WAGNER, EDWARD G., was born in Montgomery county, February 11, 1848, the oldest son of Edward and Alida E. (Gray) Wagner. Both of his parents were descendants of old Mohawk Valley families; his father was descended from John Peter Wagner in 1709, and whose only son, Lieut. Col. John Peter Wagner, was a distinguished officer in the Revolutionary war; he was in the battle of Oriskany, and after the wounding of General Herkimer is said to have assumed command of the troops and completed that important victory, which was at the time almost assured; several of his sons were engaged with him, and his son John was the grandfather of Edward Wagner, who was born in Montgomery county in 1819, and died in Whitesboro in 1886. Mrs. Wagner died in 1882; she was also a descendant of an officer engaged in the battle of Oriskany. Edward G. Wagner was educated at Whitestown Seminary, and located in Whitestown in 1867, where his father had purchased a large farm, situated near the centre of the village. This he now conducts with his brother Henry, entirely on business methods, and they are recognized as the representative farmers of Whitestown. He has several times been president of the village of Whitesboro, is a staunch Republican and takes an active interest in the success of his party. He married Ida L., daughter of Jonathan Barnes of Fairfield, Herkimer county. Mr. and Mrs. Wagner are both members of the Episcopal church of Whitesboro. (p. 205) [Top]

WAGNER, LOUIS, was born in Frankfort-on-the-Main, Germany, in 1836, son of Philip Wagner, who operated a coopering business in his native place, and Christina Wagner. He was one of six children: Mary, Philip Henry, George, Frank, Lawrence and Louis. Louis Wagner came to America at thirteen years of age, with his sister. His brothers, Philip and Frank came later, and were soldiers in the war of the Rebellion; the former dying in Libby Prison, and the latter shortly after his release. Louis was a barber, and employed in the finest shops in Newark, N. J., and also owned and conducted several shops there, where he remained until after the war. In 1866 he removed to Forestport and engaged in lumbering and farming, which he conducted successfully. Later years he has devoted his attention to his 300 acre farm, the best of which he has cleared of timber. He is a member of the Odd Fellows fraternity. In 1855 he married Frederica Beig, who was born in Germany in 1836, and they have one son, Louis, who is a traveling salesman for the Singer Sewing Machine Co., and whose wife died in December, 1892, leaving four children: Aneda, Alonzo, Rena and Frank. (p. 207) [Top]

WALBRAN, T.F., was born in Floyd, N.Y., August 20, 1859, son of William J. and Lucy A. (Armstrong) Walbran. William J. Walbran was born in Yorkshire, Eng., and came to the United States when thirteen years of age, and settled in Whitestown, and went thence to Floyd where he married and engaged in farming. He afterward removed to Oriskany, where he was treasurer of the Oriskany Malleable Iron Works until his death, which occurred in 1885. T. F. Walbran was educated at the Whitestown Seminary and at the Utica Business College, after which he engaged in clerking. He afterward bought a grist mill, and also run a store, after which he engaged in the manufacture of hosiery, in which he still continues. He married Grace Hale, of Howell, Mich. Mr. Walbran is a member of the F. & A. M., Oriskany Lodge, No.799. (p. 120) [Top]

WALDO, WELLINGTON, was born in Bridgewater, where he lived until he was twenty-two years of age, when he came to Waterville. He received a common school and academic education. He first educated himself for the dental profession, which he followed for fifteen years, when he took up surveying, to which he has devoted his attention for the last twelve years. He has done a great deal of farm surveying and possesses a thorough knowledge of the topography of this part of the country. He was for some time interested in milling in Waterville, but has lately disposed of that business. Although not desiring office, he has been president of the village of Waterville during the years 1891-92-93, and was again elected for 1895, which term of office he is now serving. His father, Ephraim Waldo, jr., came from Connecticut with his father, Ephraim Waldo, who was one of the pioneer settlers of Bridgewater. Ephraim Waldo, jr., died in 1885. (p. 314-315) [Top]

WALKER, AARON C., was born in Yorkshire, England, May 8, 1841, son of Thomas and Elizabeth Walker, who came to the United States in 1842. Thomas Walker first worked out, then hired a farm, and finally purchased one through his own efforts. He is now retired, living in the village in comfortable circumstances; is in good health, and in his eightieth year. Mrs. Walker died in 1855. Aaron C. Walker was educated at the district school in Westmoreland, after which he engaged in farming which he still continues, conducting the old homestead, which he bought of his father. Mr. Walker married L. Eunette Bicknell, granddaughter of Elder James Bicknell, one of the prominent men of the county, by whom he had ten children: Giles B., Glen A., M. Ellen, Thomas M., Edith E., Mary J., Grant Eugene, Frank S., who are still living; and Ruth I. and Eva E. (deceased). Mr. and Mrs. Walker and Giles B. Walker are members of the Methodist church in Westmoreland. Mr. Walker is a staunch Republican, and actively interested in the success of his party. This family is among the representative agricultural families of the county. (p. 76) [Top]

WALKER, HENRY J., was born in the town of Deerfield, Oneida county, November 20, 1852, son of the late G. W. Walker, who was born in New Hampshire, February 2, 1823 and came to Oneida county when the country was new, settling in the town of Deerfield, where he assisted in clearing a farm. He married Mary Pugh, of North Wales, and moved to Camden, where he bought a farm and lived there the remainder of his life. They had five children: M. P., Sarah J., Emma, Nellie B., and Henry J., who was educated in the district schools, after which he engaged in farming, which business he conducts on a scientific principle, and is also a large dealer in stock, raw furs, etc., and owns a farm of 270 acres. He married Emma, daughter of Elias Chapman, by whom he had four children: Oakley, Sarah, Bessie and Lloyd C. Mr. Walker has been prominent in politics, has held the office of collector, and at present is justice of the peace. In politics he is a Democrat. (p. 36)  [Top]

WALKER, PETER, is a native of Deerfield, N. Y., where he was born in November, 1823, son of Alexander and Annie (McKercher) Walker. Mr. Walker was a native of Scotland and came to Deerfield in 1802, and in 1803, settled on land now owned by his son, Peter Walker, near North Gage, where he died in 1848. Mrs. Walker was a native of Saratoga county and her father, Mr. McKercher, came from Scotland to Saratoga county in pioneer days; and she died in 1875. The paternal grandfather, Gilbert Walker, lived and died in Scotland. Peter Walker was reared on the farm, and took charge of his parents in their old age, and he has always resided on the home farm of 156 acres. He keeps a dairy of thirty-two cows. In 1850 he married Mary, daugher of Duncan Blue, of Deerfield, by whom he had two children: James A., who died in 1878, at twenty-seven years of age, and John K. who was born in 1855 and he married Maria, daughter of Malcolm A. Blue, and he works the home farm. (p. 34) (p. 34) [Top]

WALLACE, JOSEPH FRANKLIN, was born in Lee, Oneida county, May 21, 1850, son of John D. and Ann (Countryman) Wallace. His paternal grandparents, John and Catherine Wallace, were natives of Germany, who came to America in 1826, settling in Verona, Oneida county, later removed to Lee, where they died, the former living to 112 years of age. The maternal grandparents, John and Ann (Eygabroad) Countryman, were natives of Herkimer county, N. Y., and pioneers of Lee. John D. Wallace, father of Joseph Franklin, was born in Alsace, Germany, in 1819, and came to this country with his parents in 1826, and on reaching manhood engaged in farming, which business he followed until his death, which occurred in 1880, aged sixty-one years. Joseph Franklin was reared in Lee, educated in the common schools, and his principal occupation has been farming, though he has been more or less engaged in buying and selling stock, Canadian horses, and real estate. As a farmer he has been very successful, and at present is the owner of the old homestead, as well as the farm on which he resides. November 7, 1872, he married Sarah Ann, daughter of Robert and Ann (Thomas) Thomas, of Ava, Oneida county, by whom he has three children living: Mary E., Florence E., and Joseph J. Mr. Wallace is a charter member of P. of I., No. 320, of Lee, and its first president. In politics he is a Democrat, and has been once appointed and twice elected to the office of justice of the peace for Lee. (p. 172) [Top]

WALTERS, CHARLES F., was born November 8, 1859, son of James N. and Mary E. Walters. In 1879, he engaged in the general merchandise business at Prospect, in company with C. B. Hodge, but in 1881, he sold his interest and entered the general merchandise store of T. B. Balou, at Hinckley, of which he was manager for five years. In 1886, Mr. Walters started a general merchandise store at Prospect which he has conducted to the present time. He is a member of Remsen Lodge, F. & A. M., of Trenton, Oneida Chapter No. 57, of Utica, I. O. O. F., of Trenton, and I. O. R. M. of Prospect. He married Helena B., daughter of James and Betsey Dickson, of Antwerp, Jefferson county, N. Y., by whom he has three children: James D., Mary E., and Charles F., jr. all natives of Oneida county. (p. 42) [Top]

WALTERS, JAMES N., was born in Russia, Herkimer county, November 27, 1824, son of William and Fannie Walters, whose children were: James N., David A., Susan Smith (deceased), Celia Newman, William W., and Irwin M., all natives of Herkimer county. James N. married Mary E., daughter of Frederick E. Kiesinger, of Oswego, by whom he has two children: William J., of Guthrie, O. T., and Charles F. of Prospect, NY. James N. started for himself as a millwright in Pearl Mills of Oswego in 1847. In 1848 he built the lumber mills of Hinkley and Ballou at Hinkley, NY and at its completion assumed the position of superintendent, which position he held until 1890, since which time he has lived retired at Prospect., NY. He is actively interested in the town and county affairs, has held the office of postmaster many years, and was elected supervisor of Russia, Herkimer county, in 1866, 1867, 1868 and 1869. (p. 35) [Top]

WARCUP, EDWIN S., was born in Westernville November 28, 1864, a son of Matthew and Mary J. (Smith) Warcup. His paternal grandfather, Robert Warcup, was a native of Yorkshire, England, who came to America in 1827, locating in Oneida county, and for many years was a resident of Western, where he died. His maternal grandfather, John Smith, was also a native of England, and a resident of Floyd, Oneida county, for many years. Matthew Warcup, father of Edwin S., is a native of Oneida county, is a carpenter by trade, and resides in Westernville. He has three children: Edwin S., Preston, and Sylvia (Mrs. Wiliam Mudge). Edwin S. was reared in Westernville where he has always resided. He was educated in the public schools, is a tinner by trade, and has been engaged in business for himself at Westernville since 1892. He is a member of the M. E. Church and politically is a Democrat. (p. 36)  [Top]

WARCUP, JOHN, was born in Floyd, Oneida county, August 31, 1833, a son of Robert and Hannah (Simpson) Warcup, natives of Yorkshire, England. His father was the youngest son of a wealthy English family, and in 1827, to better his fortune, came to America and soon after located in Oneida county, stopping for periods more or less in Utica, Floyd and Rome, up to 1850, when he removed to Western, where he remained until his death, which occurred November 29, 1883, aged seventy-nine years. His children were Matthew, John, Margaret (Mrs. Francis Van Dreasar), Thomas, and Mary (Mrs. John W. Medlew). John Warcup was reared in Oneida county, and educated in the common schools and Rome Academy. He has always followed farming as an occupation, and since 1850 has resided in Western. In 1864 he married Cynthia, daughter of William H. Harrington, of Rome, by whom he had six children: Stanley, John Olin, Robert J., Frank, William H., and Thomas B. Mr. Warcup was for twelve years in succession a member of the executive committee of Oneida County Agricultural Society, president of the society in 1881, president of the State exhibition of butter and cheese held at Rome the same year, and in politics he is a Republican.(p. 27)  [Top]

WARD, G. C., was born in Westchester county in 1863, son of James Ward. G. C. Ward is a man prominent in both business and political circles, and held in high esteem by his fellow men. After he became efficient in engineering, he spent two years at Andover, Mass. and was afterward employed as an engineer on the Adirondack and various other railroads. He also had charge of the building of a large bridge at Ogdensburg. Mr. Ward is a staunch Democrat, and has held many positions of reponsibility. He was for five years superintendent of canals and also supervisor for two terms. He was married to Katie, daughter of N. Schwienburg, by whom he has one daughter, Louisa. (p. 34) [Top]

WARD, JOHN L., was born in the town of Annsville June 25, 1856, son of James and Martha Loaks Ward, who was born in England and emigrated to the United States in 1846 and settled in this town, where he took up sixty acres of land and cleared a farm. When the war broke out he enlisted in the 81st. NY Vols., Co. I and was wounded at Cold Harbor, from which he died before reaching home. He had seven children: Eliza, Mary, Elizabeth, Giles C., Robert, James, and John L., who was educated in this town, after which for fifteen years was engaged in the livery and express business, which he afterwards sold to the Taft Bros. He is now engaged in farming and in running a grist mill in Taberg village, with a capacity to grind 500 bushels per day. He married Cornelia, daughter of Rufus Taft, by whom he had these children: Flossie G., Lorna A., and Harrison Morton. Mr. Ward is a Republican in politics, and was commissioner of highways for two years. He is a member of the Royal Arcanum. (p. 42) [Top]

WARD, SALMON, was born on the place where he now resides, October 26, 1835, son of Josiah and Roxanna (Currier) Ward. Josiah Ward settled in Floyd when two years of age. He married Roxanna Currier, by whom he had two children: Salmon and Sarah Maria. Mr. Ward died November 2, 1857, aged fifty-eight years, and his wife died January 2, 1869, aged fifty years. Salmon Ward is a farmer by occupaion. He married Catherine, daughter of Andrew Martin, who died leaving one child, Burton. He then married Jane, daughter of Levi Crill. For his third wife he married Rebecca, daughter of Charles and Harriet (Upton) Cogswell. Mr. Ward is a member of the Grange and Patrons of Industry. (p. 210) [Top]

