The map above represents current coverage as of October 2012 with a Utah non-resident Multi-State CFP and a Virginia resident CHP.
General Course Overview Read this entire page for a lot more information about this unique course!
• This is a 4-hour, all classroom-based Concealed Carry Permit Certification Course that allows you to be eligible to apply for a Non-Resident Utah Concealed Firearm Permit that is valid in over 35+ states.
• The course is taught by Certified Utah BCI Instructors (who are also NRA Certified Instructors) and meets the required training requirements for the Virginia, Utah & Florida (the last two being both premiere multi-state CCWs), as well as the training requirement for most all state CCWs. The Utah CFP/CCW alone provides concealed carry privileges in over 35+ states; combined with a Virginia resident permit, nearly 40 states of coverage.
• Additionally, if participants so desire, they can also opt to apply for resident or non-resident Virginia, West Virginia or Pennsylvania CCW permits.
• There is no written test or quiz and all of the information provided is about general gun safety, concealed carry law and general best practices.
• The course will cover such topics as selecting a firearm, how best to carry and transport the handgun, general firearms safety, situational awareness, proper shooting fundamentals, firearm storage and basic firearm maintenance and care. Additionally, we will extensively cover information on concealed carry law, how to handle law enforcement encounters, defensive regulations and case law related to defense of both life and property. Time will also be dedicated to discussing less-than lethal options for personal protection.
• Tuition for this course includes complimentary FBI fingerprinting and the Utah Multi-State CCW application packet. We will also provide free legal notary services for any CCW applications on the date of your course.
• The Utah and Florida CCW applications require that you submit a passport photo as part of your application, you will be provided with six (6), high-resolution passport style photos that will be available for you to purchase to submit with your application.
• This course does not require any live-fire and there is no physical shooting component; therefore, you do not need to own or possess a handgun to participate. Utah does not require any live fire as part of their training requirements; however Florida regulations do require that you must demonstrate proficiency with a live-fire exercise. We will provide several optional opportunities for you to work one-on-one with an NRA Certified Instructor to demonstrate your proficiency for a nominal fee..
MMTA CCW Instructor News: Ron Crouse recently received a letter of commendation from Utah’s Bureau of Criminal Identification related to his outstanding instruction of the 4-Hour Multi-State CCW Course (read Letter of Commendation)
The cost to apply for a (5) five-year, renewable Utah Non-Resident Multi-State CFP is a mere $51.00
Q: I’d like to be able to carry in all 50 states, including Washington, DC; does this course allow me to do that?
A: Short of being active sworn law enforcement, no civilian has the ability to carry in all 50 states, or Washington, DC. However, the Utah CFP/CCW permit, combined with the VA and/or FL permits give you most coverage that any citizen is eligible (nearly 40 states). So in short, by holding just the Utah non-resident CCW permit alone, you gain the ability to carry in over 35+ states; including VA, WV, PA, NC and a ton more!
Q: I already have a VA, WV, PA, NC or PA resident Concealed Handgun Permit; do I really need to take the 4-hour Mutli-State CCW course in order to apply for the Utah non-resident 35+ state CCW?
A: In or to apply for the Utah non-resident CCW, it is an absolute requirement that you complete the 4-hour CCW course that we conduct. Regardless of which other permits you may currently hold, or regardless of your personal or professional firearms experience in the military and/or law enforcement, the 4-hour CCW course is required if you wish to apply for a Utah multi-state concealed permit. It just so happens that this same 4-hour course allows you to also apply for a Virginia and/or a Florida CCW if you so desire; as well as most any other state CCW.
Q: I see there are monthly courses in Dulles, VA, as well as numerous other courses listed in various other surrounding cities and states. Where exactly is Dulles, VA anyway?
A: Dulles, Virginia is in eastern Loudoun County (see map) in Northern Virginia; just west of Fairfax County. Ashburn is about 25 miles west of Washington, DC and only 4 short miles from Dulles Airport.
Q: On the schedule, all I see is the city and state where the classes will be. Where exactly is the classroom and where is the course held?
A: Other than the city and state noted, in an effort to protect our clients, specific course locations are not disclosed until your registration is confirmed and payment received online.
Q: So I'm interested, but what is a Utah Concealed Firearm Permit (CFP) and why would I want one when I don't live in Utah?
A: The Utah Non-Resident Concealed Firearm Permit is the gold standard of the CCW world because it has the most reciprocity with other states. By holding this single permit alone, you have reciprocity in 35+ states, including the Commonwealth of Virginia and many other surrounding states, which means you can legally carry concealed in those states in most locations; over 35 states to be exact!
Q: But, I don't live in Utah... so, can I apply for, carry and use the Utah Non-Resident Multi-State Concealed Firearm Permit?
A: Simply, any United States Citizen regardless of which state they reside (including Maryland and Washington, DC residents) can take the course and make application for the Utah Non-Resident Multi-State Concealed Firearm Permit.
Q: What else must I consider to be sure I am eligible as a Utah CCW applicant?
* Must be at least 21 to apply for the Utah permit; however, a 20 year old can take the classroom course, but they cannot make application for the permit until they physically turn 21 years of age. All course participants must apply for their Utah CCW within one year of taking the course.
