Click here to go BACK to the DVD FAQ.    or         Click here to go BACK to VHS FAQ.


Episode No. 235-242.  Title: Series 7, Part 2


All eight episodes of the second section of Series 7 (33).  45 minutes each.


- The Bells of Saint John  Written by Steven Moffat. Directed by Colm McCarthy.

            People around the world are vanishing into the internet, and the latest victim

            is Clara. But how can it be Clara in 2013, when she died in 1892?

- The Rings of Akhaten  Written by Neil Cross. Directed by Farren Blackburn.

            The Doctor takes Clara to a distant planetoid where ancient gods are placated

            by the songs of a child.

- Cold War  Written by Mark Gatiss.  Directed by Douglas MacKinnon.

            The TARDIS lands on a Soviet nuclear submarine circa the early 1980s, which

            has made a dangerous discovery in the polar ice… an ancient alien from Mars…

            an Ice Warrior!

- Hide  Written by Neil Cross.  Directed by Jamie Payne.

            The Doctor and Clara crash an investigation of a haunted house in the early 1970s,

            by a scientist and an empathy.

- Journey to the Centre of the TARDIS  Written by Stephen Thompson. Directed by Mat King.

            Deep space salvage haulers damage the TARDIS in space, trapping Clara deep

            inside the machine that has become a ticking time bomb.

- The Crimson Horror Written by Mark Gatiss.  Directed by Saul Metzstein.

            Vastra, Jenny, and Strax are called to investigate a factory town run by a

            sinister woman from which dead bodies painted red originate, and into which

            the Doctor and Clara went in and never came out.

- Nightmare in Silver  Written by Neil Gaiman.  Directed by Stephen Woolfenden.

            The Doctor and Clara take her two charges, Angie and Artie, to an amusement

            park planet that’s home to a platoon of dysfunctional soldiers, a shabby showman,

            and strange silverfish-like metal insects that portend the return of the Cybermen.

- The Name of the Doctor  Written by Steven Moffat.  Directed by Saul Metzstein.

            The Great Intelligence returns to lure the Doctor’s friends to Trenzalore, the one

            place he must never go: the site of his own grave after a future battle.


starring Matt Smith as the Doctor and Jenna-Louise Coleman as Clara. Guest starring

Neve McIntosh as Madam Vastra, Catrin Stewart as Jenny, Dan Starkey as Strax and

Richard E. Grant as the Great Intelligence, and Alex Kingston as River Song.


Originally transmitted 30 March 2013 to 18 May 2013 on BBC1.


DVD Features:


A 2-disc set.  On both discs:

- Graphical menus, episode selection features, and scene selection features.

- 5.1 surround sound.

On Disc 1: 

- The first four episodes of this set: The Bells of Saint John, The Rings of Akhaten,

            Cold War, and Hide.  45 minutes each.

- “The Bells of Saint John – A Prequel  A “prequel” scene featuring the Doctor

            meeting a young girl in a playground, discussing the friend he’s lost.

On Disc 2:

- The remaining four episodes: Journey to the Centre of the TARDIS,

            The Crimson Horror, Nightmare in Silver, and The Name of the Doctor.

            That last one guest stars Alex Kingston as River Song and John Hurt as

            the Doctor.

- “Clarence and the Whispermen” A “prequel” scene showing how Clarence the

            serial killer from The Name of the Doctor came to know his message to

            Vastra about the Doctor, courtesy of the Whispermen.


If one counts these as a continuation of the original series, then these are story numbers

235 to 242, and episodes 801 to 808.