing the business for thirty years after his father's retirement. In August, 1862, Mr. Case enlisted in the 146th Regt. N.Y. Vols., and served until January, 1864, when he was discharged on account of ill health. After his retirement he was for a time interested in the mercantile business. In 1878 he represented the town in the Board of Supervisors. In 1879 he was chosen cashier of the bank, and so continued until 1893, at which time he was elected its president, succeeding Warren G. Strong. [Footnote for Warren G. Strong: His brother, Josiah Case, was president of the bank from 1862 to 1896; and his brother, Everett, was cashier from 1851 to 1879.] His mother was Maria Pierson, born in Cazenovia, September 5, 1799, and died in Vernon, March 10, 1885. Mr. Case married Lovina W. Coburn, who was born in Homer, N.Y., December 20, 1820, by whom he had two children: Maria A. and Charles S., who is in the lithographing business in Binghamton, N.Y. (p. 146) [Top]

CASSIDY, FRED A., was born in Utica, September 23, 1852, and is a son of Patrick Cassidy, who came here from below Albany, N.Y., in 1811, and was the first settler on Steel's Hill. Patrick Cassidy was a farmer and subsequently a foreman in the great stage business that centered in Utica. Later he traveled extensively with Governor Clinton's nephew, and afterward engaged in the restaurant and milling business. He died in Utica in 1881. Fred A. Cassidy after leaving the public schools was in the employ of John H. Douglass, a prominent undertaker in Utica, until the latter's death December 3, 1881, when he purchased the business and has ever since continued it. He is a member of Faxton Lodge, No. 697, F.& A.M., Utica Chapter No. 57, R.A.M., Utica Commandery, No. 3, K.T., the Royal Arcanum, the Citizens' Corps Veterans' Association, and the Oneida County and New York State Undertakers' Associations. (p. 341) [Top]

CASTLE, CHARLES C., was born near Chatham, Mass., June 7, 1828, and came with his parents to East Lebanon, N. Y., when four years of age. He was educated in the common schools, and from ten years of age followed the canal for forty years. He is also a farmer. He was elected road commissioner on the Democrat ticket in the spring of 1890, and has held the office continuously since; he also served his district as school trustee. He has been trustee of the church at Higginsville, and was instrumental with others in erecting a new church and school house. November 7, 1847, he married Lydia J. Downes, of the town of Verona, by whom he had two sons: Charles H: and Hollis Y. Charles H. married Matilda Reeves, of Rensselaer county, N. Y., and they have two children. Hollis Y. married Carrie Mehrhoff, of this town, and they have four children: Charles D., Hugo, Ethel M., and Ruth. Mr. Castle's father, John Castle, was born at the old home in Massachusetts in 1803. He married Lucinda Crane of his native place, by whom he had six children: George A., Lewis S., Charles C., as above, Ruth M., Harriet E., and John H. The family came to this locality in 1832. Mr. Castle died in 1868, and his wife in 1893. Mrs. Castle's father, Waiter Downes, was born in Shropshire, England, about 1794, and came to the United States when twenty-one years of age. He married Catherine Suits, of Stone Arabia, and they had five children: Waiter, Mary, Peter, Lydia J., as above, and Catherine. He died in 1860, and his wife in 1849. Mr. Castle is a member of New London Lodge, No. 420, F. & A. M. (p. 83) [Top]

CAVANA, JAMES, was born in Marcy, N.Y., February 26, 1823, son of Martin and Betsey (Thurston) Cavana. Martin Cavana was born in Utica, when it was first settled, and what is now Utica, then comprised a few log houses. From Utica he went to Marcy, where he followed the occupation of farming until his death, which occurred November 9, 1860. His wife was born in Whitestown, and died in Marcy, May 11, 1880. James Cavana was educated partly at the Whitestown Academy, and partly at the Delany Institute in Westmoreland, after which he engaged in farming in Marcy. He was elected town superintendent of the public schools in Marcy for nine years. He was also prominent in politics, and was elected supervisor and justice of the peace. During the civil war, he was enrolling officer and assessor in the town of Marcy. He is a staunch Republican and has always contributed active efforts to the support of his party. He married Sarah Wolcott of Marcy, by whom he had two children: C.J. Cavana, and one who is deceased. Mrs. Cavana died April 8, 1883, and Mr. Cavana married his second wife, Mrs. Carrie Hannahs of Richfield Springs, who died March 16, 1893. Mr. Cavana is now married to Jeannette Ranstead, of Chicago, Ill. (p. 319-320) [Top]

CHAMBERLIN, GEORGE L., was born in the town of Verona. N. Y., October 24, 1829. He was educated in the common schools and Vernon Academy and afterwards taught school for five years, but is now engaged in farming. August 11, 1850, he married H. Ellen Fleishman, of this town, by whom he had three children: Marion F., Rhoda A. and Bayard L. Mr. Chamberlin's father, Loel Chamberlin, was born in Vermont, February 12, 1793, and came to this State and county with his parents when a boy. He was educated in Clinton common schools, after which he engaged in farming. He married Elizabeth Lanning, of this town, by whom he had nine children: Samuel, Isaac W. Eliza, Meriba, three infants not named, George L., as above, and Rhoda. He was in the war of 1812. He died November 25, 1872, aged eighty years, and his wife May 20, 1884, aged eighty-eight years. Mrs. Chamberlin's father, Augustus Fleishman, was born in Prussia, Germany, in 1823, where he was educated, and was a farmer by occupation. He came to the United States in 1858 and located here. He married Ellen Gladwell, formerly of England, by whom he had nine children: Frederick, William, Ellen, Emma, Josephine, Julia, George, Charles and Evelyn. The ancestry of this family is English and German. (p. 260-261) [Top]

CHAPMAN, O.B., was born August 3, 1873, son of C.L. and Mercy S. (Tompkins) Chapman. He was educated in Winfield Academy and the New York School of Pharmacy, from which he was graduated in April, 1894. He then purchased the drug business in Clayville, which he has conducted under the name of C.L. Chapman & Son, the senior member being his father. His grandfather was Willard Chapman and his great-grandfather was John Chapman. His maternal grandfather was Joshua Tompkins, and maternal great-grandfather was Nathaniel Tompkins. (p. 114) [Top]

CHAPMAN, W. H., was born in New Hartford, N. Y., April 19, 1844, son of Gates W. and Elmira (Robbins) Chapman. In 1861, at the age of seventeen, he enlisted in Co. B, 121st N. Y. Vols., and served in the Sixth Army Corps, participating in all the battles in which his regiment was engaged up to Fredericksburg, where he was terribly wounded in seven places by bullets and shell. He was two years in the hospital, and was honorably discharged at the close of the war. In 1891 Messrs. W.H. & E. T. Chapman opened the Cottage Hotel at Clayville, which they have since successfully conducted. January 2, 1867, Mr. Chapman married Mary E. Johnston. He is a member of the G. A. R., Chadwicks Post, and in politics a staunch Republican. (p. 273) [Top]

CHAPMAN, WILLIAM WALLACE, was born in New Hartford, Oneida county, N. Y., in 1844, son of William H. Chapman, who was also born here, and was of English birth. The grandparents came to America in 1810 and settled in New Hartford. During his lifetime William H. Chapman was a prominent figure in the social and political life of this locality. He was a Democrat in politics, and represented his assembly district in the State Legislature in 1868. He was also a successful business man and conducted a hotel here during the period of the greatest commercial activity at Washington Mills. This business was pursued by his son, William W., until the unfortunate loss of his hearing necessitated his retirement to a farm. (p. 296) [Top]

CHASE, DR. CHARLES E., was born in Utica, N. Y., May 6, 1851, the son of Ira and Alma (Hyatt) Chase. He received his education in the public schools of the city and at the New York Homeopathic Medical College, graduating from the latter institution in 1873. He opened an office in Utica that year, where he has since practiced his profession. January 18, 1882, Dr. Chase married Cornelia M. Francis, by whom he had two children: Francis Temple, and Eleanor Gertrude Chase. Dr. Chase is a member of the American Institute of Homeopathy, the State and County Homeopathic Medical societies, and has been the attending physician of the House of the Good Shepherd, a hospital for children, for many years. He is also a member of the staff of the Rome Hospital. Dr. Chase is a member of the Arcanum Club. (p. 354) [Top]

CHASSELL, GEORGE O. was born in Newport, N. Y. August 30, 1840, son of Rev. David Chassell, D.D., and Eliza A. (Griswold) Chassell. David was a native of Scotland, where he was born in 1778, and came to Vermont when eight years of age. He was a graduate of Dartmouth College and ordained by the Presbyterian church. He was principal of Fairfield Academy many years and was a man who was respected by all who knew him. George G. married Sarah E., a daughter of John and Eliza Hutchinson, and they have one child, Frances, who attends Emerson College of Boston. Mr. Chassell engaged in dairy farming in 1861, and at which he still continues. He is president and director of the Bank of Holland Patent, and has been since its organization. From 1876 to 1881, he was interested in cheese manufacturing. He is president of Black River Fish and Game association, and a member of the State Association. (p. 6) [Top]

CHILDS, WILLIAM TAPPING, was born in Utica July 1, 1862. Lucius Curtiss Childs, his father, was the second child of Parker Morse and Sabina (Robinson) Child, and was born in Exeter, Otsego county, November 24, 1831. His ancestor, Benjamin Child, came to America from England about 1630 and died in Roxbury, Mass., in 1678. A valuable family genealogy, prepared by the late Reverend Elias Child, of Utica, gives the unbroken lineage of his descendants, many of whom were prominent in civil, commercial and military life. Lucius C. Childs learned the trade of printer and first established himself in business in Boonville, Oneida county, where he was the editor and publisher of the Boonville Herald, a paper devoted to the interests of the old Whig party. Several years later he sold out and came to Utica, where he started a general book and job printing establishment, which has ever since been successfully continued by the family. After four years be formed a partnership with his brother-in-law Henry H. Curtiss, and in 1884 the present firm of L. C. Childs & Son was organized. Mr. Childs was a successful business man and a public spirited citizen, and died in Utica July 31, 1895. January 13, 1853, he married Anna Jane, daughter of Isaac and Jane Tapping, of Utica, who survives him. Their children were Charles Parker, born October 10, 1854, died July 30, 1862; Alice Jane, born August 20, 1857; William Tapping, born July 1, 1862; and Carrie Louise, born December 17, 1867. William T. Childs became a member of the firm of L. C. Childs & Son in 1884 and upon his father's death succeeded to the management of the business which consists of general printing, lithographing, and blank book manufacturing. In July, 1882, he married S. Alice, daughter of John G. Fowler, of Utica, and their children are Lulu C., Mabel L. and Johnson F. (p. 225-226) [Top]

CHRESTIEN, ALFRED B., was born in Rome, May 23, 1855, son of Martin and Margaret Chrestien, and married Ida A., daughter of William and Mary Long of Madison county, and they have one child, Blanche H. Alfred started for himself as a farmer when twenty years old, which he followed for two years, and then learned the blacksmith trade, which he worked at for ten years at Canastota and Bridgewater. He then moved to Vienna, and has followed farming and been engaged in the hotel business in McConnellsville ever since. He has been excise commissioner and is treasurer of the fraternal society Order of the World. (p. 173-174) [Top]

CHRESTIEN, MARTIN, was born in France, September 22, 1819, son of Joseph and Mary Ann Chrestien, and was one of three children, Nicholas and Mary Ann being the other two. Martin came here in 1842, and was followed by his father in 1848. He married Margaret, daughter of Francis N. and Annie Rougert, who were among the early settlers of the town of Rome. Their children were Augusta, Theodora, Hattie Lynch, Frank, Alfred, Louisa, Olive Harding, Charles, Edward, Adelaide, and Mary. In early life Martin was a weaver by trade, which he followed until he settled in Oneida county, when he engaged in farming, and from 1866 to 1892 kept the hotel at McConnellsville, but has now retired from business. He has been an active Democrat and was elected overseer of the poor, serving two terms. (p. 61) [Top]

CHRESTIEN, THEODORE, was born in the town of Rome, February 26, 1847, son of Martin and Margaret (Rougert) Crestien. Theodore married Emma, a daughter of William H. and Matilda Carnrile, and they have four children: William Alfred; Kittie, wife of William Brewster of Annsville; Alice and Edith, all of whom are natives on Oneida county. At the age of twenty-four, he engaged in business as a distiller of oil of wintergreen, which he followed ten years, then he went into the canning business, in which he engaged about six years, when he associated himself with the firm of Tuttle & Co., who are still in business. In 1878, he was elected justice of the peace, which office he holds at the present time. He was one year justice of sessions, and served two terms as postmaster under Cleveland's administration. He is a member of Vienna Lodge No. 440, F. & A. M., of which he has been master twelve years. (p. 55) [Top]

CHURCHILL, GEORGE CLARENCE, son of Alfred, was born in Utica April 14, 1829. Alfred Churchill, born at Chatham, Conn., August 29, 1790, removed with his father, Daniel, to the town of Richfield, Otsego county, N. Y., in the year 1795, and came to Utica in 1826, where he died January 10, 1865. He served the city several years as alderman, and for over thirty years was owner and proprietor of Bagg's Hotel. He married Miss Emma, daughter of Matthew Derbyshire of Hartwick, Otsego county, N. Y., who died August 26, 1866. Their children were: Alfred Derbyshire, died December 27, 1853; George Clarence, Charlotte D., died February 26, 1834. George Clarence Churchill was educated at the Utica Academy and in 1851 was graduated from Rutgers College, N. J. He then spent three years as a civil engineer, after which he became a student in the law office of Mann & Edmonds, of Utica. He was admitted to the bar at Watertown, N. Y., in 1857. He is a director in the Second National Bank, the Utica Steam Cotton Mills, Mohawk Valley Cotton Company and the Utica Water Works Company, and trustee of the Savings Bank of Utica, the Utica Female Academy and the Y. M. C. A. In 1861 he married Miss Annie S., daughter of Hervey Brayton, of Rome, N. Y., and they have one daughter living--Annie Churchill, wife of Edward D. Mathews, of Utica. (p. 357) [Top]

CLARK, CHARLES H., was born in the town of Trenton, Oneida county, N. Y., September 12, 1852, but with his parents moved to the town of Marcy in 1858, where he has since resided. His father, William E., in early life was a farmer and cheese-box manufacturer. He was elected supervisor two terms, highway commissioner and was also captain of Home Guards many years. He was president of the State and County Apiarist Association, and has been worthy master of Floyd Grange and Pomona Society. Mr. Clark married Sylvia Davis, by whom he had these children, Charles H., Hattie E. (deceased), and Ida May (deceased), William (deceased), Bertie (deceased), and George H. Charles H. is a farmer, lumberman, and cheese-box manufacturer by occupation, also a member of the Stittville Canning Company. He married Estella Bartlett, by whom he had two children, Lynn Roy and Hattie May. Mr. Clark has been collector and supervisor, and was a member of the building committee of the new Oneida County Home for the Poor, is a member of the United Friends, and in 1895, was a delegate to the Grand Council of the State of New York. He is also a member of the K. P., and was a delegate to the Grand Lodge in Watertown in 1894. (p. 6) [Top]

CLARK, CHARLES W., was born at Palmyra, Wayne county, N. Y., December 23, 1858, son of James Clark, a native of Cranbrook, England, who was born July 16, 1825, and at the age of twenty-one came to Waterville, Oneida county, N. Y., where he engaged in farming; after seven years residence there, he moved to East Hamilton, N. Y., where he bought a large farm, and after a few years residence there, he removed to Palmyra, where he still engaged in farming; after residing six years there, he returned to East Hamilton, where he has since resided. He served in the late Rebellion, and is now a leading member of the G. A. R. In August, 1851, he married Maria Rogers, of Hubbardsville, Madison county, who died at East Hamilton, in May, 1888. Charles W. Clark received his education at East Hamilton, Waterville Union School and Academy, Hamilton Union School, Eastman's Business College, of Poughkeepsie, N. Y. from which he graduated in April, 1884. In 1878, he took up his residence at Oriskany Falls, and was engaged as clerk and bookkeeper in a hardware store for eleven years. He has been an active worker in the Republican Party, and March 16, 1889, he received the appointment of postmaster at Oriskany Falls, and held the position nearly five years. He has held many minor offices, and is also a 32d degree Mason. He was for two years engaged with A. T. Davis, under the firm name of Davis & Clark, in the general mercantile business, and now in the insurance business, and has been clerk of the village of Oriskany Falls since March, 1893. February 25, 1885, he married Mary H. Greer, of Pitcher, Chenango County. (p. 77 [Top]

CLARK, HIRAM G., son of Hiram S. (born in Crown Point, N. Y., and moved to Vermont when a young man), and grandson of Elam, was born in Brandon, Rutland county, Vt., August 6, 1843, was educated in the public schools of his native town and in Brandon Seminary: and taught school there for three or four terms. In 1864 he went to Syracuse, N.Y., as bookkeeper for Jacob Pinkerton & Co., and in the fall of 1867 came to Utica, where he engaged in the same employment for Harrison Gilmore, a coal dealer. In 1871 he formed a partnership under the firm name of H. G. Clark & Co., which continued until 1890, Mr. Gilmore being an inactive partner. In that year Mr. Clark succeeded to the business and in the spring of 1891 formed a partnership with T. L. German, as Clark & German, consolidating with his own the coal business of Hiram Gilmore & Co., in which Mr. German was interested. This firm still continues and carries on a large coal and wood trade. Mr. Clark was for several years a trustee of the First M. E. church. He is now a trustee of Grace M. E. church and a trustee of the Y. M. C. A. since the erection of the new building in 1888, and for the past four years has served as secretary of the board. (p. 225) [Top]

CLARK, JOHN F., was born in the town of Florence, August 2, 1861. He was the son of Thomas Clark, who was born in Albany, July 4, 1835, and came to the town of Florence when one year old with his father, Mathew Clark, who was born in Ireland. It is said that the grandmother of our subject was the first Irish woman in the town of Florence. Thomas Clark, who was a farmer by occupation, and still resides in the town, married Rose Morris, of Ireland, and to them have been born nine children, six of whom are living; Peter, Mary, William, Lizzie, Fannie and John F. Peter and William are proprietors of the Grove Hotel; William is serving his third term as supervisor. The subject of our sketch, John F., was educated in the schools of Florence and for the past twelve years has been one of the leading merchants of the town, doing a general county business. In politics he is a Democrat. In 1888, he was elected supervisor and served three terms, was town clerk two years and is now serving as postmaster. In 1890, he married Anna C. Crosley of Oswego, a Normal School graduate, who was principal of the Florence village school, for five years. Two children have been born to them, one of whom is living, Rose Marie. (p. 57) [Top]

CLARK, O. ARTHUR, M.D., was born in the town of Bridgewater, N. Y., August 13, 1868. He was educated at the Brookfield Academy, and Baltimore Medical College, from which he was graduated April 17, 1894, standing first in a class of ninety-seven graduates, and carried off the honors of his class. He is a son of Orrin A. and Mary A. (Spencer) Clark. May 29, 1894, he married Jessie R., daughter of Richard and Frances Palmer of Brookfield. Dr. Clark has established a practice in Deansville and stands high in his profession as well as public favor. (p. 356) [Top]

CLARK, ROLAND H., was born in Turin, Lewis county, N.Y., May 10, 1849. He was educated in the public schools, and is by occupation a farmer. September 22, 1874, he married Jennie F. Hills, of his native town, by whom he had one son, Edward D., now a student in the Union School. The family became residents of Verona, November 22, 1894. Mr. Clark's father, Philo Clark, was born in Granby, Conn., November 17, 1797, and was educated in the schools of his day, coming to Lewis county with his parents when five years of age. April 18, 1827, he married Amy A. Hubbard, formerly of Connecticut, by whom he had seven children, two of whom died in infancy: Lucinda A., Julius L., Milton P., Roland H., as above, and Lorinda. He died March 15, 1890, and his wife November 20, 1882. Mrs. Clark's father, Andrew W. Hills, was born in Turin, Lewis county, N.Y., October 22, 1834, and was educated in the district schools. He married Josephine Gookins, by whom he had four children, two of whom died in infancy: Jennie F., as above, and Alice, who married Noah Whittlesay, of Greig. Mr. Hills was a soldier in the late war, and died in Andersonville prison, starved to death. His wife died March 20, 1895. Mrs. Clark's grandfather, Cornelius Hills, was born in the town of Lowville, Lewis county, May 12, 1807. He married Harriet Salmond, by whom he had five children. Mr. and Mrs. Clark are members of the M.E. church of Verona, of which he is one of the stewards, He is also collector of the Union School. The family are of New England stock, and of English and Scotch ancestry. (p. 328-329) [Top]

CLARK, WILLIAM A., was born in Utica May 13, 1864, and is a son of Benjamin A. Clark, who was born in Philadelphia, Pa., about 1835, and came to Utica, where he still resides, a banker, real estate dealer, an insurance agent, in 1858. He was educated in the Utica public schools and academy, and entered his father's office. In 1883 he entered the pay department of the West Shore railroad and continued about six months, or until the road went into the receiver's hands. In February, 1884, he entered the office of the Utica Steam Cotton Mills as a clerk and has ever since been connected with that corporation, acting at the present time as assistant secretary and treasurer of both these and the Mohawk Valley Cotton Mills. He is a member of Faxton Lodge No. 697, F. & A. M., of Imperial Council No. 70, R. A., the Arcanum Club, the Utica Citizens Corps, and the Forty-fourth Separate Company, N. G. S. N. Y. He is a sergeant in the Forty-fourth Separate Company and for eight years served as its clerk. He is also an associate member of the Military Service Institution situated on Governor's Island, and was for two years (1892-93) secretary of the Board of School Commissioners of Utica. June 18, 1889, he married Ann Elizabeth, daughter of Edwin Peckham, of Utica, and they have five children: Kenyon H., Natalie P., Irving B., and Leonard S. and Lois S. (twins). (p. 251) [Top]

CLEFFORD, DANIEL B., was born in Stephentown, Renesselaer county, N. Y., April 8, 1838, son of peter C. Clefford and Charlotte L. Clefford, who settled in Rome in 1839. Mr. and Mrs. Peter C. Clefford had nine children: Christopher E., Daniel B., Watie E., Guilford D., Clifton C. (deceased), Chancellor C., Perry C., Lottie and Huldah, of whom the latter seven were born in the town of Rome. Mr. Clefford was a farmer and a public spirited and charitable man and a large owner of real estate in Rome and Vienna; also a farm in Scott township, Johnson county, Iowa. He died December 30, 1893, aged eighty-one years, five months and thirteen days. Daniel B. Clefford married Julia A., daughter of the late Nehemiah and Sarah A. Halladay, January 4, 1859, by whom he had four children, Watie M. (deceased), Julia Blasier, Pearl E., Clara E. In early life Mr. Clefford taught school in winters but has always been engaged in farming and has made a success at that business and now owns and conducts three farms. He is interested in educational affairs. Though a life long Democrat he never would accept of any town office. He belongs to Vienna Lodge No. 440, F. & A. M., and now holds the office of treasurer, and is vice-president of Plains Lodge, No. 339, P. of I. of North America. (p. 53) [Top]

CLEVELAND, CHARLES F., son of Daniel was born in Hartford, Washington county, N.Y., August 4, 1845. His grandfather, Horace Cleveland, of Warren county, N.Y., served in the Revolutionary war and died upwards of ninety years of age. Daniel Cleveland married Alameda Dickinson, whose grandfathers, Thomas Dickinson and Mr. Stockwell, served in the Revolution. She died in Utica July 4, 1893. He is a carpenter and came to Utica in 1855. Charles F. Cleveland was educated in the public schools of Utica, learned the trade of marble cutting at the age of fifteen with R. C. Dodge and remained with him until 1861. On May 3 of that year he enlisted in Co. C, 26th N. Y. Vols., Col. William H. Christian, and served till May 23, 1863, being honorably discharged in Utica. He was wounded at the battle of Antietam, September 17, 1862, and was in the general hospital, Patterson Park, Baltimore, about two months when he returned to his regiment. He participated in the battles of Cedar Mountain, Va., August 9, 1862; Rappahannock Station, August, 1862; Thoroughfare Gap, second Bull Run, Chantilly, South Mountain, Md., Antietam, Fredericksburg, Chancellorsville, and numerous skirmishes, and was presented with a handsome medal by Congress for gallantry at Antietam, Md., September 17, 1862,for volunteering to carry the colors through the fight and saving them. Returning from the war, he resumed his trade and on June 1, 1874, was appointed patrolman on the police force. He was promoted sergeant in May, 1882, detective September 1, 1877, and still holds the latter position. He is a member of Oriental Lodge, F. &A. M., Oneida Chapter R. A. M., and Fort Schuyler Council R. A., and is a charter member of Post John F. McQuade, No. 14, G. A. R. He is also a member of the Exempt Firemen's Association and of the 26th Regiment Veterans' Association, and a charter member of the 40 Rounds Veterans' Association. In 1865 he married Catherine Teresa, daughter of Thomas and Mary Burns, of Utica, and their children are Joseph F., Charles F., jr., (died in 1872), James V., and Grover. (p. 222) [Top]

CLEVELAND, CHARLES H., was born in Rome, N. Y., November 14, 1855, son of George and Lucy Cleveland. George Cleveland is a farmer and is still living at the age of sixty-six years. Charles H. Cleveland was educated in Rome and then engaged in the mercantile business. He was a merchant in Rome for six years; and was also engaged in farming. He now conducts a general store at Lowell and carries a stock that will compare favorably with any mercantile stock in the town of Westmoreland. Mr. Cleveland married Bertha Cook, of Rome, by whom he has two children: John A. and Gretta M. (p. 143) [Top]

COAN, LUKE, was born in Westmoreland, August 4, 1816, son of Ambrose and Anna Coan. Ambrose Coan came from New England and settled in Westmoreland, where he was engaged in the boot and shoe business until his death. Luke Coan has always followed farming, although in his early days he learned the wagonmaker's trade. He married Eliza A. Townsend of Westmoreland, who died June 23, 1895. Mr. Coan has one adopted daughter, Anna, who married William H. Lunt of West Tremont, Me. (p. 203) [Top]

COCHRAN, JOHN M., is a native of Oneida county, where he has resided, and his business life has been spent in Oneida village. He was born in Durhamville, N. Y., in 1859, and was educated in Oneida until sixteen years of age. His father, Andrew Cochran, was born in Chautauqua county in 1817, and was for thirty-five years pastor of the Presbyterian church at Oneida Castle. He was a man whose christian character made him beloved and revered by all who knew him. He built up a flourishing society and in 1884 erected a new church edifice. which was dedicated the "Cochran Memorial Church." Mr. Cochran prepared for the ministry at the Princeton Theological Seminary, and began his labors when thirty two years of age, his first charge being at Durhamville. His wife, Catherine More, of Durhamville, is now living at Oneida Castle. Rev. Mr. Cochran died in 1886. After receiving his education; John M. Cochran engaged as clerk in Oneida with Randall & Barker, dry goods dealers, and remained in that position for a period of twelve years, and at the end of that time he had saved enough to purchase the business from the partners, and which he has since conducted, building up a prosperous trade. He married Marilla, daughter of C. A. and Adelia Wells, by whom he has one son, C. Wells Cochran, born February 11, 1895. (p. 361) [Top]

CODY, FRANCIS A. JR., was born at Vernon Center, N. Y., June 19, 1852, son of Francis A. Cody, who was also born at Vernon Center in January, 1820. His great-grandfather was one of the pioneers of the town, having settled near what is now Vernon Center before the close of the last century, and the family has ever since been identified with the growth and progress of the town. Peter Cody was the first postmaster appointed at the Center. Francis A. Cody devoted his life to agriculture in Vernon until 1879, when he retired from active business and moved to Oneida Castle, where he is now living. He married Phoebe Faulkner, who was born in the town of Fenner, Madison county, in 1823, and died in Vernon, in January, 1868. Her ancestors were of Scotch descent. Francis A. Cody, jr., attended the Vernon Center school and afterwards took a course at the Whitestown Seminary after which he returned home and engaged in farming, in which he has since been eminently successful. Mr. Cody is a Republican in politics, and for two terms was elected to represent his town on the Board of Supervisors. February 4, 1880, he married Mary R. Carey, daughter of James A. and Rosetta H. Cary, who was born January 26, 1855, by whom he had two children: James C., born March 7, 1884, and Francis A., born February 26, 1888. (P. 274) [Top]

COGSWELL, GEORGE, was born in Steuben, Oneida county, September 29, 1834, a son of John and Eliza (Grimshaw) Cogswell, grandson of Job and Rebecca (Pike) Cogswell, natives of Vermont who settled in Western in 1801, cleared a farm and died there, and is a descendant in the ninth generation from John Cogswell, who came from England to America in 1635, and settled at Ipswich, Mass. John Cogswell, father of George, was born in Western, April 22, 1806, and died in March, 1892. He was a harnessmaker and saddler by trade, having served his apprenticeship in Westernville. In 1834 he embarked in business for himself in Steuben, where he remained for eight years. He then removed to Western, where he engaged in farming during the summer and worked at his trade during the winter. Mr. Cogswell was thrice married: first, to Eliza, daughter of Joseph and Elizabeth Grimshaw, by whom he had five children: George, Elizabeth (Mrs. J. M. Ballou), Sarah P. (Mrs. Sylvester Hartson); Orris W., and Eliza R. (Mrs. Leonard Bullock). His second wife was Catherine Eychanaer, by whom he had two children: Albert J. and Alfred M. His third wife was Mrs. Olive (Sizer) Webster. George Cogswell was reared in Western from eight years of age, educated in Holland Patent and Whitestown academics, began life as a clerk, in which he continued for twelve years, and worked at the carpenter trade twenty years but since 1885 has been engaged in farming. January 26, 1859, he married Ellen M., daughter of Joseph and Catherine (Wager) Halleck, a pioneer of Western who lived to the age of 103 years, and a sister of the late Gen. Henry Wager Halleck, a distinguished officer in the civil war. Mr. and Mrs. Cogswell have two children: Henry W. and Elizabeth W. (p. 8) [Top]

COLE, JOHN N., was born in Floyd, N.Y., March 1, 1859, son of Thomas and Ann Cole. Thomas Cole was a farmer and died in Vernon at the age of seventy-two. John N. was educated in Whitestown, first at the public schools, and then at Whitestown Seminary. He then engaged to work for the Quigley Manufacturing Co., remaining there until 1880, when he started in business for himself, beginning in the furniture business on a small scale. He has built up a large business and carries a stock that is not surpassed in size by any furniture store in Oneida county, and this is remarkable from the fact that Mr. Cole's warehouse is located in a small village; and people send from the large places to buy his goods which he ships as far as New England, and all of his furniture is sold to the consumer. This is a unique business differing from all others in the fact that is a small village, the largest stock of goods in the county is carried. Mr. Cole married Ella J. Serlye, who died in 1886, leaving one daughter, Mabel E., and he is now married to Fannie M. Kellogg of Westmoreland. (p. 319) [Top]

COLEMAN, E.G., was born in Whitestown, Oneida county, October 12, 1840, son of John S. Coleman, who was also born in Whitestown, N.Y. John S. Coleman was engaged in the saw mill business. He married Elizabeth Bellinger, of Whitestown, by whom he had five children. E. G. Coleman was educated in the district schools, then engaged in the manufacture of lumber, doing a wholesale and retail business. He is now one of Clinton's foremost enterprising business men. Mr. Coleman married Sarah W. Wetherell, by whom he has five children: Georgianna M., John B., Kittie M., Alice B., Myrtle E. Mr. Coleman is a member of Lodge No. 169, F. & A.M. (p. 139-140) [Top]

COLEMAN, GEORGE, was born in Ava, N.Y., November 25, 1834, son of Phineas and Bersheba Coleman. Phineas Coleman was a native of Rome, N. Y., and Mrs. Coleman a native of Hoosac, Conn. Mr. Coleman was an early settler in Ava, where he died in 1876, and Mrs. Coleman in 1863. The father of Phineas was a farmer at Lockport, and a pioneer of Rome. George Coleman has spent most of his time at the trade of carpenter and joiner. In 1852 he married Catherine Handly, daughter of Patrick Handly, by whom he had five children: Maria, John. Will, Frank, and Mary, who died in infancy. Mrs. Coleman died in January, 1891. In 1867 Mr. Coleman bought a farm in Ava, which is conducted by his son Frank, who, in 1887, married Cora, daughter of Patrick and Margaret Nolan, natives of Ireland, who came to America in 1845, and settled at Little Falls, where Mrs. Nolan died in 1868. Mr. Nolan is a carriage manufacturer at Brockville, Ontario, Canada. Mr. and Mrs. Frank Coleman have had four children: Charles W., who died at the age of seven years, Frederick P., George F. and Emerson S. (p. 91)[Top]

