SALISBURY, ALBERT C., son of Noyes, was born in Killawog, Broome county, June 20, 1855, and when sixteen years old began life as a telegraph operator at Norwich, N.Y. He was afterward stationed at Waterville, and also at North Brookfield, where he was station agent. In the spring of 1873 he came to Utica as night train dispatcher for the D., L. & W. Railroad. A year later he went to Waterville as station agent, and after eighteen months returned to Utica as chief train dispatcher, which position he held until 1881, when he was made assistant division superintendent. In 1892 he was promoted to superintendent. His active life has been spent in the employ of the D., L. & W. Railroad Company and he has been identified with that corporation longer than any other man. He is vice-president of the Extension Car Step Company, which was incorporated in 1894, and is a member of Faxton Lodge F. & A.M., Oneida Chapter R.A.M., Imperial Council R.A., and Arcanum and Fort Schuyler Clubs. In 1876 he married Sarah A., daughter of Deloss C. Terry of Sangerfield. (p. 348) [Top]

SALISBURY, JOHN H., was born in Otsego county, January 1, 1828, son of John H. and Catherine Salisbury. John H., sr., was born in Albany county, April 16, 1784,v and his wife, Catherine Richens, in Schoharie county, August 18, 1788. The family moved to what was then the Oneida Factory, now the village of New York Mills, on December 9, 1830, where they lived in the same house over thirty years; and where Mrs. Salisbury died in 1853, and Mr. Salisbury in 1858. John H., jr., has worked for the New York Mills Company for forty-three years, having charge of the repairs and machinery at mills No. 3 and No 4. He married Mary L. Gardner of New York Mills, by whom he has five sons; George W., an engineer and machinist; Charles H., a Baptist minister at Towlesville, N.Y.; Frank, who is living at home; Herbert, who is a florist; and Albert N., a telegraph operator and station agent. (p. 123) [Top]

SANDERS, E. E., was born in Columbia, N. Y., March 25, 1862, son of William and Frances Sanders. He learned the trade of cheese maker when quite young, which he followed for twelve years, and then engaged in farming for five years. In 1891 he purchased the Hibbard House in Bridgewater, which he has since conducted successfully, and is a very popular host. In 1886 he married Bertha M. Eckler, by whom he had one daughter, Hazel. Mr. Sanders is an active and influential Republican, and at present is street commissioner of the village of Bridgewater, and has been delegate to several Republican conventions. (p. 268) [Top]

SANFORD, MRS. HELEN B. The late Hon. George H. Sanford, son of George and Louisa Gibbs Sanford, was born at Sanford's Ridge, in the town of Queensbury, N. Y., in 1836, and a year later removed with his parents to Glens Falls, where he remained until he was thirteen years of age, enjoying such educational advantages as the place afforded. At thirteen years of age he removed to Albany, where he found employment as receiving and shipping clerk with Mead, Burnham & Co., wholesale lumber dealers, and, with the exception of one year spent at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, at Troy, N. Y., remained in their employ for seven years. During three winters of this time he was lumbering on his own account in Greene county, N. Y., and Potter county, Pa. When twenty years of age he went to Syracuse and engaged in the lumber and salt trade, combining with it the manufacture of lumber at Saginaw, Mich., and locating pine lands in the productive pineries of that State. He was connected with one of the pioneer companies, organized in 1858, to bore for salt water in the Saginaw Valley. In 1861 he married Helen (Breese) Stevens, only granddaughter of the late Hon. S. Sidney Breese, of Oneida county, N. Y. In 1862, having acquired a competence, he removed to Oneida county, where he remained until the time of his death. He was appointed president of the Oneida Savings Bank, and director in the Oneida Valley National Bank and Rome and Clinton Railroad Company. He also about this time re-embarked with his younger brother, David, in the lumber business at Rome, N. Y. In 1864 and again in 1868 he was delegate to the National Democratic Conventions. In 1865-66 he was elected supervisor of his town by solid majorities. In 1867 he was nominated for State senator, and ran ahead of his ticket; was elected to the Assembly in 1866, and to the Senate in 1870-71. He died at his residence November 25, 1871, being the third member of the Senate of 1870-71 smitten by death during his term of service. (p. 112-113) [Top]

SARGENT, FOSTER, was born at Sterling, Mass., in 1849, son of N. M. Sargent, who was of English descent, and was born at Lancaster, Mass., in 1813. He came here in 1851 and established the industry of chair manufacturing, one of the important features in the development of the town. In 1857 he purchased the plant of the Tuttle estate, which covers seven acres and furnishes employment for many men. He married Lydia A. Roper, by whom he had four children: Augustus W. (deceased), Nellie, M. Foster, and Frank L. His death in 1884 was universally regretted by the community, with which he had been so closely identified for so many years. Foster and Frank L. Sargent then formed a copartnership styled N. M. Sargent's Sons, and fully maintain the reputation earned during the lifetime of the founder of the enterprise. Foster Sargent has always been engaged in the above enterprise. He first married Nettie Rohda, who died January 13, 1889, and afterward married Hattie E. Hubbard of Gregg, N. Y., by whom he had one son, Walter Sargent. N. M. Sargent represented the town two years in the Oneida county Board of Supervisors, and at various times was trustee of the village; Frank Sargent the junior member of the present firm was born at Boonville August 22, 1853. He married Miss Anna Monnahan, by whom he has one daughter, Anna May, and one son, Frank Harvey Sargent; he is the business manager of the firm of N. M. Sargent's Sons. (p. 105) [Top]

SAUER, G. ADAM, born June 1, 1865, in Utica, is a son of George Sauer, a native of Bavaria, Germany, who came to America about 1862 and still lives in Utica. George Sauer has been since about 1870 engaged in the meat business in West Utica. He married Anna M. Weimer, who died July 21, 1893. They had three children: Joseph J., G. Adam, and Mary M. G. Adam Sauer was educated in the Utica public schools and Assumption Academy, and at an early age entered his father's meat market. In July, 1888, he established his present business, first on Kirkland street and in 1892 at his present location on the corner of Plant and Francis streets. Mr. Sauer is president of the Retail Butchers' Mutual Protective Association of Utica, and is an active Democrat. In November, 1895, he was elected alderman of the Eleventh ward. May 7, 1889, he married Anna A. Zimmerman, daughter of the late Edward Zimmerman, of Utica. (p. 372-373) [Top]

SAWTELLE, WASHINGTON SEWALL, was born in Sidney, Me., August 3, 1827, son of Major Amaziah and Malinda (Black) Sawtelle, who had eight children: Washington S. married Caroline Amelia, daughter of William T. and Mary(Wright) Fowler, by whom he had six children: Chester W., Vergie, Clarence, Marion, and Mary and Charles A. (deceased). Washington S. attended school at West Point and at seventeen years of age enlisted in the Mexican war, 5th Regiment, Company D, and served one year and five months. He was taken prisoner at Vera Cruz and was confined for five months at Cordoba and Orizaba, when he escaped and joined his regiment. He was one of the fourteen who made the ascent of Mt. Popocatepetl. He first came to Utica in 1850, and in 1856 he published the Mohawk Valley Register at Fort Plain. By profession he is an artist and painter. He is an extensive traveler, having traveled over the United States, Canada, Mexico and Cuba. He made an overland trip to California before there was a railroad to the western country. He is now living a retired life. (p. 90)[Top]

SAYER, JAMES W., was born in England, August 1, 1835. His father was a native of Kent county, England, where he was born April 14, 1797, and came to America in 1840, settling in Westmoreland, N. Y., where he engaged in farming, and continued until his death in December, 1871. While in England he married Maria Cloak, who was born in 1798, and died in Westmoreland in 1873. James W. Sayer was one of a family of eight children, five girls and three boys. He was educated at Westmoreland and Augusta, and after his school days, which ended when he was sixteen years of age, he went to Kendall county, Ill., where he learned the blacksmith trade, and then for several years continued in that place, also Grundy county, and Dwight, Ill. He in the mean time bought a farm in that State, conducting the affairs of that enterprise. In 1859 he married Annie C. Bradford of Morris, Ill., who died October 5, 1871, by whom he had three children: Lillie A., born September 9, 1861; George T., born February 23, 1864; and Hattie A., born February 25, 1866, who died September 15, 1871. November 30, 1876, he married his present wife, Sarah A. Cackett, a native of England, by whom he has two children: Clarence A., born June 26, 1879, and Myron J., born November 12, 1881. (p. 156) [Top]

SCHEEHL, JACOB, son of Adam and Otilda Scheehl, was born in Bavaria, Germany, May 4, 1848, and came to America with his parents in 1849, settling in Utica, where his father died in November, 1891. He was educated in the public and German parochial schools, was graduated from the Advanced school in 1862, and spent three years each with Remington's old armory and Reynolds Brothers, shoe manufacturers. He was for two years clerk in the canal collector's office under Joseph Faass, and from April, 1871, to October, 1883, was employed in the New York Central freight office. On the opening of the West Shore Railroad in 1883 he was made station agent, and upon William N. Weaver's death in July, 1887, became joint agent of the two roads. In July, 1891, he resigned, and with William F. Hayes, as Scheehl & Hayes, engaged in the coal business. In 1892 he was elected alderman of the Tenth ward and by re-election still serves in that capacity. In March, 1894, and again in January, 1896, he was chosen president of the common council. He is a Democrat and has been delegate to several political conventions, notably those at Saratoga in 1892 and Syracuse in 1895. He was chairman of the Democratic city committee in 1878. He is a 33d degree Mason and very prominent in Masonic circles. He is a member and past master of Oriental Lodge, No. 224, F. & A. M., for the last fifteen years one of its trustees, and past district deputy grand master of this district; a member of Oneida Chapter, No. 57, R. A. M., and for the last ten years its secretary; a member of Utica Commandery, No. 3, K T., a member of the Utica Council, No. 28, R. & S. M., a member of Ziyara Temple Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, its chief raben for three years, its acting potentate for one year, and its recorder for the past five years a member of Utica Consistory. No. 2. A. A. S. R., in which rite he received the 33d degree. He has been treasurer of the Masonic board of trustees of the several Masonic bodies of Utica for the past twelve years, is a charter member of the Masonic Club, and was very active in securing the Masonic Home for Utica, being district deputy grand master at the time. He is a member and past regent of Fort Schuyler Council, No. 404, R. A., and its representative to the Grand Lodge of the State for two years. He has also been for the past eight years a trustee of the Homestead Aid Association of Utica. In September, 1878, he married Mary Louise Schrader of Utica, and their children are Emma L., Walter J., and one deceased. (p. 188-189) [Top]

SCHILZ, PETER, JR., was born in the town of Deerfield, N. Y., August 19, 1864, son of Peter and Margaret (Servatius) Schilz, natives of Germany. The grandparents, Christ and Mary (Synder) Schilz, were farmers of Godendorf, Kraes Tries, Helenbach, German. Mr. Schilz came to America in May, 1857, and settled in Deerfield, where he engaged in farming, and in 1891, retired to Utica, where he now resides. He was reared and educated in Germany, and served in the army. Margaret Servatius Schilz was born in Loblentz, Naevit, Germany. She came to this country in 1838, with her parents, John and Catherine Servatius; they settled in West Utica where some of the family still live and where she (Margaret) lived until the age of twenty-three, when she married Peter Schilz and went to reside in Deerfield, in which place they stayed until 1892, when they went back to Utica, where she died in February, 1896. Peter jr. was reared on the farm in Deerfield, and commenced business in the sash and blind factory in Utica, where he was engaged for three years; and then was in the grocery of William Rim for five years. He was next engaged in the box factory, where he met with a severe accident, which resulted in the loss of his hand. In 1891, he engaged in the hotel business at Deerfield corners, being proprietor of the Union House. In 1895, he erected a building for town hall, and for use of the Deerfield Fire Co., of which he is a member. In 1891, he married Mary A., daughter of David D. (a native of Deerfield, who was born February 10, 1827), and Julia (Monaghan) Jones, who was born in Ireland in 1827. The parents of Mr. Jones were David I. and Catherine (Jones) Jones, who came from Llannwellyn, near Bala, Maireonydd Sir, North Wales, to Deerfield. They settled on Smith Hill and were farmers. He died February 15, 1884, aged ninety-two years and she died August 28, 1868, at the age of seventy-four years. The parents of Mrs. David D. Jones were Thomas and Mary (Martin) Monaghan, of Ireland. Mrs. Jones came to America forty-seven years ago, and was employed in the home of Horatio Seymour for twelve years. Mr. Jones was a carpenter by trade, and all over the town his handiwork can be seen. About the last large job that he did was the erection of the Deerfield street car barn. He learned his trade at the age of twenty-four, and up to the time of his death was continually in the employ of Geo. F. Weaver & Sons, who always found him honest and faithful. His father, David I. Jones, came to Deerfield at the age of thirty; this place at that time was nothing but a wilderness and swamp lots. A few who had cleared land here in the valley for themselves urged him to stay here, but he did not seem to think much of our new beautiful valley of the Mohawk, so went farther out and settled on Smith Hill on a farm lying between two gulfs. The house is old-fashioned and built of logs, and was situated about half a mile back from the main road; just before the house is a deep gully, which makes it quite a picturesque little place, with the road winding down on the one side across the little stream, and up on the other into a large yard. The house is still standing, but not in the same place as then; it is northeast of there. The pictures of the house are now in the family. Mrs. Schilz has it painted on a slate which was used by her cousin, Owen J. Roberts, when a schoolboy, and so it is doubly dear to her. The painting was done by a very dear friend of the family (Mrs. Geo. W. Rapelye), now of Staten Island, daughter of David Richards of Utica, who formerly lived on Smith Hill, and who at present time is owner of a part of Mrs. Schilz's grandfather's farm. Mr. Scholz is a Catholic, and a member of the C. M. B. A. No. 55, of Utica, and of the St. Anthony's Sick Benefit Society. (p. 63) [Top]

SCOLLARD, CLINTON, was born September 18, 1860. He is the only son of Dr. James I. and Elizabeth S. Scollard. He graduated from Hamilton College in 1881, with a record for high scholarship. After teaching rhetoric and oratory for a year or two in the Brooklyn Polytechnic, he entered upon a post-graduate course in advanced English at Harvard University. In 1886 he went abroad, and in 1887 he made a tour of several months in the far East. Upon his return he was called to Hamilton as instructor in English literature. He was married July 3, 1890, and spent his honeymoon in Europe. In 1891 he was elevated to the chair of English literature at his alma mater. This he held till 1898, when he resigned to devote his time wholly to literature, in which field he has attained unusual fame for a young man. He has published several volumes of poetry which rank with those of the best writers in that line. While still an undergraduate at Hamilton, Mr. Scollard's poetical efforts began to attract attention. The college periodicals of that date contain many clever verses from his pen. (p. 132) [Top]

SCOTT, W.I., was born in Brookfield, Madison county, April 8, 1849, son of Giles Scott, who is a native of Madison county, and Elizabeth G. (Babcock) Scott. He has resided in Oneida county for the past eight years, and has an attractive residence at Bridgewater Center. In 1888 he married Alice R. Robbins, whose parents are natives of Connecticut. Mr. Scott's grandparents on both his mother's and father's side, are eastern people. (p. 276) [Top]