* Must be fully qualified under federal and state laws to purchase and possess a firearm
* Must not have been convicted of a felony
* Must not have been convicted of a crime of domestic violence
* Must not have been adjudicated by any state or federal court as mentally incompetent
* Must not currently be subject to a Protective Order
* Must not have been convicted of a Class A misdemeanor in the past 5 years
* Must not have been convicted of a Class B or Class C misdemeanor in the past 3 years
* Must not have been convicted of a DUI offense in the past 6 years
If you have unique or specific questions about your eligibility status, you can contact a Utah BCI Investigator at 801-957-8620 before sending in your application.
Q: Does this one course allow me to also apply for a Virginia Resident or Non-Resident Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP)? And, can I apply for any other state permits after taking this course?
A: Yes! After completing just the 4-hour classroom CCW course, the fancy, blue course completion certificate that you will receive also allows you to apply for either a Virginia Residentor a Virginia Non-Resident renewable five year Virginia Concealed Handgun Permit. Since this course is taught by Certified NRA Instructors, the course completion certificate allows you apply for many other home state permits, if you so desire.
Q: After I've completed this classroom CCW course, do I still have to demonstrate proficiency in using safely a firearm before I can apply for the Florida CCW? And, does Virginia or Utah require me to demonstrate proficiency in using a firearm?
A: While Virginia and Utah do not require that you demonstrate proficiency in using an actual firearm, Florida does require that all of their applicants demonstrate physical proficiency that includes loading, unloading and firing of a handgun. MMTA does provide an option for you to meet one-on-one with an Certified NRA Instructor to fulfill this shooting requirement. Please note though, that this 4-hour classroom course does not include an opportunity for you to demonstrate those required skills as part of the course. MMTA will refer you to NRA instructors who can complete and sign the Florida "Firearm Proficiency" section of your blue training certificate.
Most NRA Instructors will observe you load, unload and fire at least 10 rounds onto 8 1/2" x 11" blank paper at 10-14 feet; although, the live-fire requirements of the instructor may vary by instructor. Additionally, most instructors will charge a nominal fee for their time and service and you will likely need to provide your own firearm and ammunition on the date you meet with them.
Q: Do I need to own or buy a firearm before taking the this course? And, does the course require any live-fire or range time?
A: No, you do not have to own a firearm to attend this course and there is no required range time or live-fire as part of this course. Live-fire or range time is not required to make application for a Utah Multi-State CCW permit or a Virginia CHP. If however you intend to also apply for a Florida non-resident CCW, live-fire is required.
Q: Do you give a discount in registration fees for multiple folks registering for the same course?
A: If you have five (5) or more people who would like to attend the same course together, please contact us for a multi-person discount on course tuition.
Q: What materials do I leave the course with and what services are included in the registration and course fees?
A: In addition to your renewed confidence and increased knowledge and skills, all participants will be provided with a copy of a formal course completion certificate, course handouts and even a copy of the visual multi-media presentation. You will also get copies of the Utah Non-Resident CFP/CCW application and both the Virginia resident CHP application. VA non-residents, you can request an application from the Virginia State Police Plus, we'll fingerprint you and provide you with an addressed envelope to submit your Utah application and paperwork. We will conduct a detailed review of the entire application process for any and all CCWs for which you intend to apply for as a result of this course. Most importantly, we also provide complimentary notary services for your application(s), as well as complimentary fingerprinting services for the Utah CFP. For a nominal fee, on the date of your course, we will process and provide you with six (6) passport photos for you to include with your various CCW application(s).
Q: Are there application fees to apply for the Utah Multi-State CFP, the Virginia CHP or the optional Florida CCW?
A: Yes, as with any CCW, there are application fees you will need to submit when you finalize and mail your application(s).
The cost to apply for a five-year, renewable Utah Non-Resident Multi-State CFP is only $51.00.
The cost to apply for a five-year, renewable Virginia Resident CHP is about $50; and the Non-Resident Virginia CHP application fee is around $100.
Finally, if you opt for the Florida CCW paperwork and notary services and wish to apply for a seven-year Florida Non-Resident CCW, the application fee is $117.
Q: How long do I have after the course to make application for the Utah permit?
A: There is no need to wait - you are eligible to make application immediately following the course. You must however make application within one (1) year after completing the course for the Utah permit. There is no time limit to apply for the Virginia or Florida permits.
Q: What do I need to bring with me to the class?
A: Please plan to bring to class with you...
an open mind and a willingness to learn;
your current, valid driver's license or state-issued ID;
a black ink pen and notepad;
cash or credit card for any incidential services or products that may be offered;
and a sense of humor as our instructors promise to make you laugh and have fun!
Q: I’d like to host an on-site course like this for my friends, my community, my pistol or rifle club, or a civic organization. Do you host on-site CCW courses like this?
A: Yes, indeed we do!
If you are interested in hosting any MMTA course please contact us for more specific information.
Q: Ok, I'm ready... When is the next course and how do I register?
See the complete course schedule now and register
for the course location that best suits you.
Virginia Concealed Handgun Permit Information
Before applying only for a VA Concealed Handgun Permit, you should strongly consider our Combined Virginia CFP, Utah and Florida Non-Resident Multi-State Concealed Firearm Permit Course; especially since the Utah permit is valid in Virginia, but also gives you many other additional states of coverage. [see more information on this unique CCW course]
General Information: Each jurisdiction and the Virginia State Police require proof of training or competency prior to making application for a Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP). All MMTA firearms courses meet this training requirement.
If you intend to apply as a Virginia resident for a concealed handgun, please find more helpful information for some local cities and counties listed below: