MAC FARLAND, MRS. L. W., is a descendant of one of the oldest and most prominent families of New Hartford. Her father, Hon. Samuel Hicks, came here in 1807 from East Hampton, L. I. He was the son of Captain Zacheriah Hicks and Rebecca Conkling-Sherrill, and was born at East Hampton October 7, 1783. Coming to this place at the age of twenty-one, he became the business manager of the New Hartford Cotton Manufacturing Company. Resigning this position in 1837, he devoted his attention to real estate and other business interests. In politics he was an "Old time Whig," and in 1824 was one of the presidential electors for John Quincy Adams. February 18, 1818, he married Lucinda, Huntington, of Walpole, N. H., one of whose ancestors was appointed by Washington major of the first troops that left Connecticut at the beginning of the Revolution. Another ancestor was one of the four officers who originated the Society of The Cincinnati, and another, Samuel Huntington, was the twelfth signer of the Declaration of Independence, and president of the Continental Congress after Hancock resigned. She was also descended from the same ancestor as General Ulysses S. Grant. She died October 8, 1820, leaving two children. The youngest, Lucinda Huntington Hicks, married Luther Wheelock MacFarland of North Adams, Mass., and resides in the old mansion built by her father in 1826. Mrs. MacFarland's reminiscences of old New Hartford, of the cultured society, and of the men and women, who, going from here, have become prominent in the country, are delightful to listen to. (p. 236-237) [Top]

MAC GARRITY, JAMES H., born in Ogdensburg, N. Y., September 6, 1862, was educated and for several years clerked in shoe and dry goods stores in his native city. In 1880 he became the city ticket agent for the R., W. & 0. and Utica & Black River Railroads, and about 1881 went to Watertown to accept a position in the general offices of these companies, which at that time pooled their passenger business. In October, 1883, he came to Utica as a clerk for the West Shore Railroad and later held a similar post in the New York Central office. Upon the consolidation of these lines on May 1, 1887, he became the Utica city passenger agent for the D. L. & W. Railroad Company, which position he still holds. He is a prominent member of the Arcanum Club. (p. 357) [Top]

MACK, JONATHAN, was born in Ireland, June 9, 1812. He came to the United States in 1850, settled in the town of Annsville, where he has since resided, and through his own energy and push has acquired quite an amount of property, and is the owner of 230 acres, mostly all improved. He married Mary Shaw, of Ireland, by whom he had six children who grew to maturity: Robert, Jacob, David, Isaac, Mary and Jennie. Mr. Mack is a member of the M. E. Church, a respected citizen, and an indulgent husband and father. In politics he is a Republican. (p. 17) [Top]

MACKIE, WILLIAM S., was born in New York Mills, N.Y., April 7, 1859, son of William and Marie Mackie. William Mackie came from Scotland to New York Mills in 1852, where he was postmaster for eleven years. He was a merchant of New York Mills, and also conducted a large boarding house. He took a lively interest in politics, and was a staunch Republican. He died May 24, 1895. William S. Mackie was educated in the Whitestown Seminary, after which he read law in the office of S.M. Lindsley, of Utica, and after being admitted to the bar became associated with Mr. Lindsley, and is engaged in the general practice of the profession. He has been justice of the peace in the township of Whitestown for twelve years, and has been school trustee for fifteen years. He married Charlotte C. Cummings, of New York Mills, by whom he has six children: Edith, Mary, Grace, Helen, J. William, and Lottie. (p. 325) [Top]

MACOMBER, JAY, was born in Western, March 28; 1848, son of Theophilus W. and Sarah A. (Bugbee) Macomber, both natives of Oneida county. His paternal grandfather, Abner Macomber, formerly of Dutchess county, N. Y., was among the pioneers of Western, settling on Quaker Hill, where he cleared and improved a farm. In later life he removed to Tug Hill, Lewis county, where he died. Theophilus Macomber, father of Jay, was born in Western, August 12, 1815. He is a cooper by trade, and has also worked as a sawyer and carpenter, but has lived a retired life since 1890. His children were Calista (Mrs. Martin Van Buskirk), Nelson, Jay, Dick, and Sarah C. (Mrs. Horace Gillett). Jay Macomber was reared in Western, where, with the exception of ten years that he spent in Lee, he has always resided. For nineteen years he was engaged in cheesemaking, was manager of factories in Lee, Western, and Steuben, and since 1893 has been engaged in farming. In 1880 he married Elma, daughter of Jerome V. and Clarissa (Keech) Gue, of Western, by whom he has two children: Fred J. and Clara B. Mr. Macomber is a member of Baron Steuben Lodge, F. & A.M., No. 264, Fort Stanwix Chapter, No. 153, R. A. M., Lee Center Council, No. 1225, R. A. In politics he is a Democrat. (p. 92)[Top]

MAGILL, DAVID B., was born in Ireland, May 26, 1836, son of James and Elizabeth Magill. David B. came to the United States in 1844, and was educated in the public school of New York Mills, and then engaged in work in the mills. He learned the trade of machinist, which he followed until he volunteered in the late Civil war, going to the front with the 117th N.Y. Vols. He was in all the engagements in which his regiment participated up to the battle of Fort Fisher, where he was badly wounded, losing a leg in that battle. Soon after this the war closed and he was mustered out. When Mr. Magill volunteered in 1862 he was commissioned second lieutenant of Co. D; in 1863 he was promoted to the first lieutenancy of the same company; and was made captain of Co. A in 1864; and then promoted brevet major by the secretary of war in 1865, for meritorious services at Fort Fisher; and also brevetted major by Governor Fenton of New York. (p. 148) [Top]

MAHER BROTHERS.--The six brothers who comprise this enterprising firm are a part of Oneida county, interested in its progress, alive to all its interests, and active in every movement projected for its material advancement. All are natives of Carlow, Ireland--the senior partner, John L. Maher, being born December 1, 1856; William, September 21, 1860; James P., December 31, 1862; Thomas J., June 5, 1865; Edward J., October 20, 1868; and Laurence P., September 29, 1869. The death of a respected father in 1870 left eight small children, among whom were two daughters, one being Sister Mary Laurence, now of the Convent of Mercy, Greenbush, N. Y., the other the wife of Dr. H. E. Brown, of Utica. This presented a difficult task to a devoted mother with moderate means. After a short business training in Dublin John L., in 1874, came to America, where his uncle, the late Edward Maher, well and favorably known to the older residents of Utica, was engaged in the clothing trade. Securing ready employment he steadily forged ahead, and in 1880 formed a copartnership with his uncle under the firm name of E. Maher & Co. In 1878 James P. joined his brother and on the death of their mother in 1881 all the remaining children came to Utica. Soon after the death of Edward Maher in 1866 the six brothers established the present firm of Maher Brothers, first at 44 Genesee street and in 1893 at 56 and 57 Franklin square. Here they have one of the largest and finest clothing establishments between New York and Buffalo, occupying four stories, or an area of more than 20,000 square feet. Their business has grown to very large proportions and covers several branches, including those of manufacturing and jobbing. Other stores are being established by the firm in adjacent cities, leaving the one in Utica as a center. Their business has been conducted from the first along those honorable and progressive lines which insure success and obtain the best practical results, and theirs is to-day one of the representative institutions of the county. But it is as public spirited and enterprising citizens that each member of the firm has acquired a reptuation [sic] that is as commendable as it is permanent. Imbued with a laudable patriotism for their adopted country they have on several occasions exemplified that spirit, which is dear to the hearts of native-born Americans. Their effort during the recent State encampment of the G. A. R. was noteworthy, and the Utica Daily Herald of May 19, 1896, said: "Probably the finest collection of relics of the war for the Union and the war for Independence ever displayed in this city is that arranged by Maher Brothers at their clothing establishment in Franklin Square. The firm is famous for its patriotic spirit and always takes advantage of opportunities to prepare for the people valuable displays on occasions like the encampment. The present exhibition is the best ever prepared by the firm and should be noticed by everyone of the thousands who will fill Utica to overflowing to-day." The same day the Observer said: "To the thoughtfulness of Maher Brothers is due the credit for the collection and display of the rarest and most interesting relics of the late Rebellion and of Colonial days ever seen in this part of the State." The Press said: "It is a far larger and better display, in historic value, than the one heretofore made by the same firm. The decorations on the outside of the store are the handsomest in the city." Space will not permit of mention of the numerous historic articles collected and displayed on this and other occasions, but suffice it to say that most of them have a local value and an absorbing interest. Two uncles of the Maher Brothers were in the Union army during the Civil war, one being killed in battle, the other dying of fever contracted in service. Five of the brothers are married and have families, and all enjoy eminent distinction as representative and enterprising citizens. (p. 361-362) [Top]

MAINE, AUGUST, was born June 20, 1848, in Hannover, Germany, and came to America in 1864 settling first in Baltimore, Md., where he remained three years, being for a time assistant in the Annapolis Army Hospital during the latter part of the Civil war where he obtained his first experience in medicine and surgery. In 1867 after letters patent had been granted to H. and F. Marx, his uncles, for the manufacturing of wood pulp, he associated himself with them, and became their representative in various parts of the country, finally settling in Utica in 1871. Here he engaged in the book business which he successfully continued for about five years. He then read medicine under the late Dr. Joseph D. Kellner, and continued five years longer with the late firm of Dr. W. Sawens & Co., druggists, and after examination started a drug store in Ilion, N.Y., but four years later returned to Utica and started a drug store on Columbia Square, West Utica, which he has since continued. He is a member of Utica Lodge No. 47, F. & A. M., the American and New York State Pharmaceutical Association, the Utica Maennerchor, the German Sick Aid Society, the German Order of Harugarri, the Utica German Rifles and other organizations. In 1875 he married Anna, daughter of the late Joseph D. Kellner of Utica. (p. 229-230) [Top]

MALLORY, A. P., was born in the town of New Hartford, N. Y., in 1826, as was also his father, Samuel Mallory, who was born in 1800. The latter died in 1872, after a long and useful life in which he was engaged in farming. The grandfather came from Connecticut in the latter part of the last century. Mr. A. P. Mallory has been instrumental in opening and developing an extensive quarry of building stone, for which he finds ready market in and about Utica. He is a Republican and has served his party as commissioner of highways. In 1859 he married Margaret Griffith of Welsh parentage, by whom he has four children: James D.; Mary, wife of F. B. Severance, a Methodist Episcopal minister; Howard A.; and Susan, wife of James Davis, of Washington Mills. (p. 232-233) [Top]

MALOY, JOHN F., son of Bernard and Mary (Kelley) Maloy, natives of County Fermanagh, Ireland, was born in Utica, August 9, 1854. His father, who for about forty years was gardener for Lewis H. Lawrence, died here March 4, 1891. He was educated in the Christian Brothers Academy, and became a clerk for H. J. Holbrook & Co., wholesale manufactures of ladies' shoes, remaining with them twelve years, or until they went out of business. He then engaged in the grocery trade for two years, and in 1884 started his present restaurant. He is a member of the knights of Honor and president of the Liquor Dealers' Association of Utica. October 27, 1881, he married Sarah J., daughter of William O'Reilly, of Utica, and their children are Leonard, William, John, Francis, Thomas and Anna. (p. 349) [Top]

MANAHAN, RICHARD J., was born in the town of Paris in 1860, son of Richard Manahan, a native of Ireland, one of two sons and four daughters born to Edward Manahan, who was a farmer in Ireland and came to the United States, bringing his family with him, and settled in Utica. He died in 1873, aged ninety-nine years. Richard Manahan, father of Richard J., was a farmer, and lived for a time in Paris, but in 1865 removed to Forestport, where he engaged in farming, and died in 1889, aged seventy-six years. He married Mary Brennan, of Ireland, by whom he had these children: Mary, Simon, Edward, Thomas, Julia, and Richard J. Mrs. Manahan died in 1862. When thirteen years of age Richard J. began working out in Utica, but two years later returned to Forestport and engaged in working in the woods winters and rafting ship timbers and spiles down the canal to Troy summers, which he followed until 1891, when he erected his present hotel (Nehasane House), which he very ably conducts and where many sportsmen make their headquarters; he also conducts a livery, grocery and feed store. In politics he is a Democrat, and is now serving his second term as highway commissioner. In 1882 he married Ida Christian, who was born in Utica, daughter of James Christian, by whom he has two children: Estella and Winifred. (p. 208-209) [Top]