SCOTT, W.J., was born July 28, 1823, son of Marvin and Julia M. (Ives) Scott, and his grandfather was Amos Scott. His grandfather on his mother's side came to Bridgewater in 1793, and with his cousin, Jesse Ives, were the first settlers in the town. W.J. Scott has been engaged in farming all his life, and is to-day one of the most extensive owners of farm land in Central New York; his farm aggregating 1,250 acres, 625 of which are on one block surrounding the homestead. The old Masonic lodge erected 100 years ago now stands on his land. Mr. Scott is full of anecdotes and good stories of the old times, when the now fertile fields were a wilderness. He is a strong Republican, and very patriotic to his party. In 1865 he established Scott's Bank in Bridgewater, and conducted it successfully for fourteen years, when his health compelled him to relinquish it. In 1847 he married Emeline Munn, by whom he has three children: Anna, now Mrs. S.T. Meservey, of Fort Dodge, Ia., Lizzie, now Mrs. Charles G. Wood, of Utica, N.Y.; and Dayton M. Scott, who is a farmer in Bridgewater. (p. 228) [Top]

SCOTT, WALTER F., was born in the town of Annsville, April 18, 1859. His father, Otto Scott, was born in Deerfield, and came to the town of Annsville in 1849. He was an extensive farmer and lumberman, always being a man of high standing in the town where he resided. He married Julia, daughter of John Bloss, of whom Blossvale derived its name, by whom he had one child, Walter F., who was educated in the town and Whitestown Seminary, after which he engaged for some time in farming and owns a farm of 200 acres. He is an active Republican in politics, and was in New York city for two years, in the office of the subtreasurer of the United States. He married N. B. Taft, of Taberg, by whom he has four children: Otis, Pauline, Northrup and Howard. (p. 66) [Top]

SCOVILL, JAMES VAN HORN, a direct descendant of the early settlers of the town of Paris, was born at Paris, Oneida county, in June, 1834, only child of Isaac Scovill (who was born at Watertown, Conn.) His grandfather, Darius Scovill, came to Paris in 1804. Mr. Scovill received his education at Paris, Clinton, and Cazenovia Seminary. He removed from Paris Hill to New Hartford in 1884, where he purchased about sixty acres of garden land, which he has devoted to dairy productions, also being a breeder of thoroughbred Jersey cattle, from which his place is known as Jersey-Hurst. He was one of the organizers of the American Dairymen's Association, of which he is a valued member. He is vice-president of the Central New York Farmers' Club, and has held that position for many years. He is also a life member of the New York State Agricultural Society. June 1, 1882, he married Miss Annie Dewhurst, eldest daughter of Thomas and Anne Dewhurst, of Graefenburg, Herkimer county, N. Y., formerly of Willowvale, Oneida county, at which place she was born. The result of the union has been six daughters, namely: Jennie Belle, Bessie Murrow, Cornelia Mae, Helen Eliza, Marianne Howard, and Grace Leona. The late Mrs. Jane Scovill, mother of J. V. H. Scovill, was the daughter of the late Thomas Murrow, and a descendant on her mother's side of the Van Horns of New York; she was the last representative of this old and celebrated family, and Mr. Scovill has in his possession a very interesting document consisting of original records of births in the family of Jacobus Van Horn of New York, whose father, John Van Horn, was one of the earliest settlers of New York city, which information may be found in the Colonial History of New York. The manuscript is beautifully written in Dutch and dated 1732. (p. 161) [Top]

SCOVILLE, SAMUEL T. W., was born in the town of Camden, N. Y., October 17, 1842, son of Riley Scoville who was born in Connecticut and came to Camden in 1840. He was a farmer by occupation, which line of business Samuel Scoville has followed for some years. Mr. Scoville married Maria Upson, of Camden, by whom he has one son, Riley A. He is an enterprising and thrifty business man and in politics is a Democrat. (p. 44) [Top]

SCOVILLE, WILLIAM, was born in the town of New Hartford in 1831, a grandson of Darius Scoville, an early settler of Paris, N. Y. coming from Watertown, Conn. about 1800 with Seabury Scoville, the father of William Scoville. Seabury Scoville spent nearly ninety-four years of his life here, dying in 1877, leaving a worthy record as a man and citizen. William Scoville continued in the cultivation of the ancestral acres until his retirement to Washington Mills. His education was completed at the Saquoit Academy. In 1863 he married Lois Porter, of New Hartford, by whom he has three children: Luella A., wife of William Nelson, Rufus S., and Florence C. Rufus S. married Cora H. Foss November 22, 1894. (p. 204) [Top]

SEAMAN, JEROME M., was born in Oswego, N. Y., in 1846, and is a much esteemed citizen of New Hartford, where he has been a resident for twenty-five years. After acquiring his education at the Dwight & Holbrook Seminary in Clinton, N. Y. he resided with his parents at Clark's Mills, where his father, Hicks Seaman, was superintendent of the Clark's Mills Cotton Manufactory for twenty-five years. In 1862 he went to the war and enlisted as a private in the 146th Regt. N. Y. State Volunteers of Infantry, and by his valiant service and faithfulness he was commissioned by Gov. Horatio Seymour as second lieutenant of Co. G of that regiment, and afterwards he was again commissioned by Gov. R. E. Fenton as first lieutenant of the same company, and at the close of the Rebellion he returned with his company as its acting captain. Although he was present with his company in every battle in which his regiment was engaged from the time of his enlistment he was never wounded or imprisoned. Previous to his residence here he was employed in the cotton mills at Oriskany, which engagement he entered upon after he returned from the war. He has been superintendent of the weaving department of the New Hartford Cotton Manufacturing Company since his residence here and has held the office of trustee of the village several terms, and was president of the village from March, 1891, to March, 1896. In 1871 he married Anna Elizabeth Reilly of this place. They are worthy and efficient members of St. John's Catholic church of the village and took an active part in founding and organizing its congregation. (p. 161) [Top]

SEARLE, CHARLES H., son of William Nelson and Eliza (Rogers) Searle, was born in Leonardsville, Madison county, June 23, 1842, was educated in the public schools of his native town, at Whitestown Academy and in Cazenovia Seminary, and was graduated from Hamilton College in 1869. He read law in Syracuse with Pratt, Mitchell & Brown, and was admitted to the bar in that city in the fall of 1870. He then opened an office in Leonardsville and practiced his profession until January 1, 1873, when he came to Utica and formed a partnership with Daniel Ball, which continued till the latter's death in the spring of 1875. Since then he has practiced alone except during the year 1883, when he was a member of the firm of Searle, Dunmore & Willis. Mr. Searle was school commissioner of the city of Utica one term, but otherwise has held no public office. In July, 1864, he enlisted in Co. D., 189th N.Y. Vols., as first lieutenant, and remained with his regiment until the close of the war, being in the Fifth Army Corps, Army of the Potomac, until Lee surrendered. He is a member and past commander of Bacon Post, No. 53, G.A.R. In 1876 he married Annie Pier, who died in 1879 leaving one son, Homer W. In 1885 he married, second, Alice L. Hotchkiss, of Phelps, N.Y., and they have three daughters: Alice L., Annie P. and Ruth. (p. 340-341) [Top]

SEATON, J.W., was born at Utica, N.Y., in 1844, son of John Seaton, who was born at Yorkshire, England, and came to Utica in 1832. Being a tailor by trade, he resumed his work here, and remained at one location on Blandina street for twenty-five years. J.W. Seaton was reared and educated upon the New Hartford farm, where his father died in 1885, at the age of seventy-six years. He is living in an elegant home on Genesee street, which he erected in 1889; but he is still interested in agricultural pursuits, and with his brother owns large and productive farms. In 1864 he married Frances Thickens, of Utica, by whom he has one son, Albert J., born in 1865, who is married and with three children resides with his father, while engaged in business in Utica. Mr. J.W. Seaton is an ardent Republican and trustee of the village. (p. 339) [Top]

SEITER, GEORGE, was born March 14, 1845, in France, near the city of Strasburg and the River Rhine, Germany, and came to America in 1847. His father, a carpenter, settled in Utica and engaged at his trade: but having a desire to own a saw-mill, he bought at Little Black Creek. While quite young George found he inherited his father's desire for a saw mill and machinery. In 1869 his father died, and two years later he came to Boonville where he invested in real estate on the corner of Main and Church streets and built a block of stores and the Globe Hotel, which he still owns. For some twenty years he conducted a grocery store and ran the Globe Hotel for about three years; while in business he often found himself called upon to draft plans and build so in 1890 he bought the tannery site of Samuel Johnson, a fine water power about a stone's throw from the depot, where he built a saw mill and a rustic home, where he enjoys life with his wife and children, of which he has seven: Mary Anna, John Mathias, Rose Helen, Julia Barbara, George, jr., Joseph Aloysius, and Norbert Milton. In 1895 he added steam to the mill, which gives ample power at all times, and he expects to manufacture lumber, shingles, lath, etc., also to do planing, turning and scroll sawing. (p. 128) [Top]

SELBACH, JOHN H., was born in Utica, N. Y., February 15, 1866, son of John and Mary Selbach. John Selbach was born in Germany, and came to America over forty years ago. He was first a merchant in Utica, and later engaged in farming, at which he continued, until he retired in 1892. Mrs. Selbach died in 1872. John H. was educated in the public schools of Utica, after which he engaged in farming, and is also a milk dealer, running a route in Utica. He is one of the best known farmers in Whitesboro, and is also school trustee. He married Catherine Miller, of Whitesboro, by whom he has two children: Mary and Fred. Mr. Selbach and his wife are members of St. Paul's church at Whitestown. (p. 280) [Top]

SESSIONS, F. W., engaged in the millinery business in Utica in 1888, and has since built up one of the leading establishments in Central New York. He employs during the busy season about fifty hands, besides several traveling salesmen, has an office in New York City, and enjoys a wholesale and retail trade covering the entire State. The business was first located at 204 Genesee Street, whence it was moved February 15, 1891, to its present quarters, where it has nearly tripled its original capacity. (p. 346) [Top]

SEXTON, MICHAEL H., son of Patrick and Margaret (Conway) Sexton, natives of County Clare, Ireland, was born in Waterville, Oneida county, May 19, 1859. His parents came to this country when children, and were married in Corning, N. Y. They finally settled permanently in Waterville, where Mrs. Sexton died October 11, 1879. Mr. Sexton is a stone mason by trade, and now resides in Utica. Of their eight children five are living. Michael H. Sexton was educated in Waterville Academy, in St. Joseph's College in Otawa, Canada, and spent two years in Williston Seminary, in Easthampton, Mass. He went from Williston Seminary to Hamilton College, but did not graduate. At the age of sixteen he bought his time from his father, and immediately began the task of obtaining an education. With no capital excepting honesty, and no influence excepting that born of a grim determination, he began his career of self education. He left Hamilton College and taught school at Brothertown, Oneida county, to acquire funds, and for a short time thereafter read law in Waterville with E. H. Lamb, and again went upon the farm, and there continued until the fall of 1883, at which time he came to Utica, and commenced the study of law in the office of R. 0. & J. G. Jones, and later finished his clerkship with Hon. W. T. Dunmore, and in January, 1887, was admitted to the bar. Notwithstanding the fact that his studies, both literary and legal, were frequently interrupted by work on the farm or in teaching school to supply the needed funds for continued effort, he was admitted on his first examination at the end of his clerkship. After his admission he formed a co-partnership with Judge Dunmore, which continued until 1889, since which time he has practiced alone. Though his family and relatives are Democrats, Mr. Sexton has always been a staunch Republican, and in 1887 was nominated for member of assembly for the Utica district, but was defeated by a very small majority by J. Harry Kent. Since then he has acquired considerable prominence as a stump speaker and campaign orator. He is pre eminently a self-made man, and since coming to Utica a poor boy has accumulated a fair competency. He is of an inventive turn of mind and has secured letters patent on two or three appliances which promise much success. He is a member of the Elks, and of the I. 0. of R. M. , and as a gifted writer and a talented elocutionist, has won a very good reputation. He is very successful in his chosen profession, and a bright future is predicted for him by his associates at the bar. Apri1 20, 1887, he married Mattie F. Creagan, of Utica, and their children are Marguerite, Warren M., and Howard P. (p. 356-357) [Top]

SEYMOUR, HENRY A., was born in the town of Redfield, Oswego county. His father, Alphonso H. Seymour, was born in the same town and county, and is a miller by trade, and is now manufacturing shingles in the State of Washington. He married Sarah Allen, by whom he had four children: William, Ella, Bertie, and Henry A., who has conducted a tannery in Florence for thirteen years, in which he is still engaged, making a rough upper leather, and is a thorough business man in this line. He married Olive, daughter of the late William Graves. (p. 29) [Top]

SHARP, CHARLES W., was born in Morrisville, Madison county, August 12, 1842, and is a son of Charles H. Sharp, a mechanic, who came with his family to New York Mills in 1853 and died in Wisconsin in 1886. He learned the trade of scythe maker and machinist in the town of Paris. Oneida county. In July, 1862, he enlisted in Co. G, 117th N. Y. Vols., as a musician, and remained with his regiment two years and eleven months, or until the close of the war, being honorably discharged June 6, 1865, at Raleigh, North Carolina, and mustered out at Syracuse on June 17, 1865. In 1877 he came to Utica and engaged in manufacturing and bottling small beer and soda water, which he still continues. He is an active Republican, and was formerly a member of Post Reynolds G. A. R. and its commander nine years. He is now a member of Post Bacon, and active in G. A. R. circles. He was a member of the committee on the chief's staff under Gen. S. S. Burdett, and later one of the State G. A. R. inspectors. He is now a member of the general committee of the G. A. R., Department State of New York, and was active in securing the annual encampment for Utica in May 1896. He is also a member of the Utica Lodge Knights of Honor. He married first Martha Lloyd, of Clayville, N. Y., and they had one daughter, Jennie M. (Mrs. Nathaniel Crask) of Utica. In April, 1874, he married. second, Carrie A. Tillson, also of Clayville, Oneida county, and they have one daughter, Grace A.