WARFIELD, PROF. C. H., was born in Prattsburg in 1867, son of M. F. Warfield, then a druggist there, and captain of a company in the late war. The family is of English ancestry, and first settled near Baltimore, Md., in 1632, where their posterity still retains the original homestead. Mr. Warfield graduated at Franklin Academy in Prattsburg, at fifteen years of age, with a Regents classical diploma. After a four years course at Hamilton College, he graduated in 1889 with the highest honors at the disposal of his alma mater, and became instructor in mathematics in the Florida State Seminary at Tallahassee, Fla., and then was for two years prinicpal of the Union School at Bergen, N. Y. He assumed the principalship at Boonville in 1892, where his ability is highly appreciated. (p. 34)  [Top]

WARNER, SETH H., was born in the town of Marshall, Oneida county, N. Y., December 30, 1833, son of Willard Warner, who was born in Onondaga county, and came to the town of Marshall in 1830, and settled on the farm which he purchased in 1835, where he remained until his death. This family is of Welsh descent, and emigrated to this country quite early. Willard Warner married Clarissa Parker, of the town of Marshall, by whom he had four children: Albert R., a Methodist minister; James P., a merchant at Franklin Iron Works; Edgar F., deceased; and Seth H., who was educated in the town of Kirkland, also attended Whitestown Seminary, after which he engaged in farming, now owning a farm of eighty-three acres, all improved land. He married Lucy I. Kinne, of the town of Marshall, by whom he had four children: Willard, of Kansas; James E., of Fulton county, N.Y.; Clara E., wife of B. W. Hamlin; and Amelia K., wife of Harris Wood. (p. 124) [Top]

WARREN, CHARLES K., was born near Newell's Corners, where he still lives. May 3, 1858. His father, Col. William F. Warren, was born at the same place, May 17, 1816, and died there February 22, 1895. Colonel Warren was an active and representative man of the community and left his son a farm of 250 acres. He married Caroline Deck, of Madison, who was born June 6, 1824. The father of Colonel Warren came from Massachusetts and was the second settler in that part of the county, having located on the Warren farm more than a hundred years ago. Charles K. was educated in the district schools and at Knoxboro and then returned to the farm, where he has since remained. January 7, 1888, Mr. Warren married Alice E. French, of Norwich, N. Y., who was educated at Norwich and Knoxboro, living for some time in early life in the latter place. The Warren homestead occupies a picturesque site and the house built nearly 100 years ago is still standing. (p. 285) [Top]

WARREN, REV. JOHN D., was born at Hoosick, Rensselaer county, N. Y. December 11, 1845, being the youngest of five children. His father, Dr. John Warren, was a leading physician of that town, who practiced medicine in that place fifty years, having moved from his native place, Ashford, Windham county, Conn., where he began his practice one year previous. He was a graduate of Bowdoin College, Maine. He died in 1882, aged seventy-six years. He was the second of three sons, one of whom died at the age of seventy-five and the other at eighty-seven years. His father, Luther Warren, moved from Massachusetts to Connecticut, where he died at eighty years of age. His father's name was John. The traditions of the family are that their ancestor came over in the Mayflower; it seems probable, however, that there is a relationship to Joseph Warren of Bunker Hill fame, as John is a favorite name in all branches of that family. Their ancestor came over with Governor Winthrop, but claims a relationship to the Warren who came in the Mayflower. October 27, 1830, Dr. John Warren married Susan H. Dimick, of Hoosick, N. Y., only child of Otis and Sarah Dimick, and granddaughter of Henry Schneyder, who, about 1762, settled on the south part of his ten thousand acre grant, which is now part of the boundary line between this State and Vermont. John D. Warren received his early education at a district school and village academy, and later was fitted for college at the Newtonville Classical School. Rev. William Arthur, D.D., father of ex-President Arthur, being principal. After attending this school several terms he left with a companion to enlist in the army, but after a brief service was brought home by his father, much to his displeasure, being under age. He labored as salesman for several years for the wholesale clothing firm of J. B. Wilkinson & Co., of Troy, N. Y., and later bought out and run for several years a dry goods store in the same city. During his residence in Troy he was an active member of the Ninth Presbyterian church, which had then been but recently organized, in a part of the city which has since become famous as the place where Robert Ross lost his life in defence (sic) of a free ballot. At that time the church was surrounded by saloons, today it has the largest membership of any church of its denomination in the city. Mr. Warren spent much time in evangelistic work in Troy, and felt called to devote his whole time to the work of the gospel ministry. He was taken under care of the Troy Presbytery and took a special course in theological training under guidance of John Tallock, D.D;, Thomas Clark. D.D., and Dr. Beverage. He began immediately to preach under license, and later was ordained at Mechanicsville, April 21, 1885. His charges have been Hoosick, North Gage, Oriskany and Knoxboro; the latter place where he still resides. August 3, 1870, he married Harriet J. Haswell, of Hoosick, N. Y. Mr. Warren has a portrait of his maternal great-great-grandmother, whose maiden name was Jane Hunter, whose father was General Hunter, after whom Fort Hunter was named. (p. 193) [Top]

WASMUTH, FRED W., was born in Augusta, N. Y., February 18, 1862. His father was born at Frankfort-on-the Oder, Prussia, October 22, 1826. He was a shoemaker by trade and came to America in 1859. He married Mary L. Baldwin, Who was born at Hamburg in 1823 and died in Augusta in 1891. Fred W. attended the Augusta Academy and upon leaving school engaged in farming for a time. He then entered into the mercantile business with Wayne C. Russell in 1885, in which he continued for one year, then purchased his partner's interest and conducted the business alone until 1890, when he sold out to Franciscoe & Hurty. He has since been engaged in farming, making a specialty of hops and berries. Mr. Wasmuth married Mary E. Dudley, of Augusta, who was born January 21, 1863, and died June 9, 1892. He has been successively postmaster, deputy sheriff, member of the County Committee, and is now town assessor. (p. 285) [Top]

WASMUTH, THEODORE, was born in Frankfort-on-the-Oder, Prussia, January 27, 1854, son of Fred Wasmuth, who was born at the same place, October 22, 1826, and came to this country in 1859, settling at Augusta. Fred Wasmuth is a shoemaker and farmer and, with the exception of his two first years in the United States, which were spent in Stittville, Oneida county, has always lived in Augusta. Theodore Wasmuth was engaged in farming at Augusta until thirty years of age, when he moved to Point Rock, town of Lee, where he is still engaged in the same industry. He married Hattie L. Warden of Point Rock, whose father is a farmer at that place. She was born April 4, 1864, and was educated at the Lee Center Union School. They have three children: Evelyn L., born July 10, 1887; Mary Louise, born May 29, 1892, and Otto K., born August 31, 1894. (p. 156) [Top]

WASSERMAN, FELIX, was born in Germany, in 1826, son of Felix and Barbara Wasserman. Felix Wasserman, jr., came to the United States in 1860, and has since been engaged in farming. He married Darasia Smith, of Germany, by whom he had one son, George Wasserman, who is a farmer of Waterville, N. Y. (p. 283) [Top]

WATERBURY, NATHANIEL G., was born in Albany county, N. Y., March 12, 1847, son of Col. Stephen N. Waterbury, a native of Nassau, Rensselaer county, N. Y., born in 1805, one of nine children of Joseph Waterbury. In early life, Col Stephen Waterbury was engaged in the manufacture of woolen goods at Watervliet, Albany county, N. Y., but he afterwards disposed of his factory and purchased a farm, where he spent his remaining days. He was colonel of a company of State militia. He first married Caroline Sanford, and their children were Warren S., Joseph, Chauncey, and Mary C., all deceased but Joseph. Mr. Waterbury then married Ann E., daughter of Nathaniel and Ester Griffes, of Schenectady county, and their children were Carrie A., wife of Alonzo Denton, of Forestport; Angeline M., wife of Charles Denton of Forestport; and Nathaniel G. Mr. Stephen Waterbury died in 1857, and his wife in 1884, aged seventy-five tears. In 1858, the family removed from the homestead to Schenectady, where Nathaniel G. attended school. At the age of fifteen he became a clerk in the boot and shoe store of John Consaul, with whom he remained seven years. In 1869, he came to Forestport and purchased the interest of Mr. Thurston in the firm of Denton & Thurston, general merchants, where he has since continued under the name of Denton & Waterbury. Under the management of these two gentlemen the business has been largely increased, Mr. Waterbury taking charge of the store and financial part of the business and Mr. Denton the manufacture of lumber. Mr. Waterbury was town clerk for several years and is now postmaster. He has often been elected delegate to county and district conventions. In 1869, he married Amelia, daughter of Angus McIntosh, a resident of Schenectady, and who was assemblyman from that district. Their children are Angus M., a graduate of Poughkeepsie Business College, now has charge of the retail lumber business of Denton & Waterbury, at Whitesboro, N. Y.; Claribel, a graduate of Hamilton Seminary, an artist, having spent three winters at Cooper Institute in New York city; Clarence, and Warren C. (p. 20) [Top]

WATERMAN, CHARLES, was born in New Berlin, Chenango county, December 8, 1816, son of Joseph and Polly (Ritter) Waterman. Mr. Waterman has resided in Oneida county since 1832, while he has been on his present farm for the long period of fifty-five years. He married Clarissa, daughter of Eddy and Lucy (Ruso) Arnold, by whom he had six children: Charles H., DeWitt C., Andrew Jackson Davis, John C., Clara A. Waterman Arnold, and Mrs. Timothy Thornton. Mr. Waterman has accumulated his property entirely by his own ability and has lived a successful and honorable life. (p. 123) [Top]

WATERS, J.F., is a native of Oriskany Falls, N.Y., where he lived until nine years of age, when he came to Waterville. His father died when he was but five years of age, and his mother when he was nine years old, leaving him at this early age to support himself. He has been in business for himself nine years, and has a high business reputation. In 1894 Mr. Waters married Maggie Tierman, of Paris Hill, N.Y. (p. 315-316) [Top]

WATKINS, THOMAS D., was born in Plainfield, Otsego county, September 4, 1870, was graduated from West Winfield Academy in 1889 and in the spring of 1890 won a free scholarship to Cornell University, which he entered in the fall of the same year. He was graduated with high honors and received the degree of LL.B. from that university in 1892. He took a post-graduate course in law at that institution in 1893 and received the degree of LL.M. there from in June of the same year. In the spring of 1896 the American Temperance University of Tennessee conferred upon him pro merito the degree of Ph. B. He was admitted to the bar at Syracuse in April, 1893, and In the fall of that year he entered into partnership with Josiah Perry, of Utica, N. Y., and began the practice of his profession in that city. On April 1, 1894, he formed with Albert T. Wilkinson the firm of Watkins & Wilkinson, which was dissolved at the end of one year and since then Mr. Watkins has practiced alone. In the fall of 1894 he was the Democratic nominee for member of assembly in his district, but was defeated, although he polled several hundred more votes than his regular party. He was appointed corporation counsel for the city of Utica on January 7, 1896. He is a member of Samuel Read Lodge, K. P., and the Cornell University Chapter of Delta Chi Fraternity. He is especially active in religious and political circles, never missing a chance to say a word in favor of the betterment of humanity and the elevation of citizenship. (p. 196-197) [Top]

WATSON, JAMES, was born in England in 1843, and received his education before coming to this country. He came from England in 1866 and settled at Ken\wood, N. Y., in the employ of the Oneida Community. His father, John Watson, was also a native of England, where he was born in 1813, and died in 1895; and his wife, Jane Garner, also died in 1895. After coming to this country Mr. Watson engaged for a time on the farm, and then in the dye house in connection with the silk department of the Community; he there learned the trade, and for the past twenty years has had charge of the dye works of the silk department. He married Eliza Coaks, born and educated in Ramsey, England, by whom he has four children: Rhoda, Maud, Clarence and Clara. Mr. and Mrs. Watson are members of the Presbyterian society of Oneida Castle. (p. 276) [Top]

WATSON, MRS. THOMAS, is the widow of the late Thomas Watson, who was born in Ireland in 1820. When seventeen years of age he came to America, and became apprenticed to a cabinetmaker, Samuel Bateman, and by his own personal efforts was soon able to enter mercantile life, and conducted a successful furniture business in Boonville for forty-five years. In 1879 he married Violet, daughter of James Frazier of Boonville, by whom he had one daughter, Anna L. Mr. Watson was always an able supporter of the Methodist Episcopal church, of which his wife and daughter are members. He was a Republican and popular citizen, and his death, which occurred in 1895, was mourned by the whole community. (p. 179) [Top]

WATSON, WILLIAM L., was born in Utica, March 27, 1856, and is a son of Dr. William H. and Sarah Thompson (Carlile) Watson. His father is one of the most eminent physicians and surgeons of that city. Mr. Watson attended the public schools and was a graduate from the Utica Free Academy in 1874. He attended Phillips Exeter Academy at Exeter, N. H., in 1874-75, and entered Harvard College in the class of 1879. He has always lived in Utica and is prominently identified with the city, and for the last fifteen years has been extensively interested in real estate operations. He is a member of Fort Schuyler Club, the Royal Arcanum, and the Arcanum Club. He was married, first, October 12, 1887, to Miss Alice G. Parkinson, daughter of E. K. Parkinson of Jamaica Plain, Mass. She died October 4, 1893, leaving one daughter, Alice. Mr. Watson married, second, April 22, 1896, Miss Ellen Swan, daughter of the late John Swan, of Baltimore, Md. (p. 244) [Top]

WEAVER, ABRAM H., was born in Deerfield, Oneida county, N.Y., June 13, 1849. He was educated at Utica, and has since followed farming. In 1881 he purchased a farm in Marcy. where he resided until 1892, when he took up his residence at Deerfield Corners, but still carries on the farm. In 1877 he married Matilda, daughter of Richard and Rachel Harter, natives of Deerfield. Richard Harter was a farmer in Deerfield. He was a Democrat in politics, and was supervisor of Deerfield and justice of the peace for a great many years. He died May 3, 1883, aged eighty-three years, and his wife died April 18, 1860, aged sixty-seven years. Mr. and Mrs. Weaver have one daughter, Florence R., born June 20, 1880. (p. 144) [Top]

WEAVER, ALFRED M., was born in the town of Rome, N. Y., January 7, 1858, son of Alfred and Mary E. Weaver, who had one other child, Carrie J., wife of William F., Thomas, Alfred, jr. married Lucy, daughter of Joseph and Rachel Paine, by whom he has one child, Everet A. Mr. Weaver is a charter member of the Marcy Grange, and has held the office of trustee, and his wife has held office most of the time since its organization. (p. 170) [Top]

WEAVER, CHARLES C., was born in Deerfield, Oneida county, N. Y., July 5, 1851, son of George F. and Margaret A. Weaver. He was educated at the schools of Utica, and has since been engaged in brickmaking, being a partner in the business with his brother, Frederick G. In 1889 he married Elizabeth, daughter of George H. and Jane (Hicks) Crossman, by whom he had two children: Robert C., born April 15, 1892; and Harriet J., born in December, 1895. (P. 213-214) [Top]

WEAVER, FREDERICK G., was born in Deerfield August 7, 1843, son of George F. and Margaret A. Weaver, natives of Deerfield. George F. was a successful business man as farmer and brick manufacturer. He was a Republican in politics and was supervisor for a number of years; was elected sheriff of the county in 1867. He died in 1889 and Mrs. Weaver died in 1888. Frederick G. Weaver was reared on a farm and was educated at Utica schools and Fairfield Seminary. He commenced his business career with his father in the manufacture of brick, in which business he is still engaged, being in partnership with his brother, Charles C. Weaver. They do an extensive business, and in 1893 turned out seven million brick. Mr. Weaver is also engaged in farming. In 1872 he married Sarah J. Budlong of Schuyler, Herkimer county, by whom he has seven children. He is a Republican in politics; has been supervisor of Deerfield three terms and was elected sheriff of the county in 1876, and was the Republican nominee for the office of senator in 1895. He is a member of Lodge No. 54, F. & A. M. He is president of the Deerfield and Utica R. R. Co. since its incorporation in 1889, and a director of the First National Bank of Utica, N. Y. (p. 88) [Top]

WEAVER, VAN RENSSELAER, son of George F. and grandson of Henry Van R. Weaver, was born in Deerfield, Oneida county, Jan. 21, 1855, and was reared on his father's farm. The founder of the family in Deerfield was George J. Weaver, who, in 1773, came up the Mohawk with Capt. Mark Damoth and Christan Reall and settled at the Corners. In 1776 the Indians drove them back and burned their improvements. Afterward Mr. Weaver was taken prisoner near Herkimer, carried to Quebec and thence to England, and after more than two years exchanged. In 1784 the three men again settled at Deerfield Corners, where Mr. Weaver's grandson, George M. Weaver, jr., was the first white male child born in the town, his birth occurring Jan. 15, 1787, and his death in 1877. Van Rensselaer Weaver was educated in the Deerfield public and Utica advanced schools, and remained on the farm until 1894, maintaining also a milk route in Utica. He is a staunch Republican, has been a delegate to State and other political conventions, and for five successive years from 1880 served as supervisor of the town of Deerfield. He also held this office in 1892 and 1893. In 1894 he was elected sheriff of Onieda [sic] county for a term of three years by a majority of about 4,300, which was the second largest on the ticket. For several years he has been a trustee of the Deerfield Baptist church. Feb. 20, 1882, he married Laura A., daughter of Owen D. Owens, of Clinton, N.Y., and their children are Van Rensselaer, jr., Ralph O., Harrison, and Clarence W. (p. 377) [Top]

WEBB, ALVIN, was born in Delaware county, N. Y., May 22, 1844, son of the late Paul Webb, who was also born in Delaware county. The family came from Vermont to Delaware county in 1819, and the father was a shoemaker by trade. He married Ester, daughter of John Mott, by whom he had four children: Alison, Maria, Ester, deceased, and Alvin, who was educated and reared in Delaware county until he was fourteen years of age, when they moved to Oneida county. His business was principally farming all of his life, and now owns a farm of 140 acres. He married Nancy, daughter of Adam Campbell, by whom he had nine children: Fred A., Kate E., Eva L., Alice I., Alson H., Arthur S., Clarence (deceased), Grace M., Flossie M., Mr. Webb is a member of the Masonic fraternity and of the Grange. (p. 34) [Top]

WEBER, A. H., was born in Utica April 8, 1860. His father, Christian Weber, was born in Germany and came to America when a boy, locating in Utica, where he now resides. His mother, Mary Louisa Hartman, died in 1869. A. W. Weber was educated in his native city. In 1874 he removed with his parents to Washington County, Iowa, where he lived upon a farm until 1881, when he returned to Utica and entered the employ of John Kohler, the West Utica dry goods merchant, until the spring of 1889, when he came to Waterville, establishing a fine clothing business. In 1884 he married Anna M. Simmerer of Utica, by whom he has one son, Ralph E. Weber. Mr. Weber is a Republican in politics and a member of the First Presbyterian Church, and of the Sanger Lodge, No. 129, F. & A. M. (p. 111) [Top]

WEISMANTLE, CASPER, was born in Bavaria, Germany, January 6, 1831. He was educated there, and has had a variety of occupations since he came to the United States; driving stage for others and on his own account, followed the canal for several years, and conducted a general store at Grove Springs several years, but now lives retired. May 15, 1856, he married Elizabeth Miller, of New London, by whom he had nine children: Catherine, Nancy E., Joseph H., John A., Margaret, Maryette, Annie W., Carrie R., and Francis B. Mrs. Weismantle's father, Joseph Miller, was born in Alsace, France, and came to the United States when a young man. He married Catherine Seigel, formerly of his native country, by whom he had five children: Catherine, Elizabeth, as above, Joseph, Nancy, and Mary F. Both father and mother are dead. The ancestry of the family on both sides is German. (p. 336) [Top]

WELLER, W.H., was born in Oneida county, January 8, 1867. His father, Thomas Weller, is a native of Kent, England, and his mother, Mary E. (Curry) Weller, is a Canadian by birth, and of Scotch descent. He took a course in the Clinton Grammar School, and then studied law with S.S. Judson of Vernon, and was admitted to the bar in December, 1891. He immediately opened an office in Waterville, and is already recognized as one of the rising young lawyers of the county. He was clerk of the village of Waterville in 1894, and is a member of the Pickwick Club, and Sanger Lodge No. 129, F. & A. M. (p. 122) [Top]

WELLS, ALBERT B., D. D. S., was born in the town of Trenton, N. Y., June 1, 1833, son of Ira and Abigail Wells. Ira was a son of Elisha Wells, who settled in Trenton about 1800, and was engaged in general and pioneer farming. He was known as Captain Wells, and his children were Chester, Ira, Elizabeth G., Nancy, and Mary. Ira Wells was also engaged in farming. He married Abigail Austin, by whom he had three children: Albert G., Chester, and Austin. By his second wife, patty Hemingway, he had one child, Henry H. Albert B. married Dora E., daughter of Gardner Townsend, by whom he had three children: Alberta, deceased, Gardner T. deceased, and Ira G. Mr. Wells was a student of Dr. A. N. Priest from 1857 to 1860, and from 1861 to 1864, he practiced in Connecticut. Since his marriage, September 15, 1864, he practiced in Holland Patent. Ira G. was graduated from the Pennsylvania Medical College in 1894, and was associated with his father in business. Alberta was a graduated of Albany Normal School and died October 30, 1897. Albert Wells died March 19, 1896. (p. 67) [Top]

WELLS, CHESTER A., was born near where he now resides, February 8, 1825, son of Samuel and Emily (Ward) Wells, who came from Connecticut to Trenton about 1808, and their children were Samuel H. and Chester A. Mr. Wells was engaged in farming and served as musician in the war of 1812, and was located at Sackett's Harbor. He died at age seventy-seven years of age. Chester A. married Laurie A. Gitteau, by whom he had four children: Laurie E., Julia E., Francis E., and Charles E. His second wife was Harriet M. Mclntosh, by whom he had three children: Francis E., Julia E., and Harriet M. He was engaged in dairy farming and live stock, and has been treasurer of Trenton Grange, of which he is a member. (p. 215-216) [Top]

WENDT, FREDERICK S., was born in Lewis county, N. Y., October 6, 1852. He was educated in the district schools and in his early years was a farmer. October 30 1878, he married Lottie J. Armstrong, of Higginsville, N. Y., by whom he had three children: George A., Frederick W. and Florence M. (twins). Mr. Wendt since 1880 has been engaged in the general merchandise business and has recently become interested in the coal business. In 1887 he was appointed justice of the peace to fill a vacancy and in 1888 was elected to a full term and has served continually since. William C. Wendt, his father, was born in Mecklenbergh, Germany, about 1823. He married Caroline Runge, of his native place, by whom he had ten children: Frederick S., Augustus, William, Albert, Charles, Minnie, Frances, Pauline, Emma, and Annie. They came to the United States in 1851, locating in Lewis county, N. Y. William H. Armstrong, Mrs. Wendt's father, was born in Utica, N. Y., February 15,1828. He was educated in the common schools and is now carrying on a general blacksmithing business at Durhamville, N. Y. He followed the canal for several years. In 1852 he married Amanda M. Morse, of Higginsville, N. Y., by whom he has one child, Lottie, J., now Mrs. Frederick S. Wendt. Mr. F. S. Wendt is a member of New London Lodge, No. 420, F. & A. M., and Mrs. Wendt is a member of the Eastern Star, Visha Chapter, O. E. S. (p. 87)  [Top]

WEST, JOSEPH, was born on this homestead, October 19, 1817. He was educated in the district schools, and was afterward engaged in farming. January 1, 1843, he married Mary Ann Jackson, of this town. Mr. West's father, Joseph West, was born in Grafton, Rensselaer county, N.Y., June 26, 1790, and came to this county when a young man. He returned to his native county after a period of about three years, and November 12, 1811, married Mary Brock, of his native place, by whom he had nine children: Adilla C., Emily, Joseph, as above, Julia, Benjamin, Arminta, Francis, Olive, and Elizabeth. He died March 11, 1832, and his wife February 20, 1865. Mrs. West's father, Alanson Jackson, was born in Connecticut about 1792. He married Marilla Warner and came to the town of Verona in 1818. They had four children: Noble, Amos, Mary Ann and Julia. He died in 1838 and his wife in 1880. Mr. and Mrs. West are members of the Seven Day Baptist church, of which he has been deacon for thirty years. The ancestry of the family is New England stock, of Welsh, Scotch and Irish origin. (p. 141-142) [Top]

WESTCOTT, FRANK D., son of Stephen S. and Philinda A. (Brown) Westcott, was born in Oneonta, Otsego county, September 7, 1858, and moved with his parents to Clinton in 1866. He was graduated from the Clinton Grammar School in June, 1877, and the following autumn entered Hamilton College as a member of the class of 1881, but two years later came to Utica as a clerk in charge of the mail order deartment of Hugh Glenn & Co., where he remained one year. He was then for two years bookkeeper for Miller & Fincke and later held a similar position in the wholesale clothing house of Tucker, Calder & Co. for about six years. January 24, 1890, he formed a partnership with Henry F. Miller, as Miller & Westcott, and engaged in the coal business. In 1891 this firm dissolved and with Elmer E. Parker he formed the firm of Westcott & Parker, which continued until July, 1894. Since then Mr. Westcott has conducted the business alone, dealing in coal, wood, flour, and feed. He was one of the organizers and a director of the Cornhill Building and Loan Association of Utica and is secretary and director of the Utica Carriage Company. He is a member of Faxton Lodge, F. & A. M., and in the Royal Arcanum has been very prominent, serving in almost every office. He was regent of Imperial Council No. 70 three years, and elected representative to the Grand Council of the State of New York. At his first session he was chosen grand guide. He has also served as grand orator and grand vice-regent, and was grand regent from April, 1891, to April, 1893. February 21, 1882, he married Libbie A., daughter of James W. Cronkhite, of Little Falls, N. Y., and they have one son, William Carlton. (p. 210-211) [Top]

WETHERELL, THOMAS G., was born in Whitestown, N.Y., September 4, 1838, son of Thomas and Mary (Bailey) Wetherell. Thomas Wetherell was born in England, and came to the United States in 1830. He settled in Kirkland, and built the dam for the factory, and then settled in Whitestown, where he died in 1871 aged seventy years. He was a noted Democrat and took an active interest in the success of his party. Thomas G. was educated in the Delany Institute at Westmoreland, and then engaged in farming at which he still continues. He has always been identified as one of the representative farmers of the town. He has a fine brick residence, which is considered the finest farm house in the township. He married Amanda A., daughter of Edward and Maria Noble, of Rome, by whom he has three children" Carrie J., married to William H. Posthill of Syracuse; M. Nettie, married to James W. Posthill of Syracuse; and George E., of Whitestown, married Margaret Cunningham of Londonderry. (p. 221) [Top]

WETMORE, MAJOR EZRA F., was born in Whitestown, December, 8, 1820, son of Ezra and Susan (Palmer) Wetmore. Ezra Wetmore was born in Middletown, Conn., about 1782, and came to Whitestown when four years of age. He was the son of Amos Wetmore, who came here in 1786, and bought 400 acres of land of Governor Trumbull of Connecticut, and brought his family here the following year. Amos Wetmore was a cooper by trade, and his son Ezra conducted a saw mill and was also engaged in farming. Ezra F. Wetmore was educated at the common school and Whitestown Academy, after which he engaged in teaching school winters, and engaged in farming in the summers. Apri1 20, 1861, he volunteered in the 26th N. Y. Vols., and was elected captain of Company F. He went to the front where he was promoted major, afterwards lieutenant colonel, and colonel by brevet. The regiment arrived in Washington, June 21, 1861, and went to Alexandria, where they constructed Fort Lyon in the winter of 1861-1862, and garrisoned it until May 4, when they went to Fredericksburg, Va. After various maneuvers covering the period May 4 to August 9, the regiment participated in the battle of Cedar Mountain, under Brigade General Tower and General John C. Ricketts of McDowell's Corps. After the battle the regiment remained in the vicinity of the Rapidan four days, during which time they had been flanked by the enemy and were compelled to fall back to the Rappahannock, where they were engaged with the Confederates for three days, when the army fell back on the field of the second battle of Bull Run, and during this period they were in the battle of Thoroughfare Gap, and constituted the rear guard of McDowell's Corps. On August 30 the regiment participated in the second battle of Bull Run, and September 1, the battle of Chantilly. During this period of nine days, the 26th Regiment was under constant fire from the enemy's guns, and lost heavily. In the second battle of Bull Run the regiment was thrown into the enemy's lines, and a hand to hand contest ensued in which the regiment lost three captains. They fell back to Centreville, and on September 5, in a skirmish at Hall's Hill, the enemy was driven back. On September 14 they fought the battle of South Mountain, ascending an almost perpendicular height, driving the rebels from position, and following them up met them at the battle of Antietam on September 17. The regiment was on the march from this time until the battle of Fredericksburg, came to in which it participated December 13, 1862. On May 3 the regiment arrived on the battle field of Chancellorsville, in which fight they took part, and captured detachments from the enemy about equal to their own number. At night hearing a noise, Major Wetmore called for officers to reconnoiter, and none volunteering, he took three men himself and they captured a prisoner, and while he was returning alone with him to camp, they came across four others whom the major marched into the Union lines. Major Wetmore was commanding officer in the battles of South Mountain, Antietam, Fredericksburg and Chancellorsville, and although he was under constant fire, and participated with his regiment in the hottest scenes of the war, he was never wounded, although struck by balls, when his equipments saved him from injury. At the roll call of Fredericksburg, there were only forty men and officers to respond. On May 29, 1863, the major was mustered out of service (his term having expired in April). Since that time the major has been engaged in farming. He married Rosanna Walker of Whitestown, by whom he has two children: W.E. Wetmore, M.D., a physician practicing in Utica; and Elizabeth J. Wetmore. Major Wetmore has in his possession a sword presented to his grandfather, Amos Wetmore, for meritorious service in the war of the Revolution. (p 119-120) [Top]

WHEELER, E. A., was born in New Hampshire, and moved to Clayville, with his parents, when four years of age. He enlisted in Co. G, 117th N. Y. Vols, August 4, 1862, and participated in the battles of Petersburg Bluff, Bermuda Hundred, etc. He served until the close of the war, and has been prominently identified with the G.A.R. He was commander of the post four years, and is also a prominent Mason. He is at present trustee of the village of Waterville and water commissioner. In 1865 he married Anna Barker, who died, leaving four children: Mrs. F. A. Gifford, Mrs. Louise M. Case, Lillie, Millie B. and Nellie F. Wheeler. His present wife is Silvina E. Bates, of Cassville, N. Y. (p. 302) [Top]

WHEELER, FRANK E., is the only son of Russel Wheeler, who was born in Rome, N.Y., August 7, 1820, and died in Utica January 5, 1895. George Wheeler, father of Russel, was born in Glastonbury, Conn., in February, 1791, came to Oneida county with his father, and died on the homestead near Rome September 2, 1882. He had one daughter and seven sons, of whom Russel was the third. Russel Wheeler came to Utica in 1838 and entered the hardware store of John Mairs, where he remained four years. In 1842 he became bookkeeper for Joel C. Bailey, who had just purchased the Chester Dexter foundry on Columbia street. In 1844 he formed a partnership with Mr. Bailey, as Bailey, Wheeler & Co., which continued until 1855, when Mr. Wheeler bought his senior partner's interest. In 1865 he secured that of S. Alonzo Bailey and in 1887 he took his son, Frank E., into the business; two years later Francis Kernan, jr., became a partner, but on January 1, 1890, the Wheelers again became sole owners, the firm name being Russel Wheeler & Son. They manufacture stoves, furnaces, heaters, etc., and employ from 150-200 men. Mr. Wheeler was alderman in 1849-1850, a director in the Oneida National Bank, a trustee of the Savings Bank of Utica, for many years vice-president of the Utica Steam Cotton Mills, the Globe Woolen Mills, the Utica Willowvale Bleaching Works, and the Utica and Black River Railroad Company. He was also for many years a trustee of Colgate University. He was an extensive traveler, a man of unswerving integrity, and an influential, respected citizen. August 5, 1845, he married Amanda, daughter of Joel C. Bailey, of Utica, who died at Saratoga Springs, N.Y., August 29, 1884, leaving one son, Frank E., who was born in Utica in 1853. November 10, 1887, Mr. Wheeler married, second, Mrs. Katharine K. Anderson, of New York. Frank Wheeler was graduated from Yale College in 1876, and for several years has managed the business of the firm. In 1878 he married Louise Vanette, daughter of Hon. Cheney Ames, of Oswego, N.Y. (p. 369-370) [Top]

WHEELER, RUSSEL, was born in Rome, Oneida county, N.Y., August 7, 1820, upon the farm that was purchased in 1810 by his grandfather, Lazarus Wheeler, who came as a pioneer from Glastonbury, Conn., with his eleven children, making the entire journey, and conveying his household goods as well as his family by means of ox teams. Of the eleven children of Lazarus Wheeler, the fourth, George, the father of Russel, was born in Glastonbury, February 21, 1791, and was thus nineteen years of age when he came to this county. The original farm was afterwards divided into two portions, which were owned respectively by George and a brother Asa; and upon their death was purchased by Russel, the subject of this sketch, who held it the balance of his life, and who bequeathed it to his son, Frank E., who is the present owner. This farm for years has been widely known for the blooded stock, and especially the fine Jersey cattle that have been raised upon it. Lazarus Wheeler died upon the homestead July 2, 1851, at the age of ninety two, and George Wheeler died September 9, 1882, at the age of ninety-one. Russel Wheeler, the third son of George Wheeler, came to Utica in 1838, and entered the hardware store of John Mairs, where he remained as clerk for four years. In 1842 he became bookkeeper for Joel C. Bailey, who had just purchased the Chester Dexter Foundry on Columbia street. In 1844 he, together with a son of Mr. Bailey, S. Alonzo, were taken into partnership under the firm name of Bailey, Wheeler & Co. In 1855 Russel Wheeler purchased the interest of Joel C. Bailey, and the firm became Wheeler & Bailey. In 1865 he bought the interest of S. Alonzo Bailey and continued the business in his own name and without partner for twelve years. In 1877 he took his son, Frank E., into the business, and the firm name became what it is to-day, Russel Wheeler & Son. They manufacture warm air furnaces, hot water and steam heaters, ranges and stoves, and employ from 150 to 200 men. Mr. Wheeler occupied many positions of trust and responsibility. He was a trustee of Colgate University, and also of the Young Ladies' Seminary of Utica. He was for some years vice-president of the Utica City National Bank, was director of the Oneida National Bank and trustee of the Savings Bank of Utica. He was for many years a director and member of the Executive Committee of the Utica and Black River Railroad; was a director of the Utica Steam Cotton Mills, the Mohawk Cotton Company, the Willowvale Bleaching Company, and the Globe Woolen Company. He was an extensive traveler, both in his own land and abroad. A man of unswerving integrity and exceptional judgment, he was in every way a most influential and respected citizen. August 5, 1845, he married Amanda, the eldest daughter of his partner, Joel C. Bailey, a lady who became interested in many of the charities of Utica, and who combined to a more than usual degree those attributes which make a happy, attractive home, and which endear one to all who are fortunate enough to be brought under their influence. She died August 29, 1884, at Saratoga Springs. They had but one child, a son Frank E. Wheeler, who was graduated from Yale College in 1876, and who has succeeded his father in business, as well as in many of his positions of trust. November 10, 1887, Mr. Wheeler married, second, Mrs. Katharine Kneeland Anderson, of New York, who survives him. He died in Utica, at his home on Genesee street, January 5, 1895. Frank E. Wheeler, the son, married, April 23, 1878, Louise Vanette, daughter of Hon. Cheney Ames of Oswego. (p. 377-378) [Top]

WHEELER, HON. THOMAS, son of George, was born in Utica, October 5, 1845. George Wheeler, a native of Ireland came to America and settled in Utica with his father, John, when very young, and died here in 1858. He was engaged in the trucking business. Thomas Wheeler was educated in the public schools, and at the age of fifteen entered the Utica Steam Cotton Mill and later the Woolen Mills. August 30, 1862, he enlisted in Co. A, 146th N.Y. Vols., was promoted second lieutenant, and was mustered out July 25, 1865. He was in the army of the Potomac, participated in most of the battles of his regiment, was wounded March 31, 1865, at White Oak Road, and was confined in the hospital till shortly before his discharge. Returning to Utica he followed various employments until 1870, when he was appointed patrolman on the police force. In 1873 he entered the district attorney's office under D. C. Stoddard and remained there about eight years. He was also chief detective for the New York Central and Hudson River Railroad Company, having charge of their detective department from Albany to Syracuse, and held this position about eleven years. In politics he has been an active Democrat. In 1888 he was nominated and elected county sheriff, and served until his term expired December 31, 1891. March 1, 1892, he was elected mayor of Utica and served from March 8, 1892 to March 13, 1894. During his term as mayor he conducted the fight against the Warren-Scharf Asphalt Paving Company, and broke the prices for street paving, being the first man in the United States to attempt such a movement. May 1, 1894, the present coal firm of Wheeler, McQuade & Co., was formed, and on February 19, 1895, Mr. Wheeler was appointed assistant superintendent of public works by State Superintendent Aldridge, and still holds that position. He is a member of Post Bacon G.A.R., the Elks and the Arcanum Club. April 26, 1886, he married Helen Frances, daughter of Lawrence Doyle, of Utica. (p. 370-371) [Top]

WHEELER, PROF. WILLIAM H., was born in the town of Stockbridge, N. Y., July 19, 1864, son of Hibbard Wheeler, who was also born in Stockbridge, in 1835, and Jeanette (Royce) Wheeler, who was born in Pinckney, N. Y., in 1845. Hibbard Wheeler was a noted hop grower of Madison county. He died December 7, 1894, and Mrs. Wheeler is now living on the old homestead at Munnsville, N. Y. Prof. William H. Wheeler has been principal of the Knoxboro Union School since 1892. He received his education mostly at the Cazenovia Seminary, from which institution he was graduated in the academic course in 1886, after which he taught school for one year, and then engaged in farming for one year; after which he engaged with a surveying party for one year. In 1890, he took charge of the Munnsville school and remained in that position for two years, and in 1892, he assumed the principalship of the Knoxboro school, where he is still engaged. He married Harriet La Munion, who was born in Stockbridge, February 14, 1873, and was educated at Gloversville, N. Y. Her father, Abel La Munion, was born in Stockbridge in 1849, and died there in 1891. Mrs. Wheeler is not engaged in teaching with her husband, having charge of one of the departments of the school. (p. 78) [Top]

WHITCHER, REV. BENJAMIN WILLIAMS, was born in Rochester, Vt., December, 8, 1811, his father, Stephen, a native of Haverhill, Mass., being one of a large family, of which Thomas Whitcher, who came from England to New England in 1638, was the founder. Mr. Whitcher was graduated from Geneva College in 1840 and afterward continued and completed his theological studies at the General Theological Seminary of the Protestant Episcopal church in New York city. He was ordained by the late Bishop De Lancey in 1844 and settled in Whitestown, Oneida county, where he organized and became the first rector of St. John's church. Afterward he officiated at Saratoga Springs and Oswego, and later had charge of the parishes at Theresa and Redwood, N.Y. During his ministry he was earnest and active in urging people to baptism and the sacraments, and was recognized as a high churchman. When the Oxford or "tractarian movement" was at its height he was a student. This movement was a school of thought led by Cardinal Newman and other great minds. In 1850 Mr. Whitcher was received into St. John's church, Utica, by the late Bishop McFarland, and for a score of years thereafter was engaged in lecturing, becoming widely known in the United States and Canada. His lecturers were on subjects connected with the Catholic faith. Although he renounced the Protestant Episcopal church he never forgot the courtesy of the clergy with whom he had been associated. A man of commanding presence he possessed a logical manner of reasoning and a singularly conciliating style of address. In 1877 he published a book, "The Story of a Convert," which was favorably commented upon by the celebrated reviewer, Brownson. In 1847 he married Frances Miriam Berry, of Whitesboro, who was distinguished author of the "Widow Bedott Papers," which have been dramatized and accorded a foremost place among humorous writings. She died in January, 1852, and in the autumn of 1853 he married Martha Letetia Ward, of Jefferson county, who survives him. In 1855 Mrs. M. L. Whitcher collected and arranged the scatted newspaper articles which became the well known "Widow Bedott Papers," printed by James C. Derby in 1856. She also finished a manuscript, "Trials and Changes, which had been begun by Mrs. Frances M. Whitcher and left incomplete by her death. This story with a biographical sketch of its author and a story entitled, "The Widow Spriggs," were published in 1867. Mrs. Whitcher is a talented writer, both in prose and poetry, as the following stanzas entitled "In Memory of Nellie," abundantly illustrate:

Two years ago, dear child, to-day
Thy gentle spirit passed away
   From earth and pain;
All calmly then my grief I hid,
And wrote upon thy coffin lid,
   "To die is gain."
Two weary, sad and bitter years,
Alone in sorrow and in tears--
   A sad refrain.
Yet watching by the low green mound,
Which thy dear dust makes holy ground,
   I can not weep.
Such kindly thoughts of hopeful rest.
And peace and joy among the blest,
   Soft vigils keep;
And bind me only "stand and wait"
Till He unclose life's sunset gate,
   Who gave thee sleep.

Mr. Whitcher was a cousin of John Greenleaf Whittier, and died December 17, 1891, while the poet was celebrating his eighty-fourth birthday. Besides his wife he left four daughters and two sons: Alice Miriam, wife of William S. Wood, of Muskegon, Mich.; Mary Lavina, widow of Warren F. Thayer, of Sioux Falls, S.D.; Frances Margaret; Caroline E.; Ward W., of Rome; and Charles E. of Whitesboro. (p. 309-310) [Top]

WHITE, CAROLINE.,--Moses T. White, deceased, was born in Western, July 12, 1796, son of Otis and Mercy (Comstock) White, and grandson of Levi White. His father and grandfather were natives of Rhode Island, who settled in Western prior to 1795, and were farmers by occupation, both of whom died in Western. Moses T. White cleared and improved a good share of the farm now occupied by his daughter, Caroline, where he settled in early manhood, and where he died in 1786. In 1819, he married Phoebe, daughter of Otis and Phoebe (Edmunds) Phillips, of North Adams, Mass., and their children were Mercy, (Mrs. Edwin Brainard), Otis P., Orson, Julina, Phoebe R., Israel, Belinda, Caroline, Moses T., and Franklin. Mr. White was a member of the Presbyterian church of Westernville and of the Masonic fraternity, was justice of the peace of Western for some years, and politically was a Republican. Of the above named children, only three at this date, 1896, are living. Orson died in California near Stockton, in 1853, Mercy in Oneida, ILL, in 1887. The others died in Western. In a field above the house on the farm adjoining on the east, that of the late Moses T. White, stands a large and aged white ash tree, consisting of two trees grown together, one much smaller than the other, and twisted partly around the larger. This tree to Mr. White was pleasantly associated with the memory of his grandfather, Levi White. When a child, he was one day walking with him through this field, which then was probably partly or wholly covered with trees; coming to these two, standing so near together, the grandfather bent the smaller one around the larger, and remarked, "This will make a good scythe snath for somebody some day." The tree has outlived for many years the use of the snath as a handle for the scythe that cuts the meadow grass, and now his children's children's children love to visit it, and now they call it "The Twisted Tree." (p. 35) [Top]

WHITE, CHARLES M. White, Charles M., was born on the farm where he now resides, November 25, 1817, son of Aaron and Rhoda (Bagg) White. Aaron White settled in the town of Marcy about 1810, and was followed by his father, Samuel, from Middletown, Conn. Samuel's children were Aaron, Nancy Guiteau, Elizabeth Perry, Sophia, Walter, and Laurie Buck. Aaron White had two children: Charles M. and Martha White Fuller. Aaron White followed farming and at one time was the largest distiller of peppermint in the United States. He was colonel of the N. Y. State Militia, and was supervisor of his town for several years. His (C. M. White's) grandfather was in the Revolutionary war, also his great-grandfather. (p. 98) [Top]

WHITE, CHARLES N., is a son of Nicholas A. White, who was born in February, 1819, in Thetford, Vermont, and came with his parents, Noah and Frances White, to Oneida county, when he was an infant. In 1827 the family settled in Utica, and when nine years of age Nicholas A. entered the employ of George Brayton and Aaron Kellogg, proprietors of the pottery situated on the site of the present Central New York pottery, on the northwest corner of Whitesboro and Breeze streets, with which he was ever afterward connected. In 1827 Noah White entered the employ of the same firm and later made some ware on shares. He subsequently bought the establishment and also leased and finally purchased the pottery on the east side of Breeze street, thus having the only important concerns of the kind in the county. About 1840 he took his sons Nicholas A. and William in as partners, under the firm name of N. White & Sons, which continued until William went west in 1856, when it became N. White & Son. About 1862, a grandson, William N., son of Nicholas A., was admitted as N. White, Son & Co. Noah White died November 4, 1865, and the firm became N.A. White & Son. William N. (the son) died about 1877, when N.A. assumed sole management. He died August 10, 1886, and since then it has been managed by Charles N. White. Nicholas A. White was alderman for two terms, member of assembly one year, a member of the I.O.O.F., and during his life a prominent and influential citizen. He married Julia Tucker, of Utica, who survives him. Their children were William N. (deceased), Mrs. Henry Roberts, Dr. Sue A. White, Mrs. E.B. Odell, Chas. N. White, and Mrs. Luther I. Foster, of Syracuse. (p. 370) [Top]

WHITE CO., N. E., was incorporated in September, 1865, with a capital of $25,000 with T. H. Ferris, president, and N. E. White, secretary, treasurer, and manager. The business was started in 1884 by John Ellis, one of the oldest cheese and butter buyers in Utica, who commenced when cheese was first bought here for the New York and export market. In March, 1892, N. E. White became his successor and successfully continued until September, 1895, when, for the purpose of enlarging the business, the company was organized. The concern are wholesale and commission dealers in grocers' and bakers' sundries, flour, feed, grain, baled hay and straw, and are large shippers of butter, cheese and eggs. (p. 195) [Top]

WHITE, GEORGE W., was born in the town of Annsville, January 9, 1844, son of Israel White, who was born in the town of Western, Oneida county. This family was among the first to settle in this section of the county, and have generally engaged in farming. George W. was educated in the schools of Annsville, Whitestown Seminary, and Eastman's Business College. He was for some time connected with the American, Wells Fargo and United Express Companies in Kansas City, but since 1873, has devoted his time to farming, owning a farm where he now resides of 120 acres, besides several other farms in this county. Mr. White is a Republican in politics, was elected supervisor in 1891, and has held other minor offices in the town. He married Ella L., daughter of Calvin M. Waterman, by whom he had seven children: Byron E., Georgie B., Edna M., Amy O., Ella I., Marjory A., and Hazel I. (p. 47) [Top]

WHITE, I. J., was born in Oneida county, NY, May 2, 1846, a son of the late Israel White, who was born in the town of Western, Oneida county, NY. Israel White came to the town of Annsville when twenty-two years of age. He married Abigail F. Taft, by whom he had six children. His ancestors came from Massachusetts. I. J. White was educated in Annsville and the Whitestown Seminary. He then followed farming until 1887, at which time he entered into partnership with Frank White, establishing a corn canning factory at Blossvale. They continued in partnership until January, 1895, since which time I. J. White has conducted the business alone. He also owns and conducts a general merchandise store in Blossvale, and owns a factory at Williamstown, Owsego county, NY. Mr. White is now erecting a hotel at Blossvale, which will contain twenty rooms, and will also run a livery. He married Etta O., daughter of James Ellis, of the town of Annsville, by whom he has two children: I. G. and Abigail O. Mr. White was supervisor of the town in 1882-83 and was elected member of assembly in 1885. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity. (p. 33) [Top]

WHITE, N. CURTIS, was born in Torrington, Conn., September 24, 1822. His ancestor, Elder John White, came from England. sailing June 22, 1632, and arriving in Boston in September, and in 1633 settled with Hocker's congregation in Hartford, Conn. Later the congregation divided and Elder White went with his party in 1659 to Hadley, Mass. His eldest son was Captain Nathaniel White, of Middletown, Conn., and the latter's fifth son was Jacob, whose son Thomas was the father of Silas, of Torrington, Conn. Brainard White, son of Silas, was born in 1786 and died at Winsted, Conn., in 1833. He was the father of N. Curtis White. Mr. White received his education at the Winsted, Conn., common schools and academy. In 1838 he came to Oneida county, and finished his studies at Vernon Academy and Clinton Collegiate Institute, where prepared for college. While studying he taught school, being for a time principal of the old Whitestown Academy. Leaving Clinton Collegiate Institute he entered the law office of Kirkland & Bacon in Utica and was admitted to the bar in 1847, being one of the first to be admitted under the new State Constitution. He began practice in the office of his preceptors, and when Judge Kirkland went to New York city he became a partner in the firm of Bacon & White, which continued until Mr. Bacon was elected justice of the Supreme Court. The firm then became White & Dana, by the admission of William B. Dana, Mr. White's brother-in-law, and continued until Mr. Dana went to New York. Mr. White continued in practice mostly alone till 1868, when he went to New York city and engaged in business pursuits. He returned to Utica in 1883 and has since practiced his profession. Mr. White is an office bearer in Trinity church of Utica; and is also a member of the Board of Governors of The Oneida Historical Society, of which he is an active member. He has been a member of Oriental Lodge F. & A. M. for over forty years, and is also a member of Utica Chapter R. A. M. May 12, 1858, he married Delia White Dana, daughter of James Dana, of Utica. She died in April, 1883, leaving three children: George Dana, a graduate of Yale College and now a resident of New York city; Edwin Harrison, treasurer and manager of the Daniel Green Company, of Dolgeville, N. Y.; and William Curtis, a student in Trinity College, Hartford Conn., class of 1897. (p. 199-200) [Top]

WHITER, ANDREW J., was born near Oneida Lake, in the town of Vienna, Oneida County, N. Y., February 9, 1837. When about fourteen years of age, 1851, he with his two brothers, Abram and Hiram, together with their parents, Meltiah and Lydia Whiter, removed to Hawkinsville, Oneida County, N. Y. His father was then employed in a saw mill owned and operated by the late Benjamin Kipp; while thus employed he had the misfortune to have his right hand and arm terribly mangled with a saw, which resulted in his death in about six years afterward. During this time and thereafter the support of the family was furnished Mr. Whiter and his younger brother, Hiram. In the year 1859, he purchased a farm of 110 acres one mile east of Hawkinsville, in the town of Boonville, N. Y. September 10, 1860, he was married to Miss Ellen J. Johnson, daughter of Elijah and Cyntha Johnson, who was born August 3, 1841, at Frankfort Hill, Herkimer county, N. Y., at which place she resided until the time of her marriage. Three children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Whiter, namely; Albert C., Frank W., Alice E., all of whom are now living. Mr. Whiter was a canal boatman by occupation until the year 1865, at which time he retired to his farm where he has since resided, devoting his time to the best interest of his home and his surroundings. In politics he is a Democrat, much interested in the public welfare. He was appointed several times as inspector of election. Also he was a Democratic nominee for assessor and highway commissioner at different times. Mr. Whiter is widely known and esteemed by all. (p. 43) [Top]

WHITER, HIRAM A., was born in Boonville, Oneida county, in October 1861, son of Abram V. Whiter, one of two sons born to Meltire Whiter. Abram V. Whiter has spent his life as a boatman, lumberman, and farmer. He was a soldier in the war of the Rebellion, enlisting in Company I, 117 N.Y. Vols., and was twice wounded. He married Nancy Smith, daughter of John Smith, a soldier in the war of 1812, by whom he had these children: Helen (deceased), Esther, and Hiram. In 1871 they removed from Boonville to Forestport, where they now reside. Hiram A. Whiter was educated in the district schools and when seventeen years of age he purchased his time of his father and began lumbering in the woods by the month, and later took logging contract jobs, which he followed until 1889, when he traveled in the interest of the Singer Sewing Machine Company for three years. In 1892 he opened an undertaking establishment in Forestport, which he now conducts with success. In politics he is a Republican and served as constable for several years. He is a member of the Masonic Lodge, No. 809, of Forestport, and is senior deacon. In 1885 Mr. Whiter married Ermina M., daughter of Thomas Pilbean, by whom he had these children: Roscoe, Charles died in 1888, Vernon and Clarence. H. A. Whiter is a member, class leader and steward and vice president of the Epworth League of the M. E. Church at Forestport. Mrs. H. A. Whiter is also a member of the M. E. Church.(p. 33) [Top]

WHITFORD, H. P. was born in Canterbury, Conn., October 25, 1826. Was educated at Bridgewater Seminary, and Clinton Liberal Institute. Studied medicine in Hamilton, N. Y., graduated in medicine from Eclectic Medical Institute, Cincinnati, Ohio, February, 1860. Shortly after March, 1860, began practice in Bridgewater, and has been a successful practitioner. Dr. Whitford has been a resident of Bridgewater since March, 1842. He has twice married; his first wife being Miss Melissa Harrington, by whom he had two children: E. P. Whitford M. D., now of Westboro, MO, and Miss L. R. Whitford, of St. Paul, Minn, a trained nurse, a graduate from Cook County Hospital, Chicago, Ill. His present wife is Jennie (Doty) Whitford. Dr. Whitford's father was also a native of Canterbury, Conn, and his mother, Lucetta (Tillinghast) Whitford, was the daughter of Rev. Pardon Tillinghast, of Rhode Island. Dr. Whitford served four years as justice of peace, and has also served as health officer for a number of years. (p. 79) [Top]

COL. S. S. WHITNEY, was born December 2, 1814, son of Jared and Patience Husted Whitney. His grandfather, Samuel Whitney, was one of the early settlers in Kirkland and took up the farm which Colonel Whitney still owns. Mr. Whitney lived on a farm until twenty-one years of age, when he learned the trade of carpenter, and in which he was engaged for twenty-five years, after which he resumed farming. He was colonel of the 140th Regiment in the 13th Brigade, 20th Division of the N.Y. State Militia, and is one of the oldest and most highly respected residents of Oneida County. (p. 113) [Top]

WHITTAKER, GEORGE H., was born at Trenton, N. Y., September 17, 1851, son of Peter and Ann S. (Stevens) Whittaker, who settled at Trenton. They had eight children: Elisha, Calinda, Harriet, Esther, Levi, Sarah, George H., and Elmer. Peter was engaged in farming, and was interested in both church and educational matters. George H. married Ida, daughter of William E. Clark, by whom he had two children: Harry, and Ray deceased. After Mrs. Whittaker's death, he married Jennie, daughter of Hugh Pugh, by whom he has one child, Howard. At fourteen years of age, Mr. Whittaker engaged in the employ of Clark & Nicholson in the cheese box manufactory. In 1877 he associated himself with Charles H. Clark, and they purchased the interest of Clark & Nicholson, which they have continued to the present time. He is vice-president of the Stittville Canning Company. He belongs to the United Friends, also K. P. Lodge and Floyd Grange. He was collector for one term, and is interested in all town affairs. (p. 168) [Top]

WHITTEN, JOHN B., was born in Marcy, Oneida county, January 2, 1846, son of Daniel and Isabella (McIntyre) Whitten. Daniel Whitten was born in Scotland, on the banks of the Clyde, in 1809, and came to this country when seventeen years of age. He engaged in farming, at which he has always continued, and is still lving in good health. Mrs. Whitten died in 1874. John B. Whitten was educated in Marcy, and at Whitestown Seminary. He first engaged as carpenter and builder, and later engaged in the udnertaking business in Whitesboro. He married Mary F. Curle of New York Mills, by whom he has three children: William D., John S., and Jennie F. Mrs. Whitten died February 22, 1890. Mr. Whitten is a member of the Presbyterian church, and one of the most highly esteemed citizens in Whitesboro. (p. 318) [Top]

WICKMAN, HENRY G., born on Mohawk Hill, Lewis county, N.Y., January 16, 1846, son of Sebastian and Margaret Wickman, who came from Hesse, Germany, in 1830, and were pioneers of Lewis county. He served apprenticeship at the carpenter and millwright trades in Germany. In 1857 he went from Lewis county to Rome. He was a member of the 69th Regt., N. Y. Vols., and was in service one year. He died in 1880 at the age of eighty-five. Mrs. Wickman died in 1881. They were members of the Dutch Reformed church at Rome, N. Y. Henry G was educated at Rome, and learned the wagonmaker's trade, after which he worked in Oneida, Erie, Buffalo, Syracuse, Boonville, and in 1876 bought property in Ava, where he has since carried on a blacksmithing, carriage manufactory and repairing business. In 1867 he married Phoebe Casbaker, of Ava, by whom he had two sons: William, and Fred (deceased). Mrs. Wickman died and Mr. Wickman married for his second wife Maria, daughter of Henry and Magdalene Honsholder, of Westmoreland, N. Y., by whom he has five children living: Charles, born November 22, 1876; Waiter, born February 21, 1886; Fred, born October 14, 1887; Clarence, born October 8, !888; and Alvin, born September 28, 1889; also six deceased: Edward, Prank, George, Maud, Russell, and Rena. (p. 211) [Top]

WICKWIRE, C. M., was born in Hamilton, N. Y., in May, 1857, son of Jarit Wickwire, a native of Connecticut, where the family had lived for over a century. His ancestors were soldiers in the war of 1812 and in the Revolutionary war. His mother was Orissa Eason. C. M. Wickwire was educated in the Hamilton public schools and Madison University, and studied law with Judge Joseph Mason and Hon. D. G. Wellington, as well as in the Albany Law School. He was admitted to the bar at the General Term of the Supreme Court at Albany and practiced law in Hamilton for some time, but came to Waterville in 1892. Mr. Wickwire is a prominent Mason, and is a member of Sanger Lodge No. 129, F. & A. M., at Waterville; has been district deputy grand master of the 17th Masonic district, and is one of the grand trustees of the Masonic Hall and Asylum Fund of State of New York, who have in charge the Masonic Hall of New York city and the Masonic Home in Utica, and the large fund connected with the same. In 1883 Mr. Wickwire married Louise Parker, daughter of N. W. Parker of Hamilton, who was a prominent politician; he was a large manufacturer and State contractor, and was superintendent of the Chenango Canal. He died in 1893. (p. 80) [Top]

WIGHT, LYMAN L., M. D., was born in Wales, Mass., July 21, 1822, son of Phiny and Anna Fletcher Wight. Lyman L. came to Whitesboro in 1844 and studied medicine with Drs. Thomas and Gardner. From 1847 to 1849 he practiced in New York; then his health failed and he returned to Whitesboro in 1850. In 1863 Dr. Wight in connection with George Williams started a cheese factory in Whitesboro, and later the bought out Mr. Williams's interest and conducted this factory alone. He was interested in five factories located in New Hartford, Walesville, Colman's Mills, Kirkland, and Whitesboro. Dr. Wight was instrumental in forming the Board of Trade in Utica, and of which body he was president for about fifteen years. He was one of the originators of the Farmers' Club in Oneida county. Dr. Wight was the largest cheese manufacturer in Oneida county, and he was also the pioneer manufacturer in turning out a large cheese, making one that weighed 5,233 pounds, which was unheard of at that time. He was a prominent man in politics, and was on the Board of Supervisors two terms, and was chairman of the County Committee. He is also owner of the pipe and water works system of Whitesboro; this water comes from the springs on the doctor's farm, and is piped by him throughout the village, supplying the houses. Dr. Wight married Mary M., daughter of Julius Watkins, a prominent farmer of Oneida county, and also president of the bank in his place. They have one son, J. W. Wight, of Whitesboro, N. Y. (p. 233-234) [Top]

WILCOX, FREDERICK D., was born in the town of Camden October 8, 1839, son of Chester Wilcox, who was born in Connecticut, and came to the town of Camden when a boy, being one of the pioneers of the town, making all of the roads in this section known as the Hillsborough roads. He was a farmer and speculator in cattle. He married Rilia Dunbar of Camden, by whom he had seven children. Frederick D. Wilcox is a farmer, and he now owns a farm of 130 acres in the town of Camden, mostly improved, also one of the 102 acres in the town of Vernon, mostly woodland. He married Julia L., by whom he had eight children: Adelbert, Edwin, Jane, Chester, Robert, Irving, Olive and Katie. (p. 175) [Top]

WILCOX, LUCY B., was born in New Hartford, N.Y., daughter of Samuel and Abigal (White) Wilcox. Samuel Wilcox was born in Middletown, Conn., in 1781, and came to Whitestown when eleven years of age with his father, Abel Wilcox, and when they came to Whitestown, there was only one log cabin in what is now the city of Utica. They came from Middletown with two teams consisting one of horses, and the other of oxen; and all of their household goods were conveyed by these teams, and they settled in that portion of Whitestown, which is now New Hartford. Abel Wilcox built a log cabin. He found clay on his land, and being a mason, he made brick, and constructed five houses, and four of them are still standing as they were originally built, while one has been remodeled. Samuel Wilcox was a mason by trade, and also conducted a farm during his lifetime. Mr. and Mrs. Wilcox had seven children: Julia Ann (deceased); Lucy B., living in Whitesboro; George C. (deceased); Susan E. (deceased); Henry W., living in Winsted, Conn.; Edward L. (deceased); and Samuel, living in California. Henry W. married Hannah E. Wilcox of Goshen, Conn., and they have one son, Edward H. Wilcox. This is one of the historic families of Oneida county who has done pioneer work, and contributed largely to the growth and present prosperity of the county. (p. 120-121) [Top]

WILCOX, WALLACE B., son of Benjamin R., was born in Hopkinton, N. H., August 17, 1852, and came to Utica with his parents in 1865. His paternal and maternal ancestry are of English descent. His mother belonged to the Rice family of Massachusetts, who came to New England in the 17th century, and became prominent in high judicial and civil office, and in the Revolutionary war. He finished his education in the public schools of Utica and learned the trade of engraver and jeweler with Selden Collins, with whom he remained about fourteen years. In April, 1885, he purchased his employer's jewelry business and has since successfully continued it. He is a member of Faxton Lodge, F. & A. M., and also of the Masonic Club. In June, 1879, he married Alice L., daughter of David Everest, of Utica, and they have one daughter, Bessie E. (p. 192) [Top]

WILGUS, ELMER T., was born in Bartlett, June 15, 1860, son of Thomas and Martha Wilgus. Thomas Wilgus was a boat owner and farmer, and he died about 1872. Elmer T. Wilgus was educated in Westmoreland, and has always followed farming. He married Anna Scott, of Westmoreland. (p. 284) [Top]

WILLARD, GARRY AARON.--The Willard family has been known in Boonville since the organization of the town, and Garry A. Willard, who still resides in Boonville, is one of its worthiest descendants. His grandfather, Aaron Willard, came to Boonville from Vermont at the beginning of the present century. His forefathers were numbered among the hardy settlers of this country, and were among the first to enlist under the banners of the Granite State boys, which were carried through the Revolutionary war. Aaron Willard was a farmer by occupation, and industriously plied his vocation near what is now the village of Boonville, clearing away the virgin forest in order to plant his crops. Among his sons was Harvey P. Willard, father of Garry Aaron. He possessed fine intellectual attainments and scholarly tastes, and his abilities were early recognized. He was educated at the Boonville Academy, and after his graduation and for a period of twenty years, taught school in Kentucky and in various places in this State. In 1861 he purchased the Boonville Herald, which he conducted until his death in 1887. Garry A. Willard was born in 1861, and was the sixth of a family of eight children. At an early age he had mastered the printer's trade, and after his graduation from the Boonville Academy he completed his education at the Clinton, N.Y., Grammar School. Returning to Boonville he took a position in the Herald office, mastering the details of every department until, in 1891, he purchased the paper and became its sole responsible head. Since that period the paper under his management has grown until to day, the Herald plant is almost metropolitan in its character, and the paper is extensively circulated throughout Oneida, Lewis, and Herkimer counties. A sturdy, never-swerving Republican, of pleasing address and of the courage of his convictions at all times, Mr. Willard could not well escape the notice of those high in the councils of his party. In 1891 he was appointed postmaster by President Harrison and served a full term, and, until his successor was appointed by President Cleveland, giving the best of satisfaction and making the office rank among the highest in its class. In 1895 he became the candidate of his party for county clerk, and was elected by the handsome majority of 3,500. His prominence in local affairs and the confidence reposed in him by the people of Boonville is best attested by the fact that he was chosen president of the Board of Education in 1892 and re-elected in 1893, 1894 and 1895. In 1884 Mr. Willard married Julia H., eldest daughter of C.W. Colton, one of Boonville's best known merchants. One child, a daughter, blessed their union, and the family residence on Schuyler street is one of the handsomest in this village of lovely homes. (p. 177) [Top]

WILLIAMS, ARNON GEORGE, was born in Westmoreland, July 8, 1818, son of George and Rhoda (Beckwith) Williams. George Williams was a native of Massachusetts. and came to Westmoreland about 1816, where he conducted a farm. He then went to boating on the canal, but afterwards resumed farming until his death in 1850. Arnon George Williams was educated in the district schools, then learned the blacksmith's business, after which he went to the Groton Academy in Tompkins county, where he prepared for college. He entered Hamilton College in 1842, graduating in 1845, having gained a collegiate education through his own efforts, teaching school at intervals. After graduating from college he went to teaching in the Delancey Institute at Westmoreland where he taught two years, and then went to Walworth Academy where he occupied the position of principal for two years; from here he went to Fayetteville where he served as principal for five years; thence to Vernon, serving years; after which he returned to Delancey Institute, also serving as principal a term of years. On returning to Westmoreland he bought the Springs buildings and property connected with them; he later bought the Hallock farm, which he ran in connection with the Institute, which has been known as the Delancey and Williams Institute. After some years he gave up teaching and turned his attention to cultivating his farming property. Mr. Williams is a staunch Republican, contributing his best efforts to the support of his party, but has never sought a political office. He has been justice of the peace and loan commissioner. Mr. Williams married Jane B. Pratt, of Castile, Wyoming county. Mr. Williams's career has been one of remarkable activity. He has been one of the foremost educators in the county, and was one of the principal men in forming the town Agricultural Society, which ran for ten years successfully; he was also one of the organizers, and first master of the grange in this town for four years. Mr. Williams has always been at the head of the educational work, and foremost in everything connected with the interests of the farmers, and is first vice-president of the Farmers' club. (p. 133) [Top]

WILLIAMS, GRIFFITH, was born in the town of Remsen, in 1840, the fourth son of William H. and and Jane Williams, who were natives of Wales and who came to America and settled in Remsen about 1820, where the father was killed by a horse. In 1861 Griffith Williams enlisted in Co. I, 146th N. Y. Inft., and participated in many battles, among which were Fredericksburg, Chancellorsville and Wilderness, where, during a charge on the enemy, he was badly wounded, the ball entering his left cheek, passing through his mouth, and carrying away nearly half of his right lower jaw; he was there taken prisoner and guarded at Orange Court House some six weeks when he, with seven others, made their escape to Washington, where he then lay a month in a hospital and had thirty-two pieces of bone taken from his jaw; he was soon discharged and returned to Remsen, where he has since resided.

[Transcription Note: The paragraph continues with information about Richard J. Thomas, but it is likely that this is an unrelated biography that was simply not given its own pargraph.]

Richard J. Thomas was born in the town of Steuben, May 28, 1833. His father. John I. Thomas, was born in Wales, in 1775, one of two brothers who came to America in 1818. He was a mason by trade and settled in the town of Steuben, and worked on the Erie Canal. He married Jane Pritchard, by whom he had ten Children, seven of whom grew to maturity. The father died in 1857, and the mother was one of the original eight who organized the first Calvanistic Methodist society in Remsen in 1826 and soon erected a church building, called Pen-y-Graig (Top of the rock). She died when sixty-four years of age. When fifteen years of age Griffith Thomas began life for himself at farm work, later engaged in mason work, and from 1854 to 1862 spent his entire time laying stone walls. In 1861 he bought his present farm of 126 acres. In politics he is a Republican, and while in the town of Steuben he served as constable, commissioner of highways and town clerk j for the town of Remsen he has served six years as assessor and five years as commissioner of highways, He is also interested in educational affairs and has helped many poor children to terms of school. In 1862 he married Margaret Williams, who was born in Remsen, a daughter of William and Jane (Hughes) Williams, by whom he has three children: Jane, John R, and William H. (p. 182-183) [Top]

WILLIAMS, R.C., was born in Wales and came to America in 1852, when three years of age. He is a son of William Williams, who came to America in 1851, and died in 1883, and Mary (Hughes) Williams. He lived on a farm until twenty-two years of age, when he engaged in the mercantile business which he has since followed successfully. In 1893 he started in business alone and conducts one of the leading stores in Waterville, dealing in dry goods and groceries. In 1892 he married Catherine, daughter of David L. Edwards, of Cassville, and sister of Mr. Edwards, a prominent attorney in Waterville. They have three children: Norman, Raymond, and Mary. (p. 315) [Top]

WILLIAMS, REES G., son of William E., was born in Carmaerthonshire, Wales, July 19, 1828, and came to Utica with his parents in 1841. He learned the printing business in the Gazette office, and in 1862, with the late Lucius C. Childs, opened a job room in Franklin Square. Later he was connected with the New York Central Railroad offices, for a time he was foreman of the Observer job room, succeeding Luther M. Kent. In 1866 he engaged in the insurance business as a representative of the Charter Oak Company. This calling he continued until his death, which occurred December 23, 1895. Mr. Williams early identified himself with Masonry and became an ardent promoter of its principles. At the age of twenty-four he was junior warden and was successively promoted until he filled exalted positions in the Grand Lodge of the State. He instituted many lodges and was one of the best known Masons in Central New York. Since 1861 he was connected with the Knights Templar and was its commander when it took part in the obsequies of President Garfield in Cleveland. Mr. Williams took deep interest in the history of Utica and was a prominent member of the Oneida Historical Society from its inception. He was a man of engaging personality, remarkably well informed, warmly esteemed and highly respected, and inflexibly honest. (p. 143-144) [Top]

WILLIAMS, THOMAS H., was born in Comarshire, Wales, January 8, 1833, son of John and Rosemond Williams, who settled in Floyd in 1852 with his family, and have six children now living: David, John, Elizabeth, Thomas, H., Edward, Howell and William. John Williams was engaged in farming, and very active in town and county affairs. Thomas H. Williams married Elizabeth, daughter of Joel S. and Margaret (Roberts) Williams, who died leaving nine children: John, Edwin, Rosemond, Prichard, Julia, Walter, Mary, Everett and Thomas. He married for his second wife, Elizabeth, daughter of Nicholas and Eliza Nichols. He enlisted in Rome, August, 1862, in Co. H. 117 Regiment N.Y. Volunteers, and served twenty-two months in regimental hospital until mustered out, June, 1865. He is engaged in farming, and is very active in educational interests and town and county affairs, and was commissioner of highways for two terms. (p. 255-256) [Top]

WILLIAMS, W.B., was born in Rome, N.Y., August 18, 1836, son of Jesse Williams, who was a son of David Williams who was born in 1752. David Williams had five brothers, all of whom served in the American Revolution, one of them being killed in this war. Jesse Williams was born in 1800. He was a farmer, and also a manufacturer of cheese. He was the first man to manufacture cheese in a factory, and the factory built by Jesse Williams in 1851 was the first built in the world for the manufacture of cheese. Prior to this factory the manufacture of cheese had always been a home industry. He was always engaged in farming, and continued the manufacture of cheese until his death, which occurred in 1864. W.B. Williams was educated in Rome, and then engaged in farming. He was also engaged in the lumber business for about twenty years, after which he engaged in contracting and building, at which he still continues. He has been one of the most active and energetic men in this township, and has been engaged in various enterprises. He married Mary A. Aucutt, who died in 1870 leaving four children: Nettie F., Edwin W., Dewitt C., and Howard. Mr. Williams is now married to Mary E. MacMorris, of Whitesboro, by whom he has three children: Mary A., Stacy H., and Florence L. Nettie F. is married to William S. Thomas; Edwin W. is a superintendent of a large shirt factory at Hoosick Falls; Dewitt is at Aurora, Ill., and Howard is superintendent of a shirt factory at Mechanicsville, N.Y. Mr. and Mrs. Williams are both members of the Baptist Church. (p. 318-319) [Top]

WILLSON, MERRITT N., was born in the town of Lee, Oneida county, may 14, 1854, son of Wright and Lydia (Tracy) Willson, both natives of Lee. His paternal grandparents, Roswell K. and Susan (Tyler) Willson, and maternal grandparents, Frederick and Chloe Tracy, were natives of Massachusetts, and all pioneers of the town of Lee. Wright Willson, father of Merritt N., was born in 1817, still resides in the town of Lee, and by occupation is a farmer. Merritt N., was educated in the Union schools of Lee Center and Rome Academy, and was graduated from the latter in 1875. In 1877, he began the study of law with Hon. Edward L. Stevens of Rome, was admitted to the bar in 1880, and in September of the same year established himself at Lee Center, where he was located until November 12, 1895, when he sold his residence in Lee Center and purchased a residence at No. 416 William Street, Rome, N. Y., where he has since located. His office is No. 103 S. James street. November 5, 1882, he married Edith C., daughter of John C. and Jemima (Kniskern) Brown, of Oriskany Falls, Oneida county, by whom he had four daughters: Maud J., Mabel S., Mary B., and Edith A. Mr. Willson is a member of Roman Lodge, F. & A. M., No. 223, of Rome, the Rome Council No. 150, the Royal Arcanum, P. of I., and K. of R., and in politics is a Republican. (p. 46) [Top]

WILMARTH, MRS. MARGARET.--the late Isaac Wilmarth was born in Deerfield, August 2, 1830, son of Scott M. and Marcy Wilmarth. Scott M. Wilmarth was born on the farm now owned by Mrs. Margaret Wilmarth, September 22, 1793, and died April 14, 1879. Mrs. Marcy Wilmarth died February 10, 1857. The grandparents, Isaac and Rhoda (Mason) Wilmarth, were natives of Rhode Island, born January 10, 1768, and April 10, 1772, respectively; and they came from Rhode Island and settled on the farm now owned by Mrs. Wilmarth in 1792. The father of Mrs. Rhoda Wilmarth, Philip Mason, was a native of England and came to America. Isaac Wilmarth, only brother of Scott M., was a graduate of Hamilton College, and was the first Baptist missionary from the United States to France. Isaac Wilmarth, our subject, ws a graduate of Whitestown Seminary. He engaged in farming, market gardening, and also beekeeping, making a specialty of the latter. He was justice for eighteen years. September 22, 1852, he married Margaret, daughter of Roland and Margaret Davis, a pioneer of 1817, by whom he had five children: Josephine, wife of Rev. E. D. Mason, a Baptist minister of Cottage City, Mass.; Roland S., who died at one year of age; Robert, a physician in South America; Isaac Judson, living at home; and Evangeline, wife of Alfred Coram, of Utica. Since Mr. Wilmarth's death, his wife has conducted the farm of about 120 acres. (p. 95-96) [Top]

WILSON, BENJAMIN F. Wilson, Benjamin F., was born in the town of Newport, Herkimer county, N. Y., November 11, 1819. He was educated in the common schools and has always been a farmer. He came with his brother George to the town of Westmoreland in 1841, and March 7, 1849, he married Susan F. Brewster, of the town of Verona, by whom he had eight children: Emma J., George B., Alice C., James H., Frank B., Herbert E., Julia C., and Seymour E. Emma J. married William H. Soper, and they have two children: Alice L. and Willard P. George B. married Anna Maycock, and they have three children: Minnie, George H. and Henry B. Alice C. married William Brewster, and they have two daughters: Maud and Susan. James H. married Lulu Palmer, of Verona village, and they have seven children: Benjamin W., William, Dwight, George, Hubert, Nellie, and Irving. Frank R. married Emma Soper. Herbert J. married Emma Youngs, and they had two daughters: Susan and Flora. He died January 2, 1891. Julia C. married H. Wylie Adams, and they have two children: Henry and Ruth. Seymour E. married Ellen J. Huminston, and they have one daughter, Florence V. Mrs. Wilson died September 1, 1890. Mr. Wilson's father, John Wilson, was born in the town of Thompson, Conn., September 16, 1780, and was educated in the schools of his day. He married Sarah Wheaten, who was born July 12, 1782, in Swansea, Conn. They had twelve children: Lyman, Nancy A., Simon W., Sally, Ruth, Harriet, John, George, Benjamin, who died in infancy, Benjamin F., as above, Lanard K., and Samuel S. Mr. Wilson died December 16, 1873. Mr. Wilson's grandfather, John Wilson, was a soldier in the Revolutionary war. (p. 100) [Top]

WILSON, CHARLES M., was born in New York Mills, January 25, 1849, son of Matthew, a native of Glasgow, Scotland, and Annie (Young) Wilson, a native of Paisley, Scotland. Charles M. attended the public school of New York Mills, and then entered the mills in 1859. He has been engaged with the New York Mills Company ever since, having served during the administration of three generations, and in nearly every department of the several mills of the company. In the lower or No. 1 Mill he started the first loom, and he also started the first Lyall positive motion loom in the No. 3 Mill. He is at present assistant superintendentent of the No. 2 Mill. Mr. Wilson married Irene Comstock of Williamstown, Oswego county, N.Y., by whom he has two sons, Charles Herbert, and Edward Comstock Wilson. He is an ardent and influential Republican, but has always declined to become a candidate for political office, though he has served nine years as a trustee of the school. He is a member of Oriental Lodge No. 224; Oneida Chapter No. 57, F. & A. M; and Utica Commandery No.3. (p. 120) [Top]

WILSON, CHARLES W., was born in New York Mills, September 18, 1851, son of William and Charlotte Wilson. William came from England and was in the employ of the company about forty years. He was one of the overseers in the mills, and was noted for his success as a financier, and when he died he was one of the principal property owners in New York Mills, having laid the foundation of his success in the mills, which was increased by wise investments. Charles W. was educated in the public schools of New York Mills, and in Whitestown Seminary. Mr. Wilson was employed in New York Mills, and then was absent for twelve years. He is now foreman in the carding room. His mother, Charlotte (Babcock) Wilson, was a daughter of William Babcock, one of the early settlers of New York Mills. Mr. Wilson married Bessie E. Smith of Camden, N.Y., by whom he has three children: W. Edward, Florence A. and Maud C. Mr. and Mrs. Wilson are both members of the Methodist Episcopal church at New York Mills, and he is also a member of the F. & A.M., Faxton Lodge No. 697, Utica, Oneida Chapter No. 57, also Knights of Pythias and Royal Arcanum. (p. 323) [Top]

WILSON, ROBERT, was born at Thompson, Windham county, Conn., October 16, 1829, son of Robert Wilson, a linen weaver of Irish birth, who came to America in 1818, at the age of forty-two; after spending ten years in the New England States, he settled in Boonville in 1829, and engaged in farming; he died November 2, 1856. He was a man of rare intelligence, and possessed a well cultivated mind. Robert Wilson jr. is a man possessed of highly respectable abilities, and who character is one worth of emulation. He acquired his education with but little aid, by inflexible purpose, and untiring application. Bred to the occupation of a farmer, he has always followed that pursuit. He is a member of the M. E. Church. In politics he was a Whig, but united with the Republican party at its formation, was supervisor in 1872, and for the last eight years has voted with the Prohibition Party. He married Elizabeth, daughter of Joseph Hayes, September 10, 1851, by whom he had four children, none survived early infancy. (p. 53) [Top]

WILSON, WILLIAM H., was born February 5, 1849, son of Henry W. and Adelia S. (Draper) Wilson. Henry Wilson was the son of James Wilson, who built the present homestead residence and purchased the present homestead farm, in 1792, coming here with Judge White, and being one of the earliest settlers in the township. Henry W. lived here during his lifetime. William H. Wilson was educated at Whitestown Seminary, after which he engaged in farming on the old homestead farm, where he has always resided. Mr. Wilson is a staunch Republican and takes an active interest in the success of his party. He married Emma J., daughter of E. Chauncey Lewis, a farmer of Kirkland. This is a sketch of one of the oldest and best known families in the township of Whitestown. On his mother's side, the family are descended from the Draper family, who trace their descent back to 1620. (p. 134) [Top]

WITHERSTINE, WILLARD, was born in the town of Steuben, N. Y., in 1843, son of William, who was born in Herkimer county in 1820. He was a son of John Witherstine, whose father, John, was a native of Germany, and a soldier in the Revolutionary war. John jr. was a farmer by occupation, and came to Steuben in 1828, settling in a forest, where he later cleared a farm. He married Catherine Harter, by whom he had nine sons and three daughters. He lived to the age of ninety-two years and seven months, and died in 1863. His wife died at the age of sixty-three. William Witherstine has always been engaged in farming in the town of Steuben, where he now lives. In 1841, he married Catherine, daughter of Platt Weed, of Steuben, by whom he has had three children: Matilda (deceased), Willard, and Lavina, wife of Oscar Hall, of Egypt, N. Y. Willard Witherstine was educated at the common schools and Rome Academy, and at eighteen years of age he began to teach school, and also engaged in farming. In 1866, he purchased his first farm of fifty acres, to which he has added 150 acres, and he is principally engaged in dairy farming. In 1866, he married Clarinda Stannard, by whom he had four children: Minnie (deceased), Winnie (deceased), Frank and Edith. (p. 67) [Top]

WOLCOTT, JULIUS O., was born on the farm where he now resides, January 10, 1837, son of Walter and Adaline (Brainerd) Wolcott. Walter Wolcott was a native of Trenton, and his father was one of the pioneers of the town. Mr. Wolcott was born June 6, 1809. He was engaged in farming and was active in church work, being a deacon in the Baptist church. He died May 1, 1881. Mrs. Adeline Wolcott was born June 7, 1814, and died April 29, 1889. Mr. Wolcott was captain in the State militia. and his children were Olive C, wife of Archibald Wells; Julius 0., and Henry B. Julius O. married Sarah C., daughter of Daniel and Catherine (Hopkins) Sheldon. He is a member of Trenton Grange. (p. 216) [Top]

WOLF, HENRY, was born in Bavaria, October 28, 1824, son of Henry and Magdaline (Schmidt) Wolf, both natives of Bavaria where they lived and died. Both father and grandfather were farmers in Germany. Henry Wolf, jr., came to America in August, 1849, and settled in Ava, where he has always resided, commencing as a farm hand. He bought 220 acres of land, 120 of which he cleared. In 1852 he married Catherine Traxel, daughter of Jacob Traxel, of Ava, by whom he had five children: Carloine S., Henry J., William C., and Katie, who died in infancy. Mrs. Wolf died April 28, 1893. In 1891 Mr. Wolf sold the farm to his son William C. (p. 249) [Top]

WOLF, PHILIP D., was born in Deerfield, N. Y., September 5, 1843, son of George and Dorothy (Jacobs) Wolf, who came from Bavaria to Deerfield in the spring of 1830 and bought a farm. Mr. Wolf was engaged in market gardening, and died in 1890 at the age of eighty-three years, and Mrs. Wolf died in 1887 at eighty years of age. The grandfather, Jacob Wolf, came with the family to Deerfield in 1830 and went West, where he engaged in farming, and while there died. Philip D. Wolf has always been engaged in farming and market gardening in Deerfield. In 1871 he married Mary Godden, of Madison, by whom he has four children: George, Fannie, Mary and Nellie. (p. 213) [Top]

WOLFE, GEORGE, son of George Wolfe, was born in Deerfield, Oneida county, N. Y., October 12, 1840. He was reared on a farm and has always followed farming and market gardening. In 1872, he married Barbara Geerer, of Utica, by whom he has one daughter, Henrietta M. Mrs. Wolfe died in 1881, and he married for his second wife, Mary Reusswig, daughter of William and Katherine Reusswig, of Utica, by whom he has tow son: William G., born in 1885, and George E., born in 1886. (p. 58) [Top]

WOLFE, JACOB, was born in Deerfield, Oneida county, August 28, 1840, a son of Jacob and Agatha (Wellman) Wolfe, both natives of Germany, and a grandson of Jacob Wolfe on the paternal side, and of Joseph Wellman on the maternal side. Jacob Wolfe, father of our subject, came to America about 1833 and located in Deerfield, where he worked as a farm laborer for nine years. In 1842 he located in Lewis county and cleared a farm in West Turin, a few years later moved to Western, thence to the town of Rome, where he spent ten years, when he removed to the city of Rome, where he died August 6, 1895, aged eighty-one years. He was the father of eleven children, six of whom survive: Jacob, Margaret (Mrs. Gilbert Hathaway), Henry, Philip, Daniel and Levi. Our subject was reared in Oneida county and has always been a farmer. In 1870 he married Eliza, daughter of Sanford Sampson, of Western, and has four children living: Cynthia (Mrs. Charles Hartson), Walter, Myrtle and Sanford. Mr. Wolfe is a member of the M. E. church, and in politics is a Republican. (p. 164) [Top]

WOOD, A.E., was born in Cooperstown, Otsego county, July 29, 1865, son of William H. and Mary (Smith) Wood. His grandfather, Robert Wood. was a native of Kent, England, and came to America in 1836. A.E. Wood was educated in the Cooperstown Union School and Academy, and the Clinton Liberal Institute at Fort Plain, N.Y., from which he graduated in 1885. After a short time at the carpenter's trade, he engaged in the mercantile business in Cooperstown, and in 1886 he went to Hubbardsville, and in 1888 came to Waterville, where he is interested in the mercantile business, and is also senior partner of the firm of A. E. Wood & Co., job printers. In 1888 he married Eva Terry Nash. Mr. Wood is an enterprising young business man, and was for two years clerk of the corporation. He served three years on the Republican county committee, and is secretary of the Grange. On January 18, 1896, he purchased the stock of general merchandise of his father-in-law, C. R. Nash, and is now conducting the finest arranged dry goods, grocery and boot and shoe store in the village of Waterville; his store is called the Palace Store and is justly named. (p. 114-115) [Top]

WOOD, FRANCIS C., son of George W., was born in Utica March 8, 1837. George W. Wood came to Utica from Vermont about 1834, engaged in the hardware and foundry business, and died while on a trip to New York city in 1854. He was a director in the Bank of Utica and a trustee and one of the building committee of Westminster church. Francis G. Wood was one of the first graduating class of what is now the Utica Free Academy. He was graduated from Princeton University in 1858, pursued his legal studies at Columbia Law School in New York city under Professor Dwight, and was admitted to practice in 1860. He became managing clerk in the office of Roscoe Conkling and Montgomery H. Throop, and in April, 1861, was made secretary to Admiral Mervine, who was appointed to the command of the Gulf Blockading squadron. In the following autumn Admiral Mervine was recalled and Mr. Wood returned to Utica, formed a law partnership with Thomas R. Walker, and practiced his profession with success for several years. In 1864, with E. A. Wood, he organized the Utica Steam Gauge Company, from which he withdrew in 1882. He had become interested in the organization of the American District Telegraph Company, and later was one of the organizers of the Central New York Telephone and Telegraph Company, of which he became a director and the secretary and treasurer, which position he still holds. He is president of the board of trustees of Bethany Presbyterian church and since 1861 (a period of forty years) superintendent of its Sunday school, a trustee and treasurer of the Home for the Homeless, a trustee of the Utica Female Academy and of the Utica Cemetery Association, and a director in the First National Bank, the Mohawk Valley Cotton Mills, and the Skenandoa Cotton Company. In September, 1864, he married Mary H., daughter of E. M. Gilbert, of Utica, and their children living are Sarah G., George W., and Anna C. (p. 227-228) [Top]

WOOD, JOHN W., was born on the farm where he now lives, son of Anthony and Laura S. Wood, who settled on the farm about 1823, and whose children were Ellen (deceased), wife of James Sweet; Henry C., (deceased); Laura (deceased); Rev. Abel S.; John W.; and Matilda R., wife of Edward Wagner. Anthony Wood was a private contractor, and the later part of his life followed farming. He was active in all affairs of his town, also educational work, and was very active in church work. Under the auspices of the Methodist Episcopal church he contributed to the Syracuse University, and was a founder of the Marcy M. E. church. John W. married Jennie C., daughter of Daniel Knowlton, by whom he has had four children; Minnie E. Clara M. (wife of William A. Markwick), Mary N., and A. Wayne. Mr. Wood is engaged in farming. (p. 36) [Top]

WOOD, MRS. PERMELIA I., is the widow of Horace Wood, who died in Deerfield, in 1868, son of Calvin and Sarah Wood of West Schuyler, Herkimer county. Mrs. Wood is the daughter of Franklin (a native of Massachusetts) and Phoebe (Brown) Whitney, a native of Connecticut. Her grandfather was a pioneer of Herkimer county, and was a soldier in the Revolutionary war. Franklin Whitney came to Deerfield in pioneer days, where he cleared a home. He kept a tavern on the farm now owned by Mrs. Wood, and also owned a large tract of land and was engaged in farming. Mr. and Mrs. Wood had four children: Julia, who died June 9, 1895; Murry, a butcher at Schuyler, N. Y.; Horace, a farmer of White Hall, Ill.; and Charles, who conducts the home farm, and has a dairy of twenty cows. Franklin Whitney was a captain in the war of 1812, and died in 1845. (p. 98-99) [Top]

WOODARD, HENRY M., was born near McConnellsville, February 14, 1831, son of Silas and Almira Nichols Woodard. Henry M. married Ruth Ann, a daughter of Leman Powell, of McConnellsville, and they have one child, Mary A. Woodard. He commenced life for himself running a stage from McConnellsville to Constantia, which he followed until 1880, when he started in the merchandise business at North Bay. He was elected collector in 1862, and also in 1876-77. In 1862 he was elected town clerk, which office he has held up to the present time with the exception of three years, and was postmas!er under Cleveland's administration. He is actively interested in educational interests, and is a member of Vienna Lodge, F. & A. M., No. 440. (p. 174) [Top]

WOODBRIDGE, EDWARD, was born in the town of Trenton, Oneida county, N. Y., September 23, 1834, son of Edwin and Sally Woodbridge, whose children were Charles, Harriet, Mary, John, Edward, Nancy, deceased, and Sarah. Edwin Woodbridge was a son of John, who was killed by a tree in 1804, two years after he settled in the county. John Woodbridge jr., was born February 12, 1832, and married Lucy A., daughter of Henry Baker, by whom he has one child, Lulu A. Edward and John both live on the homestead and follow farming. John Woodbridge and daughter are members of Trenton Grange. (p. 216) [Top]

WOODIN, JULIA.--John M. Woodin was born in the town of New Hartford, January 21, 1825. His father, Ephraim Woodin, was born in Dutchess county, N. Y., and came to the town of New Hartford in 1800, where he engaged in farming, which he followed until his death. He married Sarah Cooper, of Dutchess county, by whom he had five children: Mary A., William C., Giles E., Laura, and John M., who learned the carpenter trade which he followed in connection with his farming, owning a farm of sixty-one acres at the time of his death, which occurred in 1894. He married Julia Comstock, who was born in Kirkland, April 28, 1829, by whom he had four children: Alice C., born in 1852; Ella C., born in 1854; Ida May, born in 1856; and Charley, born in 1858. (p. 299-300) [Top]

WOODS, ORSON C., was born in the town of Camden, Oneida county, N. Y., December 24, 1831, son of Junius Woods, who was born in New Haven, Conn., and came to the town of Camden about 1799 with his father, Samuel Woods, also of Connecticut and engaged in farming. The grandfather was in the Revolutionary war nearly eight years. Junius Woods was in the war of 1812. He married Deidamia Cook of Camden, and they were the parents of eight children, seven of whom are living. Orson C. was educated in the Camden schools and is a farmer by occupation, now owning a farm of ninety acres improved land. August 30, 1862 he enlisted in the 146th. NY Vols. and served for about three years being on detached duty. He married Louise Torrey of Camden, adopted daughter of Daniel Bickford, and they have four children: Lizzie M., now Mrs. H. D. Curtis, Albert J., Nellie B., and Henry S., In politics Mr. Woods is a Republican, and has been town collector two terms, also supervisor two years. He is a member of the Congregational church of Camden, the Camden Grange, and the J. Parsons's Stone Post, No. 482, GAR. (p. 33) [Top]

WRIGHT, GEORGE E., was born in the town of Vienna, March 11, 1863. He was educated in the district schools and Canastota Academy, and was graduated from Eastman's Commercial College at Poughkeepsie, after which he taught school three years. He has had numerous occupations, finally engaging in the merchandise business February 1, 1887. February 17, 1895, he married Mary E. Weismouth, of this town. Mr. Wright's father, Reuben B. Wright, was born in the town of Camden, November 16, 1837, and came to the town of Vienna when eight years of age. He was educated in the common schools, and was a cheesemaker by trade. February 12, 1862, he married Mary A. Herder, of the town of Vienna, formerly of Wurtemburg, Germany, by whom he had two children: George E., and Frances J., now Mrs. Barlow, of New London. Mrs. Mary E. Wright's father, Casper Weismouth, was born in Germany, in 1831, was educated there and came to the United States with his parents when ten years of age, locating in the town of Verona. He married Elizabeth Miller, of this town, by whom he had nine children: Catherine, Joseph, Nancy, John, Margaret Mary E., Anna, Caroline, and Bertha. Mr. Wright is a Republican in politics, and was appointed postmaster in 1887, and continued in office until 1893, and since that time has been acting as deputy. He has also been justice of the peace six years, and is now notary public. (p. 333) [Top]

WRIGHT, GEORGE P., was born in Verona, near New London, N.Y., March 1, 1854. He was educated in the district school, followed the canal twenty-five years with success, and kept a hotel three years. November 7, 1876, he married Julia A. Raut, of the town of Verona, by whom he had three children: Daisy L., Edith A., and George E. Daisy L. married John Link, of Ilion, N.Y. Edith A. died at eleven months of age. George E. is a student at school. Mr. Wright's father, John Wright, was born in Germany, June 2, 1822. He was educated there and came to the United States about 1842 and located in Croghan, Lewis county, N.Y. About 1846 he married Christina Gates, formerly of Germany, by whom he had seven children: Mary, deceased, John, deceased, George P., as above, Louisa, deceased, Amelia, deceased, William and E. Isabel. The family have resided in this county since 1850. Mrs. Wright died Feb. 17, 1892. Mrs. Wright's father, John Raut, was born near Fish Creek, in the town of Vienna in 1836. He was educated in the district schools, and was a boatman and farmer by occupation. About 1858 he married Helen Larrabee, of the town of Vienna by whom he had seven children: Mary, who died at five years of age; Julia A., as above; Everett, who died at seven years of age; Christopher H., E Allie, who died at two years of age; John W. and Blanche D. Mr. Wright is a member of Vesta Chapter No. 115, F. & A.M., and Mrs. Wright is a member of Vesta Chapter No. 115, O.E.S., in which she holds the position of associate conductress. The ancestry of this family is German on both sides. (p. 336-337) [Top]

WYMAN, SIMEON T., was born in West Branch, Oneida county, N. Y., June 2, 1837, son of Winslow and Phoebe Wyman, whose other children were Edward, Samuel, Mary, Sarah, Henry, Daniel, John, Hawthorn, and Martha. Simeon T. Winslow came from Vermont to the town of Lee with his father, where they engaged in farming, lumbering and milling. He was very active in religious work of the old Quaker style. He married Harriet, daughter of George and Eliza Brown, of the town of Lee and they have five children: Flora, widow of Charles Bergman, who married Douglas Wheeler, George, Mary (deceased), Lizzie and Samuel. Mr. Wyman was assessor of the town of Lee for three years. His son, George, is now located at West Branch and is engaged in blacksmithing. (p. 173) [Top]

WYNN, JOHN D., was born in the town of Marcy, September 8, 1856, son of George and Jane Wynn, who came from Wales in 1850, where he engaged in farming, and was also active in matters of public interest. John D. Wynn was one of seven children, all natives of this county except the oldest. He married Mary Jane, daughter of Daniel and Martha (Pigott) Smith, by whom he has one child, Rosa M. Mr. Wynn is a farmer by occupation, and was elected constable one year. He is a member of the Patrons of Industry, of which he is treasurer, also a member of Wright Settlement Grange. (p. 255) [Top]