Click here to go BACK to the DVD FAQ.       or         Click here to go BACK to VHS FAQ.


Torchwood – Miracle Day starring John Barrowman as Captain Jack Harkness, Eve Myles

            as Gwen Cooper, Mekhi Phifer as Rex Matheson, Bill Pullman as Oswald Danes,

            Alexa Havins as Esther Drummond, and Kai Owen as Rhys Williams.


Torchwood is the spinoff series of the new series of Doctor Who starring John Barrowman

as Captain Jack Harkness formerly in charge of the Cardiff branch of Torchwood,

the secret British government agency tasked with collecting and controlling alien activity, which

was destroyed in the previous season.   


One day, nobody in the entire world dies.  And the next day.  And the next...

and world population skyrockets overnight.  And at the same time, a worldwide

conspiracy tightens around the surviving members of the Torchwood team.


This fourth season was a ten-part miniseries that ran on BBC1 in the UK and on Starz! in the

US and was a co-production between the two of them. 

**Note that this is an adult series, with most episodes rated TV-MA, for sexual and violent

content and swearing.


A 4-disc release.   On all 4 discs:

- Graphical menus, episode and scene selection features, and subtitles for the hearing


- DTS HD Sound.

- Original 16:9 video.  (High-definition on the Blu-Ray release (1080i))

- Each episode has an extra 1-minute introduction by John Barrowman and executive

  producer Russell T. Davies

On Disc 1:

- Episode 1: The New World  Episode 2: Rendition  and Episode 3: Dead of Night

- Optional commentary on The New World with executive producers Russell T. Davies

            and Julie Gardner.

- Five "Character Profiles" (2 minutes each), spotlighting Capt. Jack Harkness,

            Gwen Cooper, Rex Matheson, Oswald Danes, and Rhys Williams.

On Disc 2:

- Episode 4: Escape to LA  Episode 5: The Categories of Life  Episode 6: The Middle Men

- FX Special.  A 16-minute Torchwood Declassified featurette spotlighting the visual

            effects throughout the season.

On Disc 3:

- Episode 7: Immortal Sins  Episode 8: End of the Road

- Behind the Scenes  A 30-minute Torchwood Declassified featurette about the making of

            the season, featuring interviews with all the regular cast and all the key production


On Disc 4:

- Episode 9: The Gathering and Episode 10: The Blood Line

- Optional commentary on The Blood Line by Russell T. Davies and Julie Gardner

- Torchwood Motion Comic.  A 28-minute animated featurette starring John Barrowman,

            Eve Myles, and Eliza Dushku.  This is all of the animated sequences from the iPod/

            iPhone/iPad video game Web of Lies that was released in parallel with the original


- Deleted Scenes.  Five scenes cut from the finished shows, totaling 8 minutes, including

            some on-set material before and after each take.