SHATTUCK, LUTHER, was born in Floyd, N. Y., June 16, 1822, son of Asaph and Mary (Dorrel) Shattuck, who came here from Massachusetts in 1806. He was one of nine children: Laurie, Sylvia, Ezra, Asaph, jr., William, Louisa, Lydia, Calvin, and Luther. Asaph Shattuck was engaged in farming, and was also interested in church work and educational interests. He was trustee of the Floyd Union church and justice of the peace for several terms. Luther Shattuck married Cynthia, daughter of Jabes and Margaret Holmes, by whom he has three children: Martin F., who married Mary Stone; Charles A., who married Carrie Robbins; and Emily C., wife of Charles Johnson. He is engaged in farming, and is also interested in church affairs, and has been trustee of the Floyd and Stittville church. All of the children attended. Whitestown Seminary, and Martin has been justice of the peace for several years, and Charles A., town clerk. (p. 210) [Top]

SHAW, HENRY W., was born in Sheffield, England, September 25, 1830, son of John and Ann (Ashforth) Shaw, natives of England, who came to Albany, N. Y., in 1831, and in 1832 came to Deerfield, where they engaged in farming. His maternal grandfather, George Ashforth, was a cabinet maker at Vernon Center; and his paternal grandfather, John Shaw, was overseer of land estate in England, who in old age came to America, where he died at the age of ninety-four years. Henry W. has been engaged at railroading for ten years; at the carpenter trade for twenty years, and was collector of toll on the Deerfield and Utica road, for three years. In 1857 he married Helen Sweet of Schuyler, who died in 1887, leaving one daughter, Cora A. In 1862 Mr. Shaw enlisted in Co. C, 117th, 4th Oneida Regt. and was honorably discharged May 10, 1864, because of disability. He is a charter member of Post McQuaid No. 14, G. A. R. (p. 102) [Top]

SHEDD, PHILANDER, was born in Westmoreland, July 27, 1835, son of Dyer and Polly (Bratt) Shedd, natives of Stephentown, Rensselaer county, N.Y., he born May 30, 1797, and she April 29, 1821. The grandfather, Isaiah Shedd, settled in Westmoreland in 1803, on what has since been the family homestead. Philander Shedd was educated in Westmoreland, after which he engaged in farming, and also taught school for a few years. He married Emma Sandford, of Westmoreland, by whom he has four children: Francis, Morris, William and Harriet (p. 291) [Top]

SHERIDAN, SIMON, son of Thomas and Rose (Burns) Sheridan was born May 31, 1823, in County Meath, Ireland, and came to America in 1847, landing in New York city July 1. He had learned the carpenter trade, and coming immediately to Utica (in July, 1847,) he actively identified himself with that calling. He worked here and in Rome until 1850, and since then has lived in Utica. He followed carpentering and building during his active life, working on the Rome Academy and court house and many other noted structures as a journeyman, in which capacity he was with A.J. Lathrop for eight years. He was foreman for William Metcalf about eleven years, and is one of the oldest carpenters and builders in Utica. He is a Democrat, has been quite active in local politics, and has several times been the candidate for his party for office. He joined the 45th Regiment, Emmett Guards, in 1854, and served seven years, becoming sergeant. He was a member of the old St. Vincent de Paul Society for ten years prior to its disbandment. February 9, 1854, he married Sarah A., daughter of Patrick Donally, of Utica, and they have had six children: Thomas, who died in infancy, Mary (Mrs. Edward Calahan), of Utica, Rose and Ann, who died young, and James D. and Simon F., of Utica. (p. 372) [Top]

SHEEHAN, JOHN H., was born in Ireland, March 16, 1838. Having lost his parents by death he came to America when about six years of age with an elder sister and first settled in Troy, N.Y., where he attended the public schools. In 1850 he came to Utica and finished his education in the Advanced school of this city. At the age of fourteen he became an errand boy in the drug store of Uriah H. Kellogg. About four years later Mr. Kellogg was succeeded by Grove & Hamilton, with whom Mr. Sheehan remained for a short time. In 1857 he entered the employ of Dickinson, Comstock & Co., wholesale druggists and grocers, and in 1865 he was admitted as a partner. He continued in this capacity until 1868, when he formed a copartnership with his father-in-law, Peter Vidvard, who was then in the wholesale wine and spirit business at Nos. 29 and 31 John street. This firm adopted the name of Vidvard & Sheehan and continued for ten years, or until 1878. In January, 1879, Mr. Sheehan started in the wholesale and retain drug business on his own account on the site of the Oneida National Bank building, where he was burned out June 10, 1886. In 1884 he took Charles S. England (then in his employ) and Philip Sweeney as partners under the firm name of John H. Sheehan & Co., which name still continues, although Mr. Sheehan has been for several years the sole proprietor. In the fall of 1886 they established the present store in Genesee street, purchasing the site form one of the heirs of the late John Carton. Mr. Sheehan is a Democrat in politics, an successful business man, and was charity commissioner for one year, being appointed to fill the vacancy caused by the death of Joseph Fass. He is a member of Fort Schuyler Club and takes an active interest in the welfare of the city. September 13, 1865, he married Josephine Francis Schaler, step-daughter of Peter Vidvard, and they have six children: Dr. John P., a physician of Utica; Edward J., of the Sheehan Fruit Syrup Company, of Utica; Robert S., who died April 15, 1894, aged twenty-one; Frederick Paul, a student at Fordham College in New York city; and Josephine Catherine and Agnes Emily, students in Mrs. Piatt's Ladies' Seminary of Utica. (p. 378-379) [Top]

SHEPARD, LUTHER M., was born in the town of Verona, N.Y., in 1832. He was educated in the district schools, and has always followed farming. March 23, 1854, he married Barbara Bell, of this town by whom he had three children: Estella B., Etta A., and Fred L., who married Agnes Hamilton of New York city. Mr. Shepard's father, Luther Shepard, was born in Connecticut, about 1780, and came to this town in 1803, where he engaged in farming. He was married twice, first to Polly Merriam, by whom he had three children: Sophia, Joseph, and Mary Ann. For his second wife he married Eliza Nichols, of the town of Vienna, by whom he had eight children: Eliza, Juliette, Harriet, Luther M., as above, Sarah J., George A., Delight, and Edward. Mr. Shepard died April 20, 1868, and his wife April 2, 1855. Mrs. Shepard's father, Paul Bell, was born in France, and came to the United States when a young man, and was employed in a New York French importing house. He married Miss Wagner, formerly of France, by whom he had one daughter, Barbara, as above. Mr. Bell died when Mrs. Shepard was a little girl, and his wife February 10, 1892. The ancestry of the Shepard family is of Puritan New England stock, and Mrs. Shepard's people were of French and German origin. (p. 330) [Top]

SHERRILL, L.T., was born in the town of New Hartford in 1840, son of Joseph Allen Sherrill, who is now living in his eighty-fifth year, in the town where he was born, and who is a man of much ability and a great reader. L. T. Sherrill is a representative of a family closely identified with the early history of the town of New Hartford, and his paternal ancestors figured in the growth of the nation, being active participants at the Boston tea party, and in the war of the Revolution. His grandfather, Lewis Sherrill, came here from East Hampton, L. I., before 1800. Mr. Sherrill received his education in New Hartford, and in Utica, and was for several years a salesman in an importer's house at New York; but in 1863 went to the front with the 23d Brooklyn Regiment, and was in service three months, going out as a private soldier, and returning as lieutenant. Since the war he has been a staff officer in Utica. In 1868 he married Adelaide E., daughter of Goodwin P. Soper, a lumber merchant at Oneida, N. Y., by whom he had four children: Cecelia Adelaide, class of '93 Smith College, now in the library at Utica; Arthur Lewis, a student in the College of Physicians and Surgeons at New York; Grace Munger, an art student of Smith College, also in the library at Utica; and Goodwin Allen, pursuing studies in Boston, Mass. Mr. Sherrill is a member or the Presbyterian church, of which his father has been elder for fifty-four years. (p. 231-232)

SHIRLEY, THOMAS A., was born in Steuben, Oneida county, February 23, 1833, a son of John and Ann (Grimmit) Shirley, natives of Warwickshire, England, who came to America in 1826 and located in Utica, where the father, who was a wheelwright, worked at his trade, also in Steuben, for several years, later engaged in farming, and in 1841 removed to Western and worked at his trade up to his death, which occurred in 1868, aged eighty years. His children were Hannah, William, Sarah (Mrs. J. P. Savage), John, Elizabeth (who married S. W. Savage), Thomas A., Jennie, and Mary (Mrs. James Smith). Thomas A. was reared in Western from eight years of age, and since attaining his majority has been engaged principally in farming, though for thirteen years followed boating on the Black River and Erie Canal. December 27, 1855, he married Sarah, daughter of William and Sarah (Rowbotham) Pillmore, of Western, and has four children living: Eliza (Mrs. E. S. Grower), Jennie (Mrs. F. J. Grower), Lucia and Fred. Mr. Shirley is a member of the M.E. church, has been justice of the peace of Western four years, and politically is a Republican. (p. 110-111) [Top]

SHOEWALTER, JOSEPH H., was born in the town of Verona, N. Y., February 15, 1846, and was educated in the district schools and Oneida Seminary. He has followed the canal thirty-one years in all, twenty-five years as boat owner, being known as Captain Shoewalter, but is now living a retired life. December 29. 1868, he married Ella A. Shattuck, of this town. Mrs. Shoewalter died July 8, 1882, and January 2, 1889, he married for his second wife. Ida E. Dunn, of this town. His father, Henry Shoewalter, was born in Bavaria, Germany, August 11, 1811, and came to the United States with his sister in 1839, finally locating in the town of Verona, where he was a tailor and afterward a farmer by occupation. He married Mary Poplet, of this town, by whom he had one son, Joseph H., as above. Mr. Shoewalter died January 5, 1883, and his wife May 18, 1851. Mrs. Shoewalter's father, Dennis B. Dunn, was born in Kings County, Ireland, in 1837, and came to the United States with his grandfather in 1844, and was educated in the district schools of Verona. He married Mary Hyland, of this town, by whom he had thirteen children: Francis A., Ida E., as above, Udella, Rose A., Catherine, Dennis P., Marsella C., Sarah A., Theresa, Jennie E., William J., Lucy M., and Anna S. (p. 90)[Top]

SHOLES, HERBERT C., was born in Bridgewater, Oneida county, October 13, 1855. Newton Sholes, his father, married Caroline E. Wood, and afterward moved from Plainfield, Otsego county, to Bridgewater, where he now resides, and where he has long been a prominent citizen, serving as justice of the peace, justice of sessions, supervisor, loan commissioner, etc. Herbert C. Sholes attended the public schools and West Winfield Academy and was graduated from Whitestown Seminary in 1874. In 1877 he entered the office of J. A. & A. B. Steele, of Herkimer, N. Y., as a student at law, and was admitted to the bar at the Rochester general term in October, 1880. In November, 1881, he began the practice of his profession in Clayville, Oneida county, and just three years later removed to Utica, where he has since resided, and where he successfully practiced alone until May 1, 1888, when he formed a partnership with Hon. W. T. Dunmore, under the firm name of Dunmore & Sholes. March 1, 1893, this was changed to Dunmore, Sholes & Ferris, its present style, by the admission of T. Harvey Ferris. Mr. Sholes is a staunch Republican, and from 1888 to 1890 inclusive, was special surrogate of Oneida county. He is a member of Faxton Lodge, No. 697, F. & A. M., and takes a lively interest in all public matters. November 23, 1886, he married Eliza A., daughter of A. M. Cook, of Evans Mills, Jefferson county, and they have one son, Newton Cook Sholes, born June 6, 1888. (p. 158) [Top]

SIEGMAN, FREDERICK , was born in Rome, March 8, 1849, son of Frederick and Rosanna Siegman, who came from Bavaria, landed in New York, and came by the canal to Rome. In 1846 he first began work in Adams's foundry, then assisted in building the second track of the N. Y. C. R. R. and also assisted on the R., W. & O. R. R. From Rome he went to Taberg, from there he returned to Rome, and about 1857 came to Westmoreland, where he first rented a farm. and subsequently purchased one which he conducted until he retired from active work. He died in May, 1891, aged eighty-four years. Frederick Siegman, jr., was educated at the district school, after which he engaged in farming at which he has since continued. He married Charlotte Herrick, of New London, N. Y., by whom he has four children: Lela, Lydia I., Fred J., and Florence. (p. 265) [Top]

SIEGMAN, LEOPOLD, was born September 8, 1858, son of Frederick and Rosanna (Newcomb) Siegman. Frederick was a native of Bavaria, and came to the United States in 1846, settled in Rome, and assisted in building the Rome & Watertown railroad, also in building the second track on the New York Central R. R., then settled in Westmoreland, where he engaged in farming until 1876, when he retired. He died May 2, 1891. Leopold was educated at the district school at Westmoreland, and then engaged in farming. In addition to farming he also deals largely in butter, eggs, and meat, which he buys throughout the country, and ships to the city markets. Mr. Siegman married Helen D. Effenberger of Utica, by whom he has one son, Harold Henry. (p. 267) [Top]

SIMMONS, CYRUS C., was born in the town of Annsville N. Y., July 25, 1838. His father, Oran F. Simmons, was born in Paris N. Y., July 28, 1811. He married Betsey, daughter of Ira Robinson, by whom he had six children: Alma C., Ira A., who enlisted in the 146th. NY Vols., and was killed in the service, Rosanna, Olive J., Ezra D., and Cyrus C., who was educated in the district schools of this town and remained with his parents until he was thirty years of age, when he started in life for himself. He married Elnora C., daughter of H. T. B. Hannay, by whom he had five children: George G., Delbert, Fayette E., Rollo O., and Banjamin C. In 1861 Mr. Simmons enlisted in Co. A 97th. NY Vols. and served eleven months. He is a member of Ballard Post. No. 551 and in politics is a Republican. (p. 29) [Top]

SINGLETON, W.H., was born in Utica, September 16, 1842, son of Richard Singleton, of Leeds, Yorkshire, England, who came to America in 1837, and Eliza (Booth) Singleton, of Bradford, England. His grandfather, William Singleton, was one of three brothers who conducted an extensive lumber business in Edingburgh, Scotland. W.H. Singleton moved to Newark, N.J., with his parents in 1844, where he received his education, and at sixteen years of age he moved to Whitesboro, where he lived ten years. He then went to Clinton for one year, and after traveling for a year through the Western States he returned to Whitesboro and remained eight years, and from there he came to Waterville, where he has since resided, and has been engaged in the furniture and undertaking business all of his business life, as was his father before him. He has one of the finest libraries in this part of the county. Mr. Singleton is a member of the Masonic fraternity, both the Blue Lodge and Chapter, and has held offices in both. He has also been justice of the peace, and has been a trustee of the village for two years. In 1870 he married Mary E. Bagg, of Kirkland, by whom he has two sons: Grove W. and Harry Earl Singleton. (p. 315) [Top]

SINK WILLIAM W., was born in Utica, N. Y., October 1, 1853, son of William and Sarah Sink. William Sink was educated in Utica, N. Y. He engaged in the railroad business at the age of seventeen, and was employed in Utica eight years, after which he went to Little Falls and then came to Oriskany in 1881, where he has been engaged as station and express agent, also freight and ticket agent. Mr. Sink is school trustee in Oriskany, where he has served on the board for nine years. He married Jennie Thomas of Chittenango, N. Y., by whom he has two children: Seymour and Anna. Mr. Sink is a member of the I. 0. 0. F., Schuyler Lodge No. 147 of Utica, and is a vestryman of the Episcopal church at Oriskany, of which his wife is a member. (p. 357) [Top]

SIPPELL, WILLIAM D. was born in Boonville, Oneida county, N. Y., December 4, 1856. His great-grandfather, Peter Sippell, was a soldier of the Revolution, and a resident of the town at a very early period in its history. His grandfather, and his father, Peter B. Sippell, are well remembered as men of sterling integrity, lifelong residents of the town. William D. Sippell was educated in the schools of the village, finishing at the Dorchester Street High School of Montreal, where he spent the last school year's course of McGill University of that city. Returning to Boonville he read law with hon. Henry W. Bentley, and was admitted to the bar January 6, 1882. He never entered upon the practice of his profession, as having become interested in the business of insurance through a partnership with Hon. A. L. Hayes, he found that line of work more congenial to his taste. The local agencies of Hon A. L. Hayes and of Brinckerhoff C. Tharratt at Boonville were consolidated by him as purchaser, and he has since for many years conducted the largest and most successful insurance agency of Boonville and adjacent towns. He has never held public office other than trustee of the Board of Education of Union Free School, district No. 1, of Boonville, to which he was elected August 5, 1890, and of which he is still a member. April 23, 1879, Mr. Sippell married Jennie C., daughter of William H. Cole, of Boonville, N. Y. She died April 5, 1890, leaving a son and a daughter of the marriage. March 9, 1892, he married his present wife, Mrs. Antoinette M. Finlayson, daughter of W. W. Harris, of Boonville, N. Y., with whom, and his two children, Frederick W. and Clara M., he now resides at No. 41 Schuyler street. (p. 28) [Top]

SLY, ANDREW J., was born in Lee, October 26, 1840, son of Adin and Alma (Arnold) Sly, natives of Rhode Island and Massachusetts, respectively, who settled in Lee in 1827, where Mr. Sly engaged in farming, living on one farm forty years, when they removed to Delta, and resided there until his death in 1883. Their children were Eliza E., Ira H., Lydia (Mrs. L. S. Ferry), and Andrew J. The latter now owns the old homestead, where he was reared and lived until 1885, when he removed to Delta, and has since been engaged in the lumber business. In 1866 he married Josephine, daughter of Benjamin and Eveline (Reed) Walden of North Adams, Mass. She died in 1885. Mr. Sly is a member of the Methodist church, of which he is a trustee and steward. In politics he is a Democrat, has been supervisor and held other minor offices in Lee. He is a member of F. & A. M., and P. of H. (p. 168) [Top]

SMALL, LEWIS J., was born October 7, 1852, in Deerfield, Oneida county, and is a son of Gottlieb Small, who came from Germany and died in Deerfield March 10, 1860. He was educated in the district schools and Utica Business College, was reared on a farm, and at the age of twenty engaged as clerk for Weaver & Watkins, general merchants of Deerfield Corners, with whom he remained for five years. He then became a clerk in Utica for Roberts. Butler & Co., wholesale clothing manufacturers, spending five years in the stock department and seven years in the office of the manufacturing department as bookkeeper. In 1889 he organized with G. A. Grant as president and the late F. W. Kuhn as vice president, the Utica Clothing Company, incorporated with a capital of $15,000. Mr. Kuhn retired in 1892 and George E. Vail became vice-president. Mr. Small is secretary and treasurer. November 25,1891, he married Eleanor J., daughter of the late Robert R Watkins, of Holland Patent, Oneida county. They have one son, Harold Watkins, born August 15,1893. (p. 262) [Top]

SMALL, W. R., was born in the town of Marshall, N.Y., son of David and Susannah (Richards) Small. He received an academical education, and afterwards engaged in farming. In 1891 he married Alta V., daughter of Rockwell B. and Lucinda Brown. Her grandfather was Asbel Brown, and her great grandfather, John Brown, was one of the early settlers in Madison county, and he served seven years as a patriot soldier in the Revolutionary war. Mrs. Brown died in March, 1894. Mr. Small is a member of the Masonic fraternity, and in politics is a Republican. (p. 139) [Top]

SMITH, MRS. ANGELIA E.--Her late husband, Abner E. Smith, was born in New London, N. Y., August 16, 1838. He was educated there and in the Utica Commercial College, and was an expert flour examiner and a business man. January 21, 1863, he married Angelia E. Allen, of East Florence, Oneida county, by whom he had two daughters: Ida L., who is a fine artist; and Luella A., a skillful musician, both of Mount Vernon, N. Y. Mr. Smith died June 3, 1894. His father, Abner Smith, was born in Glastonbury, Conn., February 7, 1792, and came to New London, N. Y., November 30, 1817. He married Sally Covill, of this place, by whom he had five children: Catherine E., Horace C., Alonzo G., Herbert. and Nancy C. Mrs. Smith died February 10, 1832, and January 8, 1833, Mr. Smith married for his second wife, Ruth C. Hibbard, who was born here December 23, 1804, by whom he had four children: Sally C., Herbert J., Abner E., as above, and Charles T. Mr. Smith died December 7, 1846, and his wife December 28, 1844. Mrs. A. E. Smith's father, Daniel G. Allen, was born in Clinton, Oneida county, December 26, 1814. He was educated there until they moved to Camden, where he finished his education. He learned the carriagemaker's trade with Ira Pond, of that place, which business he carried on several years. September 14, 1836, he married Purmelia Robinson, of East Florence, by whom he had two children: Angelia E., as above, and a boy who died in infancy. Mr. Allen died March 5, 1886, and his wife March 12, 1889. Her grandfather, Daniel Allen, was born in Boston in 1772, and died in 1839. The Allen, Robinson and Smith families were defenders of their country, both in the Revolutionary war and the war of 1812, and also in the Civil war. Mr. Allen and Mr. Smith were members of the Masonic order. Mrs. D. G. Allen was, and Mrs. Smith is a member of the 0. E. S. (p. 157) [Top]

SMITH, BENJAMIN, was born March 7, 1842, in Sheffield, England, is a son of Charles T. and Sarah Smith, and came to America with his parents in 1844. The family first settled in Brooklyn, N.Y., but in 1845 came to West Utica, where Charles T. died about 1878, aged sixty-three. He was an ivory and bone turner by trade, which he followed here for about thirty years. He was also a dealer in real estate and kept a grocery store, and was a collector of the Third ward two years. He was a prominent cricketer, a member of the Utica Cricket Club and its president, and took many prizes in this popular game. He was also a prominent member of St. George's Society and held several offices. His wife died in May, 1891. They had ten children of whom five are living, viz.: Mrs. Anna Graham, Mrs. Emma Johnson, Benjamin Smith, and Mrs. Lydia Ann Higgins, all of Utica, and Mrs. Sarah Jane Tompkins of Chatham, N.J. Benjamin Smith was in Utica and first engaged in machinist's trade, which he followed for twenty years. In 1879 he purchased and has since kept the Western Hotel in West Utica. In 1864 Mr. Smith enlisted in the U.S. Navy and served until the close of the war, being on the gunboat Shawmut. He is a member of Post McQuade G.A.R. and the Veteran Firemen's Association, being connected with the volunteer fire department for about five years. In 1861 he married Mary, daughter of Levi Atherton, of Camden, Oneida county, and they have had two children: Benjamin, who died aged four, and Nellie B. (Mrs. Joseph Wilbert), of Utica. (p. 371) [Top]

SMITH, CHARLES E., M. D., was born in Whitesboro, N. Y., March 22, 1837. He was one of a family of three children, of whom he is the only survivor. His father, Edwin Smith, was born at Plymouth, Conn., in 1805; he came to Whitesboro in 1836, and engaged in an active commercial life, with which he was prominently identified up to a short time before his death, which occurred in 1885. He married Helen A. Burns, of Hagaman's Mills, Montgomery county, N. Y., who died in 1889. Dr. Smith received his education at the Whitesboro district school and the Whitestown Seminary, which was for many years one of the leading educational institutions of the State. After completing his course there he entered the Albany Medical College, from which he was graduated in 1858. He then returned to Whitesboro and entered upon the practice of his profession, which he has since continued. He is not only popular and successful in his profession, but is also successful in business and esteemed by all who know him. He has for many years been an earnest Republican in politics and has wielded a strong influence in the party's affairs in town and county. He was postmaster at Whitesboro for twenty successive years, an office which he conducted with much satisfaction to the citizens of the town and village. In his professional circle Dr. Smith has been recognized and honored in many ways. He has served as president of the County Medical Society and has been its delegate to the State Medical Society. In 1861 he married Theresa A. Marchisi, of Utica, by whom he had one daughter, Anna M. Mrs. Smith died in 1867, and for his second wife Dr. Smith married Anna L. Malsan, a native of Clyde, N. Y., by whom he had three children: Adrian W.: Claude M., and Bertha B. Mrs. Smith was educated at Miss Butler's private school at Hudson, the Sacred Heart Convent at Albany, and at Miss Hart's school at Farmington, Conn. (p. 250) [Top]

SMITH, CLARENCE D., was born in Rome, May 31, 1865, son of Daniel and Cleore (Peck) Smith, grandson of Daniel, and great-grandson of Arnold Smith, a native of Rhode Island, who settled in Steuben, Oneida county, about 1800, where he engaged in the merchandise business and operated a potash factory. He later removed to the town of Western, where he engaged in farming, and finally located in North Bay, N. Y., where he died. Daniel Smith, his son, was a farmer nearly all his life in the towns of Steuben and Western, and died in the town of Rome, at ninety years of age. He was a soldier in the war of 1812, and one of the few who adhered to Masonry after the Morgan feud. Daniel, his son, and father to Clarence D., was born in Steuben, September 15, 1815, began life as a carpenter and joiner and at thirty years of age, engaged in farming in the town of Rome, where died June 18, 1884. He was identified with the State militia twenty-five years, and most of that period was captain of a company of artillery. His wife, a native of Rome, was a daughter of Capt. Gates Peck, a veteran of the war of 1812, who came from Norwich, Conn., to Rome in 1803, a granddaughter of Phineas Peck, who served under Generals Sullivan, Gates, and Count D'Estaing and was present at the surrender of Burgoyne at Saratoga, and a descendant of Deacon Henry Peck, who in 1637, sailed from England in the ship Hector, and settled in New Haven, Conn., on land, a portion of which is still owned by his descendants. Clarence D. was reared in Rome, educated in the public schools, began life as a farmer in which he is still interested, and is also engaged in milling and dealing in all kinds of agricultural implements in the village of Delta. He is a member of the P. of H. His grandfather, Capt. Gates Peck, named the present village of Delta. (p. 58) [Top]

SMITH, DANIEL, was born December 24, 1818, son of John and Mary Smith, who settled in the town of Floyd about 1830. John Smith was a pioneer farmer and was active in the M. E. church of Western. Daniel Smith married Martha, daughter of James Pigott, a resident of the town of Rome. They have two children: Mary Jane, wife of John Wynn; and Emaline, both born in the Smith homestead. Mr. Smith is a farmer by occupation; he is a member of the Presbyterian church. (p. 255) [Top]

SMITH, DEWITT CLINTON, was born in Trenton, Oneida county, January, 22, 1854, son of John H. and Martha (Harbeck) Smith, natives of New York and Connecticut respectively. John H. Smith was for thirty years engaged in the hotel business in Oneida county, and in 1860 located on a farm in Lee, residing there until his death, which occurred June 19, 1874, aged seventy years. He was the father of fifteen children, nine of whom grew to maturity: J. Edwin, Fannie (Mrs. Daniel Tulloh), George W., Helen M. (Mrs. David Tulloh), Dewitt C., Marian (Mrs. W. S. Bushnell), Jay W., Charles H., deceased, Ella M. (Mrs. Frank Patrick), Frank H., Jerome B., and Gertrude. Dewitt Clinton was reared in the town of Lee, and from six years of age was educated at the Union school at Lee Center, and Rome Academy, after which he began life as a farm laborer and later engaged in cheesemaking, teaching school winters up to 1884, when he engaged as a clerk for one year in a general store at West Branch, and in 1885 embarked in general merchandising for himself at Point Rock, in which he has since successfully continued. He married for his first wife, Lillie A. Yarwood, who died in February, 1876. His second wife was Carrie M., daughter of Sidney and Lovina (Osborne) Lasuer, of Lee, by whom he had two children: Jennie M., and Bertha M. Mr. Smith is a member of the F. & A. M., and Royal Arcanum, and is now serving his first term as supervisor of the town of Lee. In politics he is a staunch Republican. (p. 172-173) [Top]

SMITH, E.C., was born in Boonville, N.Y., son of Leslie H. Smith. He was for some time clerk at Bagg's Hotel, and was with Mrs. Lynch's jewelry house of New York for four years. He was also clerk at the Fifth Avenue Hotel in New York city. Mr. Smith is the owner and manager of an extensive vineyard of twenty-two acres on the Capron road, which he established and planted in 1885. It is devoted to all choice varieties of grapes and currants, which find a ready market in Utica. He is engaged in an enterprise which with his industry and integrity cannot but place him in the front rank of the young men of the county. He is a member of the Episcopal church. (p. 339) [Top]

SMITH, F.A., was born in the town of Clayton, Jefferson county, July 19, 1834. He learned the trade of blacksmith and wagon builder, and after living a while in Herkimer county and Boonville he came to Waterville. He is one of the trustees of the village and was also highway commissioner for four years. He married Kate Vincent, of Herkimer county, by whom he has five children: William J., F.B., Mrs. William G. Stone, K. Maude, and Ethel B. (p. 315) [Top]

SMITH, FRANK W., was born in Whitesboro, N. Y., in 1852, son of James Smith, who emigrated to this country from Dearborn, Eng., in 1840. Frank W. Smith first engaged in dealing in sewing machines at Utica, where he remained for twelve years. In 1892 he established his present extensive business on Main street, Boonville, known as the Conservatory of Music, where he has an extensive stock of pianos, organs, and sewing machines. He also carries a large stock of fishing tackle and sporting goods. Mr. Smith is an influential member of I. O. O. F., and of the G. A. R. Post, and is general superintendent of the Boonville Fair Association. In 1876 he married Emma Clark, of Whitesboro, N. Y., by whom he has two children: Norma and Juliet C. (p. 178) [Top]

SMITH, GEORGE H., was born in the town of Camden, July 4, 1846. His father, Samuel L. Smith, was also born in this town, and was one of its prominent farmers. He married Amanda Munson, of West Camden, by whom he had five children. George H. was for a number of years clerk in the store of J.G. Dorrance, but in 1876 started for himself, conducting a general store, carrying a full line of dry goods, groceries, etc. He married Caroline, daughter of J.E. Simmons, by whom he had four children: Edwin L., Lucy H., Florence M., and Wilbert B. (p. 26) [Top]

SMITH, GEORGE W., was born in the town of Vernon, April 19, 1844, and although a native of the town, he has lived as much outside as within its borders. His father came from Turin, Lewis county, and settled, when a young man, about three miles south of Vernon village, living there until his death. His wife, Mary A. Leftingwell, is a native of Vernon, and was born in 1815, and she is still living in Vernon. George W. is the second in a family of four children, and finished his education at the Vernon Academy when nineteen years of age, and after which he returned to the farm, remaining three years. He then entered the store of J. Harry Walters in Oneida, as a clerk, where he continued for three years, after which he again returned to the farm for six years. After that he was employed for some time as a manager of the bakery of the Oneida Community, and this continued for three years. He was next engaged as proprietor of a bakery in Lyons, N. Y., and at the end of two years, the Vienna Pressed Yeast Company requested him to act as their traveling salesman, which position he accepted and continued for ten years. In 1888 he started a bakery, confectionery and lunch room in Oneida, N. Y., and by good business management has built up a large wholesale and retail business, having the finest bakery and cafe in Oneida. In 1867 he married Marie Winchell, a native of Gouverneur, N. Y. In addition to his business in Oneida, he also conducts a farm of 315 acres in Vernon. (p. 276) [Top]

SMITH, GILES, was born in the town of Florence, Oneida county, April 20, 1863, son of William Smith, who was born in the same town, and was a farmer up to his death, which occurred in 1880. He married Martha, daughter of Daniel Wilson, one of the old families of Annsville, by whom he had six children: John, Giles, Roena, Euncie, Charley, and Myron. Giles was educated in the town of Camden, and has since been engaged in farming and owns a farm of eighty-nine acres in the town of Camden. He married Minnie C., daughter of Jacob Zimmerman. Mr. Smith is a member of the Camden Grange and in politics is a Republican. (p. 73) [Top]

SMITH, GILES, was born in Deerfield, N. Y., August 30, 1825, only son of Pratt, a native of Taunton, Mass., and Elenore (Wheeler) Smith, a native of Dutchess county, N. Y. His grandfather, Ephraim Wheeler, came from Holland, and was a pioneer of Dutchess county. His paternal grandfather, Timothy Smith, came from Massachusetts, and was one of the first settlers at Deerfield, settling on Smith Hill. He removed to Jefferson county where he died. Pratt Smith was engaged in farming in Deerfield, and died at the age of eighty-six, and Mrs. Smith died in 1870, at the age of seventy. Mr. Smith was one of the founders of the Union church at Deerfield. He had a 400 acre farm in Deerfield, N. Y., and land in the West. In 1853 Giles Smith married Eliza, daughter of Lewis and Mary Cole, of Rensselaer county, N. Y., by whom he had three children: Pratt G., a merchant at Utica; Mary, wife of M. T. Jones, of Utica; and Elenore, wife of Marshall Brown, a commission merchant in Brooklyn. Mr. Smith is a Republican in politics, and has been assessor and supervisor of Deerfield, and is at present road commissioner. Mr. Smith has been one of the most successful farmers in the community, having taken an active interest in the business, and owns a large farm in the best part of the town. Mrs. Smith died in October, 1891. (p. 86) [Top]

SMITH, MYRTALU F., was born in Sherburne, Chenango county, October 26, 1834, son of Joseph Smith, who was born in Pitcher, Chenango county, in 1792, and who was a large manufacturer and dealer in water lime and sewer pipe, his trade extending over many counties. He finally removed to Bouckville, N. Y., and later to Morrisville, where he died in 1846. His wife, Martha (Cook) Smith, was born in 1796, and died in Morrisville, in 1850. The grandfather of M. F. Smith was one of the earliest settlers in Chenango county, having migrated from Connecticut about the middle of the eighteenth century. Myrtalu F. Smith received his education at Bouckville and the Morrisville Academy, and after leaving school he worked for a time on a farm, and then went to Wisconsin, where he remained until 1862, when he returned and settled in Knoxboro, his present home. He continued to serve for twelve years as clerk for J. C. Knox & Co. He then purchased a farm adjacent to the village, and in 1885 bought out the Van Evera store, and with his sons has continued the business since under the firm name of M. F. Smith & Sons. Mr. Smith was for several years assessor, and from 1887 to 1891 was supervisor. In 1856 he married Sarah Whitely, a native of Utica, by whom he has four children: Fanny C., William M., Robert P. and Edward C;. William M. and Edward G. are the partners in the business. (p. 286) [Top]

SMITH, SAMUEL G., was born in Westmoreland, February 3, 1833, son of Richard and Mary E. Smith. Richard Smith was born in England in 1805 and came to Westmoreland where he settled about 1820. He engaged in farming until 1889 when he retired from active work, and now resides with his son Samuel G. Samuel G. Smith was educated in Westmoreland. He has been engaged in the clothing business in Erie, Pa., and also in Youngstown, and Springfield, Ohio; but he is now engaged in cultivating his farm in Westmoreland. He married Charlotte P. Camp, daughter of Rev. Riverius Camp of Connecticut, by whom he has three children: Kate S. (deceased), Lizzie J., and Dudley C. Mr. Smith and wife are members of the Episcopal church, and are among the oldest families in Oneida County. (p. 153) [Top]

SMITH, W. HARVEY, born January 23, 1865, at Davenport, Delaware county, N.Y., is a son of J. Wallace and Susan M. (Montgomery) Smith. In 1866 the family moved to Schenevus, Otsego county, where he was educated in the union school and academy. When fifteen he began learning the trade of baker and confectioner in West Winfield, N.Y., and continued there three years. He was employed two years in Fort Plain Spring and Axle works, and returning to West Winfield resumed his trade. He married there, in 1885, Ida E. Cole, and in the fall went to Waterville and engaged one year in the bakery and confectionery business, to which in 1886 his father succeeded. In 1891 he came to Utica and entered the employ of A.L. Owens and remained with him about three years. In the spring of 1894 he started his present bakery and confectionery store in Bleecker street. He is a member of Imperial Council No. 70 R.A., the Arcanum Club, Samuel Read Lodge No. 378, K. of P., Utica city Division No. 4 Uniform Rank K. of P. and its present second lieutenant, and is vice-president of the Boss Bakers' Association of Utica. He has one son, Leo C. (p. 345) [Top]

SNELL, ALBERT M., was born in Sangerfield in 1842, son of Josiah and Betsey (Felton) Snell, natives of New England. He learned the trade of carpenter and builder, in which he is now prominently engaged; he also added lumber and erected a planing mill, thoroughly equipping himself for any kind of contracts. In 1872 he married Harriet Melvin, a native of the town of Marshall. (p. 315) [Top]

SNELL, IRA L., was born October 5, 1841. In 1869 he came from Stockbridge, first settling on a farm about four miles south of Oneida Castle, and two years later he bought the farm at Kenwood, where he has since resided. His father, Frederick Snell, was born in the town of Manheim, Herkimer county, in 1804, and moved to Stockbridge in 1822, where he lived until his death, which occurred August 29, 1873. He became one of the leading as well as the most successful farmers in the county, and his grandfather, with six brothers, was in the famous battle of Oriskany, and it is said that five of them were killed during the engagement. He married Nancy Stam, also of Herkimer county, who was born in 1811, and died in 1881. Ira L. Snell has for a number of years been an active and earnest worker in the Democratic ranks, and has several times represented his assembly district in the State Convention. He was one of the organizers and is now a director in the Farmers' and Merchants' Bank of Oneida, N. Y He is also one of the trustees of the Oneida Savings Bank. In 1870 he married Ellen J. Eaten, who was born in Stockbridge in 1845, by whom he has two daughters: S. Edith, and Harriet E. (p. 234) [Top]

SNOW, ARCH R., was born in Boonville, January 30, 1841. His father, S. E. Snow, was also born here January 1, 1809, and is to-day the oldest inhabitant of local birth. Mr. Snow's paternal ancestors were from Massachusetts, and he was an active participant in not less than twenty battles in the Civil war. He first enlisted in 1861, in Co. I, 97th Regt., was soon promoted to corporal, then to first sergeant, then to lieutenant, and in 1865 received commission as captain. He was disabled by a shot in the face at Gettysburg, and was captured while acting as aid-de-camp at Weldon Railroad in 1864, remaining a prisoner of war at Libby, Salisbury, and Danville prisons for six months. Mr. Snow is now a dealer in boots and shoes at Boonville, and in 1881 he married Jennie Muller, by whom he has two children: Archibald and Martha. He was the charter commander of Wheelock Post, No. 97, G. A. R., and is of high rank and degree in the Masonic fraternity. He has had a varied experience beyond the lot of most men of his age. We quote the following from a short biographical sketch in the Grand Army Journal: " For many years, under the stage name of A. A. Armstrong, he acted in the best theatres of the United States, Canada, and the British West Indies, and as a dialect actor, personator of quaint character parts, and high class vocalist, obtained an enviable reputation." During the past three years he has taken a prominent place among monologue entertainers, and as a humorist, sensational reciter, and descriptive vocalist, ranks with the best. His fun is infectious, and the moral tone of his entertainments is high and pure. His "Random Recollections of the Field and Camp fire," in Grand Army entertainments have been a great success, and of late there has been a growing demand for his services at church society entertainments. He also contributes much valuable historical material to the local press, and an occasional war-story from his pen finds ready sale. (p. 97) [Top]

SNOW, EUGENE, was born in the village of Vernon, N. Y., May 31, 1851. His father, Zibeon Snow, was born in 1798 and died in 1858. He was a general merchant and speculator in Vernon, and married Sabrina Larrabee, who was born in Vermont in 1808 and died in Vernon in 1878. Eugene Snow was educated in Binghamton and Aurora, N. Y., after which he returned to Vernon and purchased the Barber farm, where he lived for fourteen years, but upon on the death of his wife's father in 1881, he took possession of the Dodge homestead, where he is now engaged with his son, G. Percy, in the breeding of trotters, road and carriage horses, in which he has been very successful. He owns and has bred some of the finest horses in the State, for one of which, the leading sire on the farm, "Mambritonian," purchased from the famous Woodburn farm, Kentucky, Mr. Snow refused an offer in 1891 of $30,000. Among the many noted horses Mr. Snow has owned and developed are Mambritonian 2:20 1/2; Tony Klock 2:18 1/4; Klick Klock 2:14 3/4; Prinsonian 2:20 1/2; Billy Hilton 2:20; Nankeen 2:26 1/4, and others. He has now on the farm about sixty head. In January, 1872, he married Algenia A. Dodge, who was born January 12, 1853, daughter of George W. and Sarah (Hougham) Dodge, by whom he had three children: George P., born June 30, 1875; Eunice R., born January 23, 1880; and Dorothy D., born April 18, 1894. (p. 284-285) [Top]

SOLZMAN, FRANCIS X., was born in the town of Boonville, August. 15, 1855, son of Thomas Solzman, who was born in Baden, Germany, in 1820. Thomas Solzman was a lieutenant in the king's army, and during the war of 1848 and 1849 was among those who revolted against the king, and was with the famous General Siegel when in 1849 they cut their way to the sea, where they disbanded. He came to America, settled in Boonville and worked at the millwright trade. He later engaged in farming and cleared most of a seventy-three acre farm, where he became very prosperous, and later lost nearly all through speculating. His wife was Rosina Southeimer of Baden, Germany, by whom he had eight children: Rose, Susan, Sophia, Francis X., Charles Frederick. Joseph, Catherine, and Frederick Charles. He died in 1874, and his wife in 1885. Francis X. remained at home until the death of his father, when he engaged in the lumber business at Forestport; but he soon withdrew from that business and engaged in the meat business at Boonville. A year later he returned to Forestport and engaged as bookkeeper for a lumber firm, with whom he remained several years, and in 1891 he engaged in farming. He served three years as justice, when he resigned to accept the office of supervisor, which office he filled for eight years. In 1886 he married Kittie L. Hovey, a daughter of Philip C. and Julia (Kilmer) Hovey, of Forestport, and they have five children: Rilla L., Marian, Annetta J., Myrtle and George T. (p. 209-210) [Top]

SOMERS, E.M., M.D., was born in Sherburne, N.Y., October 22, 1826, son of Samuel and Betsey A. (Beers) Somers. Dr. Somers was educated for his profession at the College of Physicians and Surgeons, New York, graduating in 1853, and has since been practicing in Deansville. In 1862 he joined the medical staff of the 146th N.Y. Vols., and was with this regiment for some time in the field. In 1853 Dr. Somers married Martha A. Babcock, by whom he had seven children: Dr. E. M. Somers, jr., of the State Hospital at Ogdensburg; Maud, and Walter. For his second wife Dr. Somers married Hattie E. Hamlin. Dr. Somers was postmaster at Deansville for eight years, from the commencement of Lincoln's administration until the close of Johnson's. (p. 140) [Top]

SOULE, GERMAIN M., was born in Floyd, son of Nicholas and Mary F. (Burlison) Soule, who had two children: Minnie E. and Germain M. Nicholas Soule is a native of Oneida county, son of Thomas F. who came from Connecticut about 1800 and was a carpenter by trade. Germain M. Soule married Libbie, daughter of Earnest and Dora (Dussel) Brueckner, by whom he has two children: Nicholas G. and Almira D. In 1888 Mr. Soule engaged in the mercantile business at Floyd in which he continued for two years. He has since been engaged in farming and dealing in agricultural implements. He was elected inspector of election, appointed town clerk and in 1892 was elected supervisor. For the last two years he has been highway commissioner. He is a member of Oriskany Lodge, F. & A. M., No. 799, O. U. F. of Stittville, Floyd Grange and is president of the Patrons of Industry. (p. 105) [Top]

SPARROW, JOSEPH, was born in Shropshire, England, in 1818. He was educated in their schools, and came with his parents to the United States in 1832, settling in Florence, Oneida county. He finished his education in this country, graduating from Oberlin College in the class of 1851. He was principal of Camden Seminary two years, then went to California where he remained nine years, a portion of the time employed as bank clerk in San Francisco, and the balance in teaching and assisting in organizing the educational system of the State, serving as a member of the committee which selected the site for the University of California, also member of Board of Education of Alameda county for some years. He returned to this locality in 1861, and in 1863 settled on a farm near Oneida, Oneida county. Here he built and operated the Verona Central cheese factory, being a pioneer in this line, his being the third cheese factory in operation. June 24, 1862, he married P. Eliza Sanford of Camden, Oneida county, by whom he had one son, T. Sanford, who was born in Camden in 1863. He was educated in the public schools and Oberlin College and afterward taught school, but is now engaged in agricultural pursuits. March 10, 1894, he married Jane Gawm, formerly of the Isle of Man, by whom he had one daughter, Gladys Ethelind. Mrs. Joseph Sparrow's father, Linus Sanford, was born in Litchfield, Conn., January 16, 1782, and came to Oneida county, N. Y., when a young man. He was for years a successful teacher, afterward engaging in mercantile business. Was twice married, first to Polly Woods, by whom he had two sons, Samuel T. W., who was a prominent physician and also engaged quite extensively in real estate. William W., the second son, was in mercantile business. Mrs. Sanford died May 18, 1818. For his second wife he married Rhoda Alcott of Connecticut, by whom he had five children, four of whom died in infancy, P. Eliza as above. She was a teacher for a number of years in Camden's public and private schools. Mr. Sanford, her father, was repeatedly elected to public offices, and was one whose counsels were often sought and whose name was closely connected with the success of Camden's interests. He was largely instrumental in locating and planning their cemetery. He died May 29, 1842, his wife May 11, 1881. The ancestry of the family is English and Scotch. (p. 249) [Top]

SPAULDING, WILLIAM P., was born in Stockbridge, N. Y., May 2, 1838, son of Philander Spaulding, who is descended from an English family, and who was born in Stockbridge, N. Y., February 9, 1820 and remained in Stockbridge until 1864, when he moved to Lenox, Madison county, where he has since resided. He has been a farmer and speculator all his life, and is now largely interested in one of the leading banks in Oneida. He married Sarah Marshall, of Stockbridge, who died in 1866. William P. Spaulding attended school in Lenox, Oneida Castle Union school, and Cazenovia Seminary, and at the age of twenty came to Knoxboro to assume the charge of his father's farm. After conducting it successfully for two years he bought it, and has continued to reside there. Mr. Spaulding is a Republican, and in 1886-7 held the office of overseer of the poor, and for three years has been a member of the excise board. He married Ida, daughter of George and Viletta Ballard, of Ilion, who was born October 11, 1860. (p. 286) [Top]

SPENCER, LYMAN C., second son of James D. Spencer, was born in West Monroe, Oswego county, N. Y., March 17, 1841, and came with his parents to Sylvan Beach when he was two years old. His education was received in the public schools, and his early life was spent on his father's farm. He erected the first hotel on Wood Creek outlet on Oneida Lake, on the Vienna side of the creek (it is now known as the Forest Home), which he conducted seventeen years, but it is now conducted by his son-in-law, Frederick B. Randall, of Oneida, Madison county. The Spencer family have done much towards the growth and prosperity of Sylvan Beach. September 2, 1865, Mr. Spencer married Marian Keohane, who was born in England, by whom he had four children: Alice E., Lillian F., L. May, and L. Ernst. Alice E. married Frederick B. Randall, of Oneida, N.Y., and they have four children: Lyman F., Harriet M., Spencer B., and Marian A. Mrs. Spencer's father, James Keohane, was born in England. He married Marian Scammel, of London, England, by whom he had nine children: P. Henry, Marian E., Peter, Nellie, Catherine, Anna C., Eliza, John D., and Theresa. Mr. Koehane died September 2, 1867. Mr. Spencer is a member of Sylvan Beach Lodge, No. 326, I. O. O. F., of which he has been treasurer four years. (p. 89) [Top]

SPENCER, REUBEN J., oldest son of James D. Spencer, was born in West Monroe, Oswego county, N.Y., August 27, 1838, and came to this town with his parents when about four years of age. He was educated in the public schools, and is a real estate dealer, and assists his father in superintending and developing the same at Sylvan Beach and vicinity. April 27, 1864, he married Amy Maxfield, of this locality, by whom he had one son, James D., who died in infancy. Mrs. Spencer died in 1883, aid November 5, 1890, he married for his second wife Inez E. Poppleton, of this town, by whom he had one daughter, Ada M., born April 10, 1892. Mr. Spencer is a member of Sylvan Beach Lodge No. 326, I. O. O. F., and has also been president of the village since it was incorporated in 1887. Mrs. Spencer's father, James Poppleton was born in this town in 1822. He was educated in the district schools, and was a farmer by occupation and later a grocery merchant. He married Mary Kelly, of this town, by whom he had three children: Ada E., Inez E., and John F. Mr. Poppleton died in 1856, and Mrs. Poppleton married Newton Poppleton, and they had two children: Mary e., and Matilda. Mrs. Poppleton died in 1890. (p. 89-90) [Top]

SPORIE, CHARLES, was born in Western, August 24, 1864, a son of David and Susan (Anken) Sporie, natives of Berne, Switzerland, who came to America in 1834, and located in Steuben, Oneida county, where the father spent five years as a farm hand, and in 1860 purchased the farm in Western, now occupied by our subject, where he engaged in farming and in the manufacture of Swiss and limburger cheese, and where he died. His children who grew to maturity were Katie (Mrs. Samuel Galle), Eliza (Mrs. Michael Sureck), Adeline (Mrs. Charles Weismiller), Rosa (Mrs. Henry Bahr), and Charles. Mr. Sporie died December 20, 1885, sixty-two years. Charles Sporie was reared on the homestead, where he was born and which he now owns and occupies, and like his father, is a farmer and maker of limburger cheese. March 5, 1890, he married Clara, daughter of Philip and Catherine Miller, of Floyd. Mr. Sporie is a member of Trinity Lutheran Church of Rome, and in politics he is a Republican. (p. 26) [Top]

SPRATT, CHARLES H. was born in Deerfield, Oneida county, N. Y., June 21, 1845, son of Charles and Elizabeth (Hogbin) Spratt, both natives of England, she of Dover, and he of Kent; they came to Utica, N. Y. in 1844, and engaged in market gardening, which business they followed through life. Mr. Spratt died in 1881, aged seventy years. Charles H. Spratt was educated in the district and Williams private schools, of Utica, and has since been engaged in market gardening for special customers in Utica. In 1865, he married Winifred, daughter of Robert and Winifred Evans Owens, both natives of Wales and early settlers near Utica. Mr. and Mrs. Spratt have four children: William H. a farmer near Deerfield; George H. a barber at Utica; Ella M. and Minnie E. who died January 14, 1870, at aged two years and six months. (p. 20) [Top]

STAMBURG, WILLIAM RILEY, was born in Brookfield in 1827. In the spring of 1851, he left Deansville and located in Forestport without a cent in money or any other means. He first obtained employment in a saw mill, but soon after his employer failed and he was unable to secure compensation for his labor; he then went out and chopped wood in the winter and worked in the mills summers for nine years, until he was able to erect a small mill on Pine Creek, which he conducted for a short time when he sold it and returned to Deansville and engaged in hop farming for nine years. He afterward sold the farm and returned to the scene of his early struggles and purchased what is now known as Stamburg grist mill, which still remains his property; he also engaged in the lumber business and built a mill on the Big Woodhull Creek, the property now known as the Meeker mill, with an annual output of three or four million feet; he soon after sold this mill, but in 1883, again became its owner. About this time Mr. Stamburg erected a large mill in the village of Forestport, and his business so increasing that water-power was found too slow and steam was substituted, and with all his enterprises furnishing employment to about 100 men. He also owned and conducted a general store in the village, and is one of the largest real estate owners in that section of the country. He also owns 3,000 acres of timber land, and owns and conducts a farm of 140 acres. In June, 1892, he lost his large Forestport mill by fire, thus throwing out of employment a large number of men. In 1893, he sold his store. In politics Mr. Stamburg is a Republican, was assessor for sex years, and has filled other offices. He is a member and treasurer of the Masonic fraternity. October 1, 1856, he married Louisa S. Hovey, daughter of George and Sybil (Sweet) Hovey, and they have adopted one child, Bertha Ann. (p. 29) [Top]

STANNARD, J. R., was born in the town of Western, May 19, 1853, son of John L. Stannard, the scion of an old Scotch English family, who migrated from Massachusetts to this county when it was a vast wilderness. Mr. Stannard's mother, Betsey Hill Clark, is the descendant of an old Connecticut family who settled in the Mohawk valley soon after the Revolutionary war. Her grandfather, Ichabod Hill, was body guard to General Washington and served with distinction throughout that memorable contest, while her father, Ezekiel Clark, was a soldier in the war of 1812. After attending several terms at Holland Patent Academy and Whitestown Seminary, Mr. Stannard taught school in Western and Boonville, with marked success until March, 1883, when he removed to Boonville and began his career as a merchant, dealing in pianos, organs, sewing machines, musical merchandise, school supplies, books, stationery, etc. a business which he has successfully conducted since and which has assumed large proportions. In politics, Mr. Stannard is a Democrat and a great admirer of President Cleveland. He was one of the organizers of the Anti-Snap movement in 1893, and a delegate to the Syracuse Convention in May of that year. After Cleveland's re-election he became a candidate for postmaster and demonstrated his popularity by winning the prize over several candidates, some of whom were assisted by some of the ablest politicians in the county and State. He took possession of the office March 6, 1895, and at once entered upon the work of improving the service by putting in one of the finest outfits in the State, one that Boonville is justly proud of. That he will make an ideal postmaster is predicted by those who know him best. April 7, 1881, he married Irene Van Voorhis, of Steuben, and has one son, Leland, born January 15, 1894. Mr. Stannard is a charter member of Summit Lodge, No. 246, I. O. O. F. (p. 53) [Top]

STAPPENBECK, HENRY, was born in Seehausen, Prussia, Germany, December 22, 1850, and came to America in May, 1869. He settled in Utica and learned the business of glue manufacturing, and about 1871 established his present glue and boiled bone manufactory. He was the first in this section to manufacture glue, and has built up a large and successful business. Within recent years he added the manufacture of fertilizers from bone. His establishment is located in the town of Whitesboro, just outside the city limits. Mr. Stappenbeck has always taken a keen interest in local affairs and in politics is a Republican. He is a member of Lodge 242, Order of Harugari, and the Utica Maennechor, and for several years was president of Zion German Lutheran church of Utica. He married, first, Wilhelmenia Zimmerman, a native of Germany, who died about 1877, leaving two children, William and Henry. His second wife is Laura Gliffe, of Germany, and they have three children living: Emil, Joseph and Clara. (p. 372) [Top]

STARR, JOHN P., JR.--John P. Starr, sr., was born in this county, and was educated in the common schools. He married Philena Peckham, of Vernon, N.Y., by whom he had four children, the oldest of whom died at twelve years of age: John P., jr., as above, Kate A. and Norman S. Mr. Starr's mother, Helen S., married for her second husband Ezra Mansfield, who was born in New Hampshire, in 1797, and came to this county when a young man, where he engaged in farming. He was a Democrat in politics, and was assessor of the town over twenty years; also justice of the peace forty-eight years. He died August 25, 1892. Mrs. Mansfield's father, Stephen Parkhurst, was born in New Hampshire in 1780, and came to Oneida county when two years of age. He married Sarah Gibson, of Great Barrington, Mass., by whom he had nine children: Alice A., Sarah M., Emeline E., Phoebe A., William S., Catherine A., John G., Helen M., as above, and Helen M., No. 1, who died in infancy. Mr. Parkhurst died in 1859. The family are of New England stock on both sides. (p. 327) [Top]

START, S. WILLIAM, was born November 21, 1833, in Devonshire, England, son of Robert and Mary Ann Start, who came to this country when William was about six months old. Robert was a farmer, settling first in Deerfield, and next in Marcy. He then went to Clinton, and purchased a place, retiring from farming, and died in September, 1886, in his eighty-third year. Mrs. Start, his wife, died in 1890, aged eighty-three. William Start engaged in farming, at which he continues, and is a staunch Republican, taking an active interest in the success of his party. He married Hannah Jackson, of English extraction, by whom he has two sons: William Henry, who is in the wholesale grocery business in Utica; and Lester J., who is employed by his brother in Utica. Mr. Start and wife are both active members in the Bartlett Baptist church. (p. 160) [Top]

STEARNS, EUGENE, born in Utica, August 14, 1830, is a grandson of Dr. Calvin Stearns, from Pittsfield Mass., one of the earliest settlers of Utica, who died here in 1848. Gordis L. Stearns, son of Dr. Calvin, was born here in 1805, read law here with Thomas E. Clark, was admitted to the bar as attorney about 1826 and very soon afterward as solicitor, and practiced his profession for a time in New York city. He died in Utica in 1835. He was appointed notary public by Governor De Witt Clinton in 1826. He married Agnes, daughter of John B. Langworthy, of Utica, and had two children. Eugene and Emily (Mrs. Herman Koehler) deceased. The ancestor of the family was Lieut. Nathaniel Stearns, who came from England to Massachusetts, in 1649. Eugene Stearns was educated in the Utica public and private schools and academy and taught in the Advanced school about one year. He read law with Spencer & Kernan, with William Tracy, and with Clark & Richardson, and was admitted to the bar at Utica in 1855. He began practice in this city, and spent the years 1860-1861 in St. Louis in partnership with Edward R. Bates. He returned to Utica at the breaking out of the war, and resumed the practice of his profession. He was special surrogate of Oneida county from 1867 to 1870, and while performing the duties of that office conceived and later published a table showing the present value of a wife's "Inchoate Right of Dower," which has met with large success. The work was first published in July, 1888. He was in the law office of Edmunds & Miller about ten years, was president of the Utica Citizens' Corps and for several years its vice-president, and was chief of staff of the Republican Continentals during the political campaigns of 1888 and 1892. In 1877 he was appointed librarian of the Utica Law institution. In September, 1853, he married Julia A., daughter of Charles Storrs, of Utica, who bore him two children: Emily E. and Harriet Louise (Mrs. Henry P. Crouse) both of this city. Mrs. Stearns died May 16, 1887, and he married second, Sarah E. Mayo, of New York city, formerly of Utica. (p. 199) [Top]

STEATES, ANDREW, was born in Keil, Baden, Germany, December 1, 1848. His father died when he was a child, and he came to this country with his mother in 1854. They lived for a few years at Deerfield Corners, Oneida county, N. Y., when they removed to New Jersey, but in 1862, returned again to Deerfield Corners. Andrew had but little opportunity for schooling, attending for a few terms the public schools. He worked as a youth, at various trades, cigarmaker, carpenter, baker, and wood polisher, working at the latter trade for the firm of Lennebacker & De Long in the city of Utica for nineteen years. In February, 1884, he formed a partnership with William F. Ryan, and they started a wood polishing business on Bleecker street. Two years later they established a furniture business, success attended this venture, and in June, 1894, the firm opened its fine establishment at 219-221 Bleecker street. June 26, 1870, Mr. Steates married Mary Merringer, of Deerfield Corners, by whom he had seven sons, of whom two Andrew W. and Fred H. are living. Mr. Steates is a member of Skenandoah Lodge, I. O. O. F., Oriental Lodge, F. & A. M., Knights of Honor, Utica Maennerchor, and treasurer of the Deerfield Volunteer Fire Company. He is a member of the Tabernacle Baptist church. (p. 71)

STEDMAN, GILBERT R., was born July 15, 1842, in the town of Lee, where he lived until seven years of age, at which time his parents moved to the town of Annsville. He was educated in Lee and Annsville. He was a son of Oliver and Sophia (Sanford) Stedman, who had a family of nine children: Ellen, Joseph (deceased.), Elizabeth, Gilbert R., Ann, Susan, Ida, E. K., and Carrie. In 1861 Gilbert Stedman enlisted in the 2d New York Heavy Artillery and served three years, being in the battles of Cold Harbor, Spottsylvania, Deep Bottom, etc. He is now engaged in farming, owning a fine farm of ninety-seven acres. He married Julia daughter of William Streeter, of Annsville, one of the first settlers of the town. They have five children: William, Bertha, Arthur, Jessie, and Frederick. Mr. Stedman was supervisor of the town in 1882 and again in 1888, was commissioner in 1878 and overseer of the poor in 1885 and 1886. He was commander of Ballard Post, G. A. R., No. 551, for many years and is now senior-vice; he is also a member of the Masonic fraternity. (p. 167) [Top]

STEDMAN, R. WILLETT, was born in Lee, February 15, 1854, son of George W. and Lydia J. Perry Stedman, natives of Connecticut and New York, respectively, who were among the pioneers of Western, and later of Lee. Hazard Stedman was born April 2, 1777, son of Trustum and Penelope Stedman, was a farmer by occupation, and a soldier in the war of 1812. He died March 18, 1864. George W. was born in Western, July 23, 1822, a resident of Lee from boyhood, and a farmer by occupation. His wife was a daughter of Robert and Lydia Wilkinson Perry, of Lee, and they were the parents of seven children: R. Willet, Amelia M. (deceased), Charles E., E. Mae, M. Frances (Mrs. G. E. Teeple) Aziel G. (deceased), and Hattie L. (Mrs. F. C. York). Mr. Stedman died April 18, 1891. R. Willet was reared on the homestead in Lee, of which he is the owner, was educated at Lee Center Union Free School, and began life as a teacher, following that occupation ten years, and since 1879, has been engaged in farming in Lee, having bought the Curtis Spinning farm, where he resides. March 13, 1879, he married Lucy C., daughter of Hugh and Mary Munsell Kenyon, of Annsville. Mr. and Mrs. Stedman are members of the Methodist church. He is a member of the P. of H., P. of I., and Order of the World. He is a Republican, and has held town offices continuously for nineteen years, and is now serving his first term as justice of the peace and of ninety-seven judgments rendered by him in 1894, but one was appealed to a higher court, which sustained his opinion. (p. 29) [Top]

STEVENS, FRANKLIN, was born in Camden, Oneida county, N. Y., August 18, 1813. He obtained his education in the district schools and has since been engaged in many occupations. He was a merchant in Cleveland, Oswego county, N. Y., during the war. He has had much experience as a hotel man and has conducted the Lake Beach Hotel at Sylvan Beach, N. Y., for the past thirteen years. In 1834 he married Mary R. Potter, of his native place, by whom he had three children: Ellen, who married C. C. Cady, now of Boston, Mass.; Welthena, who is at home; and one deceased. Mr. Stevens's father, William, was born in Connecticut and came to this State when a young man. He married Marinda Pond, of Camden, N. Y., by whom he had five children: Henry, Menzo, Franklin, Gilbert, and Welthena. Mr. Stevens was town clerk of Cleveland for one year. (p. 258) [Top]

STEVENS, WALTER T., was born in the town of Camden, July 3, 1839. His father, Martin H. Stevens, was born in Connecticut in 1806, and came to the town of Camden in 1829 and settled on the land where the village now stands. He was a cabinet maker by trade, which business he followed up to 1860. Walter T. was educated in the district schools of Camden, and in 1860 engaged in the furniture and house furnishing business, which he followed up to 1893, when he sold to Williams and Norton, who conduct the same at this time. Mr. Stevens now lives a retired life. He married Irene, daughter of Orson Norton, of Camden, by whom he has one daughter, Mrs. Robert A. Tuft, wife of Rev. Robert A. Tuft, of Brooklyn. Mr. Stevens is a prominent Mason in Camden Lodge No. 164. (p. 27) [Top]

STEVENS, WILLIAM C., son of John T. and grandson of Nathan and Agnes (Summerville) Stevens, was born in Utica January 30, 1844. His father and grandfather came here from near Troy about 1818 and were for many years extensive contractors and builders. Their lineage is traced to an early colonial period and down through one of the oldest families of New England, John T. Stevens married Eliza, daughter of William Hackett, of English descent, and both are living in Utica, at which place and in Wisconsin the subject was educated. William C. Stevens enlisted November 11, 1861, in Co. C, 12th Wisconsin Vol. Inf., was made commissary sergeant, and was first stationed in Kansas under Gen. James Lane. His regiment joined Grant's army at Columbus, Ky., and participated in all its battles till after the siege of Vicksburg. In 1863 it became the Wisconsin Vet. Inf., and soon after Mr. Stevens was commissioned first lieutenant of Co. C. They joined Sherman at Rome, Ga., and were in all the engagements of the March to the Sea, including Kenesaw Mountain, capture of Atlanta, and Jonesboro, and until Johnston surrendered. Mr. Stevens was mustered out at Louisville, Ky., in July, 1865, and discharged at Madison, Wis., in September. He engaged in the wholesale and retail seed business there, and in 1868 married Jennie Jaquish. In 1872 they moved to New Mexico, where he was connected with the surveyor-general's office for four years. In 1876 he returned to Utica and in 1881, with F. M. Kendrick, engaged in manufacturing cigars and wholesaling tobacco. In 1888 he formed with Robert Lockart the present firm of Stevens & Lockart, which has since conducted a large and successful cigar and tobacco business. Mr. Stevens is a Republican and a member of Post Bacon G. A. R., and of Imperial Council, R. A. His children are Jennie Isabelle (Mrs. William H. Carpenter), Mary Eliza, and John William, all of Utica. (p. 219-220) [Top]

ST. JOHN, N. J., was born in Montreal, Canada, September 7, 1850, and came to this country when eight years of age, and has resided in Waterville for the past thirty-two years. He learned the trade of harness maker and followed it for twelve years, when he engaged in the hotel business. The Central Hotel in Waterville was built by him. He has also been largely interested in farming for years. He first married Mary Burnett, who died leaving two daughters: Mary Imogean and Carrie. His present wife is Alice Wilson, by whom he has two daughters: Maud and Annie. Mr. St. John is a prominent Democrat; he also takes a great interest in horses, and owns some fine stock. (p. 301-302) [Top]

STODDARD, DWIGHT L., was born in Westmoreland, September 29, 1843, son of Reuben and Mary C. Stoddard. Reuben Stoddard was born in Sheffield, Berkshire county, Mass, July 18, 1807, and came to Westmoreland in 1838, where he conducted a farm during his lifetime. He died March 10, 1887, in his eightieth year. Mary C. Stoddard died January 29, 1892, in her eighty-first year. Dwight L. Stoddard was educated at Whitestown Seminary from which he was graduated, taking his diploma in 1866, after which he engaged in teaching, which he afterward relinquished to give his entire attention to farming. Mr. Stoddard is a staunch Republican, although his sympathies are largely with Prohibition. Mr. Stoddard is a member of the Congregational church at Westmoreland. (p. 290) [Top]

STONE, ALEXANDER I., was born in the town of Augusta, N.Y., August 31,1827, son of Samuel Stone, who was born in Guilford, Conn., August 31, 1776, and was descended from English parents. He was a weaver by trade, and followed that occupation while in Connecticut, but devoted his time to farming after taking his residence in Augusta. He came to New York State, and settled for a time in the Catskills, near the Hudson River, and after three years spent there, he moved to Wellstown, Hamilton county, and finally in 1880, went west to the town of Augusta, settling on the East Hill. He married Mary Wells, of Wellstown, N.Y., who was born April 10, 1781, and died in Augusta, September 19, 1836. Mr. Stone died December 20, 1850. Alexander I. Stone received his education at the district school at Stockbridge, after which he assumed the occupation of a farmer, which he has since continued. July 7, 1852, he married Mary J. Chadwick, who died April 3, 1855, leaving one son; he afterwards married Lavina J. Perkins, who died August 4, 1881, and his present wife is Mrs. Abbie M. Matthews of Augusta. Mr. Stone came to the farm he now owns in the spring of 1854--a historic place, as it was first owned by Francis O'Toole, the educated Irishman, who spoke fourteen languages; and from the fact that the Indians returning to Canada from the Wyoming massacre halted at a small stream on the north boundary of the farm to wash the scalps of their victims. Here A.I. Stone reared and educated his four sons and only surviving daughter, the latter becoming the wife of John Fletcher Davis, a contractor of Buffalo. The eldest son, Hon. J.D.F. Stone, was elected city judge of Utica in 1896 for four years. The other three sons seem content to follow the occupation of their father. (p. 121-122) [Top]

STONE, HON. JOHN D. F., was born in the town of Augusta, Oneida county, July 17, 1853. He is descended from John Stone, who, with his brother William, was the son of a Hertfordshire, England, divine. Both settled in Guilford, Conn., in 1639. Miles Stone, a weaver by trade, moved with his family from Guilford to Augusta about 1800 and died there a few years later. Samuel Stone, his son, was a farmer and a local preacher of the Methodist circuit, and in 1798 married Mary Wells. He was born in Guilford, Conn., August 23, 1776, and died in Augusta, N. Y., December 5, 1850. Of their eleven children A. Irvine Stone, the youngest, was born August 31, 1827, followed farming and held several town offices, and on July 7, 1852, married first Mary Jane Chadwick, who died April 5, 1855, leaving one son, the subject of this sketch. Judge Stone was educated in the public schools of his native town and at Cazenovia Seminary, was graduated from the Fort Atkinson (Wis.) High School in 1875, and then entered the law school of Wisconsin University at Madison, from which he was graduated and admitted to the bar of that State in 1876. The same year he came to Cohoes, N. Y., and read law with James F. Crawford, and was admitted to the bar of New York at the Saratoga general term in the fall of 1878. He then came to Utica, where he has since practiced his profession. He was special surrogate of Oneida county from 1886 to 1889, and January 1, 1890, was appointed clerk of the Surrogate's Court under Surrogate William H. Bright. He held this position until April 1, 1896, when, having been elected, he assumed the duties of city judge of Utica. He is a member and ex-secretary of Faxton Lodge, F. & A. M., a member of Oneida Chapter R. A. M., and a charter member, first vice-president, and one of the trustees of the Masonic Club of Utica. June 11, 1879, he married Anna M., daughter of William S. Jackson, of Utica, and their children are Edith M., Ruth C., Chester A., and Annabel and Isabel (twins). (p. 157-158) [Top]

STONE, RICHARD, was born in the town of Nelson, Madison county, N. Y., September 10, 1815. He was educated in the district schools and has since followed a variety of occupations. He followed the canal for thirty years, but is now a farmer. In 1840 he married Olive A. Hardin, of Verona, who was born in Granville, N. Y. They had four children: Alvin R., who married Emma Boyd, of Western, and has six children; Everitt L., who married Sarah West and has three children; Frances L., who married S. E. Burdick; of this town, and has two children; and Agnes A., who died at the age of six years. Mrs. Stone died in 1879. His father, Oliver Stone, was born in Braintree, Vt., in 1761 and came to this State at an early day. He married twice, his second wife being Lydia Mentor, born in Brattleborough, Vt., by whom he had nine children. He died February 2, 1831, and his wife in 1870. He was a soldier in the Revolutionary war. Richard Stone has $7.50 in Continental currency in his possession. The family is of English, Irish, and Scotch descent. (p. 231) [Top]

STONE, WALTER C., was born in the town of Mexico, Oswego county, N.Y., December 27, 1847, the oldest son of Benjamin S. Stone, who was born in Vermont and came to Mexico in 1825, where he has been engaged in the hardware trade for many years. Mr. Benjamin S. Stone is now at the head of the firm of B.S. Stone & Co. Walter C. was educated in the Mexico Academy, from which he was graduated in 1867. He has been engaged in the newspaper business for about twenty-five years; He purchased the Canastota Herald in 1871, which he edited until 1873, when he came to Camden and established the Advance, a local paper in that village. Since 1878 he has also conducted a stationery and book store. In 1872 Mr. Stone married Sarah C. Hosley, of Canastota, by whom he had four children: Benjamin H., Ralph W., Robert C., and Bessie. Benjamin H. is in business with his father. Mr. Stone is secretary of the Camden Opera House Company, has been a member of the Board of Education and is now serving his third term as city father. He is a member of the K. of P. and the Royal Arcanum. (p. 28) [Top]

STOREY, WILLIAM H., was born in Westmoreland, August 26, 1866, son of Joel and Mary J. Storey. Joel Storey came from Ohio, and settled in Westmoreland, about 1850, where he engaged in farming, and which he has since followed. William H. was educated in Westmoreland, and partly in Rome, and after receiving his education, he engaged in the cheese business with his brother, having a finely appointed factory, where they handle about 10,000 pounds of milk a day, and turn out about 2,000 boxes of cheese a year, which is supplied principally for export. This is one of the standard industries of Westmoreland. Mr. Storey married Jennette Abbe of Westmoreland, by whom he has three children: Mary J., William H. and Lloyd. Mr. Storey is a member of the Hampton Lodge, No. 347, F. & A. M. (p. 289-290) [Top]

STORM, ARTHUR C., born August 30, 1872, in Florence. Oneida county, is a son of William J. Storm, who was born there in 1820. William J. is a retired merchant, and has served as postmaster, town clerk, etc. He married Sarah McFern, and their children are Andrew J., of Watertown; Lincoln A., of Utica, Lucy (Mrs. H. S. Owens), of Williamstown, Oswego county; Lina (Mrs. Fred Osborne), of Camden; Lizzie, of Florence; and Arthur C., of Utica. Arthur C. Storm was educated in the public and high schools of Florence and was graduated from the Rochester Business University in 1890. He was bookkeeper and manager for John F. Clark, general merchant of Florence, till the spring of 1893, when he came to Utica and started his present business as a dealer in groceries and provisions. In 1896 he built a commodious block on the corner of Bleeker and Milgate streets. He is a member of Skenandoa Lodge, I. O. O. F. (p. 218-219) [Top]

STORRS, WILLIAM MANSFIELD, was born in Utica and is a son of Shubael Storrs and grandson of Ebenezer, who served as a private in Captain Experience Storrs's Company, Third Connecticut Continental regiment, in the Revolutionary war. Shubael Storrs came to Utica from Mansfield Conn., in 1803. He died July 29, 1847. William M. Storrs was educated in the Utica Academy, and in 1860 engaged in the fancy goods business, in which he continued eighteen years, at 71 Genesee street. In 1880 he took charge of the office of the American Express Company, a position he has since filled with credit and ability. He has long been a director in the Utica and Binghamton Railroad Company, and has been prominent in many other business enterprises for the last twenty-five years. He was an active member of the Utica Citizens' Corps from 1853 to the time of its entering the N. Y. State Guard, holding every office in its gift. He is a warden of Trinity Episcopal church, and in all matters of a public nature takes a lively interest. In 1861 he married Harriet L., daughter of John Butterfield, a prominent citizen of Utica, and they have living four children: Henry C., Mrs. E. W. Haslehurst, E. Virginia and Sophia B. (p. 226) [Top]

STREWN, GEORGE W., was born in Lee, Oneida county, August 10, 1864, son of John and Rosena (Uberheart) Strewn, natives of Berne, Switzerland. John Strewn came to America in 1849, and located at Lee Center, Oneida county, where eh worked at the cooper's trade for eight years, after which he purchased the farm now occupied by his estate, cleared and improved it, and in 1875, purchased the farm now occupied by George W., where he lived until his death, which occurred September 5, 1890. aged sixty-three years. His wife died April 21, 1891, aged fifty-five years. They were the parents of twelve children, nine of whom grew to maturity: Rosa (Mrs. Charles F. Meyer); Mary (Mrs. Enoch Pritchard); Julia (Mrs. Samuel Krebs); Emma (Mrs. Rudolph Jenny); John A., who married Matilda Zimmer; by whom he had one daughter, Lillie M; George W.; Clara, Frank B, and Isabel. George W. was reared in Lee, where he has always resided. He was educated in the common schools, and is now engaged in farming. He is one of the enterprising and public spirited citizens of Lee, a member of P. of I., K . fo S. F. I., and P. of H., and in politics is a Democrat. (p. 65) [Top]

STRONG, WARREN C., was born October 30, 1832, and has spent his lifetime in his native town, for many years living in the village of Knoxboro, which is his present residence. His father, Solomon Strong, was born March 1, 1784, and came from Union, Tolland county, Conn., in 1810, and was engaged in farming in summer and teaching school in winter. He bought a farm situated about two miles north of Knoxboro, where he settled, and spent the rest of his life in that industry. After coming to Augusta he married Filena Horton, also a native of Connecticut, who was born in 1789, and died in 1861. Mr. Strong died April 4, 1876. Warren G. received his education at Augusta district school and academy, finishing at Kellogg's then a well known school at Clinton, N. Y.; after which he returned home and engaged in farming. They acquired an immense area of land, upon which he remained till 1887, long after the death of his father. He married Frances, daughter of Sumner Smith, of Knoxboro, by whom he had five children, all of whom are living. Mr. Strong has held several important political positions. (p. 285-286) [Top]

STUDOR, GEORGE M., was born in Boonville, NY in 1857, son of Jacob Studor, one of three sons (Jacob, Michael and Philip) born to Michael Studor, a farmer. Jacob and Michael came to America in 1853, the former coming to Hawkinsville, where he remained seven years, employed as a lumberman. From there he moved to White Lake, and engaged in farming. His wife was Elizabeth Shidner and their children were Philip, Lena, Henry, Elizabeth, Sarah and George M. Mr. Studor died in 1887 and his wife in 1885. George M. Studor was educated in the district schools and the Poughkeepsie Business College. At the age of twenty-six he began as a farmer and liveryman on his present site of 200 acres. His principal livery business is in transferring sportsmen and hunters who go to the Adirondacks. He has also devoted some time to lumbering and dealing in fine carriage horses. Mr. Studor has served as assessor several years and has often been elected delegate to county and district conventions. The winter of 1887 he spent in Albany as private messenger for Speaker Husted. In 1892 Mr. Studor married Helen, daughter of James Goodrich, born in Lewis county. Mr. Studor is a man of enterprise and is prominently identified with the political welfare of his town and county. (p. 27) [Top]

STUDOR, PHILIP, was born in Alsace, Germany in 1842, son of Jacob Studor. Jacob Studor with his brother Michael, came to America in 1853. The former came to Hawkinsville, where he remained seven years, employed as lumberman. He removed to White Lake and engaged in farming, where he spent his remaining days. He married Elizabeth Snyder, by whom he had seven children: Philip, Lena, Jacob, Henry, Elizabeth, Sarah and George. He died in 1881 and his wife in 1878. Philip Studor began for himself, when seventeen years of age, and spent eight years as employee in a saw mill, after which he purchased a stage route from Hawkinsville to Boonville, which he conducted for a year. In 1868, he removed to his present farm and hotel, where he is proprietor of the Studor House, and which he has largely improved, making it a very desirable retreat for summer resorters, fishermen and hunters, and his farm and wood land contain 200 acres. For some time he was interested in the spile and long timber business. He has served as road commissioner and poormaster, and through his efforts in 1880, a post-office was established at White Lake Corners, and of which he as been postmaster ever since. In 1875, he married Addie, daughter of Randolph and Phoebe Evans of Lowville, by whom he has three children: Mabel, Ray and Anita. (p. 63) [Top]

STURDEVANT, OLIVER W., was born in Augusta, Oneida county, N. Y., December 27, 1835. His education was received in the public schools and Cazenovia Seminary. For several years he was engaged in teaching the district schools and in Onondaga Academy, which position he left in the spring of 1862 to enter Hamilton College. About this time there came an urgent call for volunteers, and he enlisted as a private in Co. E., 44th N. Y. Vols. He participated with his regiment in the first battle of Fredericksburg, the battles of Chancellorsville and Gettysburg, besides some less important engagements. At Gettysburg he was in the brigade which held the "Round Top" against Longstreet's charge on the 2d of July. While a member of this regiment he was promoted to corporal and sergeant. In October, 1863, he was ordered before General Casey's examining board in Washington, and was appointed by President Lincoln to a captaincy in the Tenth Regiment of U. S. Colored troops, November 3, 1863. In this regiment he was engaged in the advance up the James River, May 4, 1864, under General Butler. He was on the provost guard at City Point under General Patrick during the winter of 1864-65, and was ordered to the front in time to be in the first brigade which entered Richmond after its evacuation by the Confederates. Shortly after this regiment was sent to Corpus Christi, Texas, and thence to Galveston. At this place Captain Sturdevant resigned his commission April 6, 1868, and received an honorable discharge. Returning to his former home he was soon after appointed principal of the leading public school of Oneida, and after several years' service therein was elected school commissioner of the First district of Madison county. While holding this office he was called to the principalship of Onondaga Academy, which position he occupied for sixteen years, resigning it in 1888. While engaged in this work in 1883 he received from Hamilton College the honorary degree of A. M. On retiring from Onondaga Academy he was appointed assistant conductor of Teachers' Institutes of the State of New York, which position he held for about two years when he retired, and now resides on his farm in Verona on the Rome and Oneida road. In April, 1865, he married M. Isadore Willard, only daughter of Erastus Willard, at one time sheriff of Oneida county. She died in May of the following year. April 2, 1868, he married Elizabeth H. Rogers, of Oneida. N. Y. Mr. Sturdevant's father, Dudley Sturdevant, was born in Connecticut in 1800, but at an early age removed with his parents to the town of Augusta in this county. In 1840 he removed to the homestead which our subject still owns and occupies. He was educated in the common schools of his day. He married Mary A. Swan of this town, by whom he had seven children: Caroline L., Edward Y., Ellen L., Oliver W., as above, James W., John E., and Theodore F. Mr. Sturdevant died in 1864, and his wife in 1885. Mrs. Elizabeth H. Sturdevant, the wife of our subject, is the daughter of David Rogers, who was born in Oxfordshire, England, in 1814, and was educated there. He married Rhoda Hull of his native place. Their children were Elizabeth H., as above, Anna M., and John H. The family came to the United States in 1849 and settled at Oneida, where Mrs. Rogers still resides. Mr. Rogers died in 1868. (p. 128-129) [Top]

SUITS, MRS. VERENA C.--The late William H. Suits was born on the homestead in the town of Verona, March 19, 1849. He was educated in the public schools and Oneida Seminary, and was a farmer by occupation. September 29, 1872, he married Verena Cook, of the town of Vienna, by whom he had four children: Jennie M., E. Leroy, Guy A., and Bessie P. Mr. Suits died November 23, 1895. Mrs. Suits's father, Andrew Cook, was born in the town of Palatine, Montgomery county, N.Y., November 11, 1800. He was educated in the common schools, and was a farmer by occupation. He came to the town of Vienna when a young man, and married Jane Covil, of the town of Verona, who was born April 4, 1811, by whom he had seven children: Betsy, John, Charles, George, Casper, Joseph, and Verena. Mr. Cook died in December, 1893, and his wife about 1868. The ancestry of this family is Dutch, Welsh and Swiss. (p. 333) [Top]

SUTERS, WILLIAM, was born in Hastings, England, September 29, 1835, and came to America in 1856, and settled in Waterville where he learned the trade of carpenter and builder which he still follows; during this time he has constructed many of the finest residences and other buildings in Waterville beside doing considerable work at Rome, Albany and Middletown. Mr. Suters is a Mason and was master of Sanger Lodge No. 129 F. & A. M. three years and six years high priest of Warren Chapter No. 22 R. A. M., also is on his third term as regent of Waterville Council, Royal Arcanum. He has also been trustee of the village, president and chief of the Waterville Fire Department. In 1870 he married Amelia Excell, by whom he has four children: William Franklin, Harry Excell, Cora May and Bessie Amelia. (p. 121) [Top]

SWAN, GUSTAVUS, was born in Western, September 1, 1828, a son of Jonathan Swan, and Lydia Bradford Butts, his wife, who was a direct descendant of Governor Bradford, who came over in the Mayflower, 1620. The Swan family, two sons and three daughters, came from New Hampshire about the beginning of the present century, and settled in Western, where they lived and died, excepting one of the sons, Jonathan, who removed to Cayuga county, and died there about 1825. John Swan, great-grandfather of the subject of this sketch, was born in Newport, R. I., emigrated to New Hampshire, and served his country through the war of the Revolution as a soldier from that State. Gustavus Swan early became connected with the telegraph system of Prof. Morse, and had charge of the offices at Rome and Rochester, N. Y., from 1845 to 1849, when he removed to New York, where he remained until 1878, and was prominently identified with the growth of and extension of the magnetic telegraph and railroad interests. In 1861 he married Mariette, second daughter of Charles W. Copeland, a civil engineer of eminence, and since 1878 they have resided in Western. (p. 26-27) [Top]

SWANCOTT, BENJAMIN L., son of Philip, a native of Wales, England, was born in West Branch, in the town of Ava, Oneida county, August 20, 1848. His father was a tanner and currier and settled in Ava about 1845, where he had a large tannery for many years. He was educated in the common schools of Morrisville, Cazenovia, and Brookfield, engaged first in farming, and learned and for nine years followed the tanner's trade. In March, 1879, he came to Utica, and finally purchased a livery and boarding stable in Maiden Lane, which he continued until the spring of 1894, when he purchased his present livery stable in Washington Street of M. M. & P. F. Martin. He is a member of Utica Lodge, F. & A. M. In December, 1867, he married Blendelia L., daughter of Charles P. Maxson, of Brookfield, Madison county, and they have two children: Frederick Eugene, who is associated in business with his father, and Edna Pearl, who died at the age of five years. (p. 350) [Top]

SWANCOTT, DAVID, was born in Montgomeryshire, Wales, August 8, 1831, son of Phillip and Jane (Stevens) Swancott. Philip Swancott was a tanner by trade, and came to America in 1839, locating in Western, Oneida county, and followed his trade there and in Madison county for twenty-five years. He died in 1880, aged seventy-eight years. He married for his first wife, Jane, daughter of William Stevens, by whom he had five children: Philip, Jane (Mrs. Charles Hughes); David; Mary (Mrs. John Roberts); and Richard. He married for his second wife, Mary Humphrey, by whom he had six children: William, Lewis, Hannah (Mrs. William Campbell); Margaret; Samuel; and Lucy (Mrs. Edward Stevens). David Swancott came to Western with his father in 1839, and his education was limited to three months in the common school. He began life as an apprentice to the tanner's trade, which business he followed for six years in Western and Lee. In 1860 he removed to Lewis, Lewis county, and engaged in farming three years, when he embarked in lumbering, which business he has successfully followed in Lewis and Oneida counties, and has been a resident of Lee since 1884. June 27, 1853, he married Diana, daughter of William and Eliza (Hayden) Walters, of Lewis county, N. Y., by whom he has four children living; Philip; Jane (Mrs. John Miller); Thomas; and Edward. Mr. Swancott is a member of the F. & A. M., and is now serving his fourth term as commissioner of highways. (p. 172) [Top]

SWARTOUT, LEANDER, M.D., was born in Pamelia, Jefferson county, N. Y., April 30, 1842, son of Enoch and Sally Swartwout. Leander Swartwout was educated in the district and select schools of Jefferson county, and in 1861 entered the Fairfield Academy. In 1862 he enlisted in Co. C, 121st Regt. N. Y. Vols., and was discharged in 1863. In 1864 he again entered the Fairfield Academy, where he graduated. He taught school for forty terms, and in 1878 he entered the Albany Medical College, where he graduated in 1880, and since which time he has practiced in Prospect. He is a member of the Oneida County Medical Society, and was once its president, and for three years was a delegate to the New York Medical Society and is a member of same, and he was also coroner for three years. He married Sarah E. C. Northrup, by whom he had three children: Anna K., Addie F., and George A. He married for his second wife, Mrs. Mary E. Hibbard, by whom he has four children: Kate L., Caradori, Manuela, and Ruth. He is a member of the Remsen F. & A.M., I.O.O.F., and I.O.R.M. of Prospect, and also of the Thomas Post, of which he was commander for several years. (p. 105-106)

SWEET, HERMAN L., was born in Marcy, N.Y., May 10, 1858, son of Levi and Julia (Browning) Sweet. Levi Sweet was born in Milford, Otsego county, and was engaged in farming during his lifetime. He came to Marcy when eight years of age, where he died August 4, 1875. Mrs. Sweet is still living in good health, and her mother is also living at the age of ninety-two. Herman L. Sweet was educated at Whitestown Seminary, from which he was graduated in 1877, after which he engaged in business for himself as a merchant at Oriskany. The firm is now Sweet & Baer, and consists of H.L. Sweet, George A. Baer and W.A. Baer, and they conduct the largest business in Oriskany. Mr. Sweet married Florence, daughter of Luther G. Williams, of Oriskany, by whom he has three children: Florence Lee, Stuart W., and Harrison. Mr. Sweet is a member of the Oriskany Lodge No. 799, F. & A.M., and the Schuyler Lodge, I.O.O.F., of Utica. (p. 325) [Top]

SWEETING, JESSE V., was born in Schenectady county, N.Y., February 6, 1840, son of Alfred and Elizabeth (Van Slyke) Sweeting. Alfred Sweeting was born at the present family homestead at Hecla, as also was his father, Nathaniel Sweeting. He was born September 2, 1809, and his wife was born March 21, 1820. Jesse V. Sweeting was educated in Montgomery county, where he was engaged in farming. He settled on the old homestead in Westmoreland in 1877, and married Mary Rockwell, of Charlestown, Montgomery county, by whom he had five children: Lucy, Ella, Libbie, Jennie, and Henry. Mrs. Mary Sweeting died June 14, 1892. Mr. Sweeting is married to Martha T. Swan, of Albany, N. Y. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church at Lowell. (p. 202-203) [Top]

SYMONDS, JAMES, was born in Herkimer county, August 1, 1826, son of Francis and Mercy Symonds. Francis Symonds was born in Herkimer county, 1797, and followed the occupation of merchant to the time of his death in 1861. Mrs. Symonds died in 1849. James Symonds came to Whitesboro in 1826. He was educated in Whitesboro, and then started in business, selling merchandise on the banks of the Erie Canal for forty-eight years. He married Ellen, daughter of Cornelius and Margaret Clark, of Marcy, by whom he had three sons: Albert A., who died at the age of twenty-four; Charles H., who died at the age of twenty-five; and James T., who is now living, at the age of twenty-four, and who is in business with his father, and also engaged in the bicycle business in Whitesboro. Mr. Symonds and wife are members of the Baptist church in Whitestown, of which Mr. Symonds is deacon. He is the earliest established merchant now living, engaged in business in the township of Whitestown. (p. 319) [Top]

SYPHERT, WILLIAM E., was born in Forestport, N. Y., in 1862, son of William Syphert (Seifert), who was born in Jauer, German, in 1821. William Syphert is a miller by trade, and upon coming to America in 1853, he went directly to Hawkinsville, and engaged in working in a saw mille. From thence he went to White Lake and in 1854, to Forestport, where he followed lumbering and farming, and ran gang saws in mills for many years. He married Augusta Fredericka Hennich, of Germany, who died in 1869. Their children were Augustus, Paulina, Herman, Robert, William E., Charles, and Mary E. William E. was educated in the district schools and at the early age of eleven began life as a canal driver and when a little older he became a steersman, which vocation he followed until eighteen years of age, when he began lumbering and for twelve years rafted spar and pile timber ready for the canal to go to New York City. In 1891, he entered into partnership with Albert Harrig and engaged in the lumber and long timber business. In the spring of 1895, they erected a pulp wood mill, and saw mill from which they send a boat load a day; they also furnish a large amount of logs fro a Utica lumber firm. They own a tract of 2,000 acres of timber land. In 1891, Mr. Syphert married Rosetta E., daughter of Michael and Catherine Fischer, of Buffalo. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity, Urial Lodge No. 908, and Mrs. Syphert is a member of the Lutheran church. (p. 52) [Top]