MANSBACH, SIMON, was born in Hesse Castle, Germany, August 21, 1841, received his education in the National school and learned the trade of butcher in his native country, and came to America in 1859. After following his trade in New York city eight months and traveling one year he learned the cigarmakers' trade, but on account of ill health gave it up and engaged as traveling salesman for L. Goldsmith, a wholesale miller of Oneonta, Otsego county, living in Unadilla. About 1862, the latter's brother. Simon Goldsmith, opened a millinery store in Utica and Mr. Mansbach was his traveling salesman for seven years. In April, 1870, he established his present wholesale and retail millinery business, the oldest in the city, being located on the corner of Fayette and Washington streets since 1873. He has long been a trustee and was formerly vice-president of the Utica Maennechor. is a member of Friendship Lodge, No. 551, order of Harrigari, and a member of St. Regis Tribe I. O. of R. M., and the German Reading Society. In 1873 he married Regina, daughter of Mandell Goldsmith, a native of Hesse Castle, Germany. She died October 28, 1892, leaving three daughters: Jannette (Mrs. Leopold Goldsmith), of Oneonta, Otsego county; Minnie (Mrs. Hyman Wineburg), of Utica; and Anna (Mrs. Charles H. Livingston), of Utica. (p. 189) [Top]

MARSDEN, DR. WILLIAM ROBB, was born June 30, 1853, in Sauquoit, Oneida county, and is a son of Thomas Briggs Marsden, and Jenette Robb. She was born in Glasgow, Scotland, and is living in Utica. Thomas B. Marsden was born in Darwin, England, in 1824, came to Oneida county, in 1839 with his father, John, and followed farming here, though he was a paper maker by trade. He was drowned accidentally October 3, in the town of Darling, Ontario, Canada. Dr. Marsden was educated in the public schools of Utica and had eight years private tutelage in Meriden, Conn., and in Utica. He began reading medicine in this city in February 1877, with Doctors Daniel D. and P.H. Thomas, and was graduated from the medical department of the University of the City of New York in 1881. In the spring of 1883 he pursued special studies at that institution and the same year, after a tour of the west, began practice in Meriden, Conn. In 1886 he removed to Utica where he has since followed his profession. While in Meriden he was a member of the New Haven Company, the Connecticut State, and the Meriden Medical societies. He is a member of the Oneida County Medical Society, the Utica Medical Library Association, the Utica Medical Club, and the Sons of St. George. He has been for the past three years ward physician of the second ward. (p. 342) [Top]

MARSH, JOHN. James Marsh was born in Canterbury, County Kent, England, September 15, 1834. In 1855 he married Elizabeth Harvey, and the same year sailed for America, and located in Verona, remaining there four years, when he removed to the Ridge, town of Rome, where he rented a farm and manufactured cheese for about two years, and later spent five years at Lee Center and the Ridge. In 1866 he purchased the farm of eighty acres in Lee, which is now owned by his son John, on which he made many improvements, including the erection of all the present buildings, and subsequently purchased two other farms in Lee, on which he made extensive improvements in clearing, fencing, and buildings. Mr. Marsh was a thrifty and enterprising farmer. His children were Thomas and John, both prominent farmers in Lee. In politics Mr. Marsh was a Democrat. He died April 22, 1891. (p. 171) [Top]

MARSH, LYMAN, was born in Salisbury, N. Y., August 25, 1812, son of Abram and Mary (Bleekman) Marsh; he a native of Hoosac, and she of Massachusetts. John Marsh, father of Abram, came from the east and was an early settler of Salisbury, where he owned a large farm, and died at the age of ninety-four years. Abram Marsh was captain in 1812, at Sackett’s Harbor, and he spent his life on the homestead farm. He was a member of Salisbury Lodge, F. & A. M., and was supervisor of his town for several terms. Lyman Marsh was reared on the farm, and his principal occupation has been farming. He came to Deerfield in 1845, where he has since been engaged in farming. In 1837, he married Achsa, daughter of Jacob and Lucy (Smith) Munson. Mr. Munson was a native of Wallingford, Conn., and Mrs. Munson of Littleton, N. H. The grandparents, Joseph and Elizabeth (Hart) Munson, came to Salisbury in 1792. Jacob Munson died in 1847, aged seventy-one years, and Mrs. Munson died in 1827, at the age of forty-five years. Mr. and Mrs. Marsh have one child: Emma, who was born August 29, 1839, married to Rev. John R. Lewis of the Presbyterian church; their grandson, John H., born January 3, 1865; he is completing his musical education at Cincinnati. Mr. Marsh has been assessor several years. (p. 17) [Top]

MARSH, THOMAS, was born in the town of Rome, Oneida county, October 20, 1861, son of James and Elizabeth (Harvey) Marsh, natives of Canterbury, England, who settled in the county in 1855. He was reared to manhood in the town of Lee, educated in the common schools, is a farmer by occupation, and has lived on the farm where he now resides since 1889, though owning a farm of 141 acres near the old homestead. December 25, 1883 he married Carrie D., daughter of Joseph and Elizabeth (Fillmore) Golly, by whom he had three children: two daughters, Lillie, and Ethel, also a son Earl T., who died February 3, 1894. Mr. Marsh is one of the representative farmers of Lee, a member of the M. E. Church, a member of P. of H and politically is a Democrat. (p. 37) [Top]

MARSHALL, CHARLES L., was born in the town of Paris, April 21, 1853, son of Charles Leander and Caroline (Mould) Marshall, and whose ancestors came from Connecticut. He learned the trade of carpenter, and since 1876 has been superintendent of the outside work (buildings and repairs) for the Empire Woolen Co. at Clayville, a position his father held before him. Mr. Marshall is one of the most prominent men in the town of Paris, and at present supervisor of the town, a position he has held since 1891. He is a member of the Blue Lodge, chapter and commandery, and of the shrine. He is also past master of Sauquoit Lodge No. 150. In 1879 he married Helen S. Bishop. He has been treasurer of the Sauquoit Valley Cemetery Association since 1882. (p. 136) [Top]

MARSHALL, ELMIRON C., was born in Kirkland. Oneida county, August 9, 1847, son of Townsend and Elmira (Cornstock) Marshall. Townsend Marshall was born in Perryville, Madison county, N. Y. He was a blacksmith by trade, which business he conducted as long as his health permitted. He moved from Madison county to Kirkland, where he died in 1892, aged eighty-three years. Mrs. Marshall died August 12, 1847. Elmiron C. was educated at the district schools of Kirkland, and when twenty-one years of age he went to Iowa, then returned to Kirkland, where he remained eleven years, and from there he moved to Westmoreland where he has been for the last eleven rears engaged in farming and building. He married Virginia Poston, by whom he had eleven children: Albert E., Burton E., Carrie A., Flora B., Wesley A., Leslie A., Kittle M., Harriet, Elmer, Royal L., and George H. (p. 293) [Top]

MARSON, EDWARD M., was born in the town of Vernon, N. Y., April 15, 1866, son of William Marson, who was a son of Edward T. Marson. William Marson married Laurie L. McNeil, daughter of Miller McNeil, who was born on the farm where he now resides in 1800, by whom he had two children: Edward M., our subject, and L. Rowena who died August 25, 1895, wife of Isaac N. Robert of Utica. William Marson was always interested in the affairs of his town and county, being supervisor of the town of Marcy in 1879 and of the town of Verona in 1870-71. Edward M. Marson was town clerk for two years. He married Ellen Nettie, daughter of David C. Roberts, by whom he has three children: William D., Ruth E., and Homer. (p. 169) [Top]

MARTIN, ASA F., was born January 14, 1861, in Whitesboro, Oneida county, where his father, Martin Fitch Martin, still resides. The latter came there from Salem, Washington county, about 1850; and for several years was a proprietor of a stage line between Utica and Whitesboro and Westmoreland, and later had a livery stable. Mr. Martin was educated in the public schools and seminary of his native village and in Utica, engaged in the livery business with his father, under the firm name of M. F. Martin & Son, from 1888 to 1892, and in the latter year came to Utica and purchased of his uncle, Pliny F. Martin, the Mansion Stables in Fayette street. P. F. Martin built this establishment about 1877. In October, 1881, Asa F. Martin married Sarah, daughter of James H. Peek, of New York Mills. (p. 222-223) [Top]

MARTIN, CHESTER H., was born in Vienna, Oneida county, in 1859. His father, Stephen J. Martin, was a carpenter and builder, following that occupation through life. He was also born in the town of Vienna, his parents having settled there in the early history of the county. The Martin ancestors came from England at the beginning of this century. He married Phoebette Gager, a native of Oneonta, N. Y., who died in 1865, and Mr. Martin is still living in Oneida county. After attending school in Vienna Chester H. Martin made a three years' tour through the western part of the country, visiting nearly all of the States. Upon his return he went to Nashville, Tenn., where he engaged in carpentry and building for ten years. In 1890 he returned to Oneida county, settling in Oneida Castle, and built a handsome block, the first floor of which he occupies with a general store. He is a Republican in politics, and a member of the Odd Fellows. He married Anna Gager, a native of Vienna, who was born in 1862, and by whom he has four children: Lucile M., Etta O., Earnest A. and Stephen J. (p. 233) [Top]

MARTIN, LEANDER, was born in Ephratah, N. Y., August 24, 1836, and came to Stittville in 1855. He was educated in Holland Patent, and learned the currier's trade. Mr. Martin volunteered in the late Civil war, and went to the front with the 146th Regt. N. Y. Vols., serving until mustered out by the close of the war, and was in the battles of Cold Harbor, Petersburg, Weldon R. R., Five Forks, Chapel House, White Oak Road, and Appomattox. Mr. Martin was promoted to sergeant and also was brevetted lieutenant, and, although taking part in some of the fiercest battles of the war, had the rare good fortune of escaping without a wound. After the war Mr. Martin bought his present farm. Mr. Martin has made many improvements, and one that is worthy of note is a strikingly handsome barn, hardly equaled on any farm in the county. Mr. Martin married for his first wife Sarah E. Wiser, by whom he has one son, Fred L. Mrs. Martin died February 27, 1892, and Mr. Martin married for his second wife Mrs. Elizabeth Egert. Mr. Martin is a member of Hampton Lodge, No. 347, F. & A. M., also G. A. R. Post, No. 47. (p. 80) [Top]

MARTIN, LOUIS M., attorney at law, Clinton, N.Y., was born in Madison, Madison county. N.Y., November 25, 1863, and up to the time he was twenty years of age he worked on the farm for his parents and as a farm laborer for the various farmers in towns of Madison and Hamilton in said county, attending school winters. In the year 1880 he graduated from the Hamilton Union School and Academy, and in 1885 he graduated from the Clinton Grammar School, Clinton, Oneida county, N.Y. In 1886 he took up a permanent residence in Clinton, N.Y., and began the study of law in the office of Charles R. Carruth; after one year's experience in the office he accepted the position of teacher in the Franklin School, where he taught for two years, continuing his law studies at odd times. In 1888 he was elected justice of the peace of the town of Kirkland, and in 1889 became the principal of the Clinton Public School, where he remained for one and one-half years. In 1889 he married Miss Louise Foucher, of New York city. After being admitted as a lawyer he began the practice of law in Clinton, the 1st day of February, 1890, and is still engaged in practice there, and conducts, with the law business, and insurance agency. He still retains the office of justice of the peace, and is one of the members of the Board of Education of the Clinton Union School and Academy. His father's name is Marshalo Martin; mother's maiden name was Lizzie Hankins, all of English ancestry. (p. 139) [Top]

MARTIN, M.F., was born in Salem, Washington county, son of Adam and Elmira (Fitch) Martin. Mr. Martin has been connected with the postal service, and has also been connected with a mercantile business in New York, and was proprietor of the stage line running from Hecla to Utica. He sold out that line and went to Utica, where he was engaged in the livery business for over thirty years. Mr. Martin retired from business in 1889 and is now living in Whitesboro. He married Irene Parks, by whom he has two children: Asa F. and Pliny F. Asa F. is engaged in business for himself in Utica, and Pliny F. is engaged in the flour, feed and grain business in Whitesboro. (p. 318) [Top]

MARTIN, NOBLE F., son of Jireh, a native of Massachusetts, was born in Stittville Oneida county, February 17, 1847, and received a public school education in his native town. His father, a contractor, moved into Stittville about 1845, and died there in 1890. At the age of twenty-one Mr. Martin entered the employ of R. V. Yates & Son, of Utica, with whom he remained nine years. March 12, 1878, he established himself in the clothing business at 32 Genesee street, having as a partner Henry T. Miller. September 19, 1881, the firm of Martin & Miller moved to the corner of Genesee and Broad streets, and on April 7, 1888, Mr. Martin purchased his partner's interest and since then has been sole proprietor of one of the leading retail clothing establishments in Utica. He is a member of Utica Lodge, No. 47, F. & A. M., Oneida Chapter, No. 57, R. A. M., Utica Commandery, No. 3, K. T., Ziyara Temple Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, and New York City Consistory, 32d degree. He is past commander of the commandery, and for the past seven years has been treasurer of the shrine. (p. 187-188) [Top]

MARTIN, PLINY F., was born in Salem, Washington county, September 4, 1822, son of Adam and Almira (Fitch) Martin. The family originally came from Connecticut, and Adam Martin was engaged in the harness manufacturing business. He died in June, 1826, and his wife, Almira F., died in Whitesboro in August, 1875. Pliny F. Martin has always been engaged in the hotel business, and from which he retired in 1892. He married Sarah A. Baker, by whom he has one child, Abbie Martin. Mr. Martin is now married to his second wife, Delia Fitch, by whom he has two children: Katherine and James. Mr. Martin has retired to Whitesboro, where he has one of the best located farms in the county; and he is enjoying the rest to which his long, active and successful business career entitles him. (p. 117-118) [Top]

MARVIN, W. TYLER, was born July 2, 1842, son of Alonzo and Mary (Beach) Marvin. He engaged in farming until twenty years of age, when he engaged in the stone business, and followed it until 1892. He laid nearly all of the stone walks and curbing in Waterville, and did the cut work on the Candee block, and on the crematory. In 1862 he enlisted in Co. E. 114th N.Y. Vols., and served until the end of the war, being honorably discharged June 8, 1865. He served with the Army of the Gulf two years, in the Shenandoah Valley, Port Hudson, etc. He is a member of the G.A.R., and has been secretary of the organization. In 1861 he married Lucretia Baldwin, by whom he has one son, Dallas Marvin, who is manager of Irwin's general store. Mr. Marvin has conducted a splendid livery business for the past seven years. (p. 316) [Top]

MASON, C.B., was born in Madison county, N.Y., March 29, 1837, and remained there until he was fourteen years of age, when his father moved to Vernon, and after remaining there a short time, came to Sangerfield. In 1860 Mr. Mason married Emily, daughter of Wanton and Betsey (Croft) Gorton. The Gorton family has been in New York for over a century. Mr. Mason is one of the most extensive and most successful farmers of Oneida county. For the history of the ancestry of C.B. Mason, see article on John C. Mason. (p. 313) [Top]

MASON, GEORGE C., was born March 30, 1845, in Norwich, Chenango county, and is a son of Hon. William N. Mason, a prominent lawyer, and United States commissioner, special county judge, etc. He was educated in the Norwich common schools and academy, and first learned the printers trade, which he followed about three years in the Chenango Union office in Norwich. He then went west and entered the employ of James S. Waterman, a prominent banker and dealer in real estate in Sycamore, ILL., with whom he remained about three years. Returning to Norwich he soon accepted a position with Walter M. Conkey, the first treasurer of the Midland Railroad, and about three years later engaged in mercantile business in Norwich, continuing till 1874. He then sold out, came to Utica and entered the employ of Owen, Pixley & Co., wholesale clothing manufacturers, and has been with Mr. Pixley in the same capacity ever since, being at present his bookkeeper. Mr. Mason was one of the organizers and is secretary and treasurer of the Kirkland Canning Company, and is a member of Faxton Lodge No. 697, F & A. M., and its master at the time of the laying of the corner stone and dedication of the Masonic Home. He is a member of Oneida Chapter, R.A.M., and of Fort Schuyler Council, R.A., and is a president of the Arcanum Club of Utica. He was married June 26, 1872, to Josephine Bliven, of Norwich, and they have one son, Charles B., a graduate of Cornell University, class of 1894. He won the scholarship in the post-graduate course in 1895, and was a prominent athlete, winning the welter weight prize in boxing, and being a member of the Varsity football team in 1894-95, playing in all the noted games of that year. He was also a member of the Glee Club that went to England in 1895, and is now a law student with Van Auken & Pitcher in Utica. (p. 349) [Top]

MASON, HARRY, was born in Huntingdonshire, England, in 1839, where he spent his earlier boyhood days, and at the age of fourteen he went to London, where he engaged in the care of horses. After five years in this line of employment, he enlisted in the army, which soon took him to East India, and later to many countries of the world. After being quartered in India eight years, he returned to Colchester and remained three or four years at the various army quarters, and finally in 1868 he purchased of the government a discharge from its service. He then spent a year in Ireland, and in the following year came to America, and connected himself with the Oneida Community Laundry for a period of eleven years, and three years farming, and for the past ten years has been herdsman. His father, Henry Mason, was born in 1801, and died in 1894; and his mother, Elizabeth (Thurburn) Mason, born in 1803, is still living. In 1870 he married Mary Rowe, a native of Cornwall, England, by whom he has four children. (P. 239) [Top]

MASON, JOHN C., was born in Madison county, December 4, 1839, son of Edward A. Mason, one of seven brothers, who settled in Madison county. His grandfather, David Mason, came from Connecticut. John C. Mason came to Waterville when thirteen years of age, where he has resided ever since. He is engaged in farming, in which he has been very successful. He is an able financier and thorough business man, and personally looks after the details of his large interests. In 1864 he married Emma M. Jones, of Otsego county, by whom he has three children: William E., Mrs. B.G. Laawrence and Eva. (p. 313) [Top]

MASON, MORRIS, was born in Vernon, N.Y., July 17, 1852, son of Edward Mason. In 1872 he married Margaret Foster, by whom he has four children: Edward, Frank, Harold and Maud. Mr. Mason is engaged in farming and dealing in stock, and is one of the leading farmers of the county. (p. 316) [Top]

MATHER, CHARLES W., son of Westley and Julia Ann (Keyser) Mather, and grandson of Joshua Mather, was born in the town of New Hartford, Oneida county, May 1, 1852. The family descends from Rev. Richard Mather, father of Dr. Increase Mather, one of the early presidents of Harvard College. Rev. Richard came from Lewton, Winwick parish, England, and settled in Boston, Mass., in 1635. Among his descendants were Cotton and Dr. Samuel Mather. Asaph Mather, of the fifth generation, was born in East Lynn, Conn., in 1753, and finally settled in 1792 at Schuyler, Herkimer county, where his son, Joshua, grew to manhood. The latter in 1810 married Cornelia, daughter of Rev. Joseph Willis, and their children were Lucinda, Wesley, Asaph D. and Joshua, jr. Joshua Mather, jr., came to Utica in 1847 and engaged in the grocery business with Asaph D. In 1866 the firm of A.D. Mather & Co. founded the present bank of that name. A.D. died in April, 1880, and Joshua associated with himself his nephew, Charles W. Mather, and in November, 1890, the business was incorporated under the name of A.D. Mather & Co.'s Bank, with a capital of $200,000, and with Joshua Mather as president. He was also president of the Utica Belt Line Street Railroad Company. He died August 18, 1893. Wesley Mather was born January 19, 1819, came to New Hartford in 1847, and died there September 15, 1892. His wife died in 1855. Their children were Albert, and Lucinda (Mrs. Joseph D. Monroe), who reside on the homestead; Warren, of New Hartford; and Sarah J. (Mrs. J.F. Turner) and Charles W., of Utica. Charles W. Mather finished his education at the private school of John Williams. In 1871 he became a clerk in the banking house of A.D. Mather & Co., and rose to the post of teller. In 1880 he became a partner and in 1890 vice-president. On the death of his uncle in 1893 he was elected president. He has been a director and the treasurer of the Utica Belt Line Street Railroad Company since its organization in 1886. He is a member of Faxton Lodge, No. 697, F. & A.M., Oneida Chapter R.A.M., Utica Commandery, No. 3, K.T., and Ziyara Temple Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, and a charter member of the Masonic Club. August 7, 1873, he married Ida F., daughter of David J. Crane (a member of the editorial staff of the New York Tribune, at the time of his death). Their children are Cornelia F., William, Maud, Ida A., Katherine A., and Richard. (p. 374-375) [Top]

MATTHEWS, JOSEPH, was born in Montreal, Canada, and came to the United States at the age of seven years. He has lived in Waterville for twenty-three years, and has been very successful in all of his undertakings. He married Louisa, daughter of Jeremiah Knapp, by whom he has one daughter, Frances. He learned the trade of a shoemaker in Carthage, N.Y., and followed it for many years, after which he engaged in the liquor business. Mr. Matthews is one of the substantial men of Waterville. (p. 316-317) [Top]

MAURER, DEABOLD, was born in Alsace, France, now Germany, of German ancestry, May 30, 1832, and was educated in the French and German schools of his native country. He was reared on a farm, his parents, Michael and Dora Maurer, being farmers there. In 1852 he came to America and settled first in New London, Oneida county, N.Y., where he remained one year on a farm. He then traveled in the Southern and Western States, engaging in such employment as his tastes and the circumstances permitted. In 1854 he started for California, but was taken ill en route and stopped at Boonville, Mo., where he remained about five years, being employed by an express company there. In 1859 he joined an expedition to Pike's Peak and engaged in mining, but not meeting with success he cut a quantity of hay in one of the fertile valleys of Colorado, and sold it for $1 a pound to the mountaineers. Later he bought and shipped general merchandise from the States to the miners of Colorado, which proved quite profitable. He also sold goods among the mining camps of Montana, transporting them 1,6000 miles across the plains with ox-teams, and frequently encountering Indians, wild animals, and other adventures common to those pioneer days. He continued this business successfully until 1866, when he removed to Syracuse, N.Y. In New London he carried on a general mercantile business for twenty-seven years, and during that period won the respect and confidence of the entire community. He was an active Democrat, and was a deacon of St. Peter's German Lutheran church of Churchville, near New London, and was also president of that church for several years. He was a member of the school board of New London for twenty-six years, a part of the time being its president. He is a member of New London Lodge, No. 420, F. & A.M., and was for five years its trustee. In April, 1867, he was married at West Lyden, Lewis county, to Harriet Triess, and they have five children: Otto G., of Kansas City, Kan., Theodore D., of Syracuse; Oscar D., of Syracuse; Helen M., of Syracuse; and Minnie M., of Utica. Mrs. Maurer's father, George Triess, was born in Germany, December 11, 1810, came to America in 1835, and located in West Leyden, N.Y. He married Catherine Maurer, a native of Alsace, and has four children living: George, Harriet (Mrs. Deabold Maurer), William and Samuel. (p. 382) [Top]

MAURER, GEORGE H., was born in the town of Verona, N.Y., June 15, 1854. he was educated in the district schools, and has since been engaged in farming. December 15, 1881, he married Caroline Niece, of this town, by whom he had two children: Arthur G., and Esther C. Mr. Maurer's father, George Maurer, was born in Germany in 1823. He was educated there and came to the United States when a young man and located here. He married Salome Esche, formerly of Alsace, Germany, by when [sic] he had seven children, five of whom are living: Amelia, George H., as above, Henry F., William and Jacob. Mr. Maurer died in July, 1885. Mrs. Maurer's father, George Niece, was born in Germany, in 1819. He was educated there and came to the United States when a young man, locating in this town. He married Barbara Clau, formerly of Germany, by whom he had six children: Barbara, George, Eve, Salome, Caroline, as above, and Alice M. Mr. Niece died in 1884. The ancestry of the family is German on both sides. (p. 330) [Top]

MAXFIELD, ROUSE B., son of Rufus G. and Mehitable (Bennett) Maxfield, was born in the town of Ohio, Herkimer county, June 29, 1847, and received his education in the district schools and under the tutelege of his father, who was well versed in the sciences. Oct. 27, 1862, he enlisted in Co. E, 97th N.Y. Vols., joining the same company in which his brother David E. had been fatally wounded at Antietam. He served until his discharge on June 15, 1865, participating in the first and second battles of Fredericksburg, Chancellorsville, and Gettysburg, where he was severely wounded in the right arm and taken prisoner. He lay in the enemy's lines during the second and third days' fight and until they retreated, and then remained with his regiment until the close of the war, being present at Hatcher's Run, Petersburg, Five Forks, and Appomattox. Returning home he resumed his studies for one year and then began teaching district school, which he continued winters until 1875. In 1875-77 he taught the Union school at Taberg, N.Y., where he served as justice of the peace. In 1882 he was clerk of the Board of Supervisors of Oneida county, and in 1883 became a traveling salesman. His old wound broke out at this time and on Dec. 1, 1883, his right arm was amputated, which incapacitated him for two years. In 1885 he was again clerk of the Board of Supervisors and on Jan. 1, 1886, he entered the county clerk's office under M. Jesse Brayton. Here he remained until Jan. 1, 1892, when he became county clerk, having been elected in the preceding November on the Republican ticket. Jan. 1, 1895, he engaged in his present business as pension attorney. He has been a notary public since about 1880, and is a member and past commander of Post Bacon, No. 53, G.A.R., and for several years its quarter-master. He is also a member and past grand of Skenandoa Lodge, No. 95, I.O.O.F., a member and chief patriarch of Tri-Mount Encampment, and a member of Utica Lodge K. of H., Excelsior Council, K.P., Imperial Council R.?A., and the Arcanum Club. He is an enthusiastic sportsman, a great lover of the rod and gun, and a public spirited citizen. Dec. 25, 1875, he married Ella M., daughter of David Moyer, of Taberg, N.Y., and they have had two children: Grace M. and Bessie M. (who died aged seven years.) (p. 374) [Top]

MAXSON, DR. SANDS CARR, son of John C. and Harriet A. (Rogers) Maxson, was born in Preston, Chenango county, August 6, 1848. His parents moved to Utica about 1890 and died here--the mother in August, 1893, and the father October 1, 1894. Dr. Maxson was reared on a farm and received a public school education in his native town. He took a course in Oxford Academy in Chenango county, read medicine with Dr. S. F. McFarland, of Oxford, now of Binghamton, and was graduated as M. D. from the medical department of the University of the City of New York in 1871. He began the practice of medicine in Leonardsville, Madison county, and except three years spent in De Ruyter continued there successfully for fifteen years. In 1884-85 he took a post-graduate course in diseases of the eye and ear in the Post-Graduate School in New York city and afterward remained for two summers and one winter as instructor, practicing also in the hospitals of the city and being clinical assistant in the Manhatten Eye and Ear Hospital and the New York Eye and Ear Infirmary. In 1886 he came to Utica, where he has become prominent as a specialist in the treatment of diseases of the eye and ear. As an oculist and aurist he has been eminently successful. Dr. Maxson is a member of the Oneida County Medical Society and at present its delegate to the New York State Medical Society, and a member and the president of the Utica Medical Library Association, and was a member of the Eighth International Ophthalmological Congress held In Edinburgh, Scotland, in August, 1894. He was a member of the staff of St. Luke's Hospital for four years and since 1891 has served as eve and ear surgeon to St. Elizabeth's Hospital. He is also a member of Faxton Lodge, F. & A. M. In January, 1872, he married Fanny Estella, daughter of William Munger, of Palermo, Oswego county, and their children are Emma P. (who died April 7, 1885, aged thirteen), Hattie Ivaloo, and Ethel Eola. (p. 186) [Top]

MAYER, W. G., was born in Cincinnati, Ohio, and was educated in the public schools of that city, the United States Naval Academy, and the University of Cincinnati, from the law department from which he graduated in 1875. Mr. Mayer was engaged in the practice of law in Cincinnati fourteen years, and came to Waterville in 1889. After graduating as midshipman from the Naval Academy, he spent eight years in naval service, during which time he was twice promoted. In 1880, he married Esther L., daughter of Amos O. Osborn, of Waterville, by whom he has three children: Ada, Rosalie, and Amos. His father, Frederick J. Mayer, was a native of Wurtemburg, Germany, and came to America in 1849. He belonged to the Revolutionary party in Germany, and on that account came to America. He was prominent in politics in Cincinnati; was county commissioner for Hamilton county, Ohio; postmaster of Cincinnati by appointment of President Lincoln; and was a trustee of the Cincinnati Hospital for twenty-five years. He was also county treasurer of Hamilton county for four years. He died in 1882. Mr. Mayer's mother died in 1883. He is president of the Pickwick Club and is a member of the Board of Education, Board of Health and Board of Library Trustees in Waterville. (p. 70) [Top]

MAYHEW, MORTIMER M., son of Merchant and grandson of Robert, was born on the farm where he now resides August 27, 1842. Robert Mayhew and his wife, Mary, came to this country from England in 1796 and settled in the town of New Hartford, N. Y. Here Merchant Mayhew was born. When a young man Merchant moved to the town of Marcy where he married Hannah Haskill by whom he had two children: Melissa M., wife of Thomas W. Carr, and Mortimer M. After his marriage Merchant Mayhew and his wife settled on a farm on the River Road in Marcy where they spent the remainder of their lives, Hannah dying in 1882 and her husband four years later. In 1865 Mortimer Mayhew married Jane C. Fuller, daughter of Austin and Laura Fuller, by whom he had two children: Laura F. and Carolyn H. Laura F. Mayhew was graduated from the Utica Free Academy in 1885. After her graduation she taught school until 1890 when she was elected school commissioner of the first district of Oneida county, being the first woman ever nominated for office in Oneida county. Carolyn H. Mayhew was graduated from the Utica Free Academy in 1890 and subsequently from the classical course of the State Normal College at Albany. She is now a teacher in the public schools of Utica, N. Y. Mortimer Mayhew was elected collector from 1862 to 1863, assessor from 1863 to 1878, and since 1884 he has served his town as supervisor for seven terms. (p. 16) [Top]

MC ARA, WILLIAM F., was born in the county of Stirling, Scotland, October 24, 1854, son of James and Jessie (Ferguson) McAra, James McAra being forester for Lord Abercrombie at Airthrey, receiving his education in the parish schools of Locherbie and Lochenaben, and was apprenticed as gardener at the country seat of Sir William Jardine, of Locherbie, Scotland, whose extensive ranges of glass [sic] were famed for their collection of tropical fruits, flowers and rare plants. Here he remained for five years, removing to Birroughtree Gardens; thence to the country seat of Sir Richard Musgrave, of Eden Hall, Penrith, England; was foreman at Caldwell House, the summer home of Colonel Mure, M.P. for Renfrewshire; was appointed head gardener to Henry Weiss, esq., of Edgbarton, Birmingham, England, and was for four years in a similar capacity with Tipping Lawden at the Uplands, Handsworth, Birmingham; removing to America in 1882, he received the appointment of head gardener to Charlemagne Tower at his country home in Waterville, where he has resided upwards of thirteen years, and is now overseer for Miss Henrietta Page Tower, at her summer home in Waterville. He is a past master of Sanger Lodge No. 129, F. & A.M., and also a past secretary and past high priest of Warren Chapter No. 22, R.A.M., and a past regent of Waterville Council No. 398, Royal Arcanum. (p. 300-301) [Top]

MC BRIDE, THOMAS, was born in Kirkland, July 5, 1850, son of John and Margaret McBride, who were born in Ireland, and came to the United States in 1847, where they engaged in farming in this county. They were the parents of five children: John E., Bridget, Ellen, Catherine and Thomas. The latter was educated in the district schools, and early learned the carpenter trade. He soon became one of Clinton's contractors and builders, erecting the Union school and academy, and many other buildings. About a year and a half ago he started the manufacture of step ladders, fruit baskets and crates, which has developed into one of Clinton's most prosperous enterprises. He married Catherine, daughter of Arthur and Anna O'Neil of New Hartford, Oneida county. (p. 297) [Top]

MC CALL, THOMAS A., was born in Utica, November 25, 1867, and is a son of Francis B. McCall, one of the oldest clothing dealers in the city. He was graduated from the Utica Academy in 1885 and since then has been associated with his father in business. In April, 1888, he became a member of the firm of McCall & Co. (p. 195) [Top]

MC CAMUS, LUCIA C., is a native of Sangerfield, and the only surviving member of the family of Julius Candee. In 1851 she married Mr. McCamus, who died in 1864, and in 1887 she returned to Waterville, and has since resided in the old Candee homestead. Her parents were Julius and Lucia (Osborn) Candee. Julius Candee was born in Connecticut, February 19, 1800, and came to Sangerfield when twenty-one years of age. November, 1826, he married Lucia Osborne, by whom he had four children. He was one of the leading men of his day in Waterville, where he was engaged in business for fifty-one years. He was vice-president of the Waterville Bank for many years, and president for two years. His long life was distinguished for honesty and benevolence, and he was greatly respected by all who knew him. Mr. Candee died July 2, 1880, and his wife in 1887. (p. 316) [Top]

MC CLANATHAN, WILLIAM, was born September 21, 1817, near Lake Champlain, VT, came to Higginsville about 1846, and one year later married Martha Jane, a daughter of John Babbitt, who resided at Fish Creek Landing, and they were the parents of the following children: Caroline Medora Baker, Lester, William Henry, Elmer E., Francis L., Betsey M. Jones, Viola A. Cole, Benjamin f., Eudora, and Ulysses Monroe, of whom the last three are deceased. William followed lumbering, farming, and boating until 1882, since which time until his death in 1887, he engaged only in farming. Lester McClanathan married Gertie E., daughter of Jay C. and Eunice Conger Bailey, and they have one child: Myrtle L. Lester is a carpenter by trade, has followed boating for a number of years, but is now entirely engaged in farming. (p. 18) [Top]

MC CLEMENTS, JAMES, was born October 20, 1843, in the town of Ballykelly, County Down, Ireland; his parents, Grace and Robert McClements, were well to do farmers and had nine children. James, the eighth child, at the age of seventeen came to America where he became a butcher. After working a year at the butcher business he enlisted as a soldier in the 16th N. Y. Vols., Co. H. From exposure while on duty he contracted ailments which resulted in deafness and chronic diseases for which he is now pensioned. After returning from the war he continued the butcher business and also worked in the Globe Woolen mill of Utica as a weaver, and in 1882, commenced farming. In 1871, he married Charlotte Simmons, by whom he had nine children: Robert S., W. J., George, James S., Grace E., George E., Charles S., Albert F., Francis Harvey. Of the nine children, two have died, George and Grace E. McClements. Robert S., W. J., and James S. have attended the Whitesboro and N. Y. Mills schools. James and Robert have attended the Utica graded schools. In 1891, Mr. McClements removed to Marcy where he now resides. He is active in educational and religious works. (p. 60) [Top]

MC CLUSKY, HENRY, was born at Boonville, in 1845, son of John McClusky, who was born in Ireland, and who without capital came to this country and settled in Boonville, N. Y. He succeeded in Clearing a farm of sixty acres, to which from time to time he made many additions. He was a conscientious man, for a long time elder of the Presbyterian church, of which he was one of the founders. His wife, Mary Cummings, was also of Irish birth. Henry McClusky spent his boyhood days on the farm, which is now in his possession. He is of the undertaking establishment of Bateman & McClusky, with which business he has been connected since 1888. After finishing his education at Whitestown Seminary, he engaged in the lumber business at Forestport, thence to Boonville, and entered mercantile business with his brother James, where he remained about ten years, dealing principally in groceries. In political life he is popular, and has held positions of trust and prominence, and was postmaster under Hayes's and Garfield's administrations, also president of village in 1876 and 1877. He is prominent in Masonic circles, was master of Boonville Lodge No. 165, F. & A. M., for three terms, and maintains associations with the church, with which his father was so closely identified. For five years, he has held the responsible office of secretary of the Boonville Fair Association. In 1890, he married Ida Tallcott of this place. (p. 43) [Top]

MC DONALD, WILLIAM, was born in 1859, and is an industrious farmer of his native town, Boonville, where he has resided on a 265 acre farm since the death of his father William McDonald, which occurred in 1878, at sixty-one years of age. William McDonald was of Irish birth, emigrating from County Tipperary when nineteen years old, and with no capital settled in Stillwater, Conn. There he found employment in a foundry, and by strict economy and shrewd business principles, he provided for his family, consisting of a wife and seven children. In 1888 William McDonald, jr., married Julia Hurley, daughter of Cornelius Hurley, of Boonville, by whom he has two children: Mary and Belle. Mr. Hurley belongs to the Democratic party, and is a member of the Roman Catholic church. (p. 205) [Top]

MC ELHINNEY, DANIEL E., was born in Marshall, Oneida County, N. Y., November 24, 1853. His father, William J. McElhinney was born in Ireland and came to this country in 1848, settling in Marshall, N. Y. He died in February 1890, aged seventy-three years. His wife, Margaret, survives him, being now sixty-three years of age. In early life, Daniel E. followed the occupation of farming with his grandfather, the late Daniel Shields, in the town where he was born. He was educated at the common schools of that place and afterwards taught school there and at Sangerfield for four years, engaging during vacation in clerking and canvassing for the sale of books, continuing his clerkship for some time. In 1891, he engaged in the mercantile business at Oriskany Falls, conducting a general store under the firm name of D. E. McElhinney & Co. which he continued until in November 1893 when he was appointed postmaster. Mr. Mcelhinney has occupied many important town and village offices, and is now chief of the Oriskany Falls fire dept., in which he takes a great interest (p. 358) [Top]

MC ELHINNEY, N. B., was born in Waterville, May 20, 1865, son of William and Margaret McElhinney, natives of Ireland, who came to America about fifty years ago. N. B. McElhinney has been a resident of this county all of his life, excepting six years which he spent in Pennsylvania. In 1888 he married Lizzie, daughter of Andrew and Ellen Murray, of Schuylkill county, Pennsylvania by whom he has three children: William, John and Margaret. Mr. Mcelhinney was engaged in liquor business for four years, with Rooch & Foley, but in the spring of 1895 he engaged in business for himself, and is a popular gentleman, highly esteemed by all who know him. (p. 316) [Top]

MC GUIRE, MRS. MARY (COUGHLIN), widow of the late Philip McGuire, was born in Boonville, now Forestport, in 1844, daughter of John and Catherine (McGuire) Coughlin, both natives of Ireland. In 1864, she married Philip McGuire, who was born in Ireland in 1837. At twenty years of age, he came to America, where he settled in Oneida county, and engaged in farm work, and later worked in a tannery at Hawkinsville for five years; he then spent a year at lumbering at Lyon Falls, after which he engaged in farming and lumbering in Forestport, in which he was very successful. He owned 359 acres of farm land, and 7,000 acres of timber. He purchased a tannery in 1891, which he conducted, and in 1874, he erected a pulp mill which he operated until his death, which occurred in October 15, 1894, by accidentally falling though a trap door in his barn. In 1881, he erected and operated for three years, the feed mill now owned by George Farley. He also erected large and commodious buildings, also a cheese factory, and in 1889, he was awarded the contract for building a State dam one and one-half miles above Forestport, consideration $45,000. Mr. and Mrs. McGuire had seven children: Anna, Catherine, Mary, Frank, Grace, Frances, and Bertha. Anna died in 1882. Frank was educated at Manhattan College; Mary, Grace and Frances were graduates of St. Peter’s Academy of Rome. Since Mr. McGuire’s death Mrs. McGuire with the assistance of her daughters has carried on the large business, which she is closing as rapidly as possible. (p. 17) [Top]

MC GURK, WILLIAM, was born in Ireland, June 14, 1841, and came to America when seven years of age. His parents settled in Clayville, and his home has been in this State all his life. September 6, 1862, he enlisted in the Co. G, 146th NY. Vols and served until the close of the war, when he was honorably discharged in July, 1863. He served in the Fifth Army Corps, and participated in all the battles in which is regiment engaged, including Fredericksburg, Chancellorsville, Mine Run, Gettysburg, Cold Harbor, all the battles of the Wilderness, and was at Appomattox when Lee surrendered. In the battle of Gettysburg he was shot through the hand with a buck-shot, and was in the hospital one month and twenty days. Mr. McGurk married his first wife, Annie Leary, who died leaving eight children: William J., John, Francis, Emma, now Mrs. William Kerwin, Maggie, Florence, and Leo. October 19, 1893, he married his present wife, Mary Costigan, by whom he has one daughter, Grace. He is a memeber of the GAR post and of the Patrons of Industry. (p. 272) [Top]

MC INCROW, RICHARD W., son of William and Maria A. (Thornbury) McIncrow, was born in Utica, June 15, 1839. His father came from Cashel, County Tipperary, Ireland, to Deerfield, Oneida county, when ten years of age, and died in Utica, in 1861. Mr. McIncrow was graduated from the Utica Free Academy in 1857, read law with Kernan, Quinn & Kernan, and was admitted to the bar at Syracuse in October, 1860. He practiced in the office of his preceptors until March, 1862, when he formed a partnership with J. Thomas Spriggs, as Spriggs and McIncrow, which continued until Marcy, 1870. Since then he has practiced alone, and as a lawyer enjoys a wide reputation. He has been in Democratic politics and was city attorney in 1866. His brother, Thomas S., was clerk of the city of Utica for seventeen years. (p. 353-354) [Top]

MC INCROW, WILLIAM J., son of Thomas, and grandson of Walter and Catharine McIncrow, was born in Utica, February 4, 1855. His grandparents came to America from Tipperary, Ireland about 1825 and very soon afterward settled on a farm in Deerfield, where Catherine died in 1829 and Walter in 1839. Thomas McIncrow came to Utica and died here in 1855. He married Mary Hughes, who with five children still survives. William McIncrow attended the Christian Brothers school and the Utica Free Academy, from which he was graduated in 1872. He engaged in various occupations and at the age of twenty years entered the dry goods business of E. T. Manning & Co. In April 1895 he established his present business as a dealer in all kinds of garments for ladies, including cloaks, suits, furs, etc., and which is known as a "specialty store". (p. 219) [Top]

MC LEAN, MRS. A. WATERS, New Hartford.--Perhaps no one thus far in the history of the church was more faithful to it and more useful in it in various capacities than Elder Charles McLean. His connection with this church dates back to 1834 and almost from the very beginning we find him called to various positions of responsibility, clerk of the congregation, trustee, treasurer. Business interests calling him to Upper New York Mills he lived there for several years returning here in 1851. And in 1852, he was elected a ruling elder, exercising the office until his death in 1877. Sagacious, firm, benevolent, large-minded, his memory still lingers with this church as a benediction. The house he occupied for so many years is one of the oldest in Central New York, a stately landmark associated with many interesting incidents of by-gone days. It was built as early as 1791 with old-fashioned hip-roof and lantern cupola by Col. Jedediah Sanger, the founder of the town. Prominent in the councils of Royal Arch Masonry, his devotion to the order led him to make the entire third story of his own dwelling into one large room, lighted by the cupola, amply and beautifully fitted up for a Masonic lodge, which was constituted there April 6, 1792, as Amicable Lodge No. 25. In formation of the Grand Chapter of the State of New York, March 14, 1798, Jedediah Sanger was chosen to one of the highest offices of that august body in connection with De Witt Clinton. The first magistrates, judges, members of assembly, congressmen, supervisors, veterans of the Revolution and of the war of 1812 met in the early lodge room. To write out their history would fill many a volume. Mr. Sanger possessed ability, great energy, decision of character, close application to business and strict integrity. He was chosen the first supervisor of the town of Whitestown. In 1894 he was elected to represent Herkimer and Oneida counties in the Assembly of our State. In 1797 he went to the State Senate. In 1798 he was appointed first judge of Court of Common Pleas. Following Judge Sanger are two other judges who have lived in the old house; Judge Ledyard Talcott of the Supreme Court of New York State and Judge Charles Fraser McLean of the Supreme Court of New York State. The second owner was Mr. Frederick Stanley who purchased it of Judge Sanger in 1807. Samuel Austin Talcott, who was one of the most talented and extraordinary men of the age, married Mary Eliza, the beautiful daughter of Mr. Stanley and resided in the house. Gen. Joseph Kirkland having removed to Utica, Mr. Talcott maintained a law office in New Hartford and also in Utica with his partner and contemporary of his college days, William H. Maynard, until 1821, when at the age of twenty-one he received the appointment of attorney-general of the State of New York. He made his home in Albany during the administration of his office, then he removed to New York city where he practiced law until his death in 1836 in his forty-second year. His two sons spent their early years in New Hartford. John Ledyard, the eldest, studied with Josiah Spencer in Utica and became one of the foremost exponents of law in the State. Thomas Grosvenor, the youngest son, was a lawyer of ability and settled in Hartford, Conn. Mr. Stanley sold the house in 1824 to Mr. John Lyon who came to New Hartford from New Jersey in 1805. He was a large owner of real estate; he had the store opposite his dwelling, the grist mill, and paper mill where he is said to have made the first writing paper in the county, perhaps in the State. After Mr. Lyon's death in 1852 Mr. Charles McLean bought the property. Mrs. McLean, who was born in 1810, is still living, bright in mind and perfect in health. The brick stage tavern, long owned and occupied by Noah Porter, is still standing, though now converted into a dwelling. Being at the intersection of the Seneca turnpike--later Genesee--and the Oxford and Chenango turnpike, many four-horse stages stopped on their way from Albany to Buffalo, also covered wagons in which families traveled to homes in the new west. An electric car has replaced the four horse stage coach. The toll gates which exacted tribute every ten miles have disappeared. The store where the early post-office was kept is still standing on land given by Judge Sanger to the First Religious Society of New Hartford, a perpetual lease with the yearly rent of "one wheat corn." The dwelling next south is the building where the Whitestown Gazette was published in 1794, by William McLean, the beginning of the Utica Morning Herald. The grist mill built by Judge Sanger in 1709; the paper mill adjoining; the large Sanger barn where the First church was formed August 27, 1791; and the first court of Oneida county (then Herkimer) was held in October, 1793. Amidst all the changes the house so well built by Judge Sanger more than one hundred years ago remains little changed and is still kept as the home of the McLean family.

Stately she stands, her terraced gardens broad
Still wander down to Sadequada's flood;
Her open door, her welcoming halls and hearth,
Still call her children from around the earth.
(p. 241-242) [Top]

MC LEAN, JOHN, was born in Scotland, January 28, 1827, son of John and Margaret McLean. They came to New Hartford October 1, 1841, and John McLean, sr., then entered the employ of the New York Mills as dyer, and continued in that position until his death, at the age of seventy-five, and Mrs. McLean died at the age of seventy-nine. John McLean, jr., was educated partly in New Hartford, and also attended night school at New York Mills. He has been in the employ of the mills for fifty-four years, and passed through various grades in the department in which he started to work. He is now overseer in the department, and is one of the oldest employees of the company now living. Mr. McLean married Violetta Bardsley. Mr. and Mrs. McLean are both members of the Wolcott Memorial Presbyterian church at New York Mills, of which Mr. McLean is an elder. (p. 326) [Top]

MC LEAN, WILLIAM GARDNER, was born in Stratford, Fulton county, N. Y., June 19, 1888, son of William J. and Margaret J. (Gardner) McLean, of Scotch descent. When fifteen years of age he moved to Utica with his parents where he completed his education. Immediately afterwards he accepted a position in the office of Charles Millar & Son. Utica, dealers in plumbers' and tinners' supplies. In 1889 he came to Waterville as manager of a hardware business owned by Messrs. Millar & Son, and in 1891 purchased the business and organized the firm of W. G. McLean & Co. In 1894 they added a complete line of furniture to their present business. In 1890 he was married to Sarah M., daughter of the late Stephen Bridenbecker, of the town of Lenox, Madison county. They have one son, Charles William McLean. (p. 152) [Top]

MC PHERSON, HENRY A., was born in Utica, June 18, 1863, and is a son of John McPherson, a shoemaker who came here from Scotland in 1852. After leaving school he was associated with his father in the shoe business until 1885, when he purchased the old Wilkinson laundry, which he still continues. His father still lives in Utica and has always taken a prominent part in Scotch societies. (p. 346) [Top]

MC PHERSON, JOHN, was born in Port Glasgow, Scotland, December 18, 1845, son of William and Agnes Crawford McPherson. William McPherson died in the West Indies at thirty-six years of age and Mrs. McPherson died in New York Mills in 1881. John McPherson was educated in Scotland and came to New York Mills in 1865, since which time he has been in the employ of the company, and is a carpenter at mills No. 3 and 4. Mr. McPherson is a member of Lodge No. 224 F. & A. M. He married Mary F., daughter of George Burdick of Westmoreland, by whom he has two sons, William Monroe and Roy Burdick. (p. 147) [Top]

MC TIERMAN, WILLIAM, was born in Ireland in July, 1847, and came to America in 1870, settling in Utica, where he first engaged in railroading. Two years later he visited his native country for a few months and returning to Utica entered the employ of Wood & Mann, proprietors of a large machine shop. Later he was steward of St. Joseph's Hospital about four years. In 1880 he engaged in business for himself as a dealer in groceries on the corner of Bleecker and Second streets. About three years later he sold out and under the firm of Mooney & McTiernan engaged in the brewing business, which they continued about two years. In 1894 he started his present grocery store on the corner of Bleecker and Wetmore streets. In 1884 he was elected alderman of the Fifth ward and served two years. He was health commissioner under Mayor Goodwin for three years and in 1885 was elected a charity commissioner for three years. In 1880 he married Annie Dempsey, of Utica, and they have four children: Charles, William, John, and Mary. (p. 362-363) [Top]

MEAYS, JOHN H., was born in Vienna, November 30, 1840, son of Thomas and Mary Jane Meays, who settled in the town about 1839. Thomas married Mary Jane, daughter of Barton Palmer, who was a pioneer of Trenton Falls, and they were the parents of four children: Helen Butler; John H.; George Barton, who enlisted in the 14th N. Y. Vols., and was shot while on picket duty and died in Emery Hospital; and Annie E. John H. married Minerva, daughter of Charles Case of Allegany county, and they have three children: Barton C., Orson H., and Mary M. He is a member of Vienna Lodge No. 440, F. & A. M., and of Sylvan Beach Lodge No. 326. I.O.O.F. He was supervisor of the town of Vienna for one term. (p. 110) [Top]

MELVIN, CUTLER, was born in the town of Marshall, N. Y., April 5, 1841, son of James and Harmony Melvin. His grandfather, James Melvin, was a native of England. Mr. Melvin has been engaged in farming all his life and owns a fine farm of 237 acres. He is one of the leading farmers of Marshall. He married Ellen Snell, by whom he has a family of two sons and two daughters. (p. 355) [Top]

MERNA, P., was born in Ireland in 1854 and came to America in 1869. He spent two years in Richfield and Cooperstown and came to Waterville in 1872. He is a prominent contractor and builder and has been actively engaged in this business since 1872. He has a farm in Marshall on which he resides. He is also an extensive dealer in flagging, coping and curbing stone, which he brings from Oxford, and in every way he is an active and successful business man. In politics he is a Democrat, and has been delegate to many conventions. In 1873 Mr. Merna married Mary McHale. (p. 140) [Top]

MERRIMAN, MRS. EMMA.--George S. Merriman was born in Lowville, Lewis county, August 29, 1838. He came to Westmoreland about 1867, where he was always engaged in farming, buying the place when he first came to Westmoreland now conducted by his widow. He was a prominent Democrat, and a very active and influential citizen. He married Emma Cleveland, daughter of Ward Cleveland of Sodus, Wayne county. He died February 26, 1890. Mrs. Merriman has three children: Hattie, Ward and Mabel. There was one son of Mr. Merriman's by his former marriage, George Merriman. This farm is among the largest in the township, and is operated and conducted entirely by Mrs. Merriman, who keeps the farm in cultivation, superintending it in every department. This farm is notable for being one of the largest in the county, and being conducted by a lady. (p. 80-81) [Top]

MERRITT, REV. GEORGE, was born at Barrington, Ill., July 15, 1855, son of Mark Merritt, who was born at Hastings-on-the-Sea, England, July 4, 1810, and at twelve years of age went to sea as a sailor, which he followed for twenty years; then emigrating to Chicago, where he engaged as first mate on a boat running on Lake Michigan. After three years he abandoned this and removed to Barrington, Ill., where he purchased a farm and devoted some time to agriculture. After ten years he sold the farm and returned to Chicago, where he engaged in the manufacture of iron and continued in that until incapacitated for work. He died April 1, 1873. June 21, 1844, he married Ann M. Wynd, of Chicago, Ill., who was a native of Scotland, born January 14, 1817, and she died at Chicago, June 14, 1872. George Merritt was graduated from the public school and high school of Chicago, and then entered the Northwestern University, remaining six years, graduating in 1880 in the classical course, and in 1882 in the theological department. His first charge as minister was at Maple Park near Chicago, Ill., and after six months removed to Minnesota, having pastorates at Jackson, Hester, Ortonville, Ada. and Little Falls, successively. In 1867 he was transferred to the Northern New York Conference, and stationed at Oswego Center for one and one-half years. His next charge was at Trenton, N. Y., for two years, and then at Taberg, N. Y., for three years, and finally at Oriskany Falls in 1894. June 13, 1889, he married Mary J. Gormley, of Oswego, a graduate of the Chautauqua University, by whom he has one daughter, Ruth B., born April 6, 1890. (p. 287-288) [Top]

MERRY, FREDERICK J., was born in Baden, Germany, December 31, 1840. He was educated in the schools of his native place until he was twelve years of age, when he came to the United States, locating in the town of Verona. He owns a stone quarry, a cheese factory and a farm. August 16, 1862 he enlisted in Co. L 1st. NY Mounted Rifles, was in the department of the Army of the James, and was honorably discharged June 11, 1865. March 10, 1875 he married Anna E. McGann of this town, by whom he has three children: William G., Grace C., and Belle S. Mrs. Merry's father, Hugh McGann, was born in 1817 was educated in the common schools and was a blacksmith by occupation. Mr. McGann married Mary Butler by whom he had eight children: Mary, Emily, Ellen, Mary, Sarah, William, Anna E. and Adelia. He died in 1884 and his wife died April 7, 1896. (p. 145) [Top]

MERRY, GOTLEIB, was born in Baden, Germany, in 1843 and came with his parents to the United States in 1851, locating first in Toledo, Ohio, coming to the town of Verona, N. Y., in 1852. He was educated in the public schools and the Business College of Utica, N. Y., and is a cheesemaker by occupation and owner of the Merry Cheese Factory, which manufactures into cheese two and one-half million pounds of milk, annually. For the past three years he has been manager and superintendent of the Oneida Canning Co., of Verona. He is also president of the Board of Education; they have just completed a fine school edifice in that district. March 7, 1870, Mr. Merry married Sarah McGann; of this town, by whom he has seven children: Fred H., S. Alice, Ellen S., George G., H. Seymour, Wilson J., and C. Lester. Frederick J. Merry, his father, was born at the old home in Germany in 1811. He married Christina Winnie, by whom he had nine children; Jacob, Ann, Sophia, Frederick, Gotleib, Conrad, Peter, Charles, and Michael. He died in 1852. Mr. G. Merry was elected supervisor in 1879 and served until 1884. He began life empty-handed and has been the architect of his own success. (p. 87-88) [Top]

MERWIN, HON. MILTON H., son of Alanson and Amanda (Kimball) Merwin, was born in the town of Leyden, Lewis county, N. Y., June 16, 1832, and is descended from Miles Merwin, who came from the North of England and settled near Milford, Conn., about 1640. James Merwin, father of Alanson, moved to Leyden from Haddam, Conn., in 1800, and served as a soldier at Sackett's Harbor in the war of 1812. Judge Merwin was educated in the public schools of his native town and in Oneida Conference Seminary at Cazenovia, N. Y., and in 1848 entered Hamilton College, from which he was graduated in 1852. He read law in Watertown, N. Y., with Joseph Mullin, afterward judge of the Supreme Court, and was admitted to the bar at the Watertown general term in July, 1853. He practiced in the office of his preceptor as clerk or partner until the election of Mr. Mullin to the Supreme Court bench in the fall of 1857. Judge Merwin then continued in the practice until October, 1874, when he was appointed by Governor John A. Dix, justice of the Supreme Court in place of Judge Charles H. Doolittle, of Utica, deceased. Meantime Judge Merwin had served a term of four rears as surrogate of Jefferson county, and also as a member of the State Constitutional Convention of 1867-68. At the following election in November, 1874, he was elected to the Supreme Court bench for a full term of fourteen years, and in the fall of that year took up his residence in Utica. On the expiration of his term he was re-elected in November, 1888, for another period of fourteen years. As a jurist Judge Merwin has officiated with ability, credit and dignity. He is well versed in the science of the law and is universally regarded as an upright, conscientious, and honored member of the bench. He was a member of the General Term of the Supreme Court from January 1, 1889, to January 1, 1896, when he became a member of the Appellate Division of that tribunal. Judge Merwin was married in November, 1858, to Miss Helen E., daughter of Ira Knapp, of Middle Granville, Washington county, N. Y. They have five children. (p. 234-235) [Top]

METZ, CHARLES W., was born in province of Nassau, Germany, March 15, 1836, came to America with his mother in June, 1852, and first settled in Salisbury Center, Herkimer county, N. Y. He afterwards went to Rochester, N. Y., where he learned the trade of carpenter and builder, and about 1856, located permanently in Utica, where he was for several years under the instruction of A. J. Lathrop and also of Timothy Cronin, two of the leading contractors of the city. In 1861 Mr. Metz began contracting on his own account, and since 1872 has had mostly all the building contracts let by the Utica State Hospital. Since 1890 he has been permanent master mechanic of that institution, having charge of all the buildings and the workmen thereon. Besides attending to these duties, which now command his entire attention, he also erected before 1890 a large addition to the Utica Orphan Asylum and also a number of dwellings and other structures. July 21, 1859, he married Selma Sophie Obst, who died June 14, 1866, leaving three children: Emma (Mrs. Charles S. Spiegelberg), of Waltham, Mass.; Matilda B. (Mrs. John Lindner), of Carlisle, Pa.; and Charles H., of Waltham, Mass. September 20, 1866, Mr. Metz married a second time Matilda M. Geinitz, a native of Germany, and has resided at 232 Court street since 1870. (p. 243) [Top]

MEYER, OTTO ANGUS, was born at Prospect, N.Y., February 1, 1861. His father, Dr. William Meyer, was a prosperous and much respected physician who had a large practice in that section. The family came to Utica when the subject of this sketch was nine years of age. Mr. Meyer was educated in the public schools and was graduated from the Utica Free Academy. During his school days he worked mornings, Saturdays, and vacations in the circulation department of the Utica Herald, which department was then in charge of the late William H. Tutton. In this way he early acquired a knowledge of an important branch of the newspaper business which has since stood him in good stead. After leaving the academy he was for a year and a half employed as the business manager of the Sunday Tribune, then owned by P.E. Kelly. He made a marked success of this enterprise, and in charge of both the advertising and circulation departments of that paper rendered valuable service. When in March, 1883, the corporation known as the Utica Press Company was organized, Mr. Meyer was induced to go with the new concern as its secretary and treasurer and its business manager, positions he has since continued in, with credit to himself and profit to all concerned. Two or three years later Mr. Meyer and another secured a controlling interest in the stock of the company, whose business under his direction has shown steady and substantial growth, till the Daily and the Weekly Press have come to be recognized as among the most prosperous leaders of Central New York journalism. To Mr. Meyer's energy and good business judgment much of the success of these papers is due. Few have a wider acquaintance or are more popular with those who have business with newspapers. He is a member of the American Newspaper Publishers' Association and has been honored with appointments on some of its important committees. For several years he has been a director of the Second National Bank of Utica. He belongs to the Fort Schuyler Club and to the Utica Chamber of Commerce. Mr. Meyer is deservedly regarded as one of the brightest of the city's young business men. (p. 308) [Top]

MIDLAM, JOHN W., was born in Utica, N. Y., December 4, 1832, son of John and Jane (Smith) Midlam, natives of England, the former born in Callerton, Yorkshire, November 14, 1796, and emigrated to America in 1822, coming to Westmoreland, Oneida county, thence to Utica, where he engaged in the butchering business. IN 1833, he removed with his family to Floyd, where he engaged in farming for thirty-five years. In 1868, he removed to Rome, where he died in 1878, aged eighty-two years. He was strictly honest and upright, scrupulously exact in his business transactions, and for upwards of twenty-five years was a member of the M. E. church. His children were Eliza (Mrs. George Massee), Frank S., Mary J. (Mrs. T. J. Selden), John W., Hannah (Mrs. Ezra Clark), Samuel T., Susan, Carrie F. (Mrs. Thomas Warcup) and Safaria. John W. Midlam was reared in Floyd from infancy, and began life as a farmer, in which he has been engaged more or less all his life. January 11, 1865, he married Mary, daughter of Robert and Hannah (Simpson) Warcup, of Western, by whom he has one son, Robert W. (p. 18) [Top]

MILGATE, HENRY E., was born in Utica, September 9, 1853, and is a son of George H. Milgate, a native of England and a farmer who died here about 1884. He was educated in the Utica Public schools, and about the age of seventeen went to Rome and engaged in the millinery business, which he continued about two years. He then returned to Utica and opened a fish and poultry market with his brothers, William T. and Ellsworth W., under the firm name of Milgate Brothers. They continued in business about eight years or until December 1895, when they sold out. About 1880 the firm also purchased of the Snyder estate a large gardening and hot house supply business on Steuben street, and of this H. E. Milgate became sole proprietor in 1895, the firm dissolving. Mr. Milgate was married in 1879 to Wilhelmenia Hienrich of Utica, and they have two children: Walter H. and Raymond. (p. 363) [Top]

MILLER, FRANK P., D.D.S., was born at Camden. Oneida county, N.Y., October 18, 1870 He is a son of Ferry R. and Phoebe C. Miller, residents of that place. Mr. Miller is a commercial traveler, an occupation he has actively followed many years. Smith Miller, his father, and grandfather, Dr. Miller, were natives of Connecticut, but came to Oneida county at an early period of its settlement. An ox team and rude cart were the means of conveyance for the family to the new home. He spent his life in Camden, being one of the leading citizens of the town. Dr. Frank P. Miller was reared in Camden and received his education in the public schools of the place. At the age of sixteen he began the study of dentistry with Dr. George P. Manville of Camden. He subsequently entered the Philadelphia Dental College and graduated from that institution in 1891. Dr. Miller then returned to Camden and entered upon the practice of his profession. This he continued successfully till December, 1895, at which time he moved to Whitesboro. His proficiency in the science of dentistry has already assured him of a prosperous business in his new home. October 4, 1893, Dr. Miller married Harriet E., daughter of John and Elizabeth Hume, of Camden, N. Y. They have one daughter, now an infant. (p. 155) [Top]

MILLER, DR. FREDERICK MUNGER, was born in Clinton, N. Y., November 22, 1868, son of George L. & Cornelia Foote Miller. George L. is a native of Oneida county, son of Phineas C. & Mary E. Munger Miller. Phineas C. is a native of Hanover Green, son of Isaac Miller, who came from Middleville, Conn. to Hanover Green about 1775, being one of the first settlers there. He took up 400 acres of land and cleared a home. In 1809 he went to Deansboro, where he died about 1840. Mrs. Cornelia (Foote) Miller was a native of Vernon, N. Y., daughter of Daniel B. and Eliza M. (Yale) Foote, who were early settlers of Vernon, where they came from Norfolk, Conn. George L. Miller was reared on a farm, and engaged in the mercantile business in Clinton. He then went on the road as a commercial traveler, and settled in Utica in 1881, and in 1891 took up his residence at Deerfield. Dr. Frederick Miller was educated at the Clinton Grammar School and Utica Academy; he was for one year at the University of Maryland, and two years at Long Island College Hospital, and he was graduated from the Long Island College Hospital in the spring of 1891, after which he commenced his practice at Deerfield; he also has an office in Utica. He is health officer of Deerfield and Marcy. He is a member of Shenandoah Lodge, I. O. O. F. In 1891 he married Marie A. Tefft, daughter of Dr. Charles B. Tefft of Utica, by whom he had two children: Charles Tefft, who died at the age of sixteen months, and Frederick M. (p. 101) [Top]

MILLER, G. ADAM, SR., was born in Weitenberg, Middlestadt, Germany, January 6, 1827, son of George Miller. G. Adam located at State Bridge, N. Y., in 1851, and moved to Vienna in 1867. He married Christina Rung, and they have four children: Mary Olden, Libbie Cole, Jennie, wife of Charles Nobles; and three step-children: Frederick, George and Louise Rung. G. Adam sr. follows farming and is also connected with his son, G. Adam jr. in the sand business, shipping for furnaces, etc. Mr. Miller is a public spirited man and has been very active in building up and improving the property at Sylvan Beach. He is a member of Vienna, F. & A. M., No. 440. (p. 18)  [Top]

MILLER, G. ADAM, JR., was born in what is now called Sylvan Beach, January 4, 1870, son of G. Adam Miller Sr. He married Virginia E., daughter of Washington Sewell Sautell, and they have three children: Sewell, G. Adam jr. and Christiana V., all of whom were born on the homestead at Sylvan Beach. G. Adam jr. is associated with his father in business, and they ship from 7,000 to 10,000 tons of Oneida Lake sand yearly, which is used on railroads, cores for malleable castings, and also for furnace bottoms, and is of the finest quality in use. G. Adam jr. is a member of the Vienna, F. & A. M., No. 440. (p. 18) [Top]

MILLER, JACOB, was born in Alsace, France, in December, 1835, and came to the United States with his parents when three years of age, locating in New London, N.Y. He was educated in the common schools, and is a carpenter and farmer by occupation. August 4, 1862, he enlisted in Company H, 117th N.Y.S. Vols., and was in several general engagements and many skirmishes. November 1, 1864, he was promoted sergeant, and was honorably discharged June 6, 1865. August 10, 1865, he married Anna Sisbrower, by whom he had six children: Jacob, who died at twenty-nine years of age; Francis H., Mary R., Elizabeth C., Clara E., and Charles A. Francis H. married Margaret Hoffman. Mary R. married Charles Rounds, of Green's Corners, and they have two children, Raymond, and a baby not named. Mrs. Miller died February 19, 1881, and January 18, 1863, Mr. Miller married for his second wife Theresa F. Essinger, of Verona. Mrs. Miller's father, William Essinger, was born in Germany, September 22, 1822. He married Catherine Sees, of his native place, by whom he had nine children: John, Seuly, Frederick, George, Joseph, Theresa F., as above, Catherine, Margaret and Francis. Mr. Essinger died April 25, 1893. Mr. Miller is a member of Skillin Post No. 47, G.A.R., Department of New York. The ancestry of the family is French and German. [Note: The marriage dates in this biography are confusing, but they are typed exactly as they appear in the original text.)(p. 301) [Top]

MILLER, MORRIS S., is a native of the town of Augusta, where he was born February 10, 1843, son of Morris S. Miller, who was also born in the town of Augusta in 1814, and was for many years identified with the agricultural interests of that town. He lived in the town forty years, when he removed to Deansville and resided there for a period of twenty years, after which he returned to Augusta, settling in Oriskany Falls, living there seven or eight years, when he retired and came to Oneida Castle, where he died in 1887; his father, Isaac C. Miller, came from Connecticut, settling in the town of Kirkland, and at one time he and his four sons owned a body of land covering a distance of four miles in length. Morris S. Miller, sr., married Lucinda Wood, of Augusta, who was born in 1817, and died in Oneida Castle in 1891. Morris S. Miller, jr., is one of a family of five children, and received his education at Augusta and Deansville, after which he devoted himself to stock raising, principally that of fine horses. He is an active Republican and in the years 1885 and 1886 represented his town on the Board of Supervisors. He married Jane A. Cody, daughter of F. A. and Phoebe Cody, of Vernon Center, by whom he has had four children, three of whom are now living. (p. 281) [Top]

MILLER, PHILIP, was born in Columbia, Herkimer county, N.Y., June 6, 1825, son of William J. and Nancy (Haner) Miller. The occupation of his life has been farming; but he spent four years as a mechanic, and taught school during the winters for twelve years. In 1865 he settled on his present farm in the town of Paris. He first married Phoebe Buck, of Vermont, who died leaving one son, Clifton Park Miller; and he married for his present wife, Phoebe E. Campbell, by whom he has three children: John, Mary, and William. In politics Mr. Miller is a Republican, and has taken an active interest in the success of his party. He has been assessor of the town of Paris for seventeen years, and has just entered upon another term of three years and was a member of the Board of Equalization of Oneida county four years. He is regarded as one of the leading men of the town. (p. 118) [Top]

MILLER, PHILIP J., was born January 28, 1833, son of Peter and Margaret Miller, who were natives of Alsace, Germany. Philip settled in Oneida county in 1865, and is engaged in farming. He married Catherine, daughter of Peter Bahrr of Germany, by whom he has three children: Emma, wife of Welcome Van Buskirk; William, and Clara, who is the wife of Charles Sporie. William Miller married Mary, daughter of Robert L. Prichard, by whom he has three children: Clarence, Katie and Rena. William is also engaged in farming, and like his father is interested in both town and county affairs, and takes an active part in the educational interests of his town. He is a member of the S. F. I. (p. 256) [Top]

MILLS, ANDREW W., was born in the town of Kirkland, November 30, 1836, son of Andrea and Marilla (Wetmore) Mills, who were both born in this county. Andrew Mills came to this county in 1802, when the county was new, where he engaged in farming, and continued until his death. They had four children: Charlotte L., Andrew W., Harriet (deceased) and E. Delos. Andrew W. Mills attended the district schools until fifteen years of age, when he entered the Whitestown Seminary and later the Cazenovia Seminary, and was at Fort Plain one year, after which he began reading law with Judge Williams of Clinton; then entered the law department of Hamilton College, and was admitted to the bar in 1861. Since then he has been in active practice in this village and Utica. He was the means of the Rome and Clinton railroad being built of which he was a director, and was secretary and treasurer for years; also of the Utica, Clinton and Binghamton railroad, and was commissioner for the bonding of the town when these roads were constructed. He is an active worker in the Telegraph and Telephone Co. of Central New York. Mr. Mills married Mary E. Foote, daughter of Noel Foote, of this town, by whom he has four children: Mrs. Cora E. Larrabee, wife of Charles D. Larrabee, who is assistant postmaster at Clinton; Charles A. Mills, Herbert F. and Fred W. Mr. Mills is a member of the Masonic fraternity; also member of Utica Commandery No. 3, K. T., and Ziska Temple Nobles of the Mystic Shrine; in politics he is a Democrat. (p. 81-82) [Top]

MILLS, E. DELOSS, was born in the town of Kirkland, Oneida county, N.Y., July 8, 1844. He was a son of Andrew and Marilla (Wetmore) Mills, both natives of Oneida county. Andrew Mills came to Oneida county in 1802, being one of the pioneers in the town of Kirkland. Mr. Mills at once engaged in agriculture, in which pursuit he devoted his life, accumulating considerably property as a result of his industry and energy. E. Delos [sic] Mills was one of a family of four children, namely: Charlotte L., Andrew W , Harriet and the subject of this sketch. Harriet died some years ago. Mr. Mills spent his early life on the farm and there acquired an extensive experience in hop culture, which he has since turned to account in a business way. Since 1877 he has been engaged in hop buying, carrying on a large business. He received his business education at the Utica Business College, and that together with his practical experience has enabled him to conduct a successful business. Outside of business affairs Mr. Mills is especially active in the Masonic fraternity, having been honored by that body with many important offices. He was made a Mason in 1867 and was chosen master of Clinton Lodge in 1876 and 1777; again in 1889, 1890 and 1891. In 1895 he was again elected and is still serving in that capacity. He is also a member of Oneida Chapter R. A. M., No. 57 of Utica, and of the Rome Commandery No. 45 K. T. Mr. Mills married Louisa, daughter of William Jones, of Newville, Herkimer county. They reside in Clinton. (p. 111-112) [Top]

MONROE, C. WILBUR, was born in Sangerfield, June 12, 1870, son of Charles D. and Josephine A. (Everson) Monroe. He was educated in the district schools and Waterville Academy, graduating in 1889. He then took a course in the Cornell University, from which institution he was graduated in 1892. He also read law in the office of the late E.H. Lamb, and with Jones & Townsend, and was admitted to the bar November 15, 1894. He opened an office in Waterville, and has been actively engaged in his profession since that date. He is the present justice of the peace for Waterville, and has held office since March 6, 1894. April 5, 1894, he married Nina Sophia King of Waterville. (p. 314) [Top]

MOORE, MARIA. Michael Moore was born in New York city, April 3, 1803, and settled in Oneida county in 1832. In 1831, he married Maria, daughter of Rev. John and Abigail (Perkins) Sherman, by whom he had these children: Michael, Archibald, Dunlap, Julia Sherman, Charles Edward, John Robert, Maria Moore Jones, Roger Sherman, Samuel Glover and Abbie Perkins Gouge, all of whom are natives of the town. In early life Michael was a wool merchant in New York city, but after his residence in Oneida county, his time was spent in the study of geology and the improvements of Trenton Falls property, which Rev. John Sherman had commenced, making it one of the most noted resorts in New York State. These sons served in the army of the Rebellion, Michael, Charles, Edward and J. Robert. (p. 18) [Top]

MOREHOUSE, HON. GEORGE C., was born in Fairfield, Herkimer county, N. Y., May 14, 1846. His father, James L., a teacher, died in Oswego county in 1860; the death of his mother, Emeline Crane, a teacher of music in the old Fairfield Seminary, occurred in Herkimer county in 1888. Judge Morehouse was educated in the public schools of Brooklyn, where his parents lived several years. He also attended Falley Seminary in Fulton and the State Normal School at Oswego, and was graduated as B. S. from Cornell University in 1873 In 1874 he came to Utica and read law with Hon. William J. Bacon and H. P. MacKoon, later with Hon. William B. Sutton, and in 1875 received the degree of LL.B. from Hamilton College, being admitted to the bar at Clinton in May of that year. He began the practice of his profession in Utica as managing clerk for Mr. Sutton, and in 1876-77 became his partner under the firm name of Sutton & Morehouse. This continued until 1885-86, when the partnership was dissolved. Judge Morehouse practiced alone until March, 1892, when he was elected city judge which office he held until April 1, 1896. He then resumed the practice of his profession. He has been an active Republican, and served two years as supervisor of the Eleventh ward. He is a member and past master of Oriental Lodge No. 224, F. & A. M., a member and a trustee of Oneida Chapter No. 57, R. A. M., and a member of Utica Commandery No. 3, K. T., and the Scottish Rite bodies, 3d degree, Northern jurisdiction. He is also a member of Fort Schuyler Council, R. A., and Oneida Lodge No. 70, I. O. O. F. In 1877 he married Eugenia M., daughter of Henry Miller, of Trenton, N. Y., who died in 1879. In 1888 he married Mary, daughter of Charles Breen, of Trenton, and they have three sons, Lawrence, Merwin and Russell. (p. 245) [Top]

MOREHOUSE, HENRY D., was born in the town of Half Moon, Saratoga county, N. Y., June 21, 1853, son of Nathan and Annie (Travers) Morehouse. Mr. Morehouse was born in Vermont, May 5, 1824, and Mrs. Morehouse was born in Half Moon, N. Y., December 6, 1819. The grandparents were natives of Vermont. Nathan Morehouse came to Saratoga county, from Vermont about 1849, and then to Ava, where he built and conducted a mill. He now resides with his son, Henry D. Mrs. Morehouse died March 5, 1879. Henry D. Morehouse learned the trade of cheesemaker when a young man. He worked in various places, and in 1886 bought the factory at Ava which he has since conducted. In 1876 he married Ella, daughter of Asa and Sarah (Slavier) Teachout, of Western, N. Y., by whom he has one daughter, Nellie. Mrs. Morehouse was born in Western, N. Y., November 25, 1869. Her mother, Mrs. Teachout, died in 1873. (p. 212) [Top]

MORGAN, ALBERT C., D. D. S., was born in the town of Madison, Madison county, N. Y., son of John and Lucretia (Hazzard) Morgan. He was educated at Cazenovia Seminary and then learned dentistry, studying at Norwich, N. Y. He practiced dentistry for sixteen years, ten of which were in Waterville, N. Y., two in Wisconsin, one in Chicago, Ill., and one in Carthage, N. Y. He now devotes his attention to the interests of the Local Anaesthetic Company, of which he is president. This company makes a specialty of Denlofine, a preparation for painless dentistry, and minor surgical operations, which was invented by Dr. Morgan. The company's office is at 1 and 3 Union Square, New York, N. Y., and also branch office in Utica, N. Y. the only dental office west of New York, using this process. The Utica office is in charge of Dr. Morgan himself. In 1881, Dr. Morgan married Gertrude Fuller of Lowville, N. Y., and they have two sons and three daughters. (p. 70) [Top]

MORGAN, FRANK W., was born in the town of New Hartford in 1856, son of Elias Morgan, who was a pioneer farmer here, where he came when twenty years of age from Brookfield, Madison county, where he was born in 1808. For ten years he was in the employment of Morgan Butler, and by strict economy and hard work he saved sufficient money to purchase a farm near New Hartford, where he led a life of industry and integrity and was highly esteemed by the community, who revere his memory as a man and a citizen. By his death in 1881 the Prohibition cause lost one of its most earnest advocates. Frank W. took a course at Utica Business College, and then engaged in farming, owning a farm in the suburbs of this village. In 1892 he married Mary H., daughter of Frank Kunze, an able mechanic, by whom he had two children: Glenn W., born August 31, 1893, and Iva F., born March 8, 1895. Mr. Morgan and wife are both intimately identified with the Methodist Episcopal church; and he is an able defender of the temperance cause. (p. 153) [Top]

MORGAN, JOHN S., was born in Wales, March 25, 1866, son of David and Eliza Morgan. The family moved to New York Mills in 1869. David Morgan came here first in 1867, and returned with his family in 1869. David Morgan is employed on mason work of No. 1 Mill. John S. Morgan was educated in New York Mills, after which he learned the machinist trade, and is now in charge as boss machinist of No. 2 Mill. December 26, 1887, he married Harriet Ellen, daughter of Robert and Elizabeth Watkins, of New York Mills, by whom he has one child, David Watkins Morgan. Mr. Morgan is a member of Samuel Campbell Council, Royal Arcanum, also Oriental Lodge No. 224, F. & A. M. (p. 257) [Top]

MORGAN, WILLIAM A., was born in Connecticut May 16. 1824, son of Israel F. and Lucy (Stoddard) Morgan, who settled in Trenton about 1828. Their children were Clarissa S., Austin A., Israel F., Lucy A., William A., and Jane Elizabeth. Colonel Morgan, as he was usually called, was born December 11, 1792, and in his early life was engaged in farming. Living in Connecticut at the time of the war between England and the United States in 1812, and belonging to a military organization, he was called out to prevent the landing of British troops at New London. In 1840 he purchased the grist and saw mills, store and farm at Trenton Falls of Gardener Sherman, which he managed in company with his oldest and youngest sons until his death October 14, 1842. He was at one time supervisor of the town of Trenton and took an active part in the organization of the Trenton Falls school district. His second son, Col. Israel F., jr., remained on the farm in South Trenton where he first settled until his death, October 30, 1861. His granddaughter, Mrs. L. G. Wanful still lives on the same farm. William E. married S. Marie, daughter of Col. Timothy H. Ferris. of Herkimer county, N. Y., by whom he had six children: William C., Harvey Ferris, Elizabeth B., Bela Brewster, Israel F. (deceased), and Austin A. (deceased). Mr. Morgan was one of the builders of the present school house at Trenton Falls, also with the help of his sons, young boys at the time, built the dam across the West Canada Creek, which has stood the annual freshets for which that stream is noted for more than twenty years and furnished power to operate the mills. It is in the management of these mills since the death of his father and brother that he is best known. Mr. Morgan arrived at manhood at the period when all young men were required by law to do military duty, and was commissioned first by Gov. William L. Marcy as paymaster, then adjutant, and by Gov. Silas Wright as major, all of which he still has in his possession. (p. 95)[Top]

MORRIS, PRICE, was born August 3, 1853, in Wales England, where he followed the butter and grocery business from a youth. He came to America in 1882 and settled in Utica, where he engaged in his present business as a grocer and provision dealer. He is a member of Skenandoa Lodge I.O.O.F. He was married first in Wales, in April, 1880, to Ellen, daughter of David Morris, who died in 1890. He married second in May, 1895, Ruth, daughter of Evan Davies, of Denbeighshire, Wales. (p. 345) [Top]

MORROW, JAMES E., was born in Georgetown, Madison county, N. Y., July 1, 1833, and received his education at the Georgetown schools and at a boarding school in Richmondville, Schoharie county. His father, William Morrow, was born in Ireland in 1800 and came to this country with his uncle when four years old. He followed farming all his life and died in Augusta in 1877. He married Elizabeth Butler, who was born in Westmoreland in 1806 of English parentage, and died in Augusta in September, 1858, by whom he had nine children. James E. Morrow moved from Georgetown to Augusta with his parents at the age of sixteen and has resided in town forty-seven years; lived on the farm he now owns thirty-five years. In 1854 he married Lura A. Beach, born in Augusta December 20, 1832. Her father, Jacob Beach, was born in Norfolk, Conn., August 17, 1805, lived in Augusta about seventy years, and died May 31, 1882. His wife, Lura Ann Doolittle, was born in Jewett, Greene county, N. Y., May 24, 1808, died May 27, 1882, only four days between their deaths. There were seven children born to them, one of whom went to war and was killed at the battle of Chapin's Farm. To James and Lura A. Morrow were born four children: Flavilla Elizabeth, born November 17, 1855, died May 25, 1874; William Beach, born January 17, 1858, married Ida Strong (daughter of Warren G. Strong), October 12, 1881. He is now a physican [sic] in Delaware county, N. Y.; Cora Amelia, born September 12, 1864, married John P. Hipwell, a farmer of Augusta; Lucius Palmer, born December 3, 1873, died April 4, 1875. (p. 126) [Top]

MOSHIER, WILLIAM B., was born in Martinsburg, Lewis county, in 1856, and is a son of John G., a farmer. His brother, Charles, was born in the town of Russia, Herkimer county, July 15, 1853. In 1877 the two started in business selling tea on the road. In January, 1878, they established a general store in Salisbury, Herkimer county, and continued there until 1882, the firm being Moshier Brothers. Thence they came to Utica and formed their present business which consists of wholesale teas, coffees, spices and flavoring extracts, and baking powder. Their trade extends through New york and New England and the West. Mr. Moshier is a 32d degree Mason. (p. 345) [Top]

MULCHI, WILLIAM, was born in New Hampshire in 1854, son of William Mulchi, a native of Ireland, who was born in 1816. William Mulchi, sr., was a tanner by trade and came to America in 1848, settling at Bellows Falls, Vt. In 1858 he removed to the town of Boonville and two years later to Woodhull, where he died in 1863. His wife was Johannah Danaha, of County Waterford, Ireland, and they had three children: William, Thomas, and Dennis. Mrs. Mulchi died in 1887 at the home of her son, William. At the age of eight years William, jr., became a driver on the canal, which business he followed for fifteen years, being promoted to steersman and later owned and conducted a boat for himself, running from Forestport to Troy and Albany. He was then engaged in the lumber business and contracting for seven years, and in 1891 he erected his present hotel, known as the Forestport House. He also conducts a farm of 156 acres, making a specialty of garden vegetables. He also runs a stage for the Adirondack League Club. Mr. Mulchi served as excise commissioner for six years. In 1875 he married Elizabeth, daughter of James and Elizabeth Moran, who was born in Canada. Their children are William and Elizabeth. They are members of the Catholic church, of which Mr. Mulchi is trustee. (p. 209) [Top]

MULLIN, MARTIN H., was born in New York city, July 11, 1842, son of the late martin Mullin, who was also born in New York city. Martin H. came to the town of Annsville when seven years of age, with his stepfather, John Sheehan. The occupation of the father was stevedoring in New York. He married Mary Quinn, of Ireland, who came to this country when ten years of age, by whom he had three children: Katie, Michael, who was killed in Sacramento, Cal., March 11, 1879; and Martin H., who received his education in the district schools of this town, after which he engaged in farming. May 4, 1861, he enlisted in the 26th N. Y. Vols., re-enlisted December 2, 1863, in the 24th N. Y. Cavalry, and was discharged August 1, 1865, as first lieutenant of Co. F, 24th Cav. He was in most of the noted battles, such as Cold Harbor, Antietam, Gettysburg, etc. and was at Lee’s surrender, April 9, 1865. He married Maggie Enright of Annsville, by whom he had six children: Molly, James, William, Michael, Nellie and Katie. Mr. Mullin is a Democrat in politics, was commissioner for four years and town assessor six years. He is commander of Ballard, Post G. A. R., No. 551. (p. 19) [Top]

MULVERHILL, F.C., is a native of Ireland, and came to America in 1848. He learned the trade of carpenter and builder, at which he still continues. In 1858 he enlisted in the regular army, Co. C., 3d U.S. Infantry, and served until 1863, participating in the battles of Gaines Mills, Fort Pickens, Malvern Hill, Fredericksburg, Second Bull Run, Antietam and Gettysburg, and was wounded in the battle of Fredericksburg. He also served in the Indian war against the Mojaves in Arizona. In 1870 he married Elizabeth Gagan, by whom he has five children: Flann C., Thomas E., Daniel Sheridan, Patrick Henry, and Mary Ellen. Mr Mulverhill has been collector for the town of Marshall, and was elected justice of the peace in 1895. (p. 314) [Top]

MUNGER, CHARLES, M. D., was born in the town of Fenner, Madison county, N. Y., April 26, 1841, and has been nearly twenty-five years engaged in the practice of medicine at Knoxboro, having at that time just graduated from Bellevue Hospital Medical college at New York city, and his professional work began with his residence in Knoxboro. He attended the Cazenovia Seminary, previous to entering upon his medical course, which included one year at Ann Arbor and two years at Bellevue, graduating in 1871. Dr. Munger' s father was Chauncey Munger, also a native of the town of Fenner, and a lifelong farmer in that section. Chauncey Munger's father was one of the first three settlers in the township, and a part of the farm upon which he settled in 1793 is still in the possession of the family descendants. Chauncey Munger married Minerva Hathaway, a native of Massachusetts, who was born in 1803, and died at the homestead in 1868. A noteworthy accomplishment of her early life was the weaving of a bed counterpane when she was sixteen years of age, which, although seventy-six years old, is still in use in Dr. Munger's home. Mr. Munger died at his son's home in Knoxboro in 1879. Mr. Munger married Mary E. Strong, a native of Stockbridge, who was born April 20, 1842, and she died June 1, 1881, leaving two daughters: Jessie Strong, born July 11, 1874, and H. Louise, born September 5, 1876. Dr. Munger married for his second wife, Emma O., daughter of W.G. Strong, of Knoxboro, by whom he has had three children: Edith Frances, born November 28, 1886; Margaret Strong, born May 26, 1892, and Robert Strong (deceased), born October 19, 1894. (p. 259-260) [Top]

MUNN, JOHN SHERMAN, was born in Whitestown, March 3, 1839, son of John Burghardt and Melinda (Parsons) Munn. John B. Munn was born in Whitestown in 1802, and conducted a farm until his death in 1886. Mrs. Munn was a native of Connecticut. John Munn, the father of John Burghardt Munn, came from Connecticut, and moved on the farm in Whitestown in 1791. John S., the subject of the present sketch, received a common school education, and graduated from Whitestown Seminary. He then engaged in farming, conducting his father's place. He is a staunch Republican, and deeply interested in the success of his party. He married Harriet Manktelow, daughter of Jonathan Manktelow of Otsego county, by whom he has two children: John B. and Alice E. Mr. Munn is one of the representative farmers of Westmoreland. (p. 192) [Top]