COLLINS, REUBEN, was born in the town of Verona, N.Y., March 27, 1833. He was educated in the common schools, and has followed the canal all his life in connection with farming. In June, 1861, he married Emily Collins, of his native town, by whom he had three children: Orrin D., Emma L., who died at the age of Nineteen, and Lottie A. April 7, 1890, Orrin D. married Nettie M. Gibbs, of Wayne county, N.Y., and they have had three children: Florence E., Edgar, who died in infancy, and Eva J. Mr. Collin's father, Joel Collins, was born in this county, about 1800. He was educated in the schools of his day, and was a farmer by occupation. He married Esther Ferguson, of this town, by whom he had eight children: Richard, Emeline, William, Mehetable, Caroline, Stephen, Reuben, as above, and Matilda. He died about 1890, and his wife about 1870. Mrs. Collins's father, Job Collins, was born about 1776. He married Almedia Laning, of the town of Verona, by whom he had nine children: Betsey, Nathan, Sarah, Alfred, Acus, Charles, Keziah, Washington and Emily. Mr. Collins died in 1850, and his wife in 1876. Mr. Collins is a member of New London Lodge, No. 420, F. & A.M. Mrs. Collins is a member of Vesta Chapter, No. 115, O.E.S., as is also the daughter, Lottie A. The ancestry of the family is of New England stock, of Scotch extraction. (p. 334) [Top]

COLTON, C. W., was born at Turin in 1832, son of Leonard Colton, a farmer who came from Springfield, Mass. C. W. Colton is of English descent, and was educated at Turin, and Whitestown Seminary. After having taught school in that locality, he came to Boonville, in 1858, and established the business he has been successfully engaged in, and is one of the leading hardware dealers of the place. The firm was first known as Riggs & Colton, but in 1869, Mr. Colton became sole proprietor. He came to his present location in 1863, where he has three floors containing a large stock of furniture, general household goods, hardware and crockery. Mr. Colton is a prominent member of the Methodist Episcopal church, having been a steward most of the time for thirty years. He has been president of the Board of Education, and has also been village president for several years. In 1859, he married Louise M. Riggs, daughter of G. C. Riggs, a hardware merchant of Turin, by whom he has had five children, Julia, wife of G. A. Willard; Louise G., Florence, Charles, and Frederic (deceased). (p. 7) [Top]

COMSTOCK, GASTIN E., was born in Williamstown, Oswego county, May 27, 1823, and was educated in the district schools of Williamstown and Florence after which he engaged in farming, which has been his principal occupation and now owns a farm of 260 acres in the town of Florence. He married Betsey, daughter of Oliver Davis of Florence, by whom he had eleven children: Roxy Ann, Herbert G., Perla E., Sylvester D., Ella A., Cora B., Iann A., Allace M., Caroline G. Henry O., and Hattie. (p. 36) [Top]

COMSTOCK, IRA MORRIS, was born at Salisbury, N. Y., January 1, 1856, son of Morris W. and Sarah (Rice) Comstock, and grandson of Ira Comstock, moving to Whitestown from Salisbury in April, 1866. With a preparatory education at Whitestown Seminary and Utica Business College, he began to read medicine in 1876 at Whitestown under Mm. M. James, M. D., of that place; attended three courses of lectures at the University of the City of New York, and was graduated February 18, 1879; also took post-graduate instruction at the same institution in 1880. On May 1, 1880, Dr. Comstock commenced the practice of medicine at New York Mills, and has made no change in location since. He is a member of the Oneida County Medical Society. He is visiting physician to Faxton Hospital; assistant surgeon Patriarchs Militant; member of the I. O. O. F.; Oriental Lodge, No. 224, F. & A. M., Utica, N. Y.; of the League of American Wheelmen; and of the Order of United Friends and A.O,U.W.; also medical examiner for several life insurance companies. April 7, 1880, he married Emma L. Bartlett, of Williamstown, by whom he had four children: Morris W., May Asenath, Aletha Emma, and Charles Ward. (p. 270) [Top]

COMSTOCK, JAS. M.--Edgar J. Comstock was born in Kirkland, November 27, 1858, son of James M. and Eliza Comstock. James M. Comstock was born in Kirkland, April 20, 1821, where he was educated, after which he engaged in farming, at which he has always continued, moving to Westmoreland in 1854. Mrs. Comstock died in 1886. Edgar J. Comstock married Ada Lathram, who died in 1891, and he married for his second wife, Mary E. Stebbins, by whom he has two children: Raymond L., and Hazel I. (p. 292) [Top]

COMSTOCK, M. L., was born in the town of Kirkland, July 16, 1850, on the farm where he now lives, son of Franklin and Lucy Comstock. Levi Comstock, grandfather of M.L. Comstock, came to this town in the year 1792 and cleared a farm near where our subject now lives and built a log cabin. M. L. Comstock is one of the five children, three of whom are now living: Melvin, Roselma, and Hecox, and was educated in the public schools of Kirkland and Whitestown Seminary. A fact worthy of notice in Mr. Comstock's life was his untiring efforts in establishing the Chuckery post-office, and in which he was successful. He is engaged in farming, now owning a farm of sixty acres. He married Jewell, daughter of William and Lucy Graham, of New Hartford, by whom he has one son, Wallace G., of the Union school of New Hartford, and who also took a course in the agricultural department of the Cornell University. Mr. Comstock is a member of the Grange, and is a Republican. (p. 298) [Top]

CONGER, DANIEL, was born in the town of Sangerfield, and has been a resident of Sangerfield and the village of Waterville all his life. He is and has been for forty-eight years a dealer in hops. He was connected with the promotion and building of the Utica and Chenango railroad and is at present one of its directors. He has been a director of the National Bank for thirty years of which he has been vice-president since 1884. In 1851 he married Polly Janes by whom he had one son, De Witt, who is a resident of Waterville. She died in 1884 and Mr. Conger married his present wife, Keokee Smith, in 1892. (p. 69) [Top]

CONLEY, WILLIAM, was born in the town of Verona, N.Y., July 1, 1830, and was educated in the public schools. He has been foreman of public works, canal, etc., seven years, was keeper of the insane department at the county house seven years, but is now engaged in farming in the town of Verona. In 1856 he married Nancy Hess, formerly of Herkimer county, by whom he had two children, George H., and William D. George H. married Helen Wanzey, of Amityville, Long Island, where they reside. They have one son, William G. William D. married Hattie Marcellus, of New London, N.Y. Mr. Conley's father, Michael Conley, was born in Ireland in 1796, and came to the United States when a young man, locating in this town. He had a contract on the canal when it was first being made at Oriskany. He married Mary McGahn, of the town of Half Moon, Saratoga county, by whom he had twelve children: Edward, Mary Ann, John, James, Jane, William, Henry, Hugh, Michael, Helen, Elizabeth and Margaret, only five of whom are living. Mr. Conley died in 1852. Mrs. Michael Conley died in 1874, and Mrs. William Conley August 16, 1892. Mr. Conley is a member of the M.E. church at New London, of which he is trustee. The ancestry of the family is Irish and Scotch. (p. 335) [Top]

CONSTABLE, JAMES, the architect, is a son of the late John Constable and was born at Constableville, Lewis county, N. Y. He was educated in a military school in Connecticut and also three years in Europe; he studied civil engineering at Cambridge, Mass. In 1868 he became assistant engineer in building the Newark (N. J.) aqueduct, and later was assistant engineer on the construction of the Orbisonia Iron Works at Orbisonia, Pa., and afterward he was engaged in engineering in the South and West. He was afterward assistant superintendent of the Glendon (Pa.) Iron Works for nearly eight years, during which period he devoted himself almost wholly to the building and construction of extensive works and the construction of many buildings. About 1888 he removed to Utica, N. Y., and has since devoted himself exclusively to architecture. Some of the buildings designed by him and constructed under his supervision in Utica are the Second National Bank, the Church of the Holy Cross, T. R. Proctor's stables and the remodeling of the Butterfield House. (p. 93)[Top]

COOK, ALBERT D., was born in Vienna, N. Y., son of Joseph and Mary (Ayers) Cook. Albert D. married Nancy, daughter of Robert and Amelia Shaver, by whom he has three children: Mary, wife of Elgin A. Post; Elizabeth, wife of Dr. Charles Nicols; and Harriet, all natives of Vienna. Mr. Cook is postmaster at Vienna, also justice of the peace at the present time. He formerly belonged to Vienna F. & A. M. No. 440. (p. 173) [Top]

COOK, CASPAR I., was born in Vienna, N. Y., June 7, 1838. His father, Andrew Cook, a grandson of Captain Andrew Dillenbeck who was killed at the battle of Oriskany, August 6, 1777, and grandson of John Cook, who participated in the battle of Oriskany, and son of John I. Cook, who served in the war of 1812 as captain at Sackett's Harbor. Andrew Cook settled in Vienna about 1823, coming from Palatine, Montgomery county, N. Y., where he was born November 11, 1880; died at his home in Vienna December, 1893. He married Jane E. Covell by whom he had seven children: Betsey C, John, George, Charles, Caspar I., Joseph A., and Verena J. Joseph A. enlisted in Co. C, 50th N. Y. Engineers, and served three years; Caspar I. enlisted December 14, 1851, in Co. C, 81st Regiment, N. Y. S. Volunteers and received a 1st lieutenant's commission in 1864, and a captain's commission January 1, 1865; discharged June 22, 1865; is now a member of Constantia Post No. 519, and was married February 18, 1866, to Julia E., daughter of Elijah and Prudence Watrous of Bolton, Conn., by whom he had four children: De Witt C., a graduate of Rome Academy, class of 1889, who also attended Cornell University one year, and in 1891 received an appointment in the pension office in Washington, where he attended the evening sessions of Columbian University for three years, but was prevented from finishing the course on account of failing eyesight; J. Carlotta, and M. LeVanch, graduates of Rome Academy, class of 1891; Jessie Waltrous, a graduate of Rome Academy, class of 1895. (p. 42) [Top]

COOK, MATHIAS, M. D., was born in Cologne, Germany, April 26, 1840, and received instruction in the gymnasia there until he attained the age of fourteen, when he came to America with his parents, who settled in Columbus, Ohio. There he taught school and music, and by this means earned enough to pay for a thorough medical education at Starling Medical College in Columbus. In 1863 he entered the army as assistant surgeon of United States volunteers, afterwards serving as a surgeon of the Second Ohio Cavalry until the close of the war. In 1866 he came to Utica, where he has since lived practicing his profession. In 1870-71 he served in the Franco-Prussian war as a volunteer surgeon. The doctor is an enthusiastic member bf the G. A. R., and surgeon of Bacon Post, No. 53, and has also been its commander. At the Syracuse encampment he was chosen delegate to the National Encampment in September, 1888. After Mr. Cleveland was elected the first time for the presidency ex-Gov. Horatio Seymour urged him to become a candidate for a foreign consulship, but various posts of the G. A. R. recommended him as an examining surgeon for pensions, which latter appointment he received and held during Mr. Cleveland's first term. In 1889 he was elected by a large majority as one of the coroners of Oneida county, mostly due to his popularity and the help of his comrades, who again in 1893 recommended him to his former position on the Board of Examining Surgeons for Pensions, of which board he is now the president. Dr. Cook is, with few exceptions, the oldest practicing physician in Utica, and always ready to advise, particularly a deserving soldier. He takes special interest in microscopical studies. He is a member of the Oneida County Medical Society, and for thirty years a member of the Utica Maennechor, of which he has been president. April 30, 1866, Dr. Cook married Josephine Brendle, a native of Paris, France. (p. 235-236) [Top]

COOLEY, GARY W., was born at Newport, Herkimer county, N. Y., March 18, 1841. He was educated in the district schools of Newport and advanced school of Utica. He came to this country with his parents when seventeen years of age, locating in the town of Verona, where he is engaged in farming, also for the last twenty years has been an auctioneer. December 31, 1863, he married Frances D. Wolfe, of this town, by whom he had four children: Wilford B., Arthur S., Cora A., deceased, and Benjamin L. Arthur S. is a bookkeeper for a firm in San Francisco Cal.; Wilford B. keeps the King House in Clockville, Madison county, N. Y. He married Emma Sassenbery, of Vernon, by whom he has three children: Cora B., Lawrence M., and G. Wesley. Mr. Cooley's father, Lyman Cooley, was born in Paris, Oneida county, in 1807. He was a tailor by occupation, and he married Joanna Jilson, of Martinsburg, Lewis county, N. Y., by whom he had six children, two of whom died in infancy: Francis J., Cornelia A., L. Stuart, and Gary W., as above. Mr. Cooley died November 13, 1858, and his wife November 13, 1872. Mr. Cooley's father, John Wolfe, was born in Otsego county, N. Y., in 1812, and came to this county in 1836, following the blacksmith's trade in Verona village. He married Alvira Marshall, by whom he had four children: Harriet E., Frances D., as above, J. Birney and Julia A. He died in 1876, and his wife in 1883. Mr. Cooley is a member of New London Lodge, No. 420, F. & A. M. The family is of New England stock. (p. 159) [Top]

COOMBS, ORVILLE, was born in West Stockbridge, Mass., in 1807, and came to Trenton with his father, Solomon Coombs, about four years later. With very limited school advantages, but with unlimited determination and energy and a natural bent for mathematics, he fitted himself for a land surveyor with such success that in the last year of his life he was able to say that in nearly fifty years of practice no line or bounds in his surveys has ever been set aside. He also conducted a farm, upon which his entire life was passed until his death in 1876. Although with decided opinions on politics as well as other matters, he had no taste for political methods and never aspired to hold other than town offices. (p. 7) [Top]

COON, LUKE H., was born in Fabius, Onondaga county, N. Y., November 13, 1835, son of Samuel Coon, who was born in Cherry Valley, N. Y., in 1805. He was principally engaged in farming, and accumulated considerable property. While in Fabius he was a hatter, but in 1843 he moved to Homer, Cortland county, and bought the farm upon which he spent all but the last two years of his life, having at that time retired from active labor, and he died in 1892. He married Sarah Thompson, also a native of Cherry Valley, who was born in 1801, and died in Oneida Castle in 1893. Luke H. was the fifth child in a family of nine, and after his school days in Fabius and Homer, he remained at home until he was twenty one years of age. He then worked for some time on a farm in summer, and attended school in winter. He afterwards learned the painter's trade, and devoted some time to that vocation, mostly in Homer and vicinity. In 1860 he entered into the hotel business in Canada, at the same time speculating in horses. Returning to Lockport, he spent a year in a paper mill, and twenty-one years ago he bought the Sherman House at the Castle, and has been proprietor since, having one burned out and rebuilt. In 186 he married Perice Conger, who was born in Ovid, N. Y., in 1846, and by whom he has one daughter, Grace A., born May 27, 1878. (p. 274) [Top]

COOPER, HENRY H., son of Samuel and Keziah (Nicol) Cooper and senior member of the wholesale clothing firm of H. H, Cooper & Co., was born in London, England, April 5, 1840, and came with his parents to Quebec, Canada, in 1845. Later the family moved to Oswego, N. Y. , where he completed his education. In 1857 he went to Detroit, Mich. and with Joseph Yates engaged in the clothing business conducted as a branch of the firm of C. A. Yates & Co., of Utica. In 1859 he came to Utica and entered the parent house as a salesman. In 1863 he became bookkeeper and salesman for H. J. Wood & Co., wholesale clothiers, and was admitted to an interest in the business in 1866. In 1871 he organized the firm of which he was the head and which is now continued as H. H. Cooper & Co. This concern employs about 700 hands, manufactures and wholesales clothing, and enjoys a trade extending throughout the Northern States. Mr. Cooper is a trustee of the Utica Savings Bank and vice-president of the board of trustees of the Westminster Presbyterian church. (p. 193-194) [Top]

COOPER, LANSING B., was born in Whitestown, N.Y., March 12, 1835, son of William and Zada Cooper; and William was the son of William, sr., who moved to this county in 1827. He was a blacksmith by trade, but engaged in farming up to the time of his death in 1855. William, jr., was also engaged in farming. He was born in Albany, and was apprenticed to a hatter, and after learning that trade, he left Albany and came to Whitestown, where he engaged in farming. He is now retired and living on the old homestead farm at the age of eighty-four; and his wife, Zada Cooper, is also living at the age of eighty-two, and she has a twin sister, Mrs. L.M. Allen of Floyd, who is also living in good health. Mr. and Mrs. Cooper were married sixty-one years, March 4, 1895, and they have eleven grandchildren and one great-grandchild. Lansing B. Cooper was educated at the common schools, after which he engaged in farming on the homestead farm. He married Mary E. Vanderhoof, of Floyd, by whom he has one son, William A., who is now assisting his father on the farm. Mr. Cooper and family are members of the Methodist church at New York Mills. He is a staunch Republican and actively interested in the success of his party. His brother, William Henry Cooper, is night boss at the New York Central freight yard at Utica; his brother Albert is in the Wyoming Conference, and his brother John W. is practicing medicine at Granville, Mich. (p. 321) [Top]

COOPER, ROBERT, was born in New York city, April 12, 1841, son of Peter and Jeannette (Petrie) Cooper. Peter Cooper was born in the Orkney Islands, Scotland, and engaged in boot and shoe manufacturing, and in farming. He died at the age of seventy-nine years, and his wife also died at the same age. Robert Cooper enlisted in the late civil war, February 5, 1862, and went to the front with the 5th Regt. N. Y. Vols. at Piedmont, W. Va., June 5, 1864. Mr. Cooper was captured by the Confederates and taken to Andersonville. He had two brothers, William L. and David, who were in the same regiment, and captured at the same time. William died at Annapolis May 10, 1865, and David died a Confederate prisoner at Stanton, July 24, 1864. Robert Cooper was in Andersonville prison from July 12, to October 28, 1864, when he was removed to Millen, Ga., and from there to Florence, S.C. He passed almost nine months in Confederate prisons, and was paroled February 25, 1865. He was one of two out of twenty-four that returned from captivity, as all of the others died. Mr. Cooper married Francis Naomi Munn, of Orwell, Oswego county, by whom he had eight children: Flora J., married to Fred Wooley of New York Mills; William E.; John P., married to Ann Bradley; George W.; Robert L.; Anna B.; Nellie E.; and Rollo B. Mr. Cooper and wife are members of the Presbyterian church of New York Mills, and he is a member of the G.A.R. (p. 323) [Top]

CORBITT, JAMES, was born in Oriskany, N.Y., January 29, 1855, son of James and Sarah Ann Corbitt. James Corbitt died in 1861. James Corbitt, jr., was educated in Oriskany and was a State officer for over seven years. He began as proprietor of the Park House at Whitesboro in 1890. It was then a frame building, which burned down January 28, 1893, and Mr. Corbitt then constructed a handsome brick hotel on the same site, which was built under his own supervision. It is constructed of brick, and finished principally in hard wood. It overlooks beautiful grounds, and is an ideal summer residence, always full during the summer months with people form Utica and other large cities. Mr. Corbitt is a thorough hotel man, and the house is conducted in a first class manner, in keeping with the building and its surroundings. (p. 326) [Top]

COSTIGAN, W.H., was born in New Hartford, N.Y., May 24, 1861. He followed farming until 1891, at which time he opened a furniture and undertaking establishment in Sauquoit, which has steadily increased in volume and popularity from its inception under his able management. Mr. Costigan's parents were Daniel and Catherine Costigan, of the town of Paris. Their children are W. H., Francis I., and Mrs. William McGuirk, of North Bridgewater. (p. 271) [Top]

COTTMAN, JOSEPH S., was born in Philadelphia, Pa., August 9, 1836. He was educated in the public schools and afterward learned the plumber's trade, which business he followed about thirty-four years. In December, 1880, he married Frances Mattison, of Rome, N. Y., who died October 4, 1881. In that year Mr. Cottman sold his business and came to Sylvan Beach, N. Y., where he is proprietor and captain of the steamboat, L. C. Spencer, on Oneida Lake. He also has a shop there, well stocked with machinery for performing skillful jobs in iron and wood work. Mr. Cottman's father, William B. Cottman, was born at the old home in Pennsylvania, July 27, 1793. He was educated there, and was a chair manufacturer by trade. November 26, 1818, he married Maria A. Streiby, of his native place, by whom he had eleven children: F. Louisa, John A., George S., Sally A., William H., Joseph S., who died in infancy, Maria, who also died in infancy, Joseph S., as above, Anna E., Edward S., and Martha J. Mr. Cottman died in 1876, and his wife in 1871, aged seventy-four years. The ancestry of the family is English and German. (p. 266) [Top]

COUGHLIN, JOHN B., was born in Forestport, N. Y., in November 1867, son of Timothy Coughlin, who was born in Canada in 1832, and who was one of five children born to John & Catherine (McGuire) Coughlin, both natives of Ireland. John Coughlin, grandfather of John B., now resides with his daughter, Mrs. McGuire, in Forestport, and is over ninety years of age. Timothy Coughlin was a farmer and lumberman, and sold great quantities of spile and spar timber. He served six years as supervisor, also as collector and road commissioner. He married Mary Bennett, a native of Ireland, by whom he had five children: John B., Edward, Mary, Elizabeth and Frank. Mr. Coughlin died in 1892 and his wife died in 1874. John B. Coughlin received his education in the district schools and at seventeen years of age engaged in farming and lumber business, which he followed for seven years, after which he engaged as timekeeper on the A & St. L. RR., during its construction. In 1891 he engaged in the lumber business, taking contracts, in which business he is now actively engaged; and he owns considerable property in Utica. (p. 111) [Top]

COUPE, JAMES, was born in the town of Frankfort, Herkimer county, about four miles southeast of Utica, and is a son of James Coupe. When he was six years old his father and family removed to the homestead about two miles from Utica, on the Minden turnpike, in the town of New Hartford, where he remained till about twenty-two years of age. His father died when he was thirteen, leaving his mother with five sons and five daughters. He entered the law office of John F. Seymour, of Utica, and there completed his law studies. Having been admitted to the bar, he, with his brother, Henry F., formed the law firm of Henry F. & James Coupe, with office at 166 Genesee street, where they have since continued. The firm has been engaged in the practice of law in all its branches, except that in the marine courts, both civil and criminal. They have tried many important criminal cases as well as causes of civil action; several cases were for capital crimes. Perhaps the most noted one was the defense of Michael Cafaldo, who was charged with having in the night shot a co-workman in the village of Remsen, Oneida county, and resulted in acquittal of defendant. Another case was that of the People vs. Laaze, a Frenchman, who murdered his wife with an axe some distance west of Rome. The defense was successful in that the defendant, instead of being found guilty in the first degree, was found guilty in the second degree and sentenced to Auburn for life. Still another case was the defense in the People vs. McElwaine, which rose out of the escape of O'Brien in 1895. This was the first of the defendants tried, who were acquitted. During the trial great public interest was taken and much excitement prevailed, and at the time it was said to have been one of the greatest trials ever held in the court house in Utica. They also engaged in the trial of many other important criminal cases and a very large number of civil actions in various courts of this county and other counties in the State, in all of which success has followed. Henry F. Coupe, senior member of the firm, was special city judge of Utica and has also served as one of the city school commissioners. During his term the school system of Utica was revised and many changes and improvements was made. The old system was entirely abandoned and a course of studies laid out which conformed to the most improved method of education and has since prevailed. James Coupe was corporation counsel one term and is now acting as a member of the police and fire commission of the city. Both are Democrats and have been very active in politics, and have always taken much interest in the public welfare of the city. James Coupe was urged to accept the nomination for mayor on several occasions, but has eschewed public office. Henry F. married Miss Mary Sweeney, of New Hartford, and they have three children. (p. 353) [Top]

COURTNEY, HUMPHREY, was born in Ireland, March 25, 1836, and came to the United States with his parents, Humphrey and Catherine Courtney, in 1839. Humphrey Courtney sr., was employed in an iron foundry in the State of Connecticut, where he had charge of a coal yard until 1844, when he came to Florence and cleared a portion of the farm now owned by his son, which consists of 265 acres mostly improved land. He was much respected by his townsmen and held many important offices of trust in his day. Humphrey Courney was educated in the town of Florence after which he engaged in farming, keeping a dairy of twenty cows, besides young cattle and horses, and is a prosperous and successful farmer. He married Ellen Boland of Florence, by whom he has had twelve children. Mr. Courtney has been a prominent man in politics, was assessor of the town for three years, and supervisor for the same number of years. While supervisor he caused to be made many wholesome changes in the local government of his town which was and is a benefit to the taxpayers then and for years to come. (p. 9) [Top]

COVEL, STEPHEN A., was born in the town of Vienna, N.Y., April 10, 1830. He was educated in the district schools, after which he followed the canal twenty years, was a shipper in Buffalo six years, a farmer in Wayne county four years, and a merchant in Niagara county several years. In 1873 he purchased the old homestead, and came to reside in New London in 1883. He has resided in Dakota six years, with the exception of one winter. In 1851 he married Louisa Brown, af [sic] his native place, by whom he had one son, Albert L., who married Sarah Taber, of Walworth, Wayne county, N.Y., and they have one son, Harry. The family are residents of Gloversville, Fulton county, N.Y. Mrs. Covell died in 1892, and Mr. Covell married for his second wife, Mrs. Linda E. (Brown) Chapman, of his native place. Mr. Covell's father, Stephen A., was born in Massachusetts, in 1805, and came to this State with his parents when a child, locating in the town of Vienna. He was educated in the district schools, and was a farmer by occupation, was also justice of the peace and supervisor. He married Lydia Holden, of the town of Vienna, by whom he had thirteen children: Andrew and Ada, twins, Stephen A., as above, Laura J., Henry and Harriet, twins, Benjamin, deceased, John, Emeline and Emily, twins, Horace, Franklin and Luther. Mr. Covell died in 1889, and his wife in 1866. Mrs. Covell's father Sanford Brown, was born in New Baltimore, Greene county, N.Y., in 1804. He married Ruth Hicks, of his native place, by whom he had eleven children: George, William T., Marcus, Linda E., as above, Mary, Worthington, Abbie A., Sanford, George 2d, Emma and Steven. Mr. and Mrs. Brown died in 1892. Mr. Covell is a Democrat in politics and has been supervisor of the town of Vienna three years. He is a member of New London Lodge, No. 420, F. & A.M. The ancestry of the family is of New England stock. (p. 333-334) [Top]

COVENTRY, ROBERT, was born in Deerfield, N. Y., on the farm he now owns, August 19,1837, son of Robert and Lydia (Barnes) Coventry, natives of Deerfield. His maternal grandparents were Aaron and Lucinda Barnes. Aaron Barnes was born at Lanesboro, Mass., March 16, 1781, and came to Deerfield in 1818; where he died March 25, 1852; and his father, Joseph Barnes, was a captain in the Revolutionary war. Mr. Coventry's paternal grandfather, Dr. Alexander Coventry, was born in Scotland, August 27, 1876, son of Capt. George Coventry, a soldier under George II in the French war. He studied medicine at Glasgow and Edingburgh, and in 1785 settled at Hudson, N. Y., where he engaged in the practice of medicine and farming. In 1796 he removed to Utica, where he also practiced. In 1804 he engaged in fruit growing in Deerfield, where he took up his residence, but also continued his practice in Utica; he died in 1831. Robert Coventry was born in Deerfield, February 7, 1807, and was engaged in farming in Deerfield, where he died February 15, 1888. Mrs. Coventry died December 27, 1885. Robert Coventry, jr., was educated at Whitestown Seminary, and November 18, 1863, he married Catherine, daughter of Reese and Jane (Jones) Lewis of Deerfield, N. Y., by whom he has three children: Helen, born September 26, 1864; Thomas L., born December 10, 1867, of the Utica Press; and Lydia Jane, born May 13, 1869, wife of Dr. Woodruff of Joliet, Ill. (p. 103) [Top]

COX, TRUMAN, was born in the town of Deerfield, N. Y., December 14, 1829, son of John and Mary (Smith) Cox, natives of Oneida county. The parents of John Cox were Joseph and Catherine (Sterling) Cox, who were natives of Herkimer county and pioneers of Deerfield. The parents of Joseph Cox were John F. and Katrina (Petre) Cox. The father of Mrs. Katrina Cox, Daniel Petre, came from Holland to Little Falls prior to the Revolutionary war, where he built a grist mill. He was killed in the mill during the war by Indians and his mill burned. His daughter and husband, J. F. Cox, were in the mill when the attack was made. Mr. Cox went for help and while he was gone the mill was fired, Mr. Petre killed and Mrs. Cox taken prisoner with her two children, one being Joseph Cox, the above mentioned; and they were to be carried to Canada, but Mrs. Cox bought her freedom. Joseph Cox was a farmer and miller, and John Cox, father of our subject, born March 21, 1799, was also a farmer and miller. He died in 1857, and Mrs. Cox died in 1871. Mr. Truman Cox has been engaged in farming and milling in the town where he has always resided. In 1849 he married Eliza R., daughter of Dr. Thomas (born November 15, 1809, died November 1, 1847) and Maria (Coppernall) Pell (born April 15, 1806, died November 1, 1869), who was born in Herkimer county, June 9, 1831. Dr. Thomas Pell was a native of Lee, and son of Thomas and Mary (Cook) Pell of Long Island. Thomas was born March 1, 1775, and came to Lee at an early day; and he was a son of Thomas Philip Pell, who was born in England December 5, 1731, and emigrated to Long Island. His father, Thomas H. W. Pell, Duke of York, was born August 13, 1701, and died in England. Mrs. Cox's maternal grandfather was George Coppernall, an early settler at Little Falls. Mr. and Mrs. Cox have three children: Truman H., born November 16, 1853, a graduate of Cincinnati Medical College, and a physician at Lee Center; John T., who was born August 20, 1857, and educated at Whitestown Seminary and Poughkeepsie Business Institute. He died April 3, 1893; and Frances E., who died in infancy. (p. 8) [Top]

CRANDALL, CHARLES E., was born at Vernon Center, in the Town of Vernon, Oneida county, N.Y., December 1, 1833. He was educated in the district schools, and remained on the farm until he was sixteen years of age, and then learned the currier's trade, which business he followed until 1859, when he became a manufacturer of boots and shoes. He continued this business six years, then added the grocery business, and in 1872 began conducting a general store, which he still follows with success, taking his son, Willard L., into partnership April 1, 1885, under the firm name of C.E. Crandall & Son. January 29, 1881, he was appointed postmaster and served about five years, till there was a change of administration. October 5, 1853, he married Maria T., daughter of George C. Cadwell, of this town, by whom he has three sons: George C., Willard L. and Charles F. Mrs. Crandall died June 13, 1896. George C. married Minnie Bell of Glens Falls and they have one daughter, Florence. Willard L. married Marian Barrett of Medina, Orleans county, and they have two children, Charles A. and Barrett L. Charles F. resides at home and runs the stage route, carrying the mail. Mrs. Crandall's father, George C. Cadwell, was justice of the peace twenty years. C E. Crandall has held the position of notary continuously for over twenty years and still holds the office. Willard L. Crandall is treasurer of the School Board. The ancestry of the family is of Dutch extraction. (p. 379) [Top]

CRANDALL, DR. CHARLES S., was born in Leonardsville, Madison county, September 24, 1858, and is the youngest son of Dr. Hiram S. Crandall, whose father, Oliver C. was one of the first settlers in that locality. Oliver C. came from Rhode Island, and died in Leonardsville in 1864 aged nearly ninety-two. The family are lineal descendants of Lord John Crandall of England. Dr. Hiram S., at the age of seventy-eight, is still practicing medicine in Leonardsville, making a specialty, as he has for many years, of diseases of women. He married Frances A. Sisson, of Plainfield, Otsego county, who died in 1889, aged seventy. They had five children: Stephen H., of Leonardsville; Mary D. (Mrs. Ellis J. Dunn), of New Market, N.J.; Lucius A., of Frankfort, N.Y.; L. Adelle, widow of Sils K. Hawkins, of Burlington Flats, N.Y.; and Dr. Charles S., of Utica. Dr. Charles S. Crandall was educated in the public schools of Leonardsville and at New Berlin Academy, read medicine with his father, and was graduated from the medical department of the University of New York city in 1882. He took special courses in physical diagnosis in the wards of Bellevue Hospital under the late Dr. Alfred L. Loomis, the celebrated consumptive specialist; a special course in operative surgery and bandaging under Prof. J.W. Wright, M.D.; a special course in physiological laboratory work and microscopy under Prof. Dohn Draper, M.D., LL.D., and after graduating he practiced in Leonardsville, and in the spring of 1884 went to Sherburne, Chenango county, where he remained five years. In the spring of 1889 he came to Utica, where he has since successfully practiced his profession, making a specialty of diseases of women. December 30, 1886, he married Ada M., daughter of Leander Harwood, of Sherburne, N.Y. They have two children, Lee S. and Frances R. (p. 341) [Top]

CRANDALL, ENOS T., was born in Westmoreland, Oneida county, N. Y., in 1832. His grandfather, Lewis Crandall, a native of Dutchess county, was a farmer and carried provisions to Sackett's Harbor during the War of 1812. About 1797 he came to Oneida county, settling in Westmoreland, where he purchased 300 acres of land. He married Clara Shute, by whom he had four children. He died in 1875 aged 100 years and four months, and his wife died at the age of sixty-five years. William Crandall, father of Enos T., was born in Westmoreland in 1800 and was a carpenter noted for his fine workmanship; he also farmed some in early life. He was captain of a company of State militia. His wife was Laura Church and their children were: Lowell, Ann, Enos T., Charels, Willard (deceased), Jason, Orville A., Irvin, and Winifed S. Mr. Crandall died in 1850 and his wife in 1891, aged eighty-five years. Enos T. Crandall, at the age of ten years, left home and engaged in farm work, but, being a natural mechanic, he later followed carpentry for many years. In 1860 he removed to Boonville and five years later purchased a farm and saw mill, conducting them both successfully until 1880, when he removed to his present site, where he purchased a sawmill and 325 acres of land and engaged extensively in the manufacture of hard wood and lumber. He has also since 1889 conducted a grocery store and in 1891, through his efforts, the post-office of Enos was established with Mr. Crandall as postmaster. He has served as justice of the peace for many years, commissioner of highways, and has been a school trustee for twenty-five years. He has been a Mason for thirty years. In 1857 Mr. Crandall married Mary, daughter of William and Sarah Shephard, all natives of Manchester, England, who came to the United States in 1845. Mr. and Mrs. Crandall have two children: Ella B., wife of Charles Miller; and George W., all of whom live in the immediate vicinity. Mrs. Crandall died January 13, 1896, aged sixty-one years. (p. 40) [Top]

CRANDALL, J. WELLS, was born in Kirkland, Oneida county, N.Y., December 21, 1826, and when seven years of age removed with his parents to Oswego county, where he was educated in the public schools. He has had numerous occupations, mostly farming, until he retired in 1883. He came to Fish Creek in 1883 and erected a fine residence, finishing it in January, 1885. In 1851 he married Cynthia Luke, of Amboy, Oswego county, N.Y., who died July 22, 1884. For his second wife he married Mrs. Lurana M. (Potter) Babcock, of West Monroe. She had three children by her first marriage: Willis G. Babcock, a physician, with a drug store and practice in Cleveland, Oswego county; Alice V. and Gracia R. Babcock, who died at the age of twenty-one years. Mr. Crandall's father, Daniel Crandall, was born in Brookfield, N.Y., was educated there, and was a blacksmith by occupation, conducting a business in Kirkland. He married Martha Wells, by whom he had eight children: Daniel, Pattie, Horace, William, Warren, J. Wells, Charles, and Fannie; only three of them are now living. Mr. Crandall died a the age of sixty-one, and his wife at the age of eight-one years. The family is of New England Stock. (p. 309) [Top]

CRANWELL, FRANK J., son of James, is of Irish and English descent and was born in Utica January 20, 1870. His father is one of the oldest contractors and builders in Central New York, and as such is not only well known in this State, but in New Jersey and elsewhere. He has erected many of the more notable buildings in Utica, New York city, and other points, and is still active in his lifelong business. Frank J. Cranwell was graduated from the Assumption Academy in 1889 and later from the Utica Business College. As soon as he could do anything he identified himself with his father's business, which he has always followed. In 1889 he formed a partnership with his brother, Edward H., which was dissolved in May, 1896. His first contract was the construction of the Grimes and Pelton block in Ilion in 1889-90. Since then he has erected several factory buildings at Dolgeville, the Metropolitan Hotel in Little Falls, the Utica Carriage Factory and St. Agnes church on Blandina street in Utica, the Ilion Memorial Public Library building, the Leach building in Utica, the Frankfort High School, the Hotaling building in Ilion, the Johnson stone residence at Palatine Bridge, and many others. In 1895 he married May Anna M. Hermann, of Utica, and they have one daughter, Olive Marguerite. (p. 367) [Top]

CRIPPIN, A. E., was born in Decatur, Otsego county, December 13, 1861, son of George and Catherine Crippin. Mr. Crippin was educated in the schools of Otsego and Oneida counties, after which he entered the employ of the New York Mills Manufacturing Company, and is now overseer of the weaving department of No. 2 mill. In 1837 he married Miss Lucy Harington of Kasoag, Oswego county; he is a member of Schuyler Lodge No. 147, I. O. O; F., and Samuel Campbell Council No. 1090, Royal Arcanum; in politics he is a staunch Republican. (p. 257) [Top]

CRISMAN, WILLIAM N., was born in Oriskany, N.Y., April 10, 1837, son of William and Sapry (Kenyon) Crisman. William Crisman was a farmer and also a hotel keeper in Oriskany, and was a man noted for his generosity. His wife, Sapry (Kenyon) Crisman, was born in Lee Center, and died in Oriskany. William N. received his education in Oriskany, after which he engaged in farming and in manufacturing, making knit and other goods, and in addition to his farming he has been engaged in manufacturing for over thirty years. He is a staunch Republican and takes an active interest in the success of his party. He married Mary Ann Tier of Oriskany, by whom he has had four children: Sarah, married to H.G. Millington of Waterville; Emma B. (deceased), Orrin W. and H. Edward. Orrin W. is conducting the mineral spring at Franklin Iron Works, and H. Edward is assisting his father in the manufacturing business. (p. 321) [Top]

CRONIN, JAMES V., son of Timothy, was born in Utica, February 14, 1861. His father, a carpenter and builder, was born in Ireland, in 1828, came to America in 1829 with his parents, and finally settled in Utica, where he died in 1871. Mr. Cronin was educated in the Christian Brothers' Assumption Academy, and in 1879 enlisted on a man of war in the U. S. navy, serving four years. He then spent four years in mining in Colorado and California, and re-enlisting in the navy served six years more, completing a service of ten years. He was attached at various times to the North Atlantic, North Pacific, South Pacific, and South Atlantic stations, and on the U. S. man of war Alliance participated in the search for the Jeannette expedition. Returning to Utica in 1893 he was shipping clerk in a foundry for a short time and then became manager of the Utica Carpet Cleaning Works. (p. 251) [Top]

CROSBY, ANSON T., was born in Deerfield, N. Y., December 16, 1828, son of Isaac, a native of Norway, and Mary (Fox) Crosby, a native of Ohio, Herkimer county, N. Y. The grandparents, Isaac and Mary Crosby, came from Saratoga and settled in Norway, where Mr. Crosby was killed by the cars. Isaac, jr., came to Deerfield when twenty-five years of age and took up 269 acres of land, where he cleared a home, remaining until he retired to Chatfield, Filmore county, Minn., where he died at the age of seventy-three, and Mrs. Crosby died at the age of sixty-five years. The great-grandfather Crosby was a soldier under Gates at Saratoga; and the great-grandfather Fox was at the same battle under Burgoyne in the Revolutionary war. A. T. Crosby was educated at Whitestown Seminary, and has always been engaged in farming and keeps a dairy of twenty Holstein cows. He has been justice of the peace for several years. In 1857 he married Margaret Holmes, by whom he has five children: John D., a druggist at Long Island; Lottie E., wife of John Cook, a wheat grower in North Dakota; Mary, wife of Charles Green, in the sash and blind factory at Torrington, Conn.; Emily C., wife of James Fuller. a farmer in Deerfield, and Edith N., a teacher in Yorkville. (p. 86-87) [Top]

CROSS, JOHN CLEVELAND, was born in Stirlingville, Jefferson county, N.Y., September 12, 1833, and was a son of Theodore and Harriet (Seymour) Cross. Theodore Cross was born in Weare, N. H., November 14, 1804. His ancestors came from Massachusetts, being among the first settlers of Ipswich, Haverhill and Methuen, where they held a large colonial and Indian grant of land, a portion of which, the homestead farm with house originally built about 1640, is still in the possession of George L. Cross, the seventh lineal descendant of the original owner. Many members of the family served in the Colonial and Revolutionary wars, and were prominent in the early history of Massachusetts and New Hampshire, being connected with the Adams, Cleveland, Choate, Eastman and Burbank families of those States. Theodore Cross came to the town of Philadelphia in 1818, where he engaged in farming and lumbering till 1856, when he removed to Boonville, N. Y., carrying on with his son the butter and cheese business. He died at Oriskany Falls in 1881. John C. Cross was educated at the Governeur Academy in St. Lawrence county, N. Y., graduating at the age of eighteen, when he entered the employ of W. W. & I. N. Herrick, general merchants in Philadelphia, N. Y. After one year of service there he went to Boonville as clerk in the store of an uncle John Cross, with whom, after three years, he entered into partnership. Selling out there in 1858, he removed to New York city, engaging in the general produce and commission business. He continued there until 1861, when he removed to Oriskany Falls, N. Y., and for the next seventeen years was there engaged as a general merchant. He has since been engaged as an extensive farmer and dealer in hops. He is one of the largest hop growers in the State, having now eighty acres devoted to that product. He was elected the first president of the village of Oriskany Falls upon its incorporation in 1888. December 5, 1855, he married Permelia V. Goodrich, daughter of Hon. Caleb Goodrich, of Boonville, N. Y., by whom he had four children: Theodore La Mont, born February 9, 1858, now a practicing attorney at Utica, N. Y.; Harriet Louisa, born June 16, 1860, who died August 9, 1894; Kathlenn, born March 28, 1870, now living with her parents; and Wylie C., born May 1, 1861, and died May 7, 1851. [Note: These dates are typed as they appear in the biography.] (p. 281-282 [Top]

CROSSMAN, GEORGE H., was born in Deerfield, March 16, 1816, son of Nathaniel and Elizabeth (Stewart) Crossman. His grandfather, Nathaniel Crossman, came to Deerfield, when Nathaniel, jr., was only ten years of age, being one of the earliest settlers of the place. He was a carpenter by trade, but was also engaged in farming. Nathaniel, jr., learned the trade of his father, in which he was engaged through life. He was a native of Taunton, Mass. He was a man of excellent memory and a great reader of history, and was a soldier in 1812, at Sackett's Harbor, and was honorably discharged. George H. also learned the carpenter trade, and worked for many years with his father. After his father's death, he worked at the trade until 1865, when he settled on a farm of 136 acres in Deerfield, where he still resides. In 1846 he married Jane A. Hicks, by whom he had six children: George H., Earl S., Elizabeth, Curtis (deceased), Clarence and William S. Mrs. Crossman died in September, 1892. Mr. Crossman was justice three years, and assessor nine years. (p. 215) [Top]

CROSSMAN, GEORGE H. JR., was born in Deerfield, Oneida county, N. Y., December 29, 1846, son of George H. Crossman. In 1869, he married Hester A., daughter of Orin and Lois (Powell) Smith. Mr. Smith was born in Deerfield, N. Y., and his wife in Trenton; both died in Westmoreland, she October 24, 1866, aged seventy-two years, and he January 19, 1885, aged seventy-two years. Mr. and Mrs. Crossman has 250 acres of land, and rents part for the Hygienic Dairy, keeping about thirty cows, and selling milk in the city. He is also engaged in threshing, and runs a fodder cutter, also a machine for cutting standing corn and does custom work. (p. 7) [Top]

CROUSE, JOHN M., senior member of the firm John M. Crouse & Son, wholesale grocers, of Utica, is a son of Daniel Crouse, who joined his brother, John Crouse, in the business as a general store in Canastota, N. Y., in 1827. In 1860 Daniel Crouse moved the concern to Utica and established a wholesale trade, taking the name of Daniel Crouse, Son & Co. In 1871 this was changed to Daniel Crouse & Sons, and in 1881 to J. M. & C. B. Crouse, both sons of Daniel. In 1894 the present firm of John M. Crouse & Son succeeded to the business, C. B. Crouse retiring and Beecher M. Crouse son of John M. being admitted. Daniel Crouse was born in 1805 in Minden, N. Y., settled in Utica in 1863, and died here in September, 1877. In 1833 he married Catherine Jane Beecher, who survives, and of their five children three are living: Daniel N., Charles B., and John M., all of Utica. The firm whose business he founded nearly seventy years age does an extensive wholesale grocery trade, and is one of the oldest and most prosperous concerns of the kind in Central New York. Their present store on the corner of Broad and John streets was built by Daniel Crouse and Daniel N. Crouse in 1871. In 1874 the firm established a large packing and provision business on Catherine street, and still continues it in connection with the store. John M. Crouse is a director of the Oneida National Bank, the Utica Steam Cotton Mills, the Mohawk Valley Cotton Mills, the Roberts-Wicks Company, and the Mohawk Valley Scotch Cap Factory. (p. 235) [Top]

CRUIKSHANK, J. ROBERT.--George C. Cruikshank was born in Deerfield, February 21, 1850, son of Robert M. and Elizabeth (Pearce) Cruikshank. The grandparents, David and Mary (Stephenson) Cruikshank, were natives of Scotland, and emigrated to Ireland: and thence to Salem, Washington county, N.Y., in 1807, after which they came to North Gage, Oneida county. They both died at Deerfield, he in 1847, and she in 1855. Robert Cruikshank was a native of North Gage, Deerfield, and was a manufacturer of edge tools. In 1844 he bought 250 acres of land and engaged in farming. He is a Republican, and was assessor and road commissioner. He died in 1886. Mrs. Cruikshank was a native of Newport, Herkimer county, and she died in 1855. George C. was educated at Whitestown Seminary, and taught for a few terms. For three years he run an express route from Poland to Utica, but his principal occupation has been farming. He has the homestead farm. In 1875 he married Rachel, daughter of John and Christina Herpy of Ohio, Herkimer county, by whom he has three children: J. Robert. May, and Milton. Mr. Cruikshank has been assessor for two terms. (p. 84) [Top]

CRUIKSHANK, JAMES M., was born in the town of Deerfield, N.Y., November 29, 1840, being the eldest son of James and Malintha (Reed) Cruikshank. His father, James, sr., was of Scotch-Irish descent, and in 1807, when seven years of age, emigrated from Ireland with the family, and came to the town of Deerfield where the family located and purchased a farm of seventy-five acres. In 1837 James, sr., was married to Malintha Reed, a native of Deerfield. He purchased his father's farm and engaged in farming, and subsequently increased his farm to 250 acres on which he resided until his death April 24, 1877. His wife died March 16, 1884. On March 31, 1863, James M. was married to Mary A., daughter of David and Elizabeth Evans, natives of Wales, who came to America and located in Deerfield, where she was born May 8, 1841. Afterward they removed to Newport, Herkimer county, where he purchased a farm, on which they resided until their death. He in February, 1879, aged seventy-eight years. His wife September 18, 1890, aged eighty-seven years. In 1883 James M. settled on the farm where he now resides. They have four children: Fred J., born May 19, 1864, and was married to Cora E., only daughter of William and Eliza Kane of Newport, N.Y., March 10, 1886, and is at present engaged in farming at Newport, N.Y.; Edgar C., born October 9, 1865, was married to May, only daughter of Dr. Seavy of Poland, N.Y., September 17, 1890. He has been in the mercantile business for ten years and is now general agent for "The Poland Union," at Poland, N.Y.; Millard S., born August 1, 1867, graduate of Fairfield Academy, and for seventeen terms has been a teacher in the schools of the county, and is at present in possession of the same farm bought by his grandfather's father ninety years ago; Avis E., born October 10, 1870, wife of Benjamin L. Ford, who is engaged in the mercantile business at Newport, N.Y. In politics Mr. Cruikshank is a Republican. He has occupied various positions of public trust in his town. Both Mr. and Mrs. Cruikshank have been for many years members of the Presbyterian church of North Gage. (p. 97)> [Top]

CULLITON, JOHN, was born in Montreal, Canada, January, 28, 1849, and came to the United States in 1865; after spending one year in Rochester, six years in Canandaigua, two years in Honeoye, N. Y., a short time in Grand Rapids, Mich., and also in Washington Mills, N. Y., he came to Clayville in 1883, and in 1889 he assumed the proprietorship of the Murray House, which has since ranked as a first-class hotel with the traveling public. Mr. Culliton is an influential Democrat, and was postmaster of Clayville under Cleveland's first administration, and was also collector when in New Hartford. In 1876 he married Ellen Fitzmaurice, of Canandaigua, who died in 1880 leaving one child, Mary Culliton, and his present wife is Emogene Rogers of Washington Mills. (p. 245) [Top]

CUMMINGS, JAMES W., was born in the village of Clinton, December 31, 1866 son of James Cummings who was born in Ireland and came to the United States in 1845, and is a prosperous farmer in this town. James W. Cummings is one of seven children; he was educated at Kirkland Hall in Clinton, and at Holy Cross College in Massachusetts in 1886. He began the study of law with Mr. Searl of Rome, and finished at Hamilton College after which he entered the law firm of Williams & McCabe, was admitted to the bar when twenty one years of age, and entered into partnership with J. E. McCabe in the practice of his profession under the firm name of McCabe & Cummings, which continued until the death of Mr. McCabe. (p. 141) [Top]

CUNNINGHAM, JAMES, was born in Stewarton, Scotland, January 24, 1844. He was educated in his native town, and has been engaged in the manufacture of Scotch caps all of his life. He came to American in 1880 and settled in Utica, at which place he was engaged to start and conduct the cap factory of D.W. Northrup & Co. After two years of service there, he removed to Oriskany Falls and established the business of Hatheway & Reynolds, which he conducted for one year, after which he with W.F. Boynton carried on the same line of manufacturing till 1889. In that year James Cunningham & Son entered into a partnership for the manufacture of Scotch caps, and are now conducting a large and prosperous business. His father was also a manufacturer of Scotch caps in Stewarton, Scotland, where he was born in November, 1815, and died at Kilmarnock, Scotland, in 1888, at the age of seventy-three. His mother was Susan McQueen, also a native of Stewarton, Scotland, born in 1818, and died at Kilmarnock, in 1864. James Cunningham was married in Stewarton, to Mary Boyle, born June 9, 1842, and died at Oriskany Falls, December 2, 1892. They had ten children, five of whom are deceased. Four of the five sons now living are engaged with their father; David being an active partner with his father, and who, in 1884, married Nettie Clay of Oriskany Falls. Mr. James Cunningham is a Royal Arch Mason, having received his thirty-second degree while in Scotland. April 2, 1894, he married Elizabeth Black, a native of Danbury, Conn. (p. 115) [Top]

CUNNINGHAM, JOHN HOWARD, editor-in-chief of the Utica Herald, wields a facile pen. His leaders are always dignified in tone; the language is forcefully used, and the point aimed at is sharply defined. Under his management the Herald remains as before the leading organ of the Republican party in Central New York. Mr. Cunningham was born in Ithaca, Tompkins county, N.Y., November 29, 1843. His parents, American born, were of Scotch descent. Mr. Cunningham was educated at Ithaca Academy and Hamilton College. From the latter he was graduated in the class of 1866. After leaving college he taught, as vice-principal, in the Waverly Institute, at Waverly, N.Y., and afterward was principal of Chester Academy at Chester, Orange county, N.Y. In 1868 he joined the editorial staff of the Herald, as news editor, and has remained on that paper since, excepting the years 1871-1872. He became its chief editor when, in 1891, the paper was transferred to The Utica Herald Publishing Company. May 27, 1869, Mr. Cunningham married Annie, daughter of Edward German (deceased), of Utica, by whom he had two children: Carl German, and Frederick Haines. Mr. Cunningham is a member of the Fort Schuyler and the Arcanum social clubs, of Utica. He has been a member of the Masonic fraternity since 1865. (p. 92) [Top]

CURTIS, LYMAN W., was born on the old homestead farm, which adjoins his farm, May 18, 1850, son of the late Linus Curtis, (mentioned elsewhere). Lyman W. was educated in the district schools of West Camden, where, like many others of this town, he acquired a knowledge that has been useful to him in his life as a farmer and lumberman. Mr. Curtis married Ella, daughter of Gaston Comstock, of the town of Florence, by whom had two children, Flora and Maud. In politics Mr. Curtis is a Republican. (p. 7) [Top]

CURTISS, HEMAN, was born in the town of Camden, February 18, 1859, son of the late Linus Curtiss, who was born in this town April 16, 1818, where he engaged in farming in connection with the saw mill business, which he followed up to the time of his death, which occurred October 29, 1891. He married Nancy B. Upson, January 12, 1848, by whom he had six children, Ibri, who died in childhood), Lyman W., Angeline E., Heman D., Hiram L, and Addie M. The death of Nancy B. Curtiss occurred April 9, 1895. Heman Curtiss now owns the mill which was built by his father, and is also engaged in farming and lumbering, owning a farm of 242 acres, including a portion of woodland. He married Lizzie M., daughter of O. C. Woods, of Camden, by whom he has two children, Ralph W. and Louse B. Mr. Curtiss is a member of Camden Grange, and in politics is a Republican. (p. 6) [Top]

CURTISS, HIRAM L., was born in the town of Camden, February 18, 1859, a twin son of Linus Curtiss (mentioned elsewhere). Hiram L. has been a man of health and vigor, always pushing ahead in life, and was educated in the district schools, where he built a foundation for a useful man and a successful farmer. He married Ida E., daughter of Charles F. and Hannah M. Green, of Florence, and granddaughter of Asa Kelsey, the oldest resident in that town, he now being ninety-five years of age. Mr. and Mrs. Curtiss were the parents of four children: Olive M., deceased, Leila E., Christine M., and Ward L. Mr. Curtiss and wife are members of the Camden Grange, N. 854, P. of H., also of the Congregational church of West Camden. (p. 49) [Top]

CUSHMAN, JOSEPH B., was born in the town of Verona, N.Y., in 1838, and has spent the greater part of his life near Vernon village. His father, Morris Cushman, was a native of the town of Kirkland, born in 1809. His ancestors had a distinct line of descent from Robert Cushman, who came to this country on the Mayflower. Morris Cushman was a prominent farmer in Vernon, and died in Vernon January 10, 1895. He married Janette Loomis, who was born in Vernon in 1810, and died in 1867. After finishing his schooling at the Vernon Academy at thirteen years of age Joseph B. Cushman engaged as clerk in a shoe store in Utica, where he remained until 1862, when he gave his services to the government as a soldier in the army, raising a company which was a part of the old 146th Infantry known as the Fifth Oneida. He served as captain until 1864, when he was discharged. Upon returning home Mr. Cushman purchased a farm, where he still remains. He is a Democrat in politics, and has represented his town two terms in the Board of Supervisors, and was clerk of the board one year; he has also been a candidate for member of assembly. He is a prominent member of the G. A. R. In 1868 Mr. Cushman married Caroline A. Frisbie, of Vernon, by whom he had two children: Lavonne J., now a teacher at New Rochelle, N. Y.; and Morris F., a farmer in Vernon. Since 1882 Mr. Cushman has been secretary of the Oneida County Agricultural Society. (p. 160) [